0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

AKG C 451 B Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the AKG C 451 B?

Questions about the AKG C 451 B?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Delaware February 8, 2014Music Background:
    Project Studio / Pro Musician

    Excellent for Acoustic Guitar

    I have a project studio and record primarily acoustic instruments (Guitar, piano, various stringed instruments, hand percussion and vocals etc) Already own a set of Neumann KM 184's and an AKG C214 Large Diaphragm but have always had a fondness for the AKG small diaphragm sound ever since I started out years ago with a Vienna made C1000 (which I still have and love). I wanted another set of small diaphragm's and the 451's deliver big time. To be totally non technical I would describe the AKG's sound as open and airy especially on fingerstyle acoustic guitar. I tell people think of the old Windham Hill guitar sound. (yes I know they used Neumann's too). You will not go wrong with this mic if you play acoustic music.

  • from Monterey, TN July 21, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Vocalist

    This Is The Mic You Are Looking For!!

    If you are looking for THE pencil condenser mic for your specific need, or just the first one you are going to add to your collection, you just found it. I am serious. Do not even bother looking at others, because you will not find the performance and versatility this mic offers at any other price point until you get way up there in price. I have to disclose that I am a Sennheiser fanboy who never paid much attention to AKG mics, but my Sales Engineer (Ryan Sloan) recommended this to me and it hits the ball completely out of the park. First of all, the presence is simply spectacular. It doesn't matter if you are micing cymbals, a hi-hat, an accoustic guitar, a horn, whatever. It just sparkles and shines spectacularly. The fact that you can add a 10 or 20db pad makes it incredibly versitile, but the low-cut filter is amazing. If you are micing overhead cymbals or a hi-hat, cut it all the way down at 150Hz. If you are using it on an accoustic guitar and want to keep some of the low end from the body of the guitar, cut it at 75Hz instead. If you want to mic a room or choir and want all the frequency range, then don't cut it at all. It is like having several mics in one.
    One last use that you may not have thought of for this type of mic---vocals. Now out of the box it is way too sensitive to sing into as it picks up every puff of air that passes by it, but I did a little experiment just for my own entertainment. I put the windscreen on it (yes, it comes with its own windscreen!) and was amazed at the clarity and crispness of my vocals. The windscreen took away nearly all of the breathing sounds to make an incredible sounding vocal. Crisp, detailed, and picked up every nuance coming out of my mouth perfectly! I realize that this is not the primary application for which this mic was developed, but I wanted to add this to my review as some potential purchasers may only have the funds to buy 1 really good mic at the time they read this. I just wanted to make sure all readers understood that this mic is not a 1-trick pony. Buy this one, and you can record what you may have thought it would take you 5 mics to adequately cover. Bottom line is that this mic is another product that far exceeds my age-old measuring stick, the PRICE TO PERFORMANCE RATIO. Just buy this mic. Be amazed just like I was!

  • from December 7, 2008Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter/Producer/Engineer

    An Industry Standard

    The AKG C451B picks up where the C451 left off. Always an industry standard, this AKG small condenser mic is often overlooked nowadays for some of the newer ribbon mics, which are also great. This mic should be in the mic locker of every writer, performer and engineer. I use it to track my Martin up close for the pick sound I love in so many acoustic tracks. That's how we came to love the sound of Cat Steven's guitar on his classic recordings. Listen to his guitar in "Peace Train" and you will hear "that sound." This mic is just way too cool. I've even heard and "seen" the C451B used for NYC voice-over sessions by engineers in the know. What a gem of a mic. It's so adaptable. I can't believe there was only one review prior to mine on the C451B. Get this mic if you love high definition of your acoustic guitar. Thanks for allowing me my opinion.

  • from San Diego, CA October 25, 2008Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Student

    Fantastic!

    I recently purchased a pair of these mics and wow. What a sound! The main 3 applications I use these for are overhead mics, Acoustic guitar coupled with another mic, and horn players also coupled with another mic. For me, the standout is really the Acoustic guitar. You can really get that high end shimmer while your lows are still supported.

    Great mic. Buy it. You wont regret it

  • from New York December 15, 2013Music Background:
    Playing, writing, and engineering

    On Stage

    I bought this mic primarily to pick up my mandolin while on stage with a noisy band. (There are several comparable products, but my Sweetwater contact, Jason Koons, recommended the 451B, and his word has, over the years, earned some weight.) I performed with the mic for the first time last night, and I found it entirely satisfactory: powerful and transparent -- no EQ needed. The aural image had all the air we associate with normal hearing. Wonderful. So -- if you find yourself beginning to cringe at the muddy Velveeta offered up by even the best onboard acoustic pickups consider this mic. It is certainly the way forward for me. In fact, I leave half a star off only because I'm a religious man.

  • from Austin, Texas October 5, 2011Music Background:
    Musician/vocalist

    akg C 451B microphone

    Received in record time. Great price and unit is as expected since a friend of mine has 1- C 451b and 2- C1000s. I will be buying one C1000s as soon as I can afford it. Thanks to Nathan Malone working with me so well.

  • from Mansfield, PA May 4, 2009Music Background:
    Live sound engineer for Mansfield University Jazz Band, Student

    Great for grand piano

    This mic is great for miking grand piano in a live big band setting. I tryed to use 3000's on the piano and was terribly disappointed till I discovered these in the mic closet.

    When compared to other mics I have used, these stand out in both response and isolation from the nearby drums.


    Also good for solo bass trombone work.

  • from Knoxville, TN February 4, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Smooth Mics

    I had been using some cheaper condensers on my drum overheads for a long time when I decided to get the 451's. The first time I tried them, I took off all the EQ on the channel. They just sounded great to begin with.
    I then got to try them on a large choir. Very smooth sound, not harsh especially when the sopranos wail up high.

Questions about the AKG C 451 B?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway