0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Shure Beta 58A Handheld Dynamic Vocal Microphone Reviews

4.5 stars based on 82 customer reviews
Questions about the Shure Beta 58A Handheld Dynamic Vocal Microphone?

Questions about the Shure Beta 58A Handheld Dynamic Vocal Microphone?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Odon, Indiana May 11, 2017Music Background:
    Worship Minister

    Great Product

    The Beta 58A does exactly what it says. Honestly if you have been using the same old mic for years give it a shot. It will revitalize your voice and your singing.

  • from Corning, NY April 4, 2017

    Clear and Powerful

    I upgraded from an Audio Technica vocal Mic and couldn't be happier. This Mic looks great, is built well, has a strong output and avoids feedback. It's my first Shure Mic and definitely exceeds my expectations. Thank you to my sales engineer Kent Sallez for his recommendation on this great product.

  • from Castlewood va March 30, 2017Music Background:
    Played in rock band for 10 years now playing in church and doing some recording with a friend chris rose thanks sweetwater for all the help especially Delvin Wolf

    Shure beta 58A handheld dynamic vocal microphone

    i highly recommend the sure beta58A it has a great sound it picks up your vocals with out having to eat the mic i own three of them there's no question about it shure is the best

  • from Orland Park, IL March 3, 2017Music Background:
    40+ years of rock n' rolling and never looking back!

    Comparison - Beta58A WINS!

    I have purchased many handheld vocal mics trying to find "the one".
    From Audix OM-7 to the Sennheiser e945. From the the Blue 100 (and, even the condenser-version 300) to the standard Shure SM-58. Even a batlle of Telefunkens, the M-80 vs. the M-81. What did Learn from my investments?
    The Sennheiser e945 is another feedback rejecting mic that falls a little short on the mid-range side but, still, a very nice mic (4.5 stars).The Audix OM-7 is great at rejecting feedback but the low output doesn't produce enough mid-range to work well with my voice (gave it 4 stars).
    The Blue 100s are very nice, too, (rated 4) with their 300 condensers getting a 4.5 (the need for phantom power keeps it from being a 5)
    The Telefunken M-81 was a bit muddy on the mid-range side but not nearly as clouded as the Shure SM-58. A tweak of the EQ and this mic is as golden as it's brother, the M-80.
    And although they say it is an industry standard, the SM-58's get my lowest rating (2.5) as I find them to be very muddy and have poor response.
    So, with the SM-58 getting such a low rating, I was not expecting much from the Shure Beta 58A but, WOW, was I wrong! The Beta 58A produced a much clearer than my previous, "go to" vocal mic, the Telefunken M-80. The highs are there, the mids are there, the lows are there...everything is "there".
    I now use the Beta 58A as my #1 mic for rehearsals and live shows!

  • from February 13, 2017

    Super mic!

    Great clarity and crispness! Rugged enuff for the road too!

  • from February 12, 2017Music Background:
    Drummer for 51 years.

    Beta 58a

    This is my second 58a. Best mike for live performance. Had first one almost 20 years.

  • from Bloomington, IL January 3, 2017Music Background:
    Country Singer/Guitarist

    Beta 58A

    I sing through this mic every night I play. Two years have gone by since I purchased this and I still can't seem to find any flaws. For those on stage with drummers and other loud instruments - the supercardioid pattern on this mic does cut down drum bleed over an SM58 (or other cardioid dynamic mics). The sound is great and I'm convinced it will never break - 5 stars without hesitation.

  • from November 22, 2016

    All items,

    Love everything couldn't have picked a better place to shop with. Thank you so much.😊😊

  • from Ga October 27, 2016Music Background:
    Sound tech, guitarist, vocalist

    It Does What It's Known For

    The Shure Beta 58 has got to be, hands down, one of the best all around mics on the market today. If you're looking for a mic that is going to last a long time and produce excellent results, then this thing is what you're looking for.

    Before spending the cash on my beta58, I used Shure SM48 mics for vocals (which are great mics for the money. I use these for running sound for events because they're reliable and I'm not out a whole lot if one gets broken somehow). After switching, I had people who hear my group quite often come up and comment just how much more clean and clear the vocals were than the last time they had heard us play.

    If you're serious about performing live, or this is even a great mic to use for recording, then the beta58 is always a great tool to carry with you in your bag. Whether you run your own pa or show up to a gig and find that the house mics are are cheap and reek of whatever lives in the spit of the last 15 people who have used them, the beta58 is is always a good option to have with you.

  • from August 10, 2016Music Background:
    Gigging musician and sound man

    A Classic Mic, On Steroids

    I have tried every brand of mic and keep coming back to this one. The SM58 became a classic mic for two reasons: it's reliable, and it can be EQ'd to sound good on any voice. The Beta 58a makes the following improvements: It's frequency response takes less EQ to get a good sound. The signal is hotter, making it more workable on softer voices. The mic can take even more abuse than the venerable and bulletproof SM58 because of the hardened grill. And most importantly, it rejects feedback better than any other mic on the market. It takes serious effort to make this mic feed back, and it takes either overkilling or intentionally screwing up the EQ to make it sound bad. I would recommend it to anybody.

  • from N.J. August 5, 2016

    Shure Beta 58A

    Best live vocal mic ever.

  • from New York July 4, 2016

    Awesome Mic

    This is the 3rd one that I am buying. I would consider this the easiest and best mic for live gigs.

  • from New York April 30, 2016Music Background:
    FOH Audio Engineer/Mixer (guy in the back)

    Extremely Amazing

    This is a fantastic vocal mic for live events. I use these all the time to mic my vocalists on stage, there is something about a wired 57 that sounds great. But you know what sounds even better? ... the Beta 58A

  • from Mobile, AL August 26, 2015Music Background:
    Pop Punk

    Great Mic

    Brilliant crisp sound. I have used 58's for 20 years and these are by far worth the extra $$$. We practice in a small space and have always had problems with feedback, not any more. Great product and as always Sweetwater sales reps are the best!

  • from Alva, OK July 11, 2015

    Worth the extra money

    Very high quality microphone. Worth the extra money over the cheaper mikes.

  • from NYC March 19, 2015Music Background:
    Audio engineer , studio engineer , stage mutt

    Best "live" vocal mic ever!

    With over 30 years of live sound engineering I can say without a doubt these are the best! ..
    It's almost impossible to get them to feed back, even when knucklehead singers jump out front and stand directly in FRONT of the Main FOH speakers! ...I used the regular SM58s for years , I had 10 and sold 8 of them , I now own 7 BETA 58s , 2 wireless SLX Beta 58 and plan on getting 3 more .. I've had more singers say that I've done magic with their vocals , that's because they can finally hear themselves ! ..I can confidently BLAST their monitors with no fear of feedback !! .. I used to cringe when a vocalist grabbed the mic off the stand and started dancing around all over the stage into every "sound zone".. and then mic in hand, squat down directly in front of his monitor to grab his drink on the floor , NO FEEDBACK !
    It's the best investment for stress relief for a soundman ever ! ...I also own 2 Beta 87A , great Mics but I'm a firm believer that powered condenser Mics have no place on a small stage with insanely loud bands ...

  • from Grand Rapids, MI February 3, 2015

    A Staple

    Great mic for live background vocals.

  • from United States January 27, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Mixing, Guitarist, Audio for Film

    Wonderful as ever

    Proves to hold up to it's standard! Great sounding mic for vocal performance and even tracking guitar!

  • from Pa January 26, 2015Music Background:
    Live sound

    I love this mic

    When it comes to price you just can't find a better mic for vocals then this mic, A friend recommended this mic to me when I first got into doing sound and I have yet find a better mic for the price. far less problems on the board when using the beta 58A. I had 9 different bands at a festival using the beta 58A with no issues.

  • from Pittsburgh, PA USA December 27, 2014Music Background:
    Drummer/percussionist/bassist/backing vocalist - Semi-professional musician

    My wife noticed...

    I've been playing in bands since the 1970's, drums, hand percussion and backup vocals are my duties. I used a SM 58 for a long time, tried a Shure headset mic for a while and then ventured into AKGs.

    Eventually I found my way to a Beta 58A. The first time that I used it my wife said, "What did you do to the PA? You singing sounds so much better tonight." The next show I let the lead singer use it and my wife's response was the same for his singing that night.

    Eventually all four bands that I'm in switched all of the singers to Beta 58s, we are very happy with the results!

  • from Gulf Coast, Texas December 12, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician and sound man, less than pro recordist :)

    The standard made better!

    Sometimes, an item creates the standard that other such items are measured against. The item becomes such the norm in use that it is considered the base for reference, even though it is not truly reference or flat in its own response. Such is the Shure SM58 microphone. It has been so good for so long that it has become what people are referring to when they say "stage microphone."

    The Beta 58A mic has managed a very dangerous course with a deft touch. Often great products are ruined when they are improved, and become a caricature of themselves. Not so with the Beta series. The basic sound of a standard Shure SM58 is clearly there. And that's a good description, as it is the SM58 *clearer* in every range. And a bit louder as well. So the sound is there, as more of a good thing.

    I have been using one for years on stage, and I can say they have been as reliable as the many SM58s I have used. I haven't put in decades with the Beta 58A, as I have with the SM58, but so far they appear to be as rugged as their predecessor.

    Using on stage, one place I can say the Beta 58A clearly bests the SM58 is in feedback and bleed through rejection. The microphone is a supercardioid configuration, and it is truly awesome at rejecting sound from the sides and back. That means less garbage in your vocal mix, and less feedback for the performer on a loud stage, even with multiple monitors.

    The 5 Star rating is earned because this microphone, for a reasonable cost, makes the vocalist AND the sound man look good. The Beta series has been a great add to the stage microphone offerings at Sweetwater, and has become a sort of new standard in itself. The recognition is well deserved. I can recommend this mic without reservation.

  • from New York August 27, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Singer/songwriter/Musician

    Shure Beta 58A

    ok folks, I am a professional guitarist/singer...I've been using Shure SM 58 mics most of my life...I wanted to try something different, I tried the EV series then was pointed to the Sennheizer line (e935, e945 AND MD 421 II) After taking these mics to task on gigs I find the Beta 58A has the best overall range, and feedback rejection (comparable to the MD 421 II which is 2x the cost). I am a baritone tenor... The Beta 58a enables my lows to be robust (i.e., my Barry White voice) also my highs crisp (for my James Brown Screams) AND my high tenor falsetto to CUT through the mix... It was an arduous and surprising experimental journey...but now I'm BACK to my Shure sound. LOVE IT!!!

  • from August 23, 2014Music Background:
    Pianist

    Excellent

    Still tthe best & reliable mic.

  • from Portland, Oregon July 21, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Shure Beta 58A... 'Sure Bet'!

    As a live solo gigging man, this microphone blows away anything I've ever used! I guess because previously using an AKG, thinking it was all the mic I needed, I can tell the frequency response in the high to low end range is superior for vocals!! Yes the 58A model, is the right choice for this vocalist, and would recommend it to anyone! :D

  • from Grand Rapids, MI April 4, 2014Music Background:
    Worship Leader, Songwriter, Basement Recorder!

    Killer Mic

    Cuts through live, great smooth sound on recording..what's not to love?

  • from Beaver Dam, WI January 29, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician, recording engineer, live sound. Over 30 years rockin.

    AWESOME 58 Shure Beta!

    Sweetwater totally rocks! Shure Beta beats all other live mics. Great with less feedback on stage. Awesome output...Blends my voice on top of the mix. Get one now!
    Thank you!

  • from United States December 14, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Solid, Reliable, Not Always Best

    Sonically, this mic is a step up from the SM58. I noticed a significant difference in the clarity of the high end. This mic will do everything an SM58 does, but sound a little better and feedback a lot less. BUT: you do have to be careful about how you sing into it. It is much more sensitive to off-axis singing than an SM58, and could take some practice to get used to. That being said, it is nowhere near as sensitive as other super-cardioids, like the Sennheiser e945.

    Which brings me to the next point which is to MAKE SURE YOU TRY OUT OTHER MICS. If you are after a personal mic that only you (or a specific singer) will use, I highly recommend trying Sennheiser, EV, Heil Sound, and Audix. They all make great mics that suit different needs better than a Shure. If, however, you need a mic that will sound decent on everybody, look no further.

  • from December 3, 2013Music Background:
    Live sound for my performance to singing.. And i use for recording a cuatro puertoriqueo

    Shure beta 58

    Very very very waooo..!!! I like sou much.. Thanks

  • from FL September 22, 2013Music Background:
    non-full-time pro musician

    great vocal mic. crisp and warm

    for people without a natural crispness in their voices, or singing in a situation where a little more cut is needed to punch through a full band, this mic will not disappoint. of course it depends on your pa, style of music you are playing, etc. this is another gem of a product from Shure...

  • from Honolulu, HI January 30, 2013Music Background:
    Gigging Musician, Singer, Producer

    Takes Some Practice

    This mic was hard to get used to. Bought it after losing the trusty old SM58 at a gig, decided to upgrade. This mic is way more sensitive to movement than the SM58, so much so that it took me almost a week of practice to get used to. If you close your eyes and sing into an SM, you can move around a little without the sound being affected much. With this mic, you need to keep that grill right in one spot and only pull back slightly, or else the level will drop. But the result? AMAZING feedback rejection. I've laid down scratch vocal tracks in the studio control room with monitors blaring 2 feet away from my face, and the leakage was almost inaudible on the playback. I highly recommend this mic for experienced singers who perform on loud stages. Pack it with you, if there's feedback, switch out the mic, plug this in.

  • from Manchester, NH, USA January 11, 2013Music Background:
    Lead Vocals

    Excellent performance microphone, clear sound with mimized feedback.

    Excellent microphone.
    I've tried several different models and the Shure Beta 58A has the lowest feedback and clearest sound of them all!

    It picks up all vocal ranges. I had problems with some microphones not picking up anything above the 3rd octave on the piano scale, vocally, and others that would not pick up the lower base range.

  • from United States December 21, 2012Music Background:
    Working Musician

    The best performance mic there is

    Before purchasing my Beta 58A, I had a Blue enCore 200. It was a decent mic, but a wire came loose inside and I had to borrow the drummer's 58A while it was being fixed. Well, it was like the part in the Wizard of Oz when it goes from black and white to color. We're talking crisp, clear high end punch that cuts through the mix like a sharp blade. Further, the mic seems to be much more durable, too, and it is considerably lighter as well. I couldn't be happier with this microphone, and I would highly recommend it to any working musician who lives for vocals.

  • from USA November 28, 2012Music Background:
    Weekend Musician

    Shure BETA SM58A - Great Mic

    I've used the Shure SM58 for years and always felt it did a good job. Our drummer has been telling me to try the BETA SM58A, so I recently purchased one from Sweetwater.
    Just a great mic. Out performed the SM58 in everyway. Our sound man said he turned my volume down 1/3 and I felt it was so much easier to sing. It may sound strange, but I didn't use nearly the effort that I used before to hit those hard for me to reach notes.
    If you're like me and want the best quality you can get on a modest budget, then spend the money on this mic. It's well worth it.

  • from Dhaka/Bangladesh November 26, 2012Music Background:
    music composer,singer

    beta 58 review

    I'v been using beta 58 for my studio vocal recording and its better than many studio vocal condenser don't forget U2,Bjrk and many professional artist used beta58 for their album....

  • from Clearlake Oaks, CA USA August 14, 2012Music Background:
    Single, live, full sound solo act w/PSR keyboard

    Shure Beta 58A

    This mic sounds great and the best part is it doesn't feedback as bad as the other mics do. It puts out a hotter signal before feedback. This combination is the ticket for pro use. I've used ball mics throughout my career. I've tried the ones with a flat spot and it just isn't my cup of tea. This is the one I choose out of all the rest. The only improvement I could ask for is I wish it had a switch. I had to use an inline Hosa switch which works great.

  • from Chicago IL. June 14, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Shure Beta 58A

    Great Mic I have been using them for 10 years now and I think they are the best. The 58 was good, but this Mic is great!!! I have a four piece band and we all sing through the Beta 58A. Our volcals are a big part of what we do, so a great stage Mic is a must!! Thanks to Sweetwater for caring about what they sell, and have interest in their customers needs and want's.

  • from June 4, 2012

    Love this mic

    Blows away my old SM 58's, loud and clear mic. My fav live mic so far.

  • from Pittsburgh PA USA May 10, 2012Music Background:
    Drummer/percusionist/bassist/singer

    Beta beats the rest

    I've used SM 58s for almost thirty years. Some of my old ones were getting a tad ragged. Last year I decided to save a couple of dollars and bought a few AKG D9000s. I was underwhelmed, they have already been replaced. I have used a few Beta 58s over the years and liked them a lot, but hesitated to shell out the extra $ for them over the SM58. After my experience with wasting the money on the AKGs, I decided to spluge and bought a Beta 58 to try. The other musicians in two different bands noticed the difference right away. Everyone who sings in both bands have recently bought Beta 58s. With this great experience I'm getting ready to try out a couple of beta 57s for my percusion setup. I'll let you know how that goes.

  • from April 27, 2012

    beta58

    The best vocal mic I've ever used

  • from Minneola, Florida January 5, 2012Music Background:
    Lead Vocalist

    Absolute Perfection

    Owned a SM57 for years, used an SM58, but not the Shure Beta 58A yet. Until now, and im stuck...I will never use another mic other than this one again...it is the best mic ive ever used and now own!

  • from Indianapolis, IN USA October 21, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Beta 58A

    Love the warmth and clarity. Has upped my confidence in vocal projection. Great sonic dynamics.

  • from September 24, 2011

    Awesome mic

    My band brings this mics to every show we play and it's the difference when we play compared to other bands. It always cuts through the mix and really takes a beating with SPL levels it takes. We wouldnt use anything else.

  • from Destin, FL September 15, 2011Music Background:
    Audio specialist, musician, Gator Handler

    A+

    I received the mic very quickly and it is exactly what i was looking for! Again, Brian C. came through with flying colors. The man has been great to me and my company. Thanks again, B!

  • from Fort myers, FL June 28, 2011Music Background:
    Professional performing musician

    Best mic for live vocals by far!

    I've always felt that to get a great sound you had to buy a slightly more expensive mic to really capture the full spectrum of your voice. Using Senheiser and a few other brands (which I'm not bashing they're still great companies) I recently switched over to this mic and immediately heard more lows and mids in my voice and haven't had any feedback issues at high gain. I use the TC Helicon hamony G for effects and vocal harmonies and even with my full band behind me and the mic and it's peak of hotness it's completely in control and doesn't feedback on me. I'll never buy another mic for live vocals ever again. See why this is the industry standard for yourself.

  • from Boyne City, MI December 17, 2008Music Background:
    20 years of giggin'

    Excellent mic

    This mic does exactly what it says it does, and it does it perfectly. My band is big and loud, and while the traditional SM58 was working fine for me (I'm a loud male singer), it wasn't working for our female vocalists. A combination of their frequency range (high) and vocal style (not as loud) was giving us problems. Their vocals came out muddy too quiet, and were prone to feedback when we turned them up. The Beta 58 fixed everything: the frequency response sounds wonderful with their voices, giving them more presence and clarity, and the supercardioid pattern of the mic makes it reject the heck out of feedback.

  • from London UK November 16, 2007Music Background:
    singer/songwriter

    Nice warm clear sound

    This is my regular mic when i gig.

    I love the warm sound

    I love the detail it pics up and my voice.

    I use mine with a windshield I find it gives it that slight softness without losing the dynamics.

  • from Sacramento, CA. May 16, 2017Music Background:
    Drummer/ FOH Engineer

    Great mics for the price!

    These mics sound great especially for the price. A step above the tried and true SM58. You can't go wrong with Shure mics, especially if you are on a budget!

  • from Staten Island,New York April 25, 2017Music Background:
    Teacher and musician

    Rating the beta58 mics

    Love them.What a difference from the standard sm 58's. More power and clarity before feedback just like the advertisement said. I can finally hear myself singing!

  • from Central Valley, Stockton, CA February 16, 2017Music Background:
    San Diego, San Francisco, vocal groups

    Great For Small Voices

    My partner and I do a male/female duet format - Fleetwood Mac, Lady Antebellum, etc. and a lot of our own jazzy/poppy/country original but we always had a problem with balance. I am very loud and she is very precise. This mic fixes that issue. The balance of tone and clarity was immediately noticeable. The limiting supercardioid pattern reduces stage noise and clears up her presence and attack. Way too hot for me live.
    It fills a specific niche, allowing a more emotive singer in a live situation a lot more response with way less feedback.

  • from New York, NY October 12, 2016

    Makes You Sound Good!

    Picks up true sound from many different angles and distances. Changing angle and distance also allows you to slightly alter the sound of your voice.

  • from CA October 10, 2016

    Nice mic

    Good quality

  • from fort wayne,indiana January 28, 2016Music Background:
    live sound engineer

    the original got better

    super punch vocal power,clean,crisp and bright! live sound engineers be careful where you position your stage monitors with the supercardioid pickup pattern, they should be just off to the sides behind the mic.

  • from July 15, 2015

    great mic for the price

    excellent sound-voice fill s the performing area in a good way

  • from North Port Florida April 1, 2015Music Background:
    bassist, vocals, trumpet an sax

    Shure beta 58A

    What a great piece of equipment. I have been using SM58's for 3-+ years and I am in awe of the updated Beta 58A. Worth every penny!

  • from Long Island, New York. USA September 22, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist, student

    Shure Beta 58A

    Thank you, Brent Leuthold Sweetwater sales engineer for suggesting the Shure Beta 58A microphone, it definitely sounds like the right microphone for me, love it.

  • from June 18, 2014

    Nice mic

    Very nice sound,

  • from Atlanta,Tx. June 3, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Beta 58 A

    gives all the tone and dynamics I could want or expect !

  • from Long Lake, NY USA March 25, 2013Music Background:
    Performer

    Shure Beta 58A

    For this price (and the little bit extra it costs to upgrade from the regular 58,) this is a worthwhile investment. There is a world of difference between the mics, especially in live performance. I would buy another one of these!

  • from Cincinnati October 1, 2012Music Background:
    vocals/ keys/ drums/ engineer

    Beta 58

    Recently traded my 87c in for this mic because I like to sing loud and the condenser mic I had was to sensitive. But this mic being a dynamic mic handled everything. I also run it through an ART tube pre with a JJ tube upgrade and it is smooth . Add a little gate and de- esser and it sounds great in my studio. If you want to record vocals at high spl get it . I would recommend a tube pre to polish your recordings through this mic. I will not be dissapionted.

  • from Martinsburg, WV USA July 21, 2012Music Background:
    Multi-genre guitarist, live sound engineer and deck worker, recording/jazz student

    Beta 58A - awesome.

    The Beta 58A is definitely a great microphone. There are pros and cons, as with everything in the industry, but this mic sounds and performs amazingly, and consistently. It's not really that much of an upgrade from the tried-and-true SM58, because it's not perfect for every vocal. In my experience, I've found this mic great on people who have a naturally rich tenor or above voice, because it gives a great presence peak that helps the voice cut through the mix better. The super cardioid pattern also allows for a wee more gain before feedback, but if your singer doesn't like to stay still when singing it will totally ruin the mix. I've had singers move out of the pickup area on the mic in the past. Overall, the mic seems to be just an ounce tougher than an SM, although I take good care of my gear, so I wouldn't really know. These are great mics and I've never had any major problems with them. These are definitely live mics. I don't recommend them for studio, unless it's all you have.

  • from February 21, 2012

    A Great Mic!

    For the price this mic is great for vocals. Has a very crisp sound and works with all types of singers.

  • from Sydney, Australia August 7, 2011Music Background:
    Live Sound, production

    Industry Standard

    What can you say, industry standard for years, vertually bulletproof. Great sound and feedback rejection. What everyone uses!

  • from Bellingham, WA September 18, 2008Music Background:
    Musician/small studio owner

    I'll never go back to my SM-58

    I thought I had settled on my SM-58, but I went out on a limb and got the Beta 58A, I was hooked. This microphone brings out a lot more detail without sounding harsh.

  • from Owego, NY USA July 21, 2006Music Background:
    Live/theatre engineer

    The next big thing?

    The fanfare that accompanied Shure's new Beta line seemed too good to be true,until I bought one. The reduced feedback tendencies of the Beta 58A are definitely noticable when placed between two more monitor wedges along side the standard SM-58. The reason I gave it 4.5 stars is that it requires a small bit of getting used to. For performers who like to wander off mic it can either help them stay on mic better or result anger. Overall I like this alot and would buy one again.

  • from March 22, 2017

    Sure Beta 58

    Another great Sure microphone

  • from Scotsdale May 17, 2016Music Background:
    Road/Studio/Therapy

    SM58 Beta

    Excellent mic - my second
    My Som "borrowed" my first. Had probably a dozen mics - I have a decent voice.
    This mic is a great road/gig mic. Upper mid peak to enhance vocal frequencies.
    Probably much better mics in studio quality for 10x price.
    This is an excellent choice I prefer it over the standard SM 58 - again the mid peak.
    Thanks Sweetwaters!

  • from May 3, 2016

    Prime Time Productions

    I've owned approx 5 years. Never a problem.In comparison the SM58
    is muddy. Hi-Fi or Mud-Fi, you decide.

  • from Asbury Park, NJ April 8, 2016Music Background:
    Profession musician, a Hundredaire

    Great Mic

    The apple doesn't fall far from the tree...The Shure Beta 58a is keeping with it's lineage of the Shure 58.

  • from December 25, 2015

    Beta 58A

    I've had a Shure 58 for years, but needed an upgrade. The Beta 58A is super clean and crisp, great for bringing those quiet "talky" kind of vocals (think Mark Knopfler) to the forefront. Extra resistant to feedback and of course, built like a tank. Highly recommended!

  • from October 21, 2015

    Mic Review

    Working very well so far!

  • from Ocala Fl. November 13, 2013Music Background:
    pro musician

    SHURE BETA MIC ,,,,58 A

    I like the mic very much.....a nice crisp sound on the vocals .

  • from Farmington, MO October 31, 2012Music Background:
    Singer-songwriter, contemporary praise and worship leader

    Good dynamic mic

    I bought this mic because the condensor mics I was using were feeding back at low volumes. I tried everything with no luck. I thought this mic with its supercardioid pattern might solve the problem and I was right. This mic is built very sturdy. It may not be as good of sound as a more expensive mic,but it is adequate. It is a good all around workhorse. I use it every week at church.

  • from CA August 20, 2012Music Background:
    Artist, Poducer, Manager,

    Beta 58

    Crisp and clear....and built like a tank. Can't find a better vocal mic for the money.

  • from York, Pa March 20, 2012Music Background:
    sound person for band

    beta 58A

    Of all the mic's I have the Shure beta 58a is the perfered mic I use.

  • from Cobourg, ON, Canada October 12, 2011Music Background:
    Jazz guitarist

    Great mic

    The Beta is hotter than the SM58 and it also has a nicer and crisper sound for all frequencies, highs, mids and lows. I'm glad to own it and use it. I expect it will be just as rugged as the SM58's are. Its rejection of feedback is also very good. Excellent value!!!

  • from Montpelier, ohio September 10, 2011

    Beta 58A

    If you've always used/trusted SM58's - you gotta try these! Definitly an improvement over the originals - they sound better, clearer and louder. Well worth the difference in price.

  • from Washington, DC July 8, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Bassist, Recording Engineer, Producer, Bandleader, Instructor

    Really Great Mic - Worth the extra bucks

    I bought one of these to try in the studio and wasn't that impressed, but on the first gig - WOW!!! I thought there was something wrong with the connections on the SM58's. The Beta was just so clear that it made the SM's sound like kazoos! Needless to say, I replaced all the mikes with Betas - even the Drummer's, LOL ;-) !

    These just make everyone sound better, clearer, and let us use less gain playing live.

  • from June 5, 2012

    good mike

    good mike

  • from May 23, 2015

    review

    good quality/// very reliable //// good look

  • from Ocala, Florida August 15, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer, Lifetime Student

    Shure Beta 58A Microphone

    The Shure Beta 58A is a fine microphone to add to your microphone collection. Being a dynamic microphone, the frequency response is quite respectable. I find the low range performance well pronounced, but very clear. The high range response is about average, not brilliantly bright, but well pronounced up to about 5-6kHz.
    One feature that is not particularly favorable is the microphone does not have an on/off switch. As such, it must be disconnected entirely to avoid unwanted noise when not in use, especially when performing live.
    The stand mount is fabricated of plastic, relatively heavy, and easily adjustable, however a screwdriver is required to set the rotation screw torque.
    This microphone is not recommended for acoustic instruments as they tend to sound very spacious and somewhat darkened, definitely not bright enough. For vocals, the microphone performs quite well as relatively high levels of output can be achieved without fear of feedback. The proximity affect is quite noticeable and most vocals tend to sound better when performed about 3-4 inches on mic axis. Plosives can be an issue, but the need to de-ess is minimal.

  • from Scotland, UK April 9, 2012Music Background:
    Vocalist

    Loyal user but seek alternative.

    Used these all my singing life but due to excessive premature wear on cable connection giving cut out & crackling, I won't be buying another.

  • from February 22, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Producer.

    Not The Best

    I have 3 of these Mics, they seemed like a good idea at first but then the enCORE series came out... they are cheaper and sound way better. All the beta mics are too hissy. This 58A starts breaking up at about 2k and the only reason people buy them (in my opinion) is because they see the President using one. If you are really dedicated to Shure, then get the SM58, don't get the beta.

Questions about the Shure Beta 58A Handheld Dynamic Vocal Microphone?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway