0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart

Electro-Harmonix Big Muff Pi Fuzz Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 25 customer reviews
Questions about the Electro-Harmonix Big Muff Pi Fuzz Pedal?

Questions about the Electro-Harmonix Big Muff Pi Fuzz Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Nate Edwards

    When you see "electro-harmonix" on a pedal, you know what you're getting - classic tone that's been tested for decades onstage and on countless records, and a sound that nobody else has been able to copy. The Big Muff is no exception, and what's more, it's American made. If you're a serious guitarist or bassist and want a classic fuzz distortion in your arsenal, stop shopping around and check this one out.

  • Chris McCown

    I put this pedal in front of a Fender Hot Rod Deluxe on the clean channel, and PRESTO - instant tonal gratification. The Big Muff Pi is a simple yet effective pedal that allows you to dial in just a little bit of grit, all the way through complete '70s fuzz! It's a classic pedal that you have most likely heard on recordings without even realizing it. It's also built like a tank - no need to worry about pampering this pedal.

  • Matt Emick

    Two words: Fuzz Bass!! The Big Muff Pi is one of my favorite pedals for getting a thick, monstrous fuzz bass tone.

  • from Athens, GA March 16, 2017Music Background:
    I play in an alternative metal band

    One of the best pedals ever

    I bought this pedal not too long ago because I had been wanting one for quite a while. Now I have it, and let me say, I love it! I use it as one of my primary sources for fuzz/distortion, and it is definitely one of the best pedals ever made in my opinion, and I don't plan on getting rid of it any time soon. You can't beat this pedal, you just can't.

  • from February 9, 2017

    Definition of FUZZ

    You can buy other fuzz pedals-- sure. But WHY? This is the source. It is the standard. Get a Frenchtoast/foxxtonemachine for octave up, get a Mxr blue box for octave down... but for plain old fuzz, this thing is the business. Don't get distracted by all the snobs talking about boutique stuff or the different versions of the pedal. The muff is a great pedal and you can adjust the settings to suit your rig.

  • from Fenton, MI February 3, 2017Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior

    Awesome Pedal! Brings back memories!

    I remember the first time I ever heard the Big Muff Pi Fuzz pedal. I had started playing keyboards with a band and the guitarist had one. We were playing Cream; Born Under A Bad Sign. The guitarist was playing an early 70's Les Paul Deluxe, with the mini humbuckers, and he sounded just like Clapton! I commented how much I liked his tone, and how great that fuzz sounded! We all liked the pedal so much, we started calling the guitarist "Big Muff!" That became his nickname in the band! Fast forward twenty some years, and a few bands later. The Big Muff pedal still sounds awesome, and it's a key part of achieving that great, classic rock sound! In addition to keyboards, I also play some guitar every now and then. I have been so impressed with Sweetwater, and the quality of service I have received from them! Also, I love watching Don Carr's videos! He's an amazing guitarist! Thanks Don and Sweetwater!

  • from Oklahoma August 28, 2016Music Background:
    40+ years with a Stratocastor

    Really Cool !

    Just got this and now trying to decide what to take off my pedal board in order to add this one on.... or may just get a new board , I Love this in so many ways I can get a lot of sound from the Big Muff. It's fantastic

  • from NC August 1, 2016

    Brought Back Memories.

    Just Awesome!

  • from greencastle, PA July 19, 2016

    So Much Fuzz

    You want fuzz? get this pedal. enough said.

  • from Bismarck, ND February 16, 2016

    Fuzzy...

    This thing is tasty. A fantastic Fuzz Box at a fantastic price. Muff Said.

  • from Wisconsin October 30, 2014

    Awesome Muff

    Fantastic dang pedal! A beast that can be romanced into great tone from sookie overdrive to angry fuzz.

  • from Indiana, USA October 13, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-Pro

    EH Big Muff

    I was used to using the modeled version on my Boss multi efx pedal. But this just blows it away. These multi efx processors do not do this pedal any justice. Smooth leads, grungy rythem, can be smooth. The tone control works really well. It is the most wide ranged tone control ive seen. Get this!! You wont regret it.

  • from Santa Rosa, CA, USA December 31, 2013Music Background:
    Garage band guitar hack

    Big, Big Muff Pi

    A sound all it's own; thick, heavy & completely awesome!
    A great fuzz/distortion pedal to add to your palette, it's so unique but very familiar at the same time. The ability to dial in the tone saves it from getting too muddy.
    I love this pedal, iI'd recommend it to anyone looking to get a nice, unique thick fuzz, the sustain is powerful & the boost is very useful as well.
    All around a great deal, especially for the price you can't go wrong.

  • from Niles, California June 24, 2013Music Background:
    Engineer, Producer, Guitarist.

    The Real Deal

    This pedal right here? Is a must have. The tone knob is a sort of a high pass filter but a methodically honed one... And the sustain knob is to be coveted. What I also like is that the gain stage/volume control isn't extremely hot, so as to give whatever amp one is running headroom to add it's flavor. This thing is right in the pocket.

    The tones are extraordinary and big. You cannot beat them without a cab and a mic, and even then, I hope you're a pro engineer.

    I can't say enough about this thing. It's super fuzzy without being lost in a mix. And it's a warm fuzz, too. It's not harsh like the Boss Overdrive or like the emulators in Guitar Rig or Amplitube.

  • from February 11, 2013

    tip

    THIS PEDAL + IBANEZ TUBE SCREAMER= GOD'S TONE........

  • from Boston MA February 24, 2012Music Background:
    musician / engineer / producer

    I am now a rock god....

    Three knobs, huge sound - you can't emulate this pedal digitally. It's got the same circuit as the original from the sixties. And it says "Made in NYC, USA" on the front - it doesn't get cooler than that.

    This is the real thing. You need it now.

  • from USA September 9, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great fuzz pedal!

    This really is a great sounding pedal. You can get lots of different sounds out of it, including a ton of sustain. I couldn't believe how long my Les Paul's notes would ring out. It's defiantly a keeper that will get lots of use. I can see why so many big name players have used one.

  • from New York, NY November 24, 2006Music Background:
    myspace.com/prospect

    Exactly what I was looking for

    I've tried every pedal that I could get my hands on and this one is DEAD ON what I've been looking for. The combination of the distortion and the sustain is superb. I love it.

  • from January 19, 2016

    Big Muff Pi

    Does exactly what it is supposed to do. Other than it's a little on the large size thus 4.5 and not 5 stars

  • from Boston, MA February 1, 2013Music Background:
    Touring Bassist

    Great Bass Drive

    Really warm, fat, and saturated drive that sounds great in front of a bass. Put a compressor after it on your chain and it'll give you that nice punchy rock tone you've heard countless times. Couldn't be happier.

  • from Southern California, USA September 11, 2008Music Background:
    Composer / Producer

    Great pedal

    It's a great sounding, adjustable pedal, a must-have for any pop/rock guitarist's arsenal. It couldn't be simpler to use. And it's priced right.

    Although it's called a distortion pedal, I'd characterize it tonally as having a more fuzz-sustain timbre, but with a richness uncommon for many fuzz devices. As such, it excels on unison guitar lines.

  • from Phoenix, AZ October 22, 2006Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Fat Tone, Killer edge

    The very first instance I heared the Big Muff, I thought to my self what have i bought? As i played around with it, I answered my question with this, a very historical, insightful pedal. The big muff has been used by David Gilmour all the way to
    John Frusciante.
    It can give off a very fat sounding lightly distorted tone, or you can very the pot's and make it give off a very harsh distorted sound. The versitility off the pedal is very wide. I would recommend the Big Muff very highly.
    Electro Harmonix in its self is a highly repectable commpany as well.

  • from United States May 30, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Big Muff Rocks

    Great pedal to add - I play it through the clean channel of my Marshall JVM210 - Great distortion and sustain.

  • from Clinton Twp., MI August 24, 2012Music Background:
    Performing Musician

    Great for Bass

    It's huge in sound and size! Tried most of the fuzz pedals available...Boss ODB-3, EHX Double Muff, MXR El Grande, Dunlop Fuzz Face, MXR-108, EHX Bass Big Muff, Boss FZ-5, but none get it done like the original. If you want the Mel Schacher fuzz bass sound, this is the one to get.

  • from Florida, USA July 24, 2006Music Background:
    Musician

    Great Distortion

    This distortion pedal has worked well for me for a while now. It has great sustain and awesome distortion. I would reccomend this pedal for anyone who enjoys classic rock. I love paying Pink Floyd and many other classic rock songs, this box is perfect for that type of music. It sounds great with my Fender Strat.

    Only one downside, there is no port for an AC adapter.

  • from Sarasota, FL January 15, 2011Music Background:
    Bass player

    One trick pony that does one fabulous trick: super-fuzz

    If super-fuzz is what you're after, this is the pedal for you. If versatility is your thing, keep looking. The Big Muff does one thing really well: wall-of-sound distortion. In terms of this one trick, it's untouchable; if you want a light-touch distortion sound, it's touchable.

    As a bass player, I like it (especially when used in conjunction with a phaser), but I can't help but wish I could do more with it.

  • from April 18, 2017

    OK For Now

    Big Muff is an OK basic fuzz pedal that is easy to use, but it isn't quite the sound I want. It also takes up a lot of space on a pedal board. Will probably replace it eventually with a smaller pedal with more features.

  • from Boston, MA USA April 20, 2006

    sweet THICK fuzzzzzz

    I have the dark green Russian-made version of the EH Big Muff Pi pedal, and it's very cool! PERFECT for doom/stoner rock - if you dig stuff like Grand Magus, Electric Wizard, The Sword, Orange Goblin, etc., then you'll totally dig this fuzz box. Works awesome on bass too!

Questions about the Electro-Harmonix Big Muff Pi Fuzz Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close