0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

Waldorf Blofeld - White Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Waldorf Blofeld - White?

Questions about the Waldorf Blofeld - White?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Carson McClain

    The sounds in the Blofeld are straight-up analog modeling. This really emulates old synths very well and the organization of the patches is really easy to understand. The keyboard it self is about the size of an Oxygen 49, the chassis is heavy duty, the finish is quite nice as well. I really like the fact that you can see the animated filters in action on the screen. Arps are good, sound quality is good as well. This is not really your typical synth, but if you are wanting your tracks to have a more vintage vibe with futuristic capabilites then the Blofeld is right for you. Its not a Virus, its not a Korg RADIAS. If I were to explain or categorize the sound of the Blofeld I would put it in the same ballpark as the Prophet '08, Arturia Origin, Microkorg, and Korg MS2000. Waldorf basically emulated all of the best classic synths and put them in one box.

  • from North Texas February 9, 2016Music Background:
    Professional musician 28 years

    Bugs-be-gone!!!

    I owned one a while back and write a negative review do to many ailments but I will say If you update the new firmware it Smokes. I always Loved the sound but couldn't stand the bugs. BUGS BE GONE. It's a worthy instrument and way beyond its price point. And the Keys are some of the best. Built like a tank! Thanks to Waldorf for keeping up with this nearly 10 year old synth! Combine this with a Pulse 2 and WATCH OUT

  • from July 3, 2015Music Background:
    Composer

    It's good!!

    To cut the long story short, don't underestimate this synth! It is well build, sturdy, nice key action, excellent metal knobs, USB connection to DAW, headphones for quiet practice, looks great and has mega banks of sound. The best thing is you can tweak those sounds to your heart content and come up with something of your own. I suggest you update the OS because it worked better in being able to access patches faster. Abit strange in that it doesn't show how far you have gone up or down in octaves??Therefore, you could be playing in an octave you don't necessarily want, so keep a count of your octave movement. Also a little baffle is that some patches' volume is way too low or requires hitting the keybed harder to hear it. It uses a matrix system so there isn't much to be confused about. As with all synths from any other brands and models you have to get to know the ins and outs. Must admit Blofeld has somewhat of a steep learning curve for beginners, but the seasoned synth heads will have no problem adapting. All in all, it is a more than worthy synth to take to gigs or for home recording use.

  • from dallas texas December 16, 2013Music Background:
    professional musician stage and studio

    solid build, big bugs

    the sound of this synth is simply amazing but the bugs just ruined it for me. it locked up ALL THE TIME. just turning any knob was like walking on a mine field. if they could get the bugs worked out this synth would be a MONSTER. i sold mine and miss the sounds like crazy. if you use it only in studios then fear not. but if you want to use it live then BE VERY WARNED! you better have a backup on stage running all the time just in case.
    the thing is built like a tank but who cares if the engine locks up and the gun wont fire when needed.

  • from Brentwood, TN November 10, 2013Music Background:
    Professional

    Awesome Synth

    I received this synth a couple of days ago and have to say that I am impressed. It is a good synth overall and I doubt anyone will find a better synth in this price range.

    I love that it has a user-editable arpeggio for each patch and that in multi-mode, multiple arps can play back simultaneously. Its mod matrix is robust to say the least. Too much to fit here. Its envelopes are fast and its filters are as smooth as silk.

    Its build quality is great overall. However, why they chose to put such cheap feeling pitch bend and modulation wheel controls on this unit is beyond me. Everything else is so nicely constructed from the metal chassis to the stainless steel knobs but I have controllers that cost a 10th of this unit that have better feeling pitch bend and mod wheels. I feel they could have put better quality PB and MOD controls on this board.

    The action feels great and it supports aftertouch as well. If I were to compare it to other synths I would have to say that it is comparable to Yamaha's synth feel.

    Being able to use samples as oscillators is great. However, all the samples have to be loaded at once which takes about 45 minutes for a full sample set (60 MB). The samples do survive a power cycle so that is nice. Since this process takes so long, I think most will select their favorite samples, load them once and forget about it for a while. But that's just my opinion. Once the samples are loaded into the unit, it works with them nicely. Waldorf also provides a fairly decent application (Spectre) which makes the mapping and loading of samples a breeze. Unfortunately, Waldorf does not provide a patch editor. Fortunately, SoftKnobs and a few others have released editors but I would like to see one come from Waldorf.

    My 4.0 rating is due to the quality of the PB and MOD wheels and lack of a editor from the vendor itself. Overall I am very pleased with this unit. It is a terrific buy for the money IMHO and I believe it will serve my studio well for many years to come.

  • from Boston October 14, 2013Music Background:
    Independent producer

    Blofeld, my soul mate.

    Before I had this it was just my microkorg and a variety of soft synths. I learned most of my synth-crafting with the microkorg considering how it is fairly in depth in that respect (definitely recommend getting a microkorg or something of equal caliber before "leveling up" to the blofeld). But the Blofeld adds another Osc and much much more.... my synth world exploded. This thing is very in depth and very user friendly which makes it easy to create ANY type of sound you can imagine would come from a synth. Also this thing is a beast, with the proper speakers or monitor you will hear how full its sound is. The menu system is super easy to catch on to, it's like the rows and columns method like the microkorg but on a screen, I love it. It comes with a ton of presets but there are infinite possibilities that it is capable of producing, including drum kits. I don't use it for MIDI control but it has MIDI in and out as well.

    The rack version is $500 cheaper but I was in the market for a larger keyboard and I am conserving space so i went with the 2-in-1, plus it looks super sexy with the keys. The keyboard by the way is very nice. Very velocity sensitive, semi-weighted, the works.

    I probably won't exhaust this thing for at least 57 decades. If you're in the market for a powerful, highly customizable, elegant and sexy synth I recommend this lovely creation put out by our German friends at Waldorf. Happy synth-ing!

  • from arroyo grande, ca July 12, 2012Music Background:
    composer, progressive rock, classical, guitar

    Wealth of sound on board

    This is a fantastic design for those that want to venture off the preset path. There is a feature "randomize preset" than can start the gigantic ball rolling. Very Deep abilities with a top quality keyboard with aftertouch! The only limit is your imagination and time....
    Very well made and covers a LOT of sounds. This board can cover immense varieties...really...It can..can you say under-rated... A+++++
    Owned a micro Q and the doumentation said that the majority of presets was from the randomize preset...very cool

  • from May 27, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Incredible synth

    This is an extremely flexible synth. I think of it as more of a wavetable hybrid than virtual analog although it offers that capability as well! Outstanding filters, drive curves, and even FM, and ring modulation. It does everthing from harsh metallic to long evolving pads with tremendous modulation options. This synth does have a very unique character about it and definitely wouldn't be my recommendation for someone looking to emulate natural sounds. I think it is far superior to most current synths with the exception of the Virus. Nothing else really is close.

  • from Boise, ID USA September 28, 2009Music Background:
    Artist, Remixer, and Sound Designer

    Excellent board for electronic music

    This board has excellent stock pads and basses. There are also so many programming parameters within it, creating sounds you imagine are only limited by you knowledge of the instrument. There's NO WAY they could have made a knob for every function but the matrix system implemented still makes programming fast and easy. The keybed feels great and has aftertouch. Something usually not offered in keyboards in this price range. My only gripes are that I find the multimode a bit confusing, the standard mode has no local on/off, and the display doesn't show the octave shift in either direction, but it is still an awesome board. So much so, that I want a second one. If your into Electronica, you need to consider this keyboard for a purchase.

Questions about the Waldorf Blofeld - White?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway