0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Squier Bullet Strat - Brown Sunburst Reviews

4.0 stars based on 23 customer reviews
Questions about the Squier Bullet Strat - Brown Sunburst?

Questions about the Squier Bullet Strat - Brown Sunburst?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Nick P
    from Denver,CO January 23, 2015Music Background:
    Student/Hobbyist

    Great purchase for a beginner

    Absolutely impressed with the sound that comes from this guitar. At such an affordable rate, it made me that much more excited to learn how to play.

  • Scott M.
    from Madison, Wisconsin June 10, 2014Music Background:
    30 years

    pinch me

    These just keep getting better and better, so when the price went up $30, I didn't flinch. Now they're putting the skunk stripe on the back. I've bought and sold many in my day, but this one (in black) will be with me for good. I have the Fender equivalent, but something about these Squires and the dang cheap pickups, just blow me away. These Indonesian strats are just as solid as the Chinese Squires. The only thing I will swap out is the pickguard for a 3-ply, otherwise, this baby is good to go...same electronics, same bridge.
    THANKS SQUIRE AND SWEETWATER!!!

  • Victor
    from Syracuse, NY June 28, 2012Music Background:
    Recording, Webcasting, Live Sound, Live Streaming, Broadcasting

    Great Quality

    For this price, I taught I will get close to a toy, but instead got a nice solid and well built unit. It feels strong, and plays nice. Got it for a gift. Very nice finish.

  • Rolie
    from Deland, Florida March 25, 2012Music Background:
    Doodling since the 60's

    Finally

    First, thank you Sweetwater for putting up with me. I have had some fine instruments over the years but I found all of them not worth the investment. Crazy as it sounds, this little Bullet is as good as it gets for the price and reminds me of the 64 Jag I purchased from Paul Revere and the Raiders when living and playing in the Canal Zone. No blems with finish, the neck is slim and smooth, pups are good, and it's lite. In time will change out gaurd, nuts, bridge but for the build as it is.... a super buy for old and new players. A little tweeking to get the action low to play easy for the old hands and what we have here is an interesting situation for just over a hundred pesos. This is a keeper. Cheese.

  • Oneal Lane
    from Homer, Louisiana June 29, 2009Music Background:
    Hobbist

    Nice guitar

    I have a Black/Maple "Mexican Standard" 2009 and have played some "American Standards" which I love. I was in one of my local music stores this weekend and saw this "Surf Green"/Rosewood Bullet Strat standing there staring at me. I loved the color and as "Surf Green" is not on the current Squier list of colors, do not know how my dealer got it. Any-way its brand new, and I loved it immediately. The action is easier to fret than a Standard Fender. I cannot account for this, but its like fretting a 335 Gibson. The action is great and love eveything about this "little wonder." Every Strat has its own soul and sound. This "Bullet" wants to play Jazz and softer stuff and not so much Blues and Rock. My Mexican is the opposite, its a Rocker and Blues man.

  • Ed
    from Solon December 19, 2008Music Background:
    Guitarist for 36 years, Guitar teacher

    Excellent Beginner Strat

    Right out the box, this guitar is high quality for a fair price. I purchased this guitar so that my students would get an feel for a rock and roll guitar. Most guitars of this price range need some neck and fret work before I can play it properly. I was impressed with the smooth neck and the perfect action for a beginner guitar. However, I will have to adjust the intonation. Overall, I have not complaints. Keep up the good work. Thank you for the quality products and good service.

  • Gage
    from Dilworth MN December 6, 2008Music Background:
    Begginer

    Sweet

    This guitar is great. I havent been playing much but i love it. It has a good feel and sound. It stays in tune pretty well and is great for begginers. at this price how can you pass it up?

  • Z. Jaudon
    from Saint Augustine, FL USA October 12, 2008Music Background:
    Student

    Great value, Great Quality.

    This guitar is the way to go for beginners, Aged guitarists, everybody who has or has not ever played this guitar will love it if they don't already. FUor the low cost, and the quality form a fender company, who wouldn't? The bottom line is this, You can't get better quality for a guitar at this price!!!

  • Kyle Skinner
    from Bethlehem Pennsylvania October 12, 2008Music Background:
    Hobbyiest

    The Best Ever!

    I love this guitar.It is the most affordable and easy to play. If your just beguinning to play guitar and want something cheap to start you off... this is it. Its just like a Stratocaster but cheaper and some of the colors look cooler than others. If you need a Cheap Guitar This is the cheapest way to go

  • Ricky Robertson
    from Talladega, Alabama USA September 26, 2008Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    The best value!!

    Ive played professionally for probably around 10 years now, and ive also played quite a number if higher-end guitars. The "Bullet Strat" from Squire is probably the best guitar ive ever held!! (Literally) The pickups had a little noise to them, and i knew this going in, but i had a friend who had one identical to the one i bought (brown sunburst). He changed the pickups and it took care of the problem, although dumping an additional 100 bucks to the note!!! :( I left it alone and played it "as is" and delt with it. From the comfort in your hands to the smooth action, to the signature "Strat" sound, I believe this is the best guitar ive ever owned!!!
    -Ricky from Alabama

  • jpetes
    from Chicago May 18, 2008Music Background:
    Commercial/ Pro Musician

    I love my Squier Bullet Strat

    This ax feels great in my hands. I play a Les Paul too. When I want to break from my LP, I go to my Bullet, and I love it! I've been playing professionally since the late '60s, and I've got to tell you, especially for the money, this guitar blows everyone else away!

  • Michael
    from Stanberry, MO April 26, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbist

    The Strat to own

    This was my first guitar. Great for learning on. However, after learning to play and getting an ear for music i found that this guitar had feedback problems like crazy. After researching how to eliminate feedback i decided to shield the inside of the guitar with HVC aluminum tape. that and a change of strings and now this guitar sounds as good as other fender brand guitars.

  • Andrew
    from Columbia,Mo USA October 11, 2008Music Background:
    Guitar Player

    Squier Bullet Strat- A great guitar

    This is truely a great guitar! It sounds great, looks great, and feels great. It plays clean sound beautifully and has a unique and very likeable distortion tone. The guitar feels good and is easy to play hammer-ons do pull off's slides or anything else you expect a great guitar to do. A really good guitar at a really good price too!

  • opir
    from midwest usa August 17, 2008Music Background:
    weekend warrior for 20 years

    pleasantly surprised

    neck is better than the squier standard tele AND strat. smoother, no fret edges poking or catching strings.

    finish on mine is flawless, though i have read some reviews to the contrary.

    basic single coils with typical single coil pros and cons (noisy, but still jangly).

    the only problems are the cheap tuners and plastic nut. strings catch on nut and i've already tightened tuner screws. if i do not use trem a lot(which i normally don't)the thing stays in tune very well.

  • Steve B.
    from Atlanta, GA February 26, 2013Music Background:
    Hobby Drummer

    Great for the price

    You get what you pay for. Great guitar for the price! If you want a real strat, just replace the tuning locks. This thing goes out of tune often, but is a great "first guitar" for learning or as a backup instrument. Sound is awesome!

  • Michael Lee Ashba
    from Woodruff SC July 17, 2012Music Background:
    Hobby

    How to become the greatest uncle

    I bought the Squier Bullet Strat for my 9 year old Nephiew and he loves it calls me daily with new riffs he has made up, Im happy that he is happy a great investment to be # 1 Uncie. LOL.Thanks

  • michael truka
    from MO February 6, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Starter

    if your looking for a guitar to start out on or to give to you kids this is the one. When i first got this guitar it use to buzz and pop really bad when you would touch anyting metal. This was caused from lack of sheilding. actually there was no sheilding inside i opened it up and it was just bare wood. however with a roll of aluminume foil tape from the local hardware store and three hours later when i pluged it back in there was absolutly no buzz or pop at all except for when you touch the actual pickup slug itself. this now a amazing shounding guitar. my only complant is that when turned to the bridge pickup it tends to get way too hot and can pickup sound comeing out of the speaker and squeel. the selector probably should be replaced because of when selecting a single pickup (neck, middle, or bridge position) it tends to hum alittle more then the other slots

  • Pim Wessels
    from Apeldoorn, GLD, The Netherlands January 25, 2008Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Musician(8yrs guitar experience)

    fun:)

    Nice Guitar,
    was my first electric.
    it has a funky sound.
    but with a nice overdrive you can make it really.
    i am playing it now for about 4 years.
    some problems with a pod, but that is just my fault.
    even though i also have a variax 600, i still like(prefer) to play this little fender-a-like.

  • John
    from Albuquerque, NM USA December 21, 2009Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    This guitar ROCKS!

    Once my bridge was setup correctly this guitar this guitar plays great. Mine has excellent sounding pickups. I know because I also have a Gibson Les Paul Studio and this guitar definitely gives the LP a run for its money. I would replace this guitar with the same one if mine got stolen.

  • Eric
    from Hudson, NH USA December 30, 2008Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Adequate for the price

    For a beginner, this guitar is adequate because of its amazingly affordable price. As far as playability, it is not the greatest, but not the worst either. When I bought mine, it was fine, but after about 3 months the bottom string went a little flat. It was also a little bit smaller than the expectable standard. Otherwise, it's a good guitar for someone starting on an electric and for someone that is looking to go low-budget. I'd recommend it for a beginner, it can do all the basic things an electric guitar is supposed to do. But as your playing advances (I'd estimate about 1-2 years of guitar playing experience), the less adequate this guitar becomes.

  • tom gartman
    from virginia beach va. January 25, 2013Music Background:
    pro musician for 40 years / recording hobbyist

    squire bullet strat

    Bought this to donate to the kidney foundation raffel. Probably a great guitar to learn to play on. The price is right for sure. Ruff around the edges but that's OK. I'm sure this guitar won't follow you to the stage but it can get you there.

  • Customer
    from March 20, 2016

    Not very good

    The peg to secure the guitar strap just fell off right away and will have to be repaired. It's an inexpensive instrument and it sounds even cheaper than it cost.

  • Shredking5394
    from Shreveport, LA March 7, 2009Music Background:
    Active Musician[i play rock, blues, alternative, and shred]

    Squier Strat

    This guitar is good for a first guitar, but not any further than that. I have been playing guitar for 3 years now, and it's just not the best. If you want a good second guitar, save up some more for an Ibanez RG120. These pickups all sound the same. The neck pickup isn't warm and fat like you would expect from at least a strat. Overall, this guitar is horrible.

Questions about the Squier Bullet Strat - Brown Sunburst?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway