0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Behringer Behritone C50A Reviews

4.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
  • Scott
    from Michigan April 14, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician, Worship Leader

    These are terrible... in a good way!

    Almost anything sounds good on great studio monitors. Since checking my mixes on these, my mixes have gotten at least twice as good. You'll know right away if you've got too much emphasis in the mids. If you can make your mixes sounding good on these, they'll sound great on almost anything!

  • Michal N.
    from Goleta December 21, 2015

    Does the job

    I bought one of these for a mono reference . They really do help you move your mix in the right direction. I'm very happy with the C50a, I'll probably get another one for stereo. The build quality is good, and they look pretty too!

  • Andy Pearson
    from Valdosta GA March 7, 2013Music Background:
    RECORDING ENGINEER

    TRANSLATION IS KEY

    This reveals instantly any levels that are out of balance, too much reverb use, and if those lows will punch or if they will go splat. Mix on this and get the levels balanced, it will sound better all the wat around. It looks amazing also, high gloss piano finish.

  • Ben Brewer
    from Massachusetts February 15, 2012Music Background:
    Recording & Mixing Engineer

    The Real-World Solution

    Ever used the Avantone Mixcube? If you have and you loved it than you'll definitely enjoy these. Don't expect spark and sizzle from these, if you've never experienced the mixcube, these also are not high class speakers; the wonder of these are their ability for your mixes to translate. Ever had a mix sound amazing on your main monitors only to have it sound like complete junk in your car? If your mix sounds beautiful on the C50A than it will sound beautiful on all the other crappy speakers you play it on. A real world speaker for a real nice price.

  • Craig Voelker
    from Fort Wayne, IN June 3, 2015Music Background:
    Music producer, mixer, musician.

    Easier mixing

    Make big decisions on small speakers and small decisions on big speakers. This and ARC System 2 have made a huge difference in the time it takes me to mix. Between setting balance in the kick and bass, effects levels and nearly any other mix balance issue, this speaker simplifies starting a mix and gives a huge heads up to boxiness where my mains don't. Some comment that the Avantones sound better but that may reduce what makes it such a help for me. I already have great midfields for clarity. Try both.

  • Steve R.
    from New England, USA May 21, 2015Music Background:
    Producer, Songwriter, Audio Engineer

    Behritone C50A

    I went back and forth between these and the Avantone Mix Cubes for a long while. For the price difference (about half the cost), the C50A is a great choice --- I'm impressed with the overall build quality - and the sound quality / utility as well. The C50A has proven to be an excellent alternate mix reference in both mono (with single speaker) and stereo. I may still get a single Avantone at some point (to compare - and/or as a additional mono mix reference), but that should not take away from the great quality and value of these Behritones.

  • T Yauch
    from California January 15, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/musician

    Behritone

    Bought this as a mono small speaker reference and it works as expected.
    When I first plugged it in it was a little sharp or peaky and once I ran a burn in track played music threw tit for a few days and it loosed or warmed up and sounded more linear.
    I find myself using it to listen while on computer watching youtube videos etc. over my bigger monitors sometimes.
    Its physically slightly smaller than I was expecting but looks sharp.
    I haven't finished a full mix on it yet so I can't vouch for how mixes transfer but for the price and function they are a no brainer.

  • Nick
    from Tampa, FL June 1, 2012Music Background:
    Sound Designer / VO talent

    Sounds terrible

    Which is a good thing for the way I'm using it. I need something that will give me a good representation of what someone will hear on a lo fi home system, a cheap iHome dock, clock radio, etc.. there are virtually NO highs in this monitor, it's very mid-rangey. If you're looking to get it to listen to music or to do your primary mixes, steer clear. If you need to reference a fairly average 1 way home speaker - go for it.

  • Collin
    from Connecticut July 2, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer

    Pretty good but hot inputs

    My only complaint is they really can't take a +4dbm signal.
    I have the volumes on the speakers all the way down and I still need to pad the signal down 20db.
    If you are going to put XLR inputs on them I would think they should handle pro levels.
    That said they do help you make mixes that translate to car speakers etc.
    plus they are cheaper than Aventones

Questions about the Behringer Behritone C50A?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway