0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Electro-Harmonix Deluxe Bass Big Muff Pi Bass Fuzz Pedal Reviews

5.0 stars based on 22 customer reviews
Questions about the Electro-Harmonix Deluxe Bass Big Muff Pi Bass Fuzz Pedal?

Questions about the Electro-Harmonix Deluxe Bass Big Muff Pi Bass Fuzz Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Missouri September 23, 2016

    A little buzz to wooly fuzz

    Got mine in on Monday, just got to use it today. This thing is great. There is such a wide range of tones available from this unit it's going to be fun looking for that sweet spot. The gate control is an amazing function on a fuzz pedal. It really cuts the bleed through inherent in distortion fx. It is a bit touchy but does the job. The cross over option basically gives you a whole extra effect on one pedal. The active/passive selector switch is a godsend for me as I use active pickups. As a whole well worth the money and a good buy.

  • from New York August 4, 2016

    My only pedal

    Bought this to fill out sound when playing in a power trio. Blend knob is what sets this apart from others as you won't lose the bottom end. Made in NYC is also a factor for me.

  • from New York July 28, 2016

    Bass Big Muff Pi

    Been playing for years without any pedals but recently playing in a trio got me to thinking some distortion might fill in the sound better during lead guitar riffs. Research points to this being a winner and I'd agree.

  • from Newton, NJ January 18, 2016Music Background:
    Bass 35 years

    All the way

    A great Bass pedal , between the blend control and the Crossover, great Bottom, and from Overdrive to Distortion, you have it all.

  • from December 26, 2015

    Fantastic fuzz

    What can I say. It's the big muff! The deluxe version gives you a great gate function along with the hi/low pass filters. You can essentially have two different sounds with one pedal when used properly. The ability to mix your dry tone in I feel is necessary to stay relevant in th mix.

  • from November 18, 2015Music Background:
    Aspiring Professional Musician. Touring musician

    Orchestrated Madness

    Very very versatile and clean distortion. Love the gate function and the fact that it doesn't leave out any low end. It's a great distortion pedal.

  • from Temescal Valley, CA August 21, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Bass Player

    Yes!

    I love this pedal! It offers a mixture between clean and distorted channels providing a powerful drive behind to bass without losing clean tone.One of my favorite rock bass players, Billy Sheehan uses this bass sound technique as well if you check out his videos. His rig is way different, but the idea is to overdrive a bass channel and keeping a clean one resulting in superior bass sound with edge.

  • from Philly Rocks! August 11, 2015Music Background:
    Professional musician

    Big Muff

    A great pedal! Well worth the money! Sweetwater rocks, fast delivery, great service!

  • from Torrance, Ca April 26, 2015

    If You Like Fuzz, Get The Muff

    If you like fuzz this is a nicely constructed box. Great blend and gate features.

  • from MiddleRiver , MD December 27, 2014Music Background:
    Rock, Metal , Punk , Industrial

    A monstrous War Horse !

    This thing blows the Boss ODB clear out of the water ! hell clear out of this universe . I can get anything from just a hint of fuzz to all out lemmy style insanity without losing any low end ,then click on the cross over and watch your windows mysteriously disapear lol

  • from Birmingham, AL December 11, 2014Music Background:
    I'm one of the many semi-pros out there slugging it out on the local and sometimes festival circuit, and I record all in house productions for our band.

    Deluxe may be an understatement!

    Ok so, right out of the box it was awesome! Just the look of it is inspiring. It is well made and sturdy. Other than the impressive appearance I very much liked the sensitivity of each and every knob. Just a slight touch and BAM! Sounds very vintage. From clean boost to overdrive to very fuzzy, this is the can do box I've been looking for for 20 years! I swore off effects for my bass back then because the bottom would just disappear, but not with this must have. I play a passive Fender 4 string fretless with half wounds through a GK Backline 600 and it has changed the way I play. No longer do I get lost in the mix, using the crossover option I'm totally heard and now can blend better with the guitars in the chorus. My guitar players have thanked me endlessly for my purchase. And since have also purchased EHX products for themselves. Only one thing that its missing would make it perfect, presets. Get one in your rig and you won't give it back!

  • from Tempe, AZ December 3, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-retired pro

    Great sounding, versatile pedal.

    Well-constructed, Easily adjustable from just a little grind to completely overdriven and everything in between. Tony Levin's video is a great demo. I've owned a Brassmaster for almost forty years. It's classic and sounds good, but this pedal is what it should have been. This Big Muff has better low frequency response, i.e., you can really leave the bottom in the signal. Good job E-H.

  • from September 15, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician, recording engineer

    Deluxe edition, deluxe quality.

    I will just start with what blows me away most; the sounds. There is a lot of tone control with this pedal. You can have just a hint of fuzz, full on fuzz, or even sound like a 70's distorted guitar. This pedal is just unbelievable with the potential of sounds coming from this. Best part? Activating the bypass and/or the crossover makes no "pop" like some of the cheaper pedals on the market.
    When I opened the box, I didn't realize the actual size of it until I held it in my hands. It is about twice the width of a wah pedal but the casing is pure METAL. I honestly believe that I could hit it with a hammer and only make a minor dent in it with no damage to the circuit board inside. My guess is that it is made out of 16 gauge steel. Bottom line is that this pedal feels road-worthy and durable.
    All in all, I recommend this pedal to every bassist out there. If you're willing to drop money on the Big Muff Pi, get the deluxe. It is just better.

  • from United States August 3, 2014Music Background:
    Bassist

    Great Pedal

    Finally an overdrive/fuzz, without low end loss. This pedal has really good sounds, and coupled with the blend and crossover, there are many different tones to achieve. You should have no problem finding a suitable tone from this pedal.

  • from CAIRO, OHIO May 27, 2014Music Background:
    PRO

    DLX. BIG MUFF PI BASS FUZZ PEDAL

    IT WAS A BIRTHDAY GIFT FOR MY SON WHO PLAYS HARD ROCK, (NOT A KID) HE'S 43. HE'S VERY PLEASED WITH THIS UNIT. ITS HIS "FAVORITE TOY" NOW.

  • from Jamestown, NY April 5, 2014Music Background:
    Performing Musician.

    In love

    Great pedal. I use it for my metal practices and performances where it lends me an amazing tone with millions of options for tweaking. I've loaned it to my friend to for a show "he plays rock" and he was actually able to get some pretty famous tones from it, like Muse's Hysteria or Stroke's Juicebox.
    I've always been a huge fan of EH and this pedal is a testament to why they'll always be my number one.

  • from Smyrna DE February 26, 2014Music Background:
    Long time Bass player

    Love this Muff

    The EHx deluxe bass Big Muff Pi is great! I plugged it in when I got it and it has been in my signal chain ever since. The ability to dial in a good fuzz tone and then control the mix with the blend knob has made this my favorite bass pedal so far. I like using the filters in the cross over section also. I don't always have them on but I do use them allot. I have been using an old spare 5 string bass that has low end crappy sounding pick-ups in it. I am able to get a beautiful crisp sound with the full low end punch that I crave. I use this with finger and pick styles and it always sounds good. If I had to change anything it would be to make the tone control a little more in depth possibly an active three band EQ but I'm sure that would jack up the price. Speaking of price, the price was a little over 100 bucks which is a good deal for how great this thing sounds. I can't comment on the DI section since I have not used it yet. If you like a subtle responsive break up type sound to an all out fuzz this pedal has it.

  • from Rochester, MN USA January 11, 2014Music Background:
    19 years of being in bands.

    Great Pedal!! worth it for the Deluxe Options!

    I have played the big muff pi bass, and this deluxe pedal is nearly the same until you kick in the crossover, and dial in that sweet spot!. the Crossover, the gate, and the DI out make it worth every penny more than the original Big Muff.

  • from San Jose CA USA August 19, 2013Music Background:
    Bass player

    Bass big muff deluxe

    The bass big muff deluxe is an excellent pedal and great tone shaper. The crossover switches are also a great addition to the formula and can give you even more options as far as distorted bass tones. The gate on it is also a really rad addition to the pedal to keep your amp quiet when the pedal is activated. The only concern I had with the pedal is it emits an annoying humming noise if you don't have a good power supply. Awesome pedal and has become my favorite as soon as I got it.

  • from Nashua NH March 27, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist.

    Big Muff

    Love it. With or without the distortion this thing is just sweet.

  • from Boston, MA February 5, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Great pedal!

    This pedal is a pleasure to use. Not only can I get a great big muff fuzz sound but with the gate and blend knobs it offers great control over the effect. I especially like the crossover controls. It's like having a second effect option built in. I can dial in extra bass (what!?) or using the high pass get a really interesting tingy low fi effect. I've only had it a few days but I keep on coming up with new ways to experiment with it. It goes beyond what I thought I would be able to do with a single pedal.

    Switching the crossover effect on doesn't decrease the sound so I have the option of having a two stage distortion series if needed. I can also make the two settings drastically different.

    If you are a fan of the bass big muff don't hesitate to try this one out. It is well worth your time.

  • from Connecticut January 24, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Fantastic Bass distortion

    A few years back, I bought a guitar big muff to use with my bass. I fell in love with the muff tone, my only complaint being a lot of low end was lost to the point playing notes on the low e string sounded like mud. When I Saw EHX was making a deluxe muff for bass, I saw the opportunity to upgrade. And man, I was blown away. Since this is tailored to bass, none of my low end was lost, resulting in a great growling low end distortion. This pedal is leaps and bounds above the old pedal I had. Some of my favorite features include the blend knob, which allows you to dial in to exactly what ratio of clean and distorted signal you want. There is also a noise gate, which eliminates any background buzz. Other features include a toggle that supposedly makes the pedal more friendly to active pickups (I only have passive basses, so only repeating what it says on the box), and "crossover" filters, which can lead to more varied effects to the tone. Bottom line is this is an incredible distortion pedal for anyone who loves the classic muff sound! No bottom end lost, no background buzz. Great product

Questions about the Electro-Harmonix Deluxe Bass Big Muff Pi Bass Fuzz Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway