0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

PreSonus BlueTube Dual Path - BlueTube DP Only Reviews

4.0 stars based on 14 customer reviews
  • Kenneth Crouch
    from Daphne, Al USA June 22, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    BlueTube Dual Path

    Great item, fast delivery. Very satisfied and will look forward to doing business again.

  • Erik Westerlund
    from Long Island, NY March 19, 2012Music Background:
    Musician/Hobbyist

    Great deal! I got this on sale, too!

    What a difference with my Audio Technica AT-2035. I can't wait to upgrade my mic to see how great vocals will sound through this equipment. Easy to use, I just wish it had an off switch because it feels a little warm when it stays on without being used. I just take the cord out

  • Drew Davis
    from United States October 7, 2011Music Background:
    Country/pop/mainstream vocalist/Producer.

    GET IT ALREADY! Example..

    I LOVE this product! I have the older version and this one is even better. It's cleaner fuller yadda yadda yadda. If you want to know what it sounds like on a new country vocal with a lot of top end and conservative tube saturation like I like it. Go to youtube and type in Drew Dawson Davis. I use an AKG 3000B through this baby and it's money. I'll run a new AKG C414 XLII through this on my new record. I laugh cause I budgeted WAY more money than this for the mic and pre on the record and after all the searching I've done, I've come right back to where I started. LOl! My sweetwater engineer really knew his S*%& when he sold me these products.

  • DClark
    from Rockford,IL August 4, 2011Music Background:
    singer,hobbyist

    Sounds great

    I just got the Presonus BlueTube Dual Path and I think it sound great you can really hear the dofference between the solid state and the tube and it's really quiet to and it sounds great on my vocals.You always hear people say you can't get a good pre under a $1000. I don't agree unless you can tell me you've listen to every preamp out there.The average small home recording studio owner can't afford $1000 mic pres which we make up the population that buy the gear I'm not saying big studio don't but if you could afford to go to a big studio we won't need small ones. So if you can get a Neve or a Avalon go for it I would love one to r.But if you never heard them how do you know you'd like them it doesn'tt mean they aren't good. It just might not be your preference.Being able to say I got a big budget pre would be great
    but for now this will do.So don't make the little guy feel bad if he can't drop a grand work with what you can afford.

  • Eddie Freitas
    from United States April 6, 2012Music Background:
    Multiple instruments and sound engineering and production.

    Great bang for your buck!

    I have owned the single version for a while and needed to upgrade to the dual channel version. This thing works just as described. Adds a nice warmth and depth to any instrument and vocals. I use it for my Carvin 980T jumbo acoustic and it really fattens up the amplified sound. Works great with my SM58 for vocals also!

  • GT
    from CT February 19, 2009Music Background:
    Pro musician; getting more and more into recording

    Very Nice Pre

    After spending many years in the trenches of rock and wedding bands, I have little by little migrated over to the classical side of things. These days, 99% of what I play and record is live classical music, which doesn't require a very elaborate setup.

    The BlueTube has proven to be a sturdy little pre with a very warm sound. For what I do, I find that I can sat up a couple of omnis, set the tube drive to about 25, adjust my gain, and I'm off and running.

    It's a very good value, and I'm extremely pleased with it.

    The only minor quibble is that it would be nice if the power adapter wasn't a wall wort, but I understand that this is one way a manufacturer can keep the price down on a unit, and it's definitely a fair tradeoff.

  • Nathan Ackley
    from Seattle December 16, 2007Music Background:
    Recordist

    200 bucks for a good preamp? the gods must be crazy

    I've always had an affinity for tubes, so when It came time for me to upgrade to a decent tubepre on a limited budget, my sales rep pointed me towards the Presonus BlueTube

    I got home, plugged it in with my new dbx166xl, my favorite mic, a comfy pair of headphones and my acoustic guitar

    Each mic input has a switch between solidstate and tube - you can really hear the difference when you switch the presonus from it's solid state preamp mode to it's big fat REPLACEABLE tube (which they put a red light behind so it even looks cool) - and the tube drive has a variable control so you can fine tune the tonality or crank it all the way over for a very light tube distortion (overdrive)

    the drawback is, the box can get a little hot because there's only a small grille over the tube, the vu meters don't respond quick enough to be uber-useful, and it's so small that it fits in the rack a little weird

    I like it, the preamps trump most of the other boxes in the sub 200 category, and it has a good company backing it

  • Scott
    from August 10, 2012

    Great unit, but try a new tube!

    This is a great unit for the price. Simple, easy to use and extremely portable (which is a huge plus against larger rack-mounted preamps). Since it uses a starved plate design (1 tube for 2 channels), I highly recommend swapping out the cheap tube they put in for something that handles better. Christopher at Sweetwater recommended a Mullard 12ax7 (reissue) and man what a difference! Others will work too, so if you don't like what you've got pop in something else!

  • Justin
    from Jersey City, NJ July 18, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Great tube tone for guitars

    I picked up one of these because I needed more instrument inputs on my Scarlett 18i6. I really love the adjustable tube tone. It really fattened up some guitars I was recording via piezo pickup. It also worked great on a cello (again on a piezo pickup). I haven't tried it with a mic input yet, but it is definitely better than my smaller, much cheaper ART Tube Preamp.

  • Eric
    from NK February 1, 2011Music Background:
    Recording, Part time-pro, multi-instumentalist, live and session work

    Can't beat it for the price

    For a very reasonable price you get a fairly moldable warmth and as I sometimes use it a DI for that boost or crunch. Durable and reliable.

  • Ryan Mowdy
    from Oklahoma City July 8, 2011Music Background:
    Pro. Musician 20 + yrs, audio engineer, et al.

    Average However Save Some Money

    I'm primarily using this pre for acoustic/electric guitar. Now I had an avalon U5 and let me state that without a doubt there is NO DIFFERENCE in sound quality. The change from solid state to tube and back is really nothing great but if you are looking for an instrument preamp forget the expensive ones go with this one. Other than that I'm used to high end pre's so this was just something extra.

  • Nathan
    from Seattle,WA February 26, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    A mean little work horse

    I've had the BlueTube DP in my home recording system for a couple years now. It's been trusty reliable, and really tossed around quite a bit when I have the occasional on-location gig.

    Sonically, it's lacking, especially when thrown against the big boys in the recording world like the Avalon 737 and UREI 6176

    The tube the preamp comes with is a nameless, lifeless, long plate 12AX7 that distorts when driven remotely hard, and the solid-state channel isn't that exciting to listen to either (although it can be gained harder than the tube).

    I came across a Groove Tubes ECC83 soviet preamp tube at the local music store and picked it up for $25. In three years of abusing the presonus this single tube upgrade has made it sound better than ever before, not just different. TRULY BETTER.

    I can drive the ECC83 tube harder and saturate the sound more, the low-end harmonics on vocals are significantly more present, the mids are super detailed, and the upper end sounds more open and neatly organized.

    I can only imagine what the results would've been if I'd plugged a NOS Telefuken tube into the box.

    IF you want to buy this box because it's the compact stereo preamp you can afford, do what I did, spend the extra money and get a real tube for the thing.

  • Ian "Mr. Drybones" Wellsby
    from Buffalo, NY September 16, 2008Music Background:
    Pro Musician & Producer

    Add warmth and character to your mixes.

    The Presonus Bluetube DP is an inexpensive preamp that will add sonic quality to your recordings, make your microphones come alive & give your guitars (both electric & acoustic) tube warmth with superb harmonic overtones!
    The Bluetube DP allows you to dial in as much or as little tube saturation as needed, from the slightest bit of warmth to fuzzy singing harmonics. What really makes sense is that each channel can be independantly adjusted for gain and tube saturation whereas some 2 channel pres only allow global tube presence adjustment. this is especially useful when one channel requires the tube to be driven hard and the other channel requires no tube at all (the tube can be bypassed completely on each channel for a solid state signal path).
    Each channel also features 48V phantom power, -20Db pad, 180 degree phase switching and a 80Hz cutoff as well as independant VU meters. Both channels offer XLR & 1/4" I/O.
    Overall, this is a great unit for both the novice & pro alike. With such a fair price for 2 channels, this pre is a great way to get better headroom and clarity into your recordings or live mixes.

  • Ian Lopez
    from Surrey, BC Canada August 27, 2008Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Get what you pay for

    Where to start. The positives - I really like that you can choose either solid state or tube. That's a great feature. Definitely noticed an improvement for vocals (I use a Røde NT-1A). It's definitely better than running straight into my entry level audio interface (Focusrite Saffire LE). It's flexible and easy to use with a very ease to read meter on the front.

    Cons - you can't drive the tube too hot as it really colours the sound (and NOT in a good way). I won't run it past 30%. My son's music teacher just recorded my son running through an Avalon Mic Pre and I was stunned to hear the quality difference between his mic pre and mine. This is DEFINITELY an entry level mic pre for hobbyists. Worth $200? Probably BUT you get what you pay for and if you keep recording it won't be your last mic pre!

Questions about the PreSonus BlueTube Dual Path - BlueTube DP Only?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close