0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 2

AKG C214 Large-diaphragm Condenser Microphone Reviews

4.5 stars based on 37 customer reviews
Questions about the AKG C214 Large-diaphragm Condenser Microphone?

Questions about the AKG C214 Large-diaphragm Condenser Microphone?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Tyler Berggren

    The C214 is perfect for drum recording. I love this mic on toms, snare, and even kick! I can mic up an entire kit with C214's and grab the awesome tone of a C414, without worrying about a stray stick hit denting a substantially more expensive mic.

  • Mike Hammond

    Finally! The C214 is the solution for many of my clients that could not afford the 414 model and only needed the cardiod pattern anyway. Sweet mic!

  • from April 12, 2017

    Fantastic!

    What a great mic! It has that warm, creamy like midrange quality to it that I've always associated with good AKG microphones! Something about it just gels with my voice especially. It makes my voice so easy to fit in a mix somehow! Love it!

  • from January 3, 2017

    Pure reality

    Amazing sound, perfect for voice and acoustic recordings in home studios, earlier I used an Audio-Technika AT2020 (quite god as well), but changed to this one. I record only the electric guitar with AT2020 (in front of the amp speakers), anything else is recorded by the AKG
    You must buy one for your studio

  • from Utah November 16, 2016

    5 STARS

    i loved this mic when i heard it, i use this mic for vocals. and spittin BARS. and the quality changed quite a bit from my last mic, this mic has a lower end feel i guess you could say. it has a punch. a real personality with this mic. not to mention a case and a nice shockmount This is a good setup and i deffinatly recomend purchasing one if you are a male singer or into rap or hiphop style!!!

  • from June 12, 2016

    Amazing

    I Love it!!!!! Definitely a must have

  • from ILL February 21, 2016Music Background:
    Gospel

    GREAT SUGGESTION Ike taylor

    FOR SOME GREAT VOCALS
    this mic will do the trick

  • from June 19, 2015Music Background:
    technical recording

    for the price the best!!!

    This baby is marvelous, you will never find a best mic for the price, to voice and instrument is fantastic, believe its !!!

  • from May 14, 2014

    Great Mic!

    I was really impressed by the quality of this microphone! Vocals sound great, it is the best of its price range, and possibly beyond.

  • from LA! May 13, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Teacher

    EXACTLY what I was lookiing for ^^

    I asked Jay Frederick at 800.222.4700 ext 1288 for a good mic n this is what he recommended. He ALWAYS gives me great advice n steers me in the right direction. I completely trust him for all of my musical equipment needs n will never shop anywhere else. Him and sweetwater have a new customer for life!!

    This mic is great. It sounds incredible! Really crisp sounding vocals at a good price point. I am completely happy with it. Thanks Jay!

  • from Chicago, IL April 20, 2014Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter

    Low Price with Exceptional Results, Nothing Compares

    This mic is amazing!

  • from Las Vegas, NV March 20, 2014Music Background:
    Producer/ Songwriter / Vocalist

    Fantastic Mic

    This Microphone sounds as good as a C414 on my male Vocal. You can really hit it hard a still get a very pleasant sound. A top grade mic at a reasonable price. Well done!!!!!!

  • from Michigan January 3, 2014Music Background:
    semi-pro, singer/songwriter, producer

    This is It!

    I've been wanting to try this with my vocals and finally got it when it went on sale. I don't know how it works for others, but for me it's perfect. Clear, but not harsh, and gets it right with no eq! I've tried tons of mics, including those more expensive, but I'm loving this one!

  • from Brooklyn, NY USA November 15, 2013Music Background:
    recording artist

    Clear as day

    This thing picks up everything and the signal is so clean and smooth, do yourself a favor and add it to your arsenal.

  • from Keokuk, IA July 25, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer / Hobbyist

    Great Female Vocals

    I have had this mic for a little over a year now and it's pretty amazing. I've been using it for rap vocals and to make Foley.
    For male rap vocals, it's stubborn on who it likes. Don't get me wrong, the vocals come out great, but it takes a little more EQing than I like to get them right.
    I just tried this mic on a female singer and WOW! The vocal is HUGE! I only had to throw a HPF on her and perfection!
    The HPF on this is a good start. It's mainly for low rumble. I have my AC running and unless the gain is crazy high, it doesn't pick it up.
    Overall, great mic. I recommend getting a decent preamp to match the quality.

  • from June 9, 2013

    Incredible

    This mic captures my Marshall (Plexi) better than any mic (any price) I have tried.

  • from Boise, ID January 22, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician

    Best Guitar Amp Microphone I Have Found

    As a FOH engineer I have struggled with getting perfect and consistent sound when miking guitar amps. I used the old standard SM57 for the longest time and I was constantly moving the mic around the amp looking for the sweet spot. One day I decided to try out the 214 after reading that it was capable of handling high SPLs (up to 156). Now I am getting great sound from every guitar rig I come across and I rarely have to move it once I set it. I even use the old loop-the-XLR-cable-around-the-handle-of-the-amp trick with excellent results being that it is side-address.

  • from Florence, MS USA September 17, 2012Music Background:
    Home Recording, Student, Hobbyist, Recording Engineer

    Pros and Enthusiasts Alike

    I bought this mic as my first large diaphragm condenser, for mainly usage on vocals, and sometimes as hihat/overhead mic on drums.
    I've used it only on three preamps: a cheap Art pre, an Alesis MultiMix 4, and now on my Focusrite Saffire Pro 40. All of them made this mic sound great, and for two of those three, that's really saying something.
    The frequency response on it is quite bright, somewhat like a less exaggerated C12, but not too bright.
    If you're looking at the Blue Bluebird, like I was, I'm glad I went with this, because it definitely has more character. Go look at some frequency response grafts, and see how perfect it is!
    The only thing I'd change, is possibly have more patterns, and of course maybe a tube version!
    YOU CAN'T GO WRONG!

  • from nashville,tn August 24, 2012

    awesome

    pretty simple i bought a new 414 and a 214 the same day because i was really curious about how the 214 stood up to the 414. In the channel i used an la2a and an eddie kramer vocal plugin. I recorded the with both and picked the 214. Seem to have a little more air to it. Now I'm gonna buy another one to have.

  • from Phoenix, AZ December 27, 2011

    No, it's not a C414

    ... and thank goodness! I've performed and recorded using various 414s. Sure, they're great $1000 mics. This little beauty captures every nuance of the saxophones I've mic'd with it - accurate, well-defined and warm. I don't miss the other polar patters at all.

  • from Melbourne, Australia September 1, 2011Music Background:
    Producer,

    A Beauty!!

    This is definately one amazing mic people!
    So impressed with it that i will be looking to invest in the C414 to my mic arsenal also!
    These mics C214/C414 are a must have in your studio!
    No doubt!!

  • from Arizona August 6, 2011Music Background:
    Recording engineer, musician

    Exactly as advertised! Great mic!

    Buy it.

  • from Texas April 18, 2010Music Background:
    Musician ,Recording Engineer

    Great..Wonderfull..Awsesome...

    Just got this thing in a few days ago, and I know I will be using this over and over again. I Normally chose between MA-200, SM7, or Rode NT-2A for vocals, but this will definitely get used just as much if not more. This thing just sounds very natural and THICK THICK THICK.
    Do your self a big favor and get it!

  • from Deer Lodge, montana July 2, 2009Music Background:
    Semi Pro Artist

    wow! what can I say

    mic'd Mesa Temoverb and Dr Z MAZ18. What can I say, this mic will blow away anything in it's price range and modeling want a beeeez. If you want to capture the real deal of your sound you better check this one out!

  • from Deer Lodge Montana July 1, 2009Music Background:
    semi pro artist

    Look out for this one!

    Receaved my new akg c214 today. Sounds very huge and open on my male voice, with a zing of fizz thats not harsh, but very detailed and natural! Tomorrow I'll mic my Mesa Tremoverb and Dr.Z MAZ 18. and see if it will do what I want it to be.

  • from trinidad west indies March 16, 2009Music Background:
    dj and recording engineer

    fantastic sounding mic love it on vocals one of my best choices thus far your moneys worth.

    probably the best mic I ever used its perfect for vocals and you don't need to eq much, this is a perfect mic for any home studio go pick it up you will not be dissapointed.

  • from September 23, 2015

    My First Truly Analog Mic

    This is my first true analog mic, so I can't say I'm blown away because I haven't used enough different type of mics to be blown away, but I do notice a difference in using this instead of my Blue Snowball Condenser mic

  • from Iowa October 23, 2013Music Background:
    Bass/Guitar player, recording engineer, MP3 mixer and producer, and electrical engineer full time so I can eat: - )

    C214 is a wonderful large diaphragm mic. Very happy with this mic.

    It's a great mic. Sound is wonderful with barely any eq. A quiet room is essential with this and I suspect other large diaphragm mics.

    The mic and spider support comes in a case, but it's nothing you'd want to trust say in the baggage hold of an airplane, but it's good protection for in studio use to keep the dust and beer out.

    A pop filter comes with it and it's ok but with the great pickup of this mic, it's probably better to order a wind screen and hang it out in front of the mic.

    A couple of things to keep in mind.

    1. This mic can pick up your neighbor coughing two houses away. It's very sensitive. I think a good quiet space is absolutely necessary to get the most out of this mic.

    2. The mic is advertised as a 'cardioid' but it is much more of an 'omni' pickup pattern and it seems fairly consistently omni across the frequency range. As mentioned previously, if you're in a good quiet space with sound treatment, this shouldn't be a problem.

    3. For those who don't know, you need phantom power from your mixer or other device to run this mic.

    The sound of this mic is DEFINITELY NOT one of shrilly harsh cheapo condensor mics. This mic is the real deal. I spent many years announcing on the radio and I would compare this mic favorably to the sound of the SM7 or RE20 but with much greater sensitivity.

    The mic seems well built and made in Austria. For the price, the sound of this mic, the quality, I can't see how anyone could go wrong having one of these in the studio.

  • from Sacramento, CA May 15, 2013Music Background:
    Music production company

    AKG C 214

    For an affordable mic.... it's amazing. Serves it's purpose and exceeded our expectations.

  • from northern idaho February 2, 2013Music Background:
    part time musician, new recording engineer

    great sounding mic

    This mic is everything everyone says it is. The rave reviews are accurate. I like it every bit as well as my C414. They compliment each other perfectly for mid side recording. Highly recommended

  • from Austin, TX February 22, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Good Deal on a Good Mic

    For the price this mic has definitely delivered. It really lets my voice stand well in the mix even without any EQ. Has a nice crispy sound, a bit bright but Id say very well balanced. It also has done pretty well recording my guitar amp. The shock-mount and case that it comes with are also very nice. I was especially impressed with the shock-mount compared to other mounts cheap mounts I've used. Overall I'd say this mic is the bomb. Definitely money well spent.

  • from Canada May 18, 2010Music Background:
    musician, recording engineer

    C214 is the NEW KING of AKG!

    This was the first real microphone i purchased back in early 2009. I had done some research on microphones and had a singer who raved about the 414 and its frequency response. I purchased this mich based on my budget (the joys of being a poor musician!) We started recording with it immediately and were incredibly impressed with the overall sound and the consistency of sound. I went on in the year to purchase a C414B XLII and compare the two microphones back and forth. There is something about the C214 that sounds a little bit more natural a little bit more up close and personal. I find the C414 B XLII handles high pressure singing better but how often are we all blasting our lungs out! I plan on purchasing a few more of the C214 microphones for overheads and eventually for a grand piano mic set up. If you are contemplating any microphones below $1000 i encourage you to purchase a C214. You will be pleasantly surprised! Id even say its going to give the 414 a run for its money!

  • from Boone,NC February 3, 2015Music Background:
    Hobby

    Great mic, fantastic value!

    There is nothing cheap about this mic. It is a fantastic value especially when it's bundled with incredible gear. It exceeded my expectations from the first time out of the box.

  • from Nashville, TN June 30, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Engineer, Promoter

    Fantastic for Over the Net

    I'm listening to my buddy Jeffrey, he's got it hooked up to a DBX tube pre and a Mackie mixer feeding Google Hangouts on Air.

    For this purpose, this mic Rocks!
    Spoken Voice is radio quality.
    With guitar and vocal, it's very clean and the top is nicely rounded - the 2k cut in the HOA codec is hardly noticeable.

    The balance between ac guitar and vox is very very nice, and Jeff's initial test has changed what I thought I would think of this mic. I may even order one myself

  • from Eutaw, AL January 18, 2012Music Background:
    Bass singer in a southern gospel quartet and amatuer home recording

    WOW!

    I received the AKG C214 at 4:30 pm today! By 7:30 pm I am loving it! I am not a tech guy so the numbers in the specs mean nothing to me but I do know a good sound when I hear it. The 214 has a warmth and clarity that I have not been able to get with my AT 2020's which are decent mic's but are blown away by the AKG C 214. I recently purchased a Tascam 2488neo and was not fully satisfied with the results of the AT's but with the AKG I am liking the 2488 better as well. No eq required to get a full yet clear un-muddied sound! Great mic! Get one!

  • from Orlando, Fl January 20, 2009Music Background:
    Voice actor, home studio owner/engineer

    A solid, PROFESSIONAL mic!

    I wasn't getting the results I wanted from my Rode mic so I decided to give this microphone a try. The result was some of the best vocal takes I've ever
    recorded. This is not some cheap Chinese version of the acclaimed C414, this is the real deal...designed
    and built in Austria, this microphone has that distinct sound that can only be described as
    "professional." It is open sounding and crystal clear with a distinct presence that is lacking in most other lower-cost microphones. The included shock mount and flight case round out this wonderful
    package!

  • from December 9, 2016

    Actual Kazoos Come Cheaper

    I have to question the SPL rating. Can't speak to those who are using it for an instrument or drum mic, because I only used it for vocals. But it was truly like having a kazoo on my vocals before the mic, it was that distorted. I took it right back when I bought one.

  • from West Georgia September 7, 2015Music Background:
    serious hobbyist

    Underwhelmed

    I have a few other condensers to compare this to such as a Mojave M201FET and MA200. Overall, I was disappointed in the low end and had to boost some upper mids to get this mic to cut through the mix, and it was a sparse mix at that.

  • from Chicago, IL February 18, 2014Music Background:
    Mixing Engineer, Professional Musician

    Not to be that guy

    I was misled to think this was a 414 with a cheaper case and no polar patterns, when in reality it is a different capsule all together. It is an OK mic with useful applications, but it is by no means a C 414. I have used both and there is really no comparison.

    I thought this was really disappointing for vocals to be honest. It would probably be good for overheads, acoustic guitar or horns and sources that don't require lot's of low end energy. It was just a little brittle and didn't have a lot of meat. While the 414 is not an overly meaty or warm mic, it just has a fulness/smoothness that the 214 doesn't have.

    I traded mine straight up for a Rode NTK and was much happier. I know...completely different flavors but for the money, the NTK excels on so many more levels and is an exceptional value. So if you are looking for a C 414, go buy a C 414. If you want a great all around value mic, there are better options out there similarly priced.

Questions about the AKG C214 Large-diaphragm Condenser Microphone?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway