0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Radial BigShot ABY A/B-Y True-Bypass Switch Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 32 customer reviews
  • from Shanghai, China May 7, 2016

    Very functional A-B/Y

    Exactly what I wanted. I play bass in a doomy sludgy brutal metal band, tuned to drop A, and I need as much oomph and sludge as I can muster. I run Output-A into a clean bass amp and Output-B through a Tube Screamer into a cranked guitar amp, and the results are preposterously heavy. (We just have one guitar and one bass in the band, so the extra guitar amp is to fill out the mix with noise and just general disgusting distortion. I love it.)

    The pedal is solidly built. I can't imagine it breaking. It's simple. It does exactly what you need it to. This is the most indispensable pedal I have. Can't recommend it enough for anyone seeking similar results. Presumably you could use it for things other than doomy sludgy brutal metal. Having multiple amps running together offers sonic capabilities way beyond what you can get with just one amp. (Just listen to Stevie Ray Vaughan's tone--he also combined amps.)

  • from Tampa, FL April 21, 2016

    We have a winner!

    Wanted an A/B switcher so I could run two amps. The reviews here made this a no-brainer. Thanks Sweetwater!

  • from February 11, 2016

    Built like a tank

    Not to hard to pick the right equipment with all the info available, resources and staff at Sweetwater. This one works like a champ for me and has the features I knew I would miss if I went with a less expensive unit. Fantastic build quality. Of course the Sweetwater customer service makes you feel like they a genuine part of your family, they are the best. You wont go wrong with this AB switch.

  • from Tulsa, Ok January 1, 2016

    Two Amp Magic!

    This is the first A/B/Y Pedal that I have ever owned. I had never tried to play through two amps at the same time before, but had long been curious about doing so. As I searched the internet to see how to do so without harming the circuity in either amp, I quickly discovered that people complained about getting a bothersome humming when using a simple A/B/Y Pedal. I must say, I was very fortunate in that I quickly stumbled onto the reviews of the Radial Bigshot ABY. I have always tried to use only True-Bypass pedals, so this met that qualification. So, after reading several user reviews, I jumped on board, and ordered it from my "go-to" guy, Brent Leuthold at Sweetwater.

    I can assure you that you won't be disappointed. This pedal makes playing through two amps a very quick, out of the box, plug and play experience. Like many people had complained about, as soon as I hooked my guitar through this pedal, I immediately got the dreaded hum. BUT . . . Viola! A simple flip of the ISO switch on the top of the pedal, and I got immediate silence! I have to say . . the blending of two amplifiers is amazing! Not only do you get a fullness of sound that only two amps can create, but the possibilities of blending two different amp tones are endless, and the difference in quality of tone is beyond words! The only time I will ever use a single amp rather than playing through two amps, will only be because of the need of convenience.

    And not to sound like a commercial, but Brent Leuthold at Sweetwater has consistently competitive pricing from Sweetwater, is unbeatable!

  • from June 9, 2015

    Radial BigShot ABY

    Excellent product, opens up all kinds of possibilities. One of the best pedals I've bought in years.

  • from Milwaukie, OR February 17, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Works perfect!

    I'm using this simply to switch between two inputs on my Boss JS10... I'm using a Ditto looper in one side, but wanted to be able to use a different effects patch to solo over the loop. If I changed the patch, then that patch would affect the loop as well. Simple solution was to setup a lead patch for the second input on the JS10, and switch between inputs with the Big Shot. Works great.
    Two good things to note: this thing is really well built... super sturdy, full metal jacket. Also, its a bit smaller than it looks in the pictures, which was a pleasant surprise. Plenty of space between the buttons, but not going to be a space hog on the pedalboard.
    I'd like to also mention my sales rep was great... I'd never bought an ABY pedal before, and AJ explained the different types and what would likely work best for me. Buying through Sweetwater is always a pleasure!

  • from Atlanta December 9, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Just what I wanted

    I have a Taylor T5z and this works perfectly to switch from my acoustic to my electric amp to take advantage of all the sounds possible from the T5z.

  • from New Orleans October 23, 2014

    Great addition to any pedal train.

    This thing is great to combine two amps or to simply kill the noise coming from your amplifier. I currently have a B-52 AT 100 head that was picking up a lot of outside noise. Not anymore.

    I also use it to run two 100 watt heads at the same time. No problem with that either.

  • from United States October 2, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Quiet Switching

    This is exactly as advertised - noiseless switching - couldn't ask for a better A/B

  • from May 27, 2014

    Just what I needed!

    This is the perfect little switch box. It works great and is very quiet eliminating all ground hum.

    It also works very well as a dual output source for use with my amp and the Rocksmith 2014 software.

  • from North of Boston April 22, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Works exactly as it should!

    I had an A/B box in the past, but the excess noise it provided made it virtually useless. The Radial BigShot is not only noise free, but is passive-no batyteries or wall wart. Tone is transparent. I'm using 2 small wattage combos (Vox AC 15, Fender Super Champ) and being able to switch between the 2 really has improved my tone and over all set up.

  • from Tennessee April 11, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Works Well and Does it Quietly!

    This switcher does the job well and does it quietly. It is also reasonably priced. Place it first in line from your guitar and your all set!

  • from MS February 5, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Songwriter

    Awesome Sauce

    The features on this little box are everything you need and nothing more. The LIFT, 180, and ISO switches are super helpful in making sure that both amps are in phase and relatively hum/hiss free (I say "relatively" because there will always be some kind of hum or hiss no matter how quiet an amp is). In my opinion, the best thing about this switcher is that it doesn't need a power supply. All you have to do is add it to the end of your effects chain (if you don't use/have an FX loop) and then adjust the LIFT, 180, and ISO switches as needed to make sure everything is in phase.

    Simple and straightforward... A+

  • from Michigan March 25, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great amp switch

    This Radial Big Shot ABY switcher is everything it should be. Built like a tank, easy to use, and doesn't interfere with your sound at all. I use it in my studio for conveniently switching from my practice rig to my main rig or both, if I really want to kick it out. It's a real solid piece of equipment.

  • from NY February 14, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Guitarist

    Perfect for 2 amps

    This is the right box for a musician to be able to cleanly use 2 amps without any phase issues. Quiet switching, clean signal chain. Perfect. Much better than some of the others on the market that are in this price range.

  • from Atlanta, GA USA August 20, 2012

    feels just like it should.

    Works just as it was supposed to. It's amazing that such a product at such a price is available. Absolutely no power required.

  • from Salem Oregon USA July 6, 2012Music Background:
    Been playing over thirty years in bars and recording sessions

    The best

    I tried other brands that simply buzzed in overdrive mode of my Marshall and Mesa Boogie. This one has no buzzing at all. I see no reason to have lights to indicate the mode and rather not need to worry about batteries. Thanks for a solid well built product.

  • from February 21, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician

    Glad I got talked into it

    Ill keep this short, it does what it is supposed to with zero tone loss. Im glad my salesman talked me into it

  • from South Dakota February 20, 2012Music Background:
    Audio Engineer - Musician

    Radial Rocks!

    This switch is perfect. No noise, extremely heavy duty, and has built in controls for phase balancing two amps. Radial has done their homework. If you're looking for a quality switch, this is it!

  • from NC, USA January 8, 2010Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Perfect

    Does exactly what it's supposed to, with no lights, batteries, "features," etc. I appreciate the simplicity and the top-quality construction. Absolutely solid.

  • from Missouri May 23, 2016

    Great, affordable switching pedal

    I bought this to run my Taylor T5z into either my Fishman acoustic or Fender electric amplifier. Previously, my options were to get up and switch the cable at the amps or swap cables at the guitar end (creating a nasty pop when unplugging). I really like that it's unpowered, so no extra cables on the floor and no batteries to wear out if I leave the cables plugged into it. Now I can jump from acoustic to electric tones and back again with the simple press of a footswitch. I'd have given it a "5" if it had the ability to mute both outputs.

  • from Cedar Rapids, Iowa November 13, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    the best

    If your looking for a rugged, versatile switch, this is the one. You can switch between 2 amps, both at the same time, or pretty much send your signal anywhere you want. The fact that this is truly passive, is a great benefit in many ways. I highly recommend this switch to anyone.

  • from MI June 14, 2014Music Background:
    Tone Chaser

    Radial BigShot ABY

    Easy to use, spot on performance, and it solved my dual amp issue.

  • from Salem, IN United States June 6, 2013Music Background:
    Former full time player, semi-retired

    The Radial BigShot ABY to help you get the sound you want.

    I know I'm not the first one on the block to want that unique sound that combining 2 sounds to create one will give. What's amazing is how easy this unit makes it and with such clarity and lack of background noise that some units will give. THis unit gives a clean sound when using or changing channels and thats what you should expect from a quality unit and thats what you will get from the The Radial BigShot ABY switcher.

  • from Wilds of WI December 28, 2015Music Background:
    Not a pro, but serious player for 50+ years.

    Does what I want it to do

    A solid passive box. Not fancy. No led lights (I don't need them. Their importance is overrated), No bells and whistles (I don't need that either). Just a solid ABY that does exactly what it's supposed to do, reliably and quietly. It has convinced me to go with other Radial products (DIs and Preamps) in the near future. Only reason I didn't rate it a 5 is because I'm stingy with praise and don't believe anything in this world is perfect.

  • from Nottingham,Pa August 4, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Works fine, but,,,

    It does what it's designed to do very well but without a channel led you might have trouble keeping track of the active output(s), especially when the 2 channels are set up similarly like a slightly hotter channel.
    I knew there was no led's and wanted a passive switching component and this pedal does it Seemlesly. Well made and rugged it will probably outlive me.

  • from San Diego, CA. July 31, 2014Music Background:
    Part Time Pro

    Works As Advertized

    Only used it once but it did what it was supposed to do. I wanted to hook up two amps (one of them noisy on it's own) and tried a "Y" cord which created a sonic meltdown in the already noisy amp. Hooked them up with the Big Shot, flipped a few switches, and each amp had the same amount of noise as if they were not connected. The switching is standard "A", "B" or "Both" and it's true bypass which always a plus.

  • from No. Bellmore, NY April 17, 2014Music Background:
    52 years of Guitar,

    BigShotABY is Big****

    Ok, same problem when using two amps. AC hum and loud switching noise, right? Not any longer with the Radial BigShot ABY. I did my research and read the reviews and took a gamble as I am always the skeptic. I was using an ART Smartbox ABY unit with LED's. Good for other uses, not amp switching. AC hum hum hum!!! Now I toggle between a VHT Pitbull 30 and a Marshall TSL 60 with no problems, noise, hum, popping, phase issues, etc:. I don't even miss the LED's, but if I had two similar sounding amps, this could be an issue. You need this relatively inexpensive solution!

  • from April 13, 2014Music Background:
    Professional

    Radial Big Shot

    Does exactly what it is suppose to do flawlessly. No frills or thrills, leaves tone alone and does a great job and we'll worth the money!

  • from Mission Viejo, California March 27, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    BigShot Review

    It does what I want it to do. Quality built. I like made in USA, made in Japan and, in the case of this made in Canada! Great product! I've had good luck with Indonesian and, Viet Namese products as well.

  • from Cincinnati, Ohio January 7, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist...Music student for life.

    Great addition to my guitar arsenal!

    Says what it does and does what it says. Sure, you'd expect that from anything you spend you hard-earned money for, right?! But how many times have you been disappointed? Not here...It took about a minute to set it up and it worked perfectly. You can still use other stomp boxes in your signal chain. Just put your pedals AFTER your Big Shot ABY (between your amp and the Big Shot NOT between you Big Shot and your guitar.) No power needed for the Big Shot which means not worrying about battery life. Plug in and go! I don't now nor have I ever worked for Sweetwater or Radial. I just believe in sharing what works...And SLAMMING what doesn't!

  • from Dallas August 16, 2012Music Background:
    performing musician

    Love the 180- miss the LED

    The Output B switches are the secret- I had a GC private label that looked a lot like a Morley (that died)- it made my amps sound thin running together, and phase was the answer. I plugged in the BigShot, flipped that 180 switch and the sound opened up big and round. What a difference. Lift and ISO didn't seem to make a difference for me, but I'm sure in other situations they might or they wouldn't be there. Very solid construction- this ABY would get a 5 from me if it had LED indication, but this one is a great product. Very pleased.

Questions about the Radial BigShot ABY A/B-Y True-Bypass Switch Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway