0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Waldorf Blofeld Synthesizer Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Waldorf Blofeld Synthesizer?

Questions about the Waldorf Blofeld Synthesizer?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Baltimore, MD January 11, 2016Music Background:
    Professor and professional recording musician

    Excellent Wavetable Synth!!

    Waldorf have done a great job with the Blofeld. I'm really a much more hands on, knobby synth guy and not a fan of menu diving BUT the layout and big screen make building patches effortless. I'm inspired every time I begin using this machine and it's probably one of my go to synths now... and I have a lot of vintage and modern machines. Waldorf rose from the ashes of PPG in the late 80's and are the go to for wavetable synthesis. While maybe not as dense sounding as the classic Wave, Microwave or Q synths, Blofeld has a voice all of it's own. If you're not inspired after using one, well... that sucks ;-)

    I'm also excited to check out their NW1 wavetable module for Eurorack.

  • from August 23, 2014Music Background:
    DJ, Producer

    You want this!

    Wow, just wow! This synth is slightly bigger than a pencil case, yet contains a whole universe of sonic potential... Double jeopardy, Mr Bond...

  • from Ukraine April 5, 2012Music Background:
    Experimental electronic music

    Powerful wavetable synth!

    It is small and you can take it everywhere! Very nice organic sounding wavetable synthesizer with super powerful basses. If you want to design extra complex interesting sound sculptures - it is for you. High quality built metal case, mini tank. I love it!

  • from New York, NY June 23, 2011Music Background:
    Composer, Producer

    Powerful!

    Lots to dig into in this powerful (and solidly built) little synth. Don't let the words "Virtual analog" scare you away. I own and use several true analog synths and the Blofeld holds its own among them. Ideal for those who love to program and tweak - sounds can go from lush and warm to sharp and brittle depending on how you build 'em. A beauty.

  • from Pittsburgh, PA May 9, 2012Music Background:
    musician, sound designer

    A lot of bang for the buck

    The Blofeld is a great sounding synth with lots of depth to it. The wavetables sound great and it's very flexible. Be warned there is a bit of a learning curve to it, but once you get your head around it, it's very robust. It's everything that is great about a Waldorf packed into a little box. If you have a little patience, it's a great unit!

  • from Fort Wayne, IN August 16, 2010Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great Waldorf sound!

    This machine makes really cool sounds, and having just given a different synth a bad review for it's poor programability due to it's lack of knobs...the detailed and large display screen allows the shortcomings of knobs to be made up for in full. This synth is actually easy to program and incredibly fun and inspiring to use.

  • from Belgium, Europe August 20, 2009Music Background:
    Sounddesigner

    Superb, just superb at a cheap price

    The Blofeld is typical waldorf with very warm filters. It can sound agressive, smooth, sweeping, industrial and the wavetables are great to play with.
    It feels very sturdy, al metal components. No cheap plastic is used and the LCD is large enough.
    The best thing is that it's small and cheap! There is also a free Polymoog Keyboard "Vox Humana" sound (remember Gary Numan's "Cars" available for FREE at www.vstream.be/Samples.html which makes the blofeld the cheapest reliable 'Gary Numan' available.

  • from Chicago, IL February 28, 2008Music Background:
    Recording engineer, live sound, semi pro musician, and always a student.

    not such a big let down

    the waldorf blofeld is a module that i've been waiting for since the NAMM show. i've always wanted a waldorf, but i've always been a little short on cash so i figured this would be a great investment. Waldorf claimed that it has the same sound engine that the Q had so i expected this thing to be the most amazing module ever made. when i picked it up, after about 2 months of waiting, i opened it up and expected the factory patches to sound amazing. i was disappointed, but this thing is great for making your own patches. it has soo many waveforms and effects that i never knew a synthesizer/module could have. this thing truly is a great module for pro's or beginners.

  • from Nj,USA June 15, 2013Music Background:
    Professional musician,producer

    Very satisfied

    I've only had it for 2 months, but I'm satisfied with my decision. I purchased it for live and studio use,great sound, good presets.well worth the money!

Questions about the Waldorf Blofeld Synthesizer?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway