0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

AKG C 535 EB Handheld Condenser Microphone Reviews

5.0 stars based on 16 customer reviews
Questions about the AKG C 535 EB Handheld Condenser Microphone?

Questions about the AKG C 535 EB Handheld Condenser Microphone?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from December 23, 2016

    Great mic!

    I researched for a great 'live' mic. I was previously using a 58. It sounded fine. Then I upgraded to the Senheiser 935. I was very happy with that mic, but I wanted to make sure that it was the best mic for me. So I orderred the AKG 535. It is AMazing! I needed to make a few simple adjustments to my chain to make sure it was getting phantom power. But what a huge difference. So much presence now, I am stoked!

  • from NYC November 14, 2015Music Background:
    College trained musician, vocalist, multi-instrumentalist

    AKG C 535 EB

    Finally got to use this mike on some live gigs down in Costa Rica. Wow! I was totally blown away! Whether one is "whispering" a lyric or pumping up the volume, this mike's response is great across the board. It's no wonder "Ole Blue Eyes'" made it his "mike of choice" for live performances. I'll be getting rid of all my other vocal mikes really soon.

  • from NYC October 6, 2015Music Background:
    College trained musician, multi instrumentalist and vocalist.

    Frankie

    I'm a big 'Ole Blue Eyes buff, and, modesty aside, I do justice to the songs that he made famous. When I found out that this was his mike of choice in his performances, that was good enough for me because our vocal tone and range (not saying that I sound like him because NOBODY DOES!) are similar. So I took the plunge and purchased one. As of today I haven't used it, but I'm dying to do so at my next gig, and I don't think I can go wrong.

  • from Greenville, SC August 8, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer, FOH

    Tonight Show mics for years

    I have owned two of these AKGs for a couple of decades. Ha, when I bought them they went for $500+ !! I understand that the Tonight Show with Johnny Carson used them exclusively for vocalists. I love them. Compared to good old Shure SMs they sound alive, not dead. They may not be the best vocal mics, but for this kind of money they are the best buy by far.

  • from Black Rock Desert, Nevada February 27, 2013Music Background:
    First to come, last to leave.

    One of the very best

    The C535EB is an outstanding mic for live vocal performance. Very detailed and clear without harshness, needs little if any EQ for most voices. Sweet, rich lows and mids, crisp highs that sit well in the mix. Definitely a 'go-to' vocal mic.

  • from Maine, USA October 26, 2012Music Background:
    Working Musician

    Forgotten Child?

    As a vocalist, there are many mics to choose from. The stand-by SM58 may be great for some, but it lacks dynamic response and sounds dull... flat.. muffled.. The 535EB allows for a full us of ones voice and the proximity effect ot the mic , with some practice.

    I am not sure why this Mic is not featured as a Vocal Stage Mic as it performs this task exceptionally, with clear crisp and dynamic sound.

  • from Harker Heights, TX, USA May 30, 2012

    Quality of Sound

    Comments from those who follow the Central Texas Master Singers and members of the choir disclosed they perceived a decernible improvement in the clarity of sound of the soloists voices. The only change has been the upgrading of the soloists mics to the AKG C 535 EB. The soloists perform with a choir of 40 to 50 voices (SATB) who have in front of them an array of four AKG 214 mics. The mix is an exceptional quality of sound for performances in varying locations with the challenges of the unique acoustics.

  • from Abuja, Nigeria July 28, 2010Music Background:
    Broadcast Engineer

    MASTER AND COMMANDER

    This mic deserves 10 stars.

    I have had this for about a decade and its my most prized studio item.
    This mic shine gloriously above most new studio and hand held mics.

    Face it, looks have nothing to do with sound.

    If I lost it, I would cry...then buy another one along with a bank vault to save it in. I always wonder how AKG got the design of this mic so perfectly. This is the true Winner!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • from London UK August 12, 2009Music Background:
    Singer/songwriter

    This is the True Baby !!!!

    Before I purchased this mic I read the reviews , also independant reviews and they all rated this highly. I also read that James Taylor loved this mic so much that he got one for all his backing singers.

    This is my favorite gigging mic, the detail it picks up in your voice is great , it does so in such a flattering way , you can hear the texture in your voice and it really cuts through beautifully.

    The clarity is outstanding , the noise level is zero so it picks up just whats in front of you.

    A truly beautiful mic that singers would adore.

  • from Nashville, TN USA September 15, 2008Music Background:
    Live Sound, Recording Engineer, Music Business Student

    Fantastic Mic!

    love this thing. I have two of them and use them all the time. They are good on almost everything. Vocals have a great natural sound and stringed instruments have a smooth sexy sound. I have even used these as overheads and got a great sound. It is a rock solid condenser that is great for touring and in the studio. A great mic to just have laying around.

  • from Sandy, UT April 27, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Long time standard for a reason

    I have a small collection of decent handheld condenser mics (AT AE3300, Senn e865 and the AKG C 535 EB). It took several gigs with a full stage of acoustic performers and monitors, but I now consider the 535 to be the best that I own. Iím thinking about buying another one.

  • from Ca, USA March 21, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    NOT A ONE TRICK PONY

    The reviews everywhere agree, this mic is amazing for vocals. Specifically in a live setting, male or female voice - it just excels in every way. But it can do even more, I have used it in many instrument applications and it worked beautifully. Specifically I have been using it lately as a high hat microphone. It gives the hats such a pleasant warmth and timbre. Run it through a solid pre, compress it and it blows the doors off of a certain SHURE drum mic. Nothing is perfect in my opinion, so this is as high a rating as I would ever give anything.

  • from Sydney, Australia March 23, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    A great mic

    I've had and used a few of these, and really like their sound. Only problems have been with dry solder joints in a couple of them which caused difficulties. Once they were fixed, no problems getting great sound.

  • from Pismo Beach June 10, 2015Music Background:
    Drummer and sound engineer

    AKG C 535 EB

    This mic is pricey compared to an SM 58. the cardoid patteren is almost identical to a SM 58, which is a good thing for live sound where feedback can be an issue. This mic is slightly brighter, and loses most of the mud that some vocals produce through a 58. I was secretly hoping for a slightly wider cardoid pattern for capturing duets on one mic already staged. My other AKG condenser mics do that pretty well for a small Blue Grass band. This mic however really cleans up and boosts vocal quality and clarity over every other mic in my locker for my wife's lead vocal for live sound. I will give it a go for recording after the summer gigs wind down. The cut switch is low quality, difficult to move and difficult to discern actual position until sampling confirms change.

  • July 1, 2005

    Amazing mic!!

    I spent 3 hours in a music shop demoing mics for stage and home recording. I demoed all the big name mics - Shure SM and Beta series, the whole Audio Technica line, Sennheiser MD421, etc. This mic was far and away the best, and for less than the 421. In fact, this mic sounds almost as good as my high-end condensers. This mic is one of the best I've heard at any price!

  • January 1, 2005

    I like it.

    As a singer/songwriter I use this mic indoors and out, and have even used it in my project recording studio. It's very clear, offering the right amount of presence and a good pick-up pattern for live use. I tried every professional vocal mic out there, and I was willing to spend the extra money (it aint cheap) to get a mic that complemented my voice better than the beta-58. Yep, this was the only one I liked better than the beta. (OK, I'm not including the neumann stage mic that I once tried, but I wasn't willing to spend $500. Plus, the once time I tried using the neumann outside, it picked up so much wind noise, I couldn't use it.)Definitely a mic to consider if you're looking for quality.

Questions about the AKG C 535 EB Handheld Condenser Microphone?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway