0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Taylor Big Baby Taylor - Spruce Top Reviews

4.5 stars based on 24 customer reviews
Questions about the Taylor Big Baby Taylor - Spruce Top?

Questions about the Taylor Big Baby Taylor - Spruce Top?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from December 28, 2016

    Great guitar

    I love this guitar it sounds and plays great I like the size it's perfect for playing around the house comes with a nice gig bag and is priced right

  • from Ms. April 17, 2016

    Impressive

    I can't believe the sound this Big Baby has! A guitar in this price range that plays and sounds like a guitar with a much higher price tag and good looks to boot! Impressive!

  • from Barnegat, NJ April 13, 2016

    Love my new BABY Taylor!!!

    Fantastic guitar!! Love the sound out of this when it isn't even full scale.. Construction is fantastic. Taylor does not disappoint and neither does SWEETWATER!!!

  • from Sedalia, MO March 23, 2016

    Found my Ying to my Yang

    Great tone! Projects well. Brighter than my Martin D Junior and is a welcomed addition. Besides she is pretty too! Takes two CR2032 batterys to power the built in electronics and tuning is easy to accomplish. Had to buy a sound hole tuner for the Martin. Loved selecting this beauty online from four other Big Baby Taylor's in inventory. The match book looking back and pristine spruce front is eye candy. My sales engineer was only a call away or email. Great value even at the asking price. Nice gig bag. All around, a great travel or parlor guitar that I am enjoying. Sweetwater has put a dream guitar in my hands. Well done!

  • from Atlanta, GA February 6, 2016

    Love it, pure beauty

    I have owned so many guitars, it's stupid. Mostly Taylor and Martins in the $3,000 range each. I was absolutely blown away the first time I played the big baby. You can strum this guitar so hard and it shines incredibly balanced and loud, while also sounding fantastic for fingetstyle, classical, or strum rhythym. There are no unbalanced notes anywhere up the neck, even right on top of the screw heads!!! I love wide fret boards and this one is nicely spaced as well, with ultra low string height and a super thin neck, its really very comfortable. It's so light on your lap and just small enough that you can sit with it in any position and be comfortable, with easy reach all the way to the 14th fret!! I love this guitar so much I am literally about to buy one as a fun party tote around beater. It sounds too good to be treated like that but it's only $400!!! I cannot suggest this guitar enough, both to seasoned guitarists (like myself) and beginners...it's way better sounding than the GS Mini and 1 series.

  • from Everson, WA January 19, 2016

    Big baby Taylor with ES-b pickup

    My wife bought me this guitar as a camping guitar. Mymain guitar is the 810ce that we co-lead worship with. I was shocked that this guitar sounded so good; both guitars have the new es2/esb pickups and plugged into the house, the big baby sounded wonderful! The ES-b is a hotter pickup than the ES-2! We have made a couple of recordings with the big baby and it holds its own! A very good guitar that I will take to the campfires and lead out with on Sundays! Nice one, Taylor!

  • from Tennessee July 28, 2015

    Excellent bang for the buck

    In my opinion the Big Baby cannot be beat in this price range. I was considering a number of other highly recommended guitars such as the Yamaha FG730s and the Seagull S6 but I just kept coming back to the Big Baby. It is one of the easiest playing acoustics I've ever had in my hands. And just a really great tone for such a modestly priced instrument (Although for the most part people either love the Taylor sound or hate it. I'm in the "love it" camp.) Also, the guitar was setup absolutely perfect right out of the box. This one is a keeper. Taylor has a fan for life as does Sweetwater for their excellent service.

  • from US Naval Support Activity, Bahrain December 30, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Big Baby for my baby...

    I wanted to buy a guitar for my 13yo daughter as a Christmas present and a friend recommended Sweetwater. The website made it breeze-easy to select and order the guitar. I got the right guitar at a very good price. Within a few hours, I was contacted by Josh, who identified himself as my sales rep and kept me posted on the entire process. The next day, he sent me very nice photos of my new guitar and I saw how beautiful and perfect it was. I was concerned that the guitar would be damaged or lost in the mail, especially given the crush of packages sent over the holidays, but the guitar arrived unscathed and on time here in Bahrain. The packaging was amazing...the guitar was in the carrying case, which was in a custom fit hardened plastic case which was inside a box which was, in turn, inside another box full of paper padding. I could have run the box over with a truck and it wouldnt have been damaged! The guitar looks and sounds beautiful and my daughter and wife are overjoyed! Thank you so much to Josh and the folks at Sweetwater. You guys are the best!

  • from Orlando, FL November 3, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Worship Jammer ;)

    Amazing highs!

    I have always been in awe of taylor guitars but never could afford one and then this big baby came along! I am in love. I am really blown away by how loud it can get when you rip it and the gentleness of finger picking. Its light and portable, and beautiful in sound and sight. Definitely recommend this guitar to anyone who wants that Taylor sound without the $2000 price

  • from Gaithersburg MD USA November 4, 2013Music Background:
    practice

    Taylor Big Baby

    i really like this guitar that 's the one my favorite . i enjoy with it and the quality that i believe .. Thanks God that i playing and enjoy it.

  • from Westland, MI May 21, 2013Music Background:
    Working Musician

    Taylor Got It Right

    Got my Big Baby today and all I can say is I'm really happy with it. There is nothing small sounding about it. It has a great balance of lows , mids and Highs. I tried the GS Mini first but I just couldn't get use to the small size. Don't get me wrong the GS Mini sounded great. I also own a Taylor 414ce 2010 model and in my opinion nothing I have played tops the warm deep sound that it gives. If your looking for a nice sounding guitar for a great price don't count out the Big Baby. And remember The Taylor name will always provide better resale value in the future than most of the other guitars selling in the $500 range. Just a great sounding guitar for the money.

  • from Columbus Ms. September 1, 2011Music Background:
    B.A. degree in music, choir director

    big baby

    well built, great tone, good buy for the money

  • from April 11, 2016

    Nice

    Great guitar. Don't really care for the screwed on neck. Excellent brand

  • from Vancouver, WA August 3, 2015

    Solid Acoustic Guitar

    Not much needs to be said here, excepts its a Taylor, well made and excellent quality for price.
    The tone and richness of the guitar is exceptional even with its small size.
    Basically, as stated a Dreadnought capability in a smaller size.
    I have owned mine for over nearly decade, and take it travelling everywhere I go.
    My recommendation?
    Buy this guitar and do not be "cheap", you will not regret it, because anything less than this guitar is going to be subpar for the quality that is offered here.

  • from pa May 17, 2015

    unexpectedly good guitar

    purchased this guitar as a 'fooling around' instrument. quality is good but I did not expect the sound form it. construction wise, lots should be 'wrong' to get good sound but it does sound good and the size makes it easy to hold and play. don't get me wrong, it is an inexpensive guitar and is should as such it is not something I would use on stage but it is fun and it is priced well.

  • from fairport, newyork. July 20, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist still strumin after 40 years

    big baby huge sound

    over many years had alot of acoustic guitars this bb taylor is the best thin neck, bests sound you will get for 449 bucks. i love playing mine i cant say enough good things about mine, great job taylor.

  • from fairport,newyork July 18, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist strumin for over 40 years.

    big sound big baby from taylor

    great sound the types of woods make this guitar sing,can,t be beat in this price range.

  • from Lewiston, Idaho April 20, 2012Music Background:
    Taking lessons for three years

    Great volume and tone for a smaller guitar

    I bought this for my music teacher and he loves it. Great volume and tone for a smaller guitar.

  • from MI September 4, 2016

    Best Acoustic out there for the $$ easily.

    Love it! Things I might upgrade down the road would be tuners & bridge pins. Does Not come with a Taylor truss rod tool, - just saying, - it did Not need any tweaking upon arrival anyway. Fretboard / neck are nice. DID take some stock from bottom of saddle to dial in string hgt. Really great sound! Nice tan color gig bag as well. Comfortable "lap" acoustic, with full size sound. Play em' all in the 400.00 range & you'll see/hear for yourself!

  • from Sutton,WV May 1, 2014Music Background:
    Ph.D. Music

    real deal

    best guitar for the money. best guitar for a lot more money. what a deal. if you see 1 at this price, pick it up. the worst that could happen is, you just may learn to play, or play better. this is a really nice guitar. i have 1.

  • from OKC, OK November 27, 2013Music Background:
    Ancient Hobbyist

    My Baby

    Love the sound; great tone. It projects well. Came ready to play (IMO), good action and fresh 80/20 bronze strings. The top bout strap nut was loose, so I snugged it down and it came loose again. I put a felt washer under the nut. If it comes loose again I'll have to punt. I'm not going to return it for that. Size-wise it's every bit as big as my 000 Martin. Taylor put the neck on with screws. Don't get me wrong, it's not cheesy, as a matter of fact it allows for the neck to be thinner at the bout, and that makes it a little easier to play. I'm happy, and would do it again!

  • from LAWRENCEVILLE, GA August 15, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist, Recording Engineer, Producer

    Plays Well, Sounds Okay

    Before I bought this guitar, I tried a couple other models such Takamine, Fender, Yamaha, Luna, Ibanez, Martin, and Gibson. This guitar is very playable and makes it easy to get through a long session or gig. With the other guitars, I felt like my hand was starting to cramp after a few minutes, but I can breeze through a session with my Taylor Big Baby. However, the downside is that it did not sound as full as I had expected. The same model guitar I tried at Guitar Center had a warm and rich tone, but this particular guitar did not sound the same. This can be a good guitar if layered with warmer sounding guitar or for a song that has complex instrumentation. But my particular guitar does not have that special quality to it. Not sure if it had anything to do with the strings or the room that I was in. Further experimentation will be needed to find the cause.

  • from Northern Virginia May 1, 2012Music Background:
    Intermediate-Recreational-Self Taught

    Taylor Big Baby

    Tried out 5 Big Babies several years ago; found quality of workmanship and finish varied considerably - picked the best one after visiting 2 Guitar Center stores. Neck warped about a year after I bought. Brought to local Taylor Authorized Luthier Guitar Tech. Hard to beat Service- Taylor Stands 100% behind their products-shipped new neck to Luthier/Tech- fixed problem NOCHARGE !!

  • from San Francisco January 25, 2014Music Background:
    singer/songwriter/producer

    taylor via martin travel guitar

    I SO prefer the sound of the Martin. I bought this hoping to have a better sounding travel guitar. I do not like it at all. It does not stay in tune and doesn't have any warmth to the sound. Sorry I bought it.

Reviews

  • Phil Ferguson
    11-01-2008

    Taylor has been in the business of making acoustic guitars since 1974. Since then, they have created some of the greatest guitars the world has known and I love them. I've been a Taylor fan all of my life and I know that they make guitars that look great, sound amazing, and don't break the bank!

    When I had the opportunity to play the Taylor Big Baby, I was reminded as to why I fell in love with Taylor all those years ago. The Big Baby is a 15/16-scale dreadnought which is just a fraction smaller than a full-size Taylor dreadnought, but larger than a Taylor Baby. The Big Baby is the perfect size to be a portable acoustic guitar, yet large enough to be a solid performer.

    With a solid Sitka spruce top and sapele laminate sides and back, the sounds that come from the Big Baby are immaculate. The Big Baby has sweet mids and a clear, responsive upper frequency range. I was very impressed with this guitar's ability to fill the room with such a rich and powerful acoustic sound. As a solo instrument, this guitar is absolutely riveting with an upper range that is bright, shimmering, and to die for. Rhythm parts on the Big Baby sound compelling and rich with a deep, but clean woody tone.

    An acoustic guitar that feels, looks, and sounds this great, I would easily expect to pay double the price. As a sub-$500 acoustic guitar, what a value! This is a guitar that I can take on the hiking trail and then right into the recording studio. For the money, there isn't an acoustic guitar that can beat the sound and versatility of a Taylor Big Baby.

Questions about the Taylor Big Baby Taylor - Spruce Top?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway