0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

MXR ZW38 Black Label Chorus Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the MXR ZW38 Black Label Chorus?

Questions about the MXR ZW38 Black Label Chorus?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from June 5, 2016

    MXR BLS Chorus

    For my playing style and taste it's what I've been looking for. It functions and sounds the way I hear it when writing clean or spacious parts. It's a straight forward no nonsense pedal. Easy to adjust, and the construction quality is great. I would recommend anyone in the market for a rugged good sounding chorus pedal to checkout the MXR BLS. Straightforward and user friendly.

  • from Ohio April 28, 2016

    Sweet!

    Simply put this is the absolute best Chorus pedal I have ever used. I like it better than my Boss Chorus. The Black Label Chorus is amazing. The tones that this baby gives off is Wylde ( pun intended). Seriously get this pedal. It would be a steal at twice the price. .....and yes, I would buy it again if something happens to the one I have now.

  • from North Carolina April 26, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist

    MXR BLC Best Chorus effect

    This is without a doubt this peddle is the best chorusing effect peddle I have used. it has a very versatile chorusing sound capability. The effect will not limit you to Rock/ Heavy metal (over driven tone) I have used it with my acoustic guitar and amp through the effects loop and direct (in line). I primarily use this in line from my peddle board to my Boogie. I didnt rate it a 5 due to it being an awesome perfectly designed effect and dose exactly what you expect it to, Im not "blown away" by its intended purpose as it is a chorus effect I have used that type of enhancement for almost 30 years. Show me something revolutionary in this arena of tone enhancement. I love it!

  • from Auburn, WA June 7, 2013Music Background:
    Pro musician for 30+ years

    Fat-n-Chewy

    I was pleasantly surprised by the sound of this pedal.. I believe it's based off of MXR's current analog chorus, only built to Zakk's spec's.. It produces very fat and chewy lead tones, which is what I mostly use it for, as it really stays clear and focused even when using gobs of distortion/gain.. Of course the clean tones are beautiful too, with that classic 80s Andy Summers vibe, especially with a 2 amp setup.. the Low and High cut knobs are what set this pedal apart from other chorus pedals with this size footprint.. which is a huge selling point too for smaller pedal boards like mine..

  • from October 11, 2012

    Great chorus pedal

    Very warm and versatile. Goes from mild to wylde. Great manual as well with example settings that give a good starting point for finding the sound your're after. Sounds great clean or distorted. Works well with a carbon copy delay. Highly recommend.

  • from Souteastern US September 14, 2012Music Background:
    avid student

    Just what I needed

    I bought this pedal for the purpose of cleaning up high-gain overdrive pedals by replacing the after-note 'edge' with choral fill.
    My gurus were skeptical, as this is not the typical use for a chorus, but it stuck in my mind as the best solution (since I typically don't like noise gates and didn't want to use a compressor). Also, the description indicated that Zakk Wylde may have tuned this one for the purpose, so I took a chance and dropped a hundred bucks on my theory.
    I'd hit the nail on the head. I've never used a chorus before, but this one lets me adjust highs and lows to suit, and then match rate and intensity with whatever gain pedal I've chosen for it to follow. It works great with a MXR Fullbore Metal, MXR GT-OD, and a VS Jekyll and Hyde (TS 808). So, from mild to insane, it can handle gain boost, giving a well-defined richness to my overdrive pedals.
    This little pedal makes it possible to maintain note clarity and articulation at much higher levels of gain. Compressors do much the same, but I like this effect better because my tone never changes. Give it a shot, and I guarantee you'll be impressed.

  • from Philadelphia, PA August 18, 2012Music Background:
    Drummer, new guitar player

    Awesome, clean, and reverberating chorus

    Zak's pedal rules...pure analog, no noise, beautiful chorus effects.
    Highly recommended to anyone who loves the sound of chorus with
    their guitar playing...goes nice with a reverb pedal such as The Hall of
    Fame by TC.. Cannot go wrong, you will love the lush chorus sounds.

  • from island lake,il. April 1, 2012Music Background:
    guitarist,songwriter,recordist

    great,solid,chorus

    great,solid,clean,awesome stereo sound with a two amp setup. very nice full sound. no unwanted noise.

  • from Cuenca, Ecuador. September 1, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Active Guitar Player.

    Awesome fat sounding Chorus.

    I have been using this pedal for a few weeks playing a PRS SE 245 thru a Mesa Boogie Triple Rectifier and this Chorus sounds just great, fat and yet not muddy or blurry you can have great articulation and presence in riffs or lead tones, best chorus I have had and I played a few (Boss Super Chorus, Digitech CF-7). Cons, if you want to power it with a 9 volt battery you have to have a Phillips screw driver to remove the back plate and use the battery which is a bit inconvenient, I wish it had something like the TC Electronic pedals have to change batteries, also NO TRUE BYPASS. Other than that I strongly recommend this pedal for its great sound and value.

Questions about the MXR ZW38 Black Label Chorus?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close