0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance

Wampler Black '65 Overdrive Reviews

4.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews
  • from Rhode Island November 30, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Brian takes modeling to the highest level

    I love this pedal, I feel at home using it.I get the same response as I do out of my vintage amp with the added bonus of consistency.

  • from Fort Worth, TX August 7, 2014Music Background:
    Semi Professional

    Fantastic

    I use it as an EQ and tone shaper in front of the amp with just a little bit of gain when I'm using alnico speaker. When I'm using ceramic speaker I use it more as an overdrive pedal. This and the Euphoria are my two favorite pedals from Wampler, I think they do overdrive/distortion the best of everything they do (only played them on my rig though). Gain boost is not something I use so much but is fun and gnarly. Nice EQ. Solid pedal construction of course. These pedals just feel good to have. I go back and forth between using pedals and going straight into amp, I find they have a very natural tone. Sometimes its hard to tell where the breakup is even coming from if you forget.

  • from Fort Worth, TX August 7, 2014Music Background:
    Semi Professional

    Fantastic

    I use it as an EQ and tone shaper in front of the amp with just a little bit of gain when I'm using alnico speaker. When I'm using ceramic speaker I use it more as an overdrive pedal. This and the Euphoria are my two favorite pedals from Wampler, I think they do overdrive/distortion the best of everything they do (only played them on my rig though). Gain boost is not something I use so much but is fun and gnarly. Nice EQ. Solid pedal construction of course. These pedals just feel good to have. I go back and forth between using pedals and going straight into amp, I find they have a very natural tone. Sometimes its hard to tell where the breakup is even coming from if you forget.

  • from Fort Worth TX July 21, 2014Music Background:
    Performer (Guitar and Vocals)

    Best tone pedal

    I have what used to be a blues deluxe reissue, but has been upgraded and modified to a boutique amp with the BDRI at its core.

    The only thing left that I couldn't really adjust was the tone stack. The caps were of course upgraded, but I needed a bit more control. Enter Black '65. I use it as an always on tone enhancer and front end EQ. Really shapes the sound well. Doesn't seem like I have to crank amp up as much. Really nice parametric eq on the pedal.

    It also does really well with a little bit of gain added in. I don't go into the gain boost or heavy gain stages, I think it sounds best when its sounding like a deluxe reverb.

    It's a similar sound to my amp but just different enough to compliment and thats what I was looking for - a shaping tool. I got a little more than I thought I was getting though. I'm not a pedal guy, but I love this one. **Also love the wampler Euphoria in front of it stacked **

    I think of all the wampler stuff, they do overdrive/distortion best and this is why. It says in the instruction sheet you can use it at the end of the chain as a tone shaper and use no gain. That works really well too. Super versatile but simple pedal.

  • from Colorado September 7, 2013Music Background:
    Audiophile

    If Fort Knox handed out gold bars...

    This Black '65 is an amazing piece of gear, one of five Wampler pedals I own, all which pass with flying colors. I use this as a boost and EQ and it flavors my tone with richness. I run it into a blues jr. and it's brilliant!

  • from Missoula, MT February 21, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Believable overdrive!

    This is the first overdrive pedal I've used that, if I didn't know better, I'd swear my amp was actually cranked up and overdriving. The tonal controls are awesome and the pedal sounds fantastic at mild, moderate, and heavier settings. If you're going for the Fender sound, this is the pedal to get! I ended up buying TWO of them. I run it through a Fender Hotrod Deluxe. Wow!

  • from Dallas,Tx December 30, 2012Music Background:
    50 yrs.

    BLACK MAGIC

    If you love the tone of a 65 Deluxe,you will love this pedal. Turn your amp into 65 Deluxe Reverb, plus it has a VERY low noise level. This will make that Strat sound like it was meant to. In this case you get what you pay for.

  • from Utah November 12, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome

    I'm a Hard Rock/Metal guy. And I buy a lot of Wampler pedals just to try them out, because most of their stuff is magic in a box. This was the second Fender amp distortion pedal I'd bought, the first being the Les Lius by Lovepedal which I wasn't a big fan of as it hand no gain on tap. I gave this one a shot.

    For a Fender amp type distortion, it has a lot of distortion on hand! This is an awesome thing. You can even kick on the gain switch for more of it on tap. This along with the 3 band EQ.

    I tried really hard not to love this pedal. I wanted to sell it a couple times for money and thought...hey, that pedal might be expendable. Every time I plug it in I change my mind though within a minute. Super awesome, very organic. You wont be disappointed.

  • from Tampa, FL November 2, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician/Engineer/Producer

    Classic Sound

    This is a beautiful pedal that really shines. I would have given it 5 stars were it not for a couple of minor quirks, but overall - I really love it and it is likely to become one of my most used pedals.

    Put this in front of a decent amp, run it with no gain, and you instantly have a bigger and warmer sound. In this way, you could use it as a tone-shaping device. It does a pretty convincing job of making my matchless chieftain sound like a classic fender.

    the gain definitely delivers the fender distortion. I personally like the fender sound best when i want something really clean but warm, up through moderate breakup. That seems to be the sweet spot to me on a fender amp, and it holds true on this as well. I feel like the gain on this goes to 11... with the max amount of gain being slightly hyped compared to a typical fender amp. If thats your thing, you'll like it, but for me the top end of the distortion is a bit much.

    The tone controls are very powerful and useful. The bass is a bit quirky though... just like a real fender classic, there is a fair amount of low mids and low end in this pedal. honestly though, there is a little too much for my taste. I think they would be better off dialing it back a bit. The bass knob feels like it jumps from about 0 to 5, and I think the bass control would be more versatile if there was a smoother taper in the low range of the knob.

    The gain boost is not necessary on any of my guitars. you can use it for effect to get an insane level of distortion like a tweed amp about to explode. Its not my thing but its a handy feature to include for people who need it.

    This seems to be a "tweakers" pedal, and each of my guitars and amps react a touch differently with it. while that means it may require a bit more fine-tuning as you change what its plugged into, I think its a good thing - its a very responsive pedal and each guitar plugged into it still retains its own personality, while benefiting from the classic fender sound it delivers.

    all in all, a fantastic pedal with a few quirks, but easily worth the cost.

  • from East Coast August 26, 2015

    Sounds AWESOME, component quality questionable

    I love the tone of this pedal. Does it REALLY sound like a blackface? No. It's awesome for demo work, low volume recording, and adding some "grit". I would have given it a 5, but my bypass switch and led failed after 1.5 years of very light use. $12 later for shipping I received it back, good as new. FWIW, Wampler repair was VERY FAST! Still. I wish the components weren't failing.

Questions about the Wampler Black '65 Overdrive?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway