rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Shure Beta 87A Handheld Condenser Microphone Reviews

4.5 stars based on 43 customer reviews
Questions about the Shure Beta 87A Handheld Condenser Microphone?

Questions about the Shure Beta 87A Handheld Condenser Microphone?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from SoCal June 6, 2017

    One Bad-a** Stage Mic

    I have used a fair number of different stage mics, including a 58 beta and an EV 676. This mic stands head and shoulders above any other stage mic I have sang on. It would be a more fair comparison to compare it to a studio condenser mic for warmth and reproduction of the voice, however the mic has great isolation on stage, and really cuts thru the mix without picking up other instruments or sounds.
    Best vocal stage mic I have ever used.

  • from Lynch April 20, 2017Music Background:
    Worship/Band Leader

    Awesome Mic

    I have used the shure beta 57 for a few years now and I love the mic. I purchased the 87A and it is definitely in a different league. Your vocals will cut through like never before. It has the wow factor.

  • from Savannah Ga. April 11, 2017Music Background:
    35 years

    Sure Beta 87a

    Wow. What a difference from the 58. Thick sound and you can take it easy on the voice. Sweetwater is what a music dealer should be. Thanks guys

  • from March 1, 2017

    Beta 87A - Great Road Mic

    Been using an SM 58 for a long time - and still do. Been wanting a mic with a little more punch that can also be used in a musically noisy environment - instruments, amps and speakers pointing in all directions. I was a little worried about how a supercardioid pattern mic would work in this kind of situation but in the end I had no problems at all. Best part of the mic is, however, how good it made my vocals sound. Setting up the PA was easier and not having to crowd the mic made it much easier to perform.

    Overall I am 100% satisfied with Beta 87A and I am guessing it will be my go-to mic rather than the SM58.

  • from Vancouver, WA December 28, 2016Music Background:
    Professional for over 40 years

    Love this mic

    I already have used one of these for over 15 years, it was time to get another one, my other one still sounded good but it was old. Wow even though it still sounds better than most the new one is so crisp and clear and natural sounding it took me by surprise. the best vocal mic there is!

  • from WISCONSIN December 25, 2016

    Beta 87A

    I've had this microphone for 2 years now at our church. I've never had to EQ this mic! And the sound quality far exceeds the other microphones we have had. I got so many compliments at our churches Christmas service today after running the sound but it's pretty easy to do with this mic! Well worth the money.

  • from July 14, 2016

    Beta 87a

    This is the second 87a I've owned. The first one was stolen a couple years ago. I forgot how much of a difference it makes for a voice that is sometimes hard to get a good EQ on and has subtle nuances that often get lost in the mix. I am very happy with the overall quality and the way it enhances the natural timbre and tonal quality that doesn't otherwise come across with some female vocals.

  • from June 9, 2016Music Background:
    Solo artist

    Beta 87A

    Super clarity, I have used the SM58 for some time but the 87A surpasses clarity and warmth go out and get one.

  • from March 8, 2016

    Totally happy with this Mic

    I have used the Beta 58 for years as my go to Vocal Mic. When I received the 87A I hooked it up to my Fishman Artist amp and set everything flat on the EQ. The Mic sounded so warm and natural with no EQ or processing ( I also use a harmonizer that has processing ) that I am really looking forward to using it live. Great Mic would recommend any vocalist or fan of the 58's or Beta 58 get your hands on one it is well worth the extra money.

  • from July 31, 2015

    Very warm condenser with clariy

    First, I want to thank Phil Schwan and Sweetwater for helping me with this microphone purchase. Phil has been so helpful with my purchases here at Sweetwater, and so far, he and the entire sweetwater team have been way above compared to any competitors out there right now.

    With that said, let me say, this microphone has very smooth high end, tight lows (but not lacking), and clarity in the midrange. I bought a Telefunken M80 and rerturned that one. That microphone is advertised to be a dynamic microphone with condenser like performance. But for me, M80 was just a dynamic microphone with lots of highs. On the other hand, Shure Beta 87A is very warm and smooth, yet still retaining that condenser quality in sound and detail. I am very happy with this purchase. Props to Phil because he recommended this microphone for me!

  • from Eufaula Oklahoma February 26, 2015Music Background:
    Song writer live sound and studio engineer pro musician

    Great mic

    Sounds great range is really good for all types of singers sound quality is so much better than 58 or beta 58 . Close to studio singing microphones

  • from Fl December 23, 2014Music Background:
    live musician

    Shure Beta 87a

    I have 3 that I use along with SM58s. 87a has more air in the vocals, tight pattern and such smooth frequency response.

  • from Pennsylvania June 18, 2014Music Background:
    Lecturer, hobbyist

    Superb Quality

    I use this mic for everything. When the directional feature is needed, the supercardioid pattern is extremely useful to prevent feedback and give lots of headroom. Even picks up conversations nicely in a whole classroom of people, some of whom are 20 ft away. Of course, with this application, considerable background noise is present, but acceptable. The dialogue (questions and answers) sounds very natural on the recording. I use the left channel to record the mono class lecturer (from head-worn mics), and the right channel goes only to the recorder and picks up the room Beta 87A mic(s) on maximum 60 to 70 dB gain. On the computer DAW, everything from the right channel is zeroed out except when a question is being answered from the audience. This is passed through. The back and forth conversation comes through nicely. Also, a single Beta 87A mic about 3 feet away from a guitarist-singer-harmonica player picks up all 3 impeccably. Very natural sounding. Close your eyes listening to the recording, and you think the person is right in front of you without amplification.

  • from February 13, 2014Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Broadcast Engineer, Hobbyist, Wannabe Musician

    Love this mic

    Best stage microphone for the price that I have ever used. Beautiful response curve, excellent pattern and lots of dynamic range.

  • from Greenfield, IN September 2, 2013Music Background:
    Vocalist,Musician, Studio Owner

    Awesome Mic

    I needed a better mic for the band I'm in. I personally didn't care for the SM58, so I tried this. Wow! It has exceeded my every expectations! The response and clarity of my vocals is great! Love this mic!

  • from CA USA. October 17, 2012Music Background:
    SINGER

    Shure Beta 87A

    This is the best mic. Very nice resonance & clarity. I have use this for recordings, it really delivers you the results. Once in a while I have friends practise singing, they are just amazed with te clarity. Love it.

  • from Spokane, Wa May 29, 2012Music Background:
    Pro/Hack Musician

    Bang for your Buck!

    I've been using the Beta 58 and SM 86 mics for years, switched to Sennheiser for a BRIEF time, came back to Shure because of this mic! My vocal range goes from the lows of George Jones to the highs of Ronnie Dunn and everything in between and this mic does it all! The only thing that makes this mic even sweeter is a quality tube preamp, a little compression and a little verb/delay...no need EVER for an EQ adjustment. Worth every pretty penny!

  • from Atlanta, GA April 25, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Beta 87A

    Great for acoustic guitar player/singer that tend to back away time-to-time, otherwise similar to 87C.

  • from Somerset,Kentucky April 3, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician and Singer

    My favorite Mic

    This is undoubtedlythe most mellow, smooth, responsive ,voice enhancing mic I have ever used and I have used Shure fpr 45 years. You want professional sound? call one of the great tech's at SWEETWATER and you will find the most sincere attention to your needs and they know what you need and the service is terrific.We also use 58A Beta and SM 58. They are good but not close to this jewel.

  • from Providence, RI October 29, 2011Music Background:
    Jazz pianist, singer, songwriter, recording artist, bandleader, and performer

    Shure Beta 87A microphone is great!

    I have been using a Beyer M88 for at least 20 years until I got to sing using the Shure Beta 87A mic. I love the way it rounds out the bottom end of my voice, but still sounds really bright on the high end, and I can sing right into it on the high notes and it can take it without feeding back, or sounding too harsh. I love it!

  • from Indianapolis, Indiana October 25, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Love this Mic

    Great vocal Mic. I had been using a SM58A Beta (which I have used for several years), but like the 87A much better. Clean full sounding Mic. If you have a 58 or beta 58A try this mic . I am sure you will love it as much as I do.

  • from mebane nc February 22, 2010Music Background:
    mandolin and guitar ,and sing lead ,and run sound board

    The Real DEAL

    This is the best mic I have found ,I now own 5 of these for a Bluegrass band.I have tried serval different brands,and no others give the quality of vocal sound as these do,I also own two shure ksm32 that I use on some ocasions,and I get the same quality of sound on the beta 87c.I chose the 87c for a little wider pattern,for the reason when singing lead I can turn my head a little more right or left and stay tight in the pick up pattern ,when the micis on a stand.I have used the 87a when holding in my hand,these are two great mic's,you will be proud to own either of these

  • from London UK February 6, 2009Music Background:
    Singer/songwriter

    A Singer's dream mic

    I am a singler/songwriter . i play in resturants and weddings and partys .
    This microphone is outstanding. I really love the warm crisp sound of this mic.I have quite a powerful voice so I sing a few inches away and give it all I've got . It picks up so much detail even a few inches away plus when I go close up its so warm.
    I have many good quality mics i.e the Rode S1, Se Electronics H1 but the Shure beta 87a surpasses them all.
    This microphone is like what Hagen Diaz is to having a choice of ice cream it really is a delux condenser mic worth every penny.

  • from Paducah, KY USA April 8, 2008Music Background:
    Musician, Student, Recording Enthusiast

    Great, Great Mic!

    I love this mic! I've owned it for about 3 years now and still use it all the time. The clarity of the Beta 87A is worth every penny. This thing will never feedback which is a MUST for live use. Go get one!!

  • from Parkersburg, W.V. August 10, 2007Music Background:
    Sang in Quartets for 55 years

    Studio Quality on stage

    performing live demands a microphone that has clarity and quality that is found in a studio, and The Beta 87A has all of that, whether it be in a small curch or a 10,000 seat arena.
    Vocals are crisp and clear, That's why The Crownsmen Quartet use only the Shure Beta 87A,. and all our road equipment was purchased from Sweetwater Sound.
    The Crownsmen Quartet

  • from March 14, 2016Music Background:
    composer / producer

    Tight!

    A friend who engineers news reporting recommended this as a mic with a super-cardioid pattern for use in ambient settings when you want to cut down on the amount of room the mic captures. It does a great job of that. The proximity effect is pronounced which requires attention for instrument recording but works great for hyped radio style VO when you work it close. Looking forward to trying this on toms! Hi mid EQ rise feels a little more pronounced than its dynamic siblings (SM57/58).

  • from Virginia Beach, Virginia October 29, 2014Music Background:
    Accordionist,

    Shure Beta A microphones

    Mics are great. No handling noise at all and clear

  • from Des Moines, Iowa July 28, 2014Music Background:
    Live Playing, Home Recording

    Rugged Handheld Condenser Mic!

    This mic is nice and smooth which is characteristic of a condenser. I have found it needs a little more attenuation and EQ in a live setting when compared to a Beta 58. Overall a good choice.

  • from North Myrtle Beach, SC February 22, 2014Music Background:
    Bass Guitar/VOX, Acoustic Guitar/VOX, Banjo, Keyboards, Percussion, and whatever else needs fiddling with...

    A very nice Upgrade for my Acoustic act.

    I bought the Beta 87a to use for my acoustic project. It lets very subtle nuances come through and works well with our stage monitors without having difficult feedback problems. I have been using the SM58 for decades now like many, and it is still a great choice for the rock gigs. But when Im singing lead, I need something a little bit more detailed and clear. The Beta 87a definitely gets me there. I haven't used it a whole lot yet, as I just recently bought it, but the season is just getting ready to get started and I am looking forward to it more than ever!

  • from New York September 4, 2008Music Background:
    Singer

    10 years and still reliable

    After l0 YEARS use giging (VERY careful with all my equipment) I still use my Beta87A! It has great reliability obviously and thru my Behringer DEQ1024 Equalizer, reproduces my voice perfectly.

  • from NYC July 9, 2008Music Background:
    singer, Karaoke singer, keyboards

    Karaoke Kick

    I love the warmth, clarity, and crispness of this mic, and you can get subtle with it. No more screaming to hit a note, you have a mic that will cut through the mix clearly and every whisper comes in clearly, but you have to learn how to use one of these babies because bad singers will sound worse while talented singers will be able to get more of their vocal quality sot with less effort. This is the best mic under a grand by far, but you have to sin straight into it, and not move it too far away.I have plenty of mics, including some that are more expensive, but for Karaoke or live gigs this is your best bet. It is great for studio work as well, but I like it best in live gigs.

  • from NYC July 9, 2008Music Background:
    singer, Karaoke singer, keyboards

    Karaoke Kick

    I love the warmth, clarity, and crispness of this mic, and you can get subtle with it. No more screaming to hit a note, you have a mic that will cut through the mix clearly and every whisper comes in clearly, but you have to learn how to use one of these babies because bad singers will sound worse while talented singers will be able to get more of their vocal quality sot with less effort. This is the best mic under a grand by far, but you have to sin straight into it, and not move it too far away.I have plenty of mics, including some that are more expensive, but for Karaoke or live gigs this is your best bet. It is great for studio work as well, but I like it best in live gigs.

  • from Temecula , Ca. December 21, 2006Music Background:
    Live Audio dude

    Crisp and Clean and no Caffiene

    Well unless it's real early . I really like the clarity this mic gives in the high mid range, very clean and punchy.I still like a SM58 for some vocalist ( the drunk ones that abuse mics a lot)but the singers that have good power and were intelligibility is of chief concern the 87 rocks.

  • from Chickasha, Oklahoma March 1, 2016Music Background:
    Worship Leader, Studio owner, performer, composer

    Works well with TC Helicon VoiceLive 2

    I've got some great microphones for performances and for studio work, but they pick up too much extra sound from monitor speakers when I want to do vocals with my TC Helicon VoiceLive 2. This mic isolates my voice so I'm not also hearing harmonies from my keyboard or guitar - not good. It has turned my VoiceLive 2 vocal harmonizer into a piece of gear I will be using way more, and having more fun with it than ever! It gives me the edge I get with my other mics and makes my vocal harmonizer sound awesome!

  • from September 14, 2014

    Shure Beta 87A

    Love this new mic! SPL ratios are awesome. Incredibly Dynamic and Very Present. Siblance is Killer. Glad I spent the extra

  • from Merritt Island, FL USA January 28, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Excellent microphone with excellent dynamic range

    Soundman went bonkers when I introduced this to the live setup for our show. Great dynamic range and boosted our vocals. Required our soundman to adjust the mix a bit. That's a good thing. Very happy with the purchase.

  • from Fairlawn, OH July 31, 2013Music Background:
    Professional touring guitarist / vocalist

    Great for live, great for female studio

    Generally, this mic sounds great. A must for stage / live performances.

    Even in the studio, I use this mic for female vocalists sometimes with surprisingly good results. For the price, it's AWESOME!

  • from Bentonville, AR January 18, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Awesome Mic, Awesome Price

    We use this mic for live recordings and it sounds great every time! We've tried a few other mics, (even some more expensive ones) and this is your best deal for the money. The mic captures the true tone and clarity of the singer.

  • from Knoxville, TN August 29, 2011Music Background:
    Church Sound Tech.

    Shure Beta 87A

    Delivered on time and performs great.

  • from Charleston, SC June 8, 2008Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Worship Leader, Recording Engeineer

    Great Mic

    This is a great mic. A real step up from the standards (sm58, etc.) It will give you more intimacy and air without sacrificing anything. Does require phantom power like all condensers so be sure your board has it. Can get a little bright on some vocalists, but easily fixed with EQ.
    If you have a bit more to spend, the Rode S1 is a worthy upgrade. If you don't, you will definitely be pleased with this mic.

  • from Atlanta, GA May 18, 2006

    Big Step Up

    Our bass player bought this for live gigs as a step up from his SM 58. Now, he has a big, clear vocal sound that cuts through the mix nicely. Only problem is that we told him that he sounds great and he won't let us forget it.

  • from Bourg, La April 30, 2006

    Great Mic

    Crystal clear and very detailed. It is an outstanding mic for female lead vocals. Love it.

  • from Madison, WI January 1, 2004

    Beautiful

    This mic is very clear. You can hear every note being sung into it, even the really quiet lows. You dont have to strain your voice to be heard anymore. This things rocks and you wont regret buying it. It is a mic that needs to stay put though, so if you like to run around stage with a mic you may want to consider a beta 58 instead.

Questions about the Shure Beta 87A Handheld Condenser Microphone?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway