0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Mackie Onyx Blackjack Reviews

4.5 stars based on 26 customer reviews
Questions about the Mackie Onyx Blackjack?

Questions about the Mackie Onyx Blackjack?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Colorado April 13, 2017

    Great for many uses

    I have 3 of these. One for my TV hooked going into the mac mini and then to powered subs for my home gym. The other ones are in conference rooms hooked up to two computers. No drivers needed as they are compliant out of the box. Sound quality is awesome. They are a no brainer, get one.

  • from Colorado June 10, 2016

    Sturdy & Clean

    Plugged it into my Mac El Capitan and immediately worked. Simple, clear sound in and out - what's not to love.

  • from Athens April 11, 2016

    Brick #&$!house

    I bought the Mackie Onyx Blackjack to use with a MacBook and Logic Pro. Out of the box, I was impressed by just how solidly Mackie engineered it. I plugged it straight into the USB port, launched Logic, selected the device, and was recording in a minute. As far as sound quality is concerned, the Onyx preamps do not disappoint at this price point. Although I would not categorize them as warm, I certainly think they are clean. In addition, I think it's a smart design to keep the cabling in the rear and angle on the knobs. I'm glad I did the research and selected the Blackjack.

  • from United States July 30, 2014Music Background:
    Student

    Excellent

    Great price. Its a MASSIVE step up in every category from my Line6 ux2.
    Windows 7 64 & working nicely.

  • from Lockport, IL January 5, 2014

    Clean and warm

    I am using this with an AT 2035 to record my Sax and am blown away by the sound reproduction. This thing is built like a tank and performs like one too. Extremely low noise with a great warm tone

  • from Miami, FL October 16, 2013Music Background:
    Audio Engineer, AV Systems Integrator

    Awesome

    Excellent little box. It powers directly from your laptop via USB, no external power supply needed. I use it with the rest of my rig to EQ commercial type of environments, like Boardrooms, training rooms, etc.

  • from United States September 11, 2013Music Background:
    professional muscian

    simply the best

    the onyx blackjack is the simply answer to recording on the go. used with you laptop you can complete an accurate recording of live shows. a simple must have for traveling on the road

  • from Michigan March 11, 2013Music Background:
    singer/songwriter

    I have to agree, it's great

    I tried numerous interfaces before coming to this one, and I have to say this one is the cleanest and really easy to use. Plugged and played with no problems at all on my Mac Mini - shows up in Garageband and DP8 with no problems. It is very clean, very transparent and the price is amazing. Wish it had midi and firewire, but for this price, it's an amazing piece of gear!

  • from United States August 7, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist, Recording Engineer

    Amazing quality for the price!!

    This is just simply an amazing quality interface. It's really durable, ergonomic, and best of all it sounds great! I was deciding between a few others and I'm glad I chose the onyx, it's been a huge asset to my home studio. I really enjoy the angled face, and simple controls. It puts all the everything right where I need it to be to make recording fast and easy.

  • from Dallas, TX USA May 11, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician and Voice-Over Artist

    Mackie Onyx Blackjack is Quality, Quiet, Quick and Quite affordable.

    This fits my needs perfectly. i record voice-over narrations from home and on the road. I run an ADK studio condenser mic into my Dell Notebook recording on Adobe Soundbooth, and monitor playback with Sennheiser headphones. The Blackjack interface is the simplest, best quality solution I could find after trying several. It is extremely quiet, my main priority for quality, with awesome preamps and 24bit conversion; it is quick to setup using only a USB connection for both power and signals, and the price is right at under $150. I tried M-Audio Fast Track (too noisy); a separate mixer/USB D/A interface (too many cables, power supplies, etc.). A bonus, because of it's metal, not plastic, case is that it stays put when cables tug on it. It has everything I need or will need in the future. I can even add powered monitors when needed.

  • from State of Maine April 26, 2012Music Background:
    Semi-pro guitarist, home recording enthusiast

    It's quiet and accurate

    This little unit lives up to all of Mackie's advertizing hype (which turns out not to be hype at all)! With my Mac Mini it was simply a matter of plugging it in, selecting it in the DAW, then fingerpicking the six-string over a background of silky silence and listening to the playback preserved in pristine clarity and accuracy. It puts out exactly what you put in, so ... practice, practice, practice.

  • from Laguna Beach, CA February 3, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Woodwind Performer

    Expect a lot--this will deliver

    You simply can't go wrong with this interface. I've played woodwinds professionally for over 30 years, and have use quite a bit of professional recording equipment during that time. The sound produced by this interface with a Shure KSM32 mic is natural, fat, and beautiful. Vocals with this combo will amaze you. Use it with Garage Band like I do, or a program of your choice. You will not be disappointed.
    Mackie knocked it out of the park with this thing.

  • from Beaumont, TX June 1, 2011Music Background:
    Pro

    Nice n' Easy

    This little piece is an exceptionally built and functional interface. All metal solid; and hooked right into my Mac, up and running...no problem. Nice monitoring options so I can leave my preamp plugged in, ready for usb recording to my mac; or if I feel like just jamming through my board and monitors, the "to monitor" level brings the signal right in.

    Definitely consider this little piece of recording gear. Price is right and you won't go wrong.

  • from West Henrietta, NY April 10, 2016

    need to know the soft clipping circuits

    I have an Onyx Blackjack REVISION A02 purchased in December 2015.

    The AD conversion part and DA conversion part in my Onyx Blackjack have very low harmonic distortion and intermodulation distortion if the signal amplitude is at a level not affected by soft clipping circuits. I want to say it is "excellent."

    There is a soft clipping circuit in DA conversion part. There is a more aggressive soft clipping circuit in AD conversion part. Therefore, you do not achieve low distortion with near 0dBFS signal. Serious users must perform some measurement to get an idea about the behaviors of the soft clipping circuits in this USB interface.

    There is zero point several dB drop (more than 0.1dB drop) in frequency response at 20kHz. This is not a defect, but if you are a very serious user, you should be aware of this behavior.

    Jitter is high in today's hi-fi standards. So I worried about fatiguing sound. After long listening test, however, I can say that the DAC in my Onyx Blackjack is a low fatigue sounding DAC.

    Anyway, if you want to see lower jitter on the spectrum analysis screen, you can try Focusrite Scarlett Solo or Scarlett 2i2 (Be aware that the instrument input on 2i2 has higher low order harmonic distortion components than mic or line input on 2i2 - I do not know whether it is by design or not -.)

    Onyx Blackjack can achieve higher voltage gain with mic input than some other USB interfaces can.

    I heard from some people that their Onyx Blackjack has slightly skewed chassis so that the four rubber feet do not simultaneously touch the flat surface underneath. Mine does not have that issue. Mine gives the feeling of good build quality.

  • from Kingston, Jamaica June 26, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist.

    Marvelous machine

    Installed on Windows 7 32 bit. Initially got a terrible hiss when recording, using a variety of DAWS. Downloaded and installed new drivers from Mackie site. It has been running without hitch since. Has the look, feel, and function of a quality piece of work. After the initial glitch, very satisfied with Blackjack. My two emails to Mackie were both responded to promptly as well.

  • from Port Townsend, WA April 23, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Home Producer

    Nice little box!

    This thing is pretty great. I have one and have used it several times. The sound quality is pretty decent. I used to own a PreSonus Firestudio which was firewire and I thought going down to a USB device I might have latency issues, but I haven't had any yet. I have also been using a Apogee One, but the One has been making Logic overload... but I haven't had any problems with the Blackjack doing that... but the One does have a slightly noticeable better audio quality which is why I only gave the Blackjack a 4.5... Plus it's cheaper than the One...

  • from Bay Area May 13, 2011Music Background:
    Radio Producer

    Perfect for Radio Production

    We picked up a BlackJack for auditioning music, light Pro Tools 9 editing and some festival DJ projects. And what a pleasant surprise it has been to discover such a sweet balance of performance, design and functionality in one low-priced unit. This little guy does a few mission-critical things exceptionally well. Like any USB device, it can occasionally get confused and need a USB reboot (plug & unplug) but we've found that to be the case with Firewire units as well. The the podcaster just starting out or the grizzled pro just yearning for reliable simplicity, the Blackjack is worthy of your consideration.

  • from Roanoke, VA January 21, 2011Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter

    A great box for a great price

    The Mackie Blackjack does exactly what I need, at an affordable price. Plenty of headroom, doesn't take up much space, solid construction. If you're doing small demo work, and don't need more that 2 channels, the blackjack is great.

  • from Seattle January 4, 2011Music Background:
    Musician, Home recording enthusiast

    Mackie Onyx Blackjack

    Built really well - not plastic or cheap feeling.
    Installed without issue onto my Windows 7 computer
    Sound quality is excellent

    Summary
    Great value / Great Interface

  • from BAKERSFIELD, CA July 7, 2016

    Fantastic at what it does

    Great sounding Pres... Had an issue when I tried to run it on my laptop(win10). But runs great on my mac pro so who really gives a rats hat what it does on pc? 2 ch leaves some challenges.... but the 2 ch it does have ...booooom!

  • from Westminster, CO October 22, 2012Music Background:
    retired mechanical engineer, lifetime amateur musician

    Very Pleased

    I'm very pleased with the Blackjack by Mackie. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that I have not done any recording with it yet.

    I bought this to be an external sound card on a Dell (no internal card) running Ubuntu Linux. I have become very wary of USB devices for Linux, because many of them require drivers, but don't supply any for Linux. I have found that USB devices that work on my Mac, will also work on Linux. Devices made for Windows just don't generally work.

    Now I'm able to listen to good quality sound on Linux and I'm very happy. I have no reason to believe that the Blackjack won't give me great recordings on Linux, but when I want to record, I generally go to the Mac OR use a standalone recorder.

    Good product!

  • from Yakima Wa USA February 28, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Bass Player, Recording Engineer & Producer

    Mackie Onyx Blackjack

    A breeze to set-up and use.
    For singer songwriter stuff or basic tracking for demos - it's a great fit.
    The mic-pre's are "no frills" - but they are transparent....you will get back what you put in for sure..these were the reason I went with his product.
    I also own an Onyx 1640-i, but needed a smaller footprint and easier portability for some jobs. Cool product and I do enjoy using it.

  • from January 18, 2012

    Love it!

    Turned my laptop into a portable studio. Easy to use with Logic, I was set up and recording in minutes.

  • from Denver, Pennsylvania December 16, 2011Music Background:
    Lecturing, teaching...not musical

    Onyx Blackjack 2x2 USB interface ..really stretches an old laptop

    Using this USB interface really stretches my 4 yr old Dell Latitude laptop computer. Tech support had me download a latency monitor, which shows that a number of the drivers have too long a latency..so the audio gets pops and clicks and buzzes, showing dropout of the digital signal. My newer Dell XPS8300 computer gives no such problem...works smooth as silk with very low levels of latency. I love the Onyx Blackjack, but am having a challenge cleaning up the drivers on my laptop...which is the computer I need to use the interface with.

  • from Indiana USA November 3, 2011Music Background:
    Former Pro Musician, Producer and Recording Engineer

    Solid Unit, Terrible Driver

    This rating would be five stars if the included driver wasn't so bad. It was completely unusable for me, and once it was installed I had a tough time getting the hardware unit to use the working driver I downloaded (ASIO4ALL).

    Once I got the driver working I found the unit delivers as promised: excellent sound quality, easy to use, built like a tank, and the Tracktion 3 software is serviceable enough that I was finally able to say goodbye to my ancient copy of Cubase SX1 (goodbye, dongle!).

  • from Galveston, TX April 24, 2012Music Background:
    Cruise line guitar player/sometimes recording engineer.

    BEWARE if running Win 7 x64

    Would otherwise have been a great rating, as the pres are amazing for this price range, and it's dead easy to use, but it's been out for well over a year and after several broken deadlines from Mackie, there is STILL no Win 7 x64 driver. Will work with ASIO4ALL but there are some conflicts with this solution so it does not work for everyone.

    If you're running XP or on a Mac it's a great unit but otherwise this is a dud.

Questions about the Mackie Onyx Blackjack?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway