0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Shure Beta 87C Handheld Condenser Microphone Reviews

4.5 stars based on 12 customer reviews
Questions about the Shure Beta 87C Handheld Condenser Microphone?

Questions about the Shure Beta 87C Handheld Condenser Microphone?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Andrew Malloy

    Absolutely outstanding! We replaced our high-end condenser vocal mics with four of the Shure Beta 87C mics and the change in clarity was remarkable. I was instantly using less EQ and blending the vocals much quicker. The vocalists also noticed right away and could hear each other through the monitors better. This made everything easier by focusing on the house mix and not the monitor mix. The Beta 87C is my new benchmark for quality in live vocal microphones!

  • from Indianapolis area May 8, 2016

    Great Mic

    Everything I expect from a Shure mic! It is perfect for our application...in ear monitors with a drum set on stage. Awesome clarity, with all the gain before feedback you should ever need. Let the mic do the wotk!

  • from Taylors SC August 25, 2015Music Background:
    Part time pro

    Shute Beta 87C

    What can I say other than fantastic microphone. But that's Shure for you first class products. Oh yea and let me tell you about Sweetwater these guys are rockin it. Best service in the music industry.

  • from Ashburn, VA May 27, 2015Music Background:
    Thirty five years full-time professional musician, working acoustic soloist and singer

    Seriously enhanced vocals...

    Had the opportunity to use a Shure Beta 87C at a casino gig I did last Fall, and liked the sound right away. I'm a full-time pro, acoustic soloist and singer, thirty five years experience, been using an EV 767 for years, got a nice warm sound from it, but the 87C has a much crisper, more articulated sound. I've always set my mics for some distance, as I feel closer proximity picks up more nasal tones, and this mic responds really well to that, while getting closer boosts the bass response and overall power significantly, giving quieter vocal passages a cleaner more resonant reading. Been using the Beta 87C now for about a month, and have been really impressed with the clarity and detail of my vocal, giving me what feels like truer more accurate reproduction, and allowing me to more fully express shades of color and tone as I'm singing.

  • from Temecula CA April 23, 2013Music Background:
    Live/Studio Sound Engineer

    Excellent Mic

    An excellent microphone for studio and live vocal use. Great upper mid range response and presence without thinning out vocals.

  • from Ann Arbor, MI USA October 22, 2008Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Folk Rock Musician, and Student

    Smooth and Honest!

    I purchased this mic through Sweetwater over a year ago and since then I've played about 20 shows with this mic. I LOVE IT! I've been really pleased with how natural it sounds. It sounds great on my voice and it doesn't sound too harsh when I mic my harmonica with it. This microphone allows me to bring studio quality sound to a live gig, which makes me very happy. It's been worth every penny. The only downside to this mic is that it will feedback if you have a loud drum set behind your vocalist, but if you're a solo artist like me, or if you play a quieter style of music, than this mic is perfect.

    I've also used this mic in my home studio with wonderful results. I'd recommend this mic to anyone who is looking to give their live sound that "intimate sound," or "Studio Magic." It's a great microphone and I hope you'll be able to enjoy it just as much as I have!

  • from bright indiana April 1, 2008Music Background:
    musician/recording engineer/singer

    great in house mic

    I've been using this mic for over a year now and i can say that this mic really sounds great, from all the soft spoken to the screaming and everything in between. I recorded my vocals in my bedroom with street noise yelling kids and a furnace running and it didn't pick any of that up, just my vocal so i would recomend this for those who need to isolate outside noise in the house. My only issue it that i had to by a foam cover for extra protection against the pops because the internal foam only does so much.
    well built all metal construction.

  • from February 20, 2015Music Background:
    Singer, songwriter

    Good one

    Excellent response to low frequencies and very sweet sound, recommend to thin voices. With my voice does an excellent job

  • from Central Oregon November 7, 2012Music Background:
    Professional musician

    High quality vocal mic

    Appreciate the excellent recommendation by Sweetwater of the Shure Beta 87C mic. It gives crisp, clear sound without distortion. Perfect for the contemporary worship services at church. Very reasonable price for the product.

  • from Monrovia CA, USA December 21, 2011Music Background:
    Gospel Singer

    Shure Beta 87C

    Good, clear, and pure sound, allows smooth transitoin to upper voice.

  • from West TN September 19, 2011Music Background:
    church sound engineer, bass player

    Always reliable

    I love the Beta 87 series of mics. The tone quality and eq is very easy to work with. I prefer the 87A to the 87C in general, but when working with stand mics and guitar players, the 87C works better because it's not as tight a cardiod pattern. There is too much drop off in the 87A when a singer moves their head with keeping the mic directly in front. The 87C handles the head swing much better. Can't run the monitors as loud with the C, but I'm in a confined space and don't need them loud .

    Affordable and higher quality sound than the SM58 (have never tried the Beta 58).

  • from California February 22, 2009Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Smooth and Warm

    I use this mic live. I would classify it's sound as even/smooth. Slight proximity effect when within an 1-2 inches, but in no way unpleasant. Presesnce boost is slight ( My ears tell me at around 3-7 khz). I find that the Neumann KSM 105 and the Beta 87C are very similar in response. The only differences I find between them is that the 87C sounds a bit more defused, or a tad less focused, especially on the top in comparison. Where as the KSM 105 has a very focused top and a fatter sound when "eating" the mic" Note: The 87C sounds nothing like the Beta 87A. I find the "A" version mic to have a shrill sound with no warmth. This is an all around great mic.

  • from United States October 20, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Beta 87C

    much better sound over my 58 and 57 mics. I still however like my Heil mic for harp and certain genres of songs over the 87C.

Questions about the Shure Beta 87C Handheld Condenser Microphone?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway