0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Budda Bud-Wah - Wah Pedal Reviews

4.0 stars based on 15 customer reviews
Questions about the Budda Bud-Wah - Wah Pedal?

Questions about the Budda Bud-Wah - Wah Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Customer
    from September 18, 2016

    Great Wah

    they just got it right.

  • Barak Strahan
    from Tumwater, WA June 23, 2013

    sweet

    For background, I am comparing this to a Morley Bad Horsie II and basic crybaby, which are the other 2 pedals which I have played enough to have some opinion about.

    The Morley was screaming monster, and I could imagine people looking for a more aggressive/crazy sound might be happier with that. It did also have a contour function which was pretty adjustable, but I never really seemed to find tones in it that I really liked that much. On the fully heel-down position, it was very quiet and indistinct, and toe down was a piercing thin scream. It seemed to work best keeping it in the middle of its big range.

    The crybaby was just weak all around. I've heard the more expensive ones are much better.

    This thing is fantastic. There is just something so musical about the sounds it makes, it seems to encourage a more melodic approach. It sounds good across its entire range. The construction is just unbelievable. Calling this thing a tank doesn't even do it. Think high quality precision tool, big, solid, and heavy. The pictures surprisingly don't do it justice. I actually thought it looked a little goofy based on the pics on this site. In person, it is a solid piece of beautiful mirrored chrome. My sole complaint is the on/off switch is taking a little getting used too, especially after the instant-on optical morley. Like everything else about this pedal, it's heavy. Easy enough while standing, though.

  • Tym Johnsen
    from March 20, 2013

    Worth the wait!

    I thought this would never arrive, but it finally did and now I'm happy as a clam. This wah feels real rugged and when I use it I don't feel like I'm going to break it like I have felt with some other wahs. The signal boosts ever so slightly when engaged, which I love because I use it mostly for solos. Highly recommended.

  • John Williamson
    from Tampa, FL September 28, 2010Music Background:
    Pro Guitarist

    My favorite mistake!

    I ordered this thinking I was getting the old one, but now that I have it I'm really happy and wouldn't replace it with the old one for anything. It sounds great, looks weired and great, and is built like a freaking tank! You can't go wrong with this pedal.

  • Customer
    from May 20, 2010

    Nice!

    I'm very impressed with this pedal. I've had one for a while now and just LOVE IT. It has a range that you just cant find in a stock vox and way better than the crybaby. Very versatile, wide range, no piercing top end, great for chords or single note expressions. A bit pricey, but if you can afford it, its the best one available.

  • Jeff
    from NW Indiana February 3, 2017Music Background:
    35 years, rock and blues

    Still the Best

    I bought this pedal in 2013. I currently own 4 different wahs, all of them bought from Sweetwater. I began with the classic CryBaby and the last one I bought was the Cantrell wah. The Budda is by far the best I've ever played, hands down. It has a very smooth sweep and works equally well with single coils or humbuckers. As other have said there is no ice picky highs. The Cantrell works well with humbuckers but not with single coils. I've play a few other wahs over the years in addition to the ones I own but this is THE ONE! My only complaint is the size as it takes up about 15% more space than my others. Not in length but in width, which is why I gave it 4.5 stars. It's built like a tank and as I said the sweep is wider than others without the ice pick. Half cocked, nothing compares.

  • Steven Stansbury
    from Peru, NY February 9, 2015Music Background:
    Bachelors Degree for Music. Guitar and Bass player.

    A Dream Come True

    I love this thing!

    The range of sounds you can get out this is amazing and it really can make your solos scream with the modest but very noticeable boost in volume when it is engaged.

    It is really hefty and like they said it is built like a tank.

    My only complaint though is that the battery compartment is a little flimsy and looks like it could easily be punched in with very little effort. Also it is really hard to get a 9-volt to fit into it. I use a power supply so I was able to solve this problem pretty quickly.

    Other than that I am very happy that I bought this pedal. I highly recommend buying one.

  • Angell Ruiz
    from sacramento December 3, 2013Music Background:
    church musician, rockstar in progress

    its a wahhper

    amazing sounding wah super nice and simple just plug and wah it up. I love the simplicity its first in my signal chain and it loves playing with my les paul or strat into a fulldriver 2 into my blues jr. it does exactly what it's supposed to do ive had it around a month or so and it hasn't given my any issues at all(: the power suppy input is awkwardly on the side next to the guitar input its not a problem for me but that might cause others problems if your daisy chain cant easily reach it and gets stuck under the expression pedal. but its built like a tank and its a great pedal totally worth the money (:

  • Bill Zovko
    from Painesville Ohio May 2, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist guitar player

    IMPRESSED

    This is my first wah pedal and my first purchase from Sweetwater. Great customer service. Love the pedal, slight volume boost, so it will stand out when you solo. No tone suck and a tight vocal sweep.

  • Jeff
    from Hammond, IN April 23, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar/bass 30+ years, rock, blues.

    Really really NICE

    I've been playing for 30+ years and this wah is by far the best I've owned/used to date. The sweep is wide, the lows are tight and the highs do not sound thin or shrill. It is built like a tank and is completely quiet unlike others I've used. It has a slightly larger footprint on my pedal board and that is where I deducted a half star. It looks good too.

  • Jeff
    from Hammond, IN March 28, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar/Bass 30+ Years; Rock and Blues

    Best Wah I've ever used

    I've been playing for over 30 years and have used several wah pedals over the years although most were Dunlop cry baby variations. They were decent but not outstanding. Before buying this pedal I watched countless You Tube videos and listened to many mp3 samples of various brands and models in addition to reading every magazine and user review I could find. I made the right choice when I decided on the Budda. It shines with humbuckers and single coils and plays nice with all my other pedals. Great bottom end, exceptional mids and the highs are magnificent. And, as usual, dealing with Sweetwater was a pleasure.

  • David Ghostlaw
    from New York October 20, 2009Music Background:
    Musicain, engineer

    Bud Wah is in my pedalboard

    I have used many Wah pedals in my lifetime. I staill own quite a few. I picked up the Bud Wah and have not stopped using it since. Its quiet operation and very vocal expression has won it a place in my pedalboard. Whether in the studio or on stage this baby gives me the tone and performance I NEED! There may be better known wah wah pedals, but the Bud Wah is my choice.

  • Matt
    from Tampa, FL January 21, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Producer, Musician, Studio Engineer

    cool and smooth, but maybe not for everyone

    this wah sounds great. the mirrored finish looks great, and the pedal is heavy and solid. It also seems to be a bit larger than most wahs that I've played in the past. I honestly had to give this wah a day or two before I was sure that it was right for me though. sonically, its a no-brainer for someone like me who wants a less harsh sounding wah. it has a little narrower range than most pedals, basically they have cut out the upper range of the wah so that it avoids the piercing highs. This gives it a great sound - it cuts without causing bleeding ears. It has a musical sound - a bit more of a "wow" than a "wah" sound, and its very vocal feeling. Its throaty and smooth at the same time.

    So, why did it take me a day or two to be sure that it was a keeper? well, because it operates on a narrower range sonically, it takes only tiny movement of the pedal to move into significantly different sounding territory... so, if you want to do a lot wah action in a specific part of the audio spectrum you have to have to work the pedal with more finesse and precision than I'm used to, or you'll quickly find yourself out of the sweet spot you were after and into other territory. It took me a little time to get used to how tight the range is, but once I did, I was again able to focus on the absolutely stellar sound quality and not get hung up with the tighter foot action required.

    a nice LED to indicate on/off would be helpful, especially where this not an overly dramatic wah and isn't as strong on some material.

  • butch cabrone
    from San Diego June 3, 2014Music Background:
    playing for 57 years and have owned 1 of everything classic

    new budda wah wah

    dont get much of a wah wah experience with this pedal, very mild response, not at all what i was led to believe.
    I like the housing, but the electronics suck!
    i am going to gut it and build my own circuit.

  • Paul McTamaney
    from Richmond Virginia May 15, 2011Music Background:
    active musician

    In the "Sale" Box

    Purchased with great anticipation when my Fulltone finally broke. First one was dead on arrival. The second one had a wide selection of mediocre tones. I wound up buying a new Fulltone and will sell this.

Questions about the Budda Bud-Wah - Wah Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway