0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

AKG C414 XLII Large-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone Reviews

5.0 stars based on 15 customer reviews
Questions about the AKG C414 XLII Large-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone?

Questions about the AKG C414 XLII Large-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Timonium, MD January 7, 2017

    Hands down my favorite mic.

    Have had it for 48 hours, have only slept for about 10 hours... I just can't stop using it. Every little vocal idea / melody I have is going through this baby. I literally haven't been able to fall asleep yet.

    Also, my sales engineer was Mike Harris, just want to leave another huge thank you to you mate!

  • from New Haven, CT November 15, 2016

    Fantastic on vocals, acoustic guitar, just about anything!

    This mic is a beast and is amazingly versatile.

    I have not yet had the opportunity to test out all the polar patterns, but I can attest to its stellar performance on vocals, acoustic guitar, and banjo. Highly recommended.

  • from Deer Park May 31, 2016Music Background:
    Producer/Musician

    Great Mic.

    What a Great Mic. I should have bought this mic a long time ago.

  • from sunnyside, NY February 8, 2016

    Awesome

    This mic is definitely awesome, i had avantone cv 12 , now i will just sell it, i don't think i would ever use that mic after C414 , i used C414 with my avalon m5 preamp, it is just perfect.perfect results!!thank you again, awesome on female vocal !!!!

  • from Pennsylvania February 8, 2016Music Background:
    Lifelong full-time professional musician

    serious upgrade

    Although I'd been using perfectly adequate condenser mics for years, I decided to see if the AKG C414 XLII was up to the hype. After a few sessions on existing projects, using it for vocals, I was definitely impressed. The low noise and purity of tone was definitely better than I'd been getting from other high-quality mics. So I started a new project and used the C414 for every instrument and voice, including acoustic guitars, mandolin, banjo, harmonica and vocals. It's one of the best recordings I've done. I am really happy with this purchase.

  • from Queens NY January 5, 2016Music Background:
    Audio engineer/Producer/Songwriter/Educator

    Awesome MIc

    I love the AKG 414XLII great on guitar vocals and just about everything else. I true pro mic that has added versatility to my studio. everyone needs at least one. I got two.

  • from Edgewood, WA August 12, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer, Musician

    Surprisingly smooth

    Picked up a matched pair as supplemental mics for a 120 voice choir I was recording. I was surprised at how well it handled the dynamics of a huge choir- very smooth from top to bottom, clean and quiet.
    My only other experience with a 414 was in the 90's and it was not a favorable one.
    I then gave the 414 a tryout on a lead vocal for a punk band I was working with- punk vocals are intense, and not for everyone, but I was really amazed at how smooth the screaming singer came across. My go to vocal mic is a Manely Ref mic and it's incredible no doubt, but a bit too "real" sometimes. Having a 414 in the mic locker is a great investment. There's a reason it's been a studio staple since the beginning of time...

  • from Coral Spring FL June 20, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer and Voiceover Talent

    This is THE MIC !!

    Just got my hands and voice on one of these and it is just what I expected ! I also have a C414 XLS, a Neumann's TLM 103 and a Rode NT-1 because I do a lot of voiceovers. If you want to take it to the next level just add a ART Pro Channel 2 preamp to the equation and Boom !! If you are into serious vocal recording I strongly recommend this mic.

  • from Wyckoff, NJ February 11, 2013Music Background:
    20 years recording music

    Great sounding on Acoustic and Female Vocals

    On the recommendation of a producer my band is currently working with, I bought this mic to record female vocals. It is amazing! Very smooth, very accurate and sits in the mix perfectly without any eq.

    I have also used it on acoustic guitar and it shines! Again, very accurate and sticks out in the mix. I hear it's great on guitar amps as well but I have not tried that yet.

  • from Greenville, SC January 31, 2013Music Background:
    4 semesters at Berklee College of Music as a performance major, Recording engineer, Producer, Guitar Instructor, Composer and arranger

    Great multi purpose mic!

    This is a great mic! I own a pair of these and they sound amazing. Very, very, very low noise and detailed clarity. With up to 9 pick up patterns you can use this mic on almost everything. This mic is my go to mic for drum overheads and sounds great on acoustic guitar. Crystal clear vocals with a nice little boost around the upper mids and highs ( 2khz- 16khz in cardioid) give it great presence and will cut through the most dense mixes. Since it can handle such high SPL sounds really good with close miking electric guitar as well!! My only regret is not getting the matched pair. If you ca afford to get the matched pair don't think twice because if you only get one I guarantee you're going to want another. Learn from my mistakes! :)



    My only regret is I didn't get a matched pair.

  • from CT December 16, 2011Music Background:
    Musician, songwriter, guitar teacher.

    AKG C414XLII

    I've only used this mic for a few basic vocal and acoustic guitar recordings so far. The difference in quality compared to a $300 price range AKG I own is huge. Much less will need to be done as far as EQ and effects because even the flat recordings sound very natural yet potent. Very glad I decided on this mic.

  • from Pennsylvania October 4, 2011Music Background:
    guitarist for 30 years. Songwriter. Hobbyist.

    Shines on Acoustic Guitar and Vocal

    On acoustic guitar and on male vocals this mike is heavenly. Having nine polar pattern settings on one mike makes it indispensable. I can't think of any applications this mike wouldn't handle. My recordings have been greatly improved by the use of this mike.

  • from Norway July 11, 2011

    Smooth sound with many options, but a bit boxy sounding.

    I like the look and all the features of this microphone more than the actual sound. Had it for a year befor I sold it.

    I found the sound to be a bit boxy, First tought it was my room.
    But my other microphones doesn't sound boxy. So I think it is the microphone rather than my room (wich is well reated).

    As I have another soundcard and a different preamp now I might
    try it again sometime, but it's not first on my list!

    I would give it 3 or 4 stars had it not been for the boxy sound.
    This unfortunately destroys my experience with it.

  • from Jamaica April 2, 2011Music Background:
    Producer/Musician/Engineer

    Don't even think about it.....JUST GET IT!!!

    I by no means am the most experienced when it comes to mics but one thing I can tell you, when you hear quality you will know. This bad boy is definitely a step in the right direction if you want professional sounding vocals (sits well in even the most crowded mixes), haven't tried it on any other sound sources though but from what i've heard it impresses on all application its intended for. AKG has not disappointed one bit, money well spent!!

  • from Midwest January 27, 2011Music Background:
    Recording since 1969

    The amazing C414 tradition continues - WOW!!!

    I've been in the recording game since 1969 and have used the best mics in the world over the years, as well as having a very nicely equipped personal mic cabinet in my home. Aside from owning some of the traditional C414-B-ULS, when I first tried out the C414-B-TLII I was floored!!! I bought four of them back in the day - yeah they're stellar!!!
    Constantly intrigued by new offerings from "reputable" mic manufacturers this AKG C414 XLII, with an amazing nine polar patterns, instantly caught my attention, as their contemporary offering to replace the discontinued TLII. Finally got one to try out and after a number of hours working with it and doing quite a few A~B tests between this and my TLII's, I have only one thing to say - WOW!!!!!
    AKG has done it again, yep, incredible sound quality which exceeds that of the venerable TLII. This XLII features incredibly low noise, very high sensitivity (loud!!!), nice pad and roll-off selection, and the nine polar pattern selection. Also comes nicely nestled in a sturdy case with shockmount, windscreen, and pop-filter.
    The XLII sound has all the sweetness of the TLII, but also has improved mid and upper mid detail and clarity over its predecessor.
    This truly is an incredible microphone, more of them will find their way into my cabinet very soon, and I strongly suggest you get one or two for yourself!!!

Questions about the AKG C414 XLII Large-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close