rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Shure Beta 52A Dynamic Kick Drum Microphone Reviews

4.5 stars based on 17 customer reviews
Questions about the Shure Beta 52A Dynamic Kick Drum Microphone?

Questions about the Shure Beta 52A Dynamic Kick Drum Microphone?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Orange County, CA June 20, 2017

    Not just for Kick Drums

    I started using this for its intended purpose, but I wanted something to use for stereo mic'ing an upright Piano from the back side of the soundboard. I had been using an MXL R-80 ribbon mic that had great bottom-end presence. Now. I'm using the Beta 52a to mic the bass strings and an SM57 to mic the treble strings. The combination is affordable and fantastic.

    Search Sweetwater for an article titled: Piano-miking Techniques for Worship Services.

  • from Near Chicago April 27, 2017Music Background:
    Sound Engineer

    Shure

    This kick drum microphone has been used with the biggest name artist & concerts in the world for a long time. That is why I consider it the best kick or bass microphone ever. If your system has subs and is set-up right, it is hard to mess this sound up. It is very easy to dial in, that is why it is used all over the world!

  • from March 10, 2017

    Awesome Product

    This mic brings life to your kick drum! Simply amazing!

  • from California January 17, 2017Music Background:
    Live Venue, Studio, Post Production, Broadcast

    Least Favorite Kick Drum Mic

    Too woofy, no attack, messy low end.

  • from December 5, 2016Music Background:
    Recording and performance

    Not a one trick pony

    I've used this mic forever on kick, and imo, it is THE best kick mic in this price range, and if you wanna avoid using multiple mics. But I just recently picked up another one to use for floor tom, bass cab, and other low frequency type things.

    Floor tom, it's not the best mic in the world for the application by any means, but it does the job with a little tweaking. It's a tad scooped and clicky on top (perfect for modern kick) but can miss the mark a bit for toms, but the off axis rejection is so darn good (ie very little bleed) that it's worth it to dial in some extra mids and dial down the top. Can be a little odd to position.

    Bass cab. Awesome in combo with a DI track. It's got a good tight low end, and the top helps the dinga-dinga stick out from bass played with a pick. Could even be cool paired with a 57 on guitar amp for down tuned type stuff.

    Kick, like I said, perfect at this price point. It's got tight thumpy lows, crisp top, and a bit of a mid scoop. Place it just right at the cusp of the port hole, slightly off axis if you wanna reduce clickiness, take a bit out at 400hz and you got yourself a pretty handsome sounding kick.

    Only giving 4 stars, cause it is a bit bulky and awkward to position, and it's not necessarily the best mic in the world for a given application, but for the price and quality, it's a no brainer.

    Shure fanboy for life!

  • from Maine August 31, 2016

    Solid mic

    I've used a lot of kick mics, and had grown tired and less satisfied with my last one, a D112. I knew the 52A would be an improvement, and it definitely is. I'm mainly using it for live use, and like the feedback rejection (while using serious new subs nearby). It has a fat, round sound without being too restrained. You can get a good click when needed, and overall it has a nice tightness to it. Kick mics are really a taste thing, and so subjective depending on application. But the 52A has the versatility those of us that can only have one kick mic in our locker need. It can have a more refined, detailed sound recording a well-tuned drum, or thump out fatness for a live rock band.

  • from Ohio June 8, 2016Music Background:
    Drums

    Perfect bass drum sound

    You can't ask for any more from a bass drum mic. It gets the ideal sound, and doesn't completely break the bank. No complaints at all. The only thing I'd say is that I don't use it alone. I pair this mic with an Audix i5 on the batter head to get the sound I'm looking for.

  • from South Carolina November 18, 2015Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Drummer and Recording Engineer

    The Correct Bass Drum Mic

    I have tried everything over the years for micing my bass drum and I do mean everything - Beyerdynamic, AKG including a d122 & 414, Rode, older Shure's and Audix... Don't waste your time. Every live show that impresses with me with bass drum tone uses a Beta 52A. The combination of the 52a and a Cascade X15 overhead is simply the best sound and best stereo (spatial) separation you will ever get from your drum kit. It doesn't matter what mic you use for toms, snare or hats after you buy those two mics - believe me.

    I'm sure that Earthworks and other combinations sound awesome, but for less than a $1000 your kit can sound like any professionally recorded kit with little to no EQing.

  • from Clinton, NJ May 26, 2015

    Shure Beta 52A

    I was pleasantly surprised at how well this picked up the low end on my Leslie 3300 A great mic for the price and a great sound too!.

  • from sacramento ca. April 20, 2015Music Background:
    sound Engineer

    Can't go wrong

    I love this mic, i have retired my D12,lol

  • from Austin, TX December 26, 2014Music Background:
    10 years Recording Engineer/Producer/Guitar Player/Studio owner

    Go to for the kick sound I love! Also like it on Bass Cabs! MUST BUY!

  • from Indiana, U.S.A. January 2, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician, sound engineer, Bus driver, ect....

    THE Wow Factor For My Kick Sound!

    Love the beta 52 mic! Amazing sound, has THE punch that my kick was lacking, but gives it a nice warm low end when your playing is more subtle. I really dig the way my kick sounds now!
    Thanks Sweetwater Dudes!

  • from Baytown, Texas October 9, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Great Mic

    This microphone has been our staple for years and provides the lows from our Kick drum we like.....

  • from St. Louis, MO January 16, 2012Music Background:
    Producer, Songwriter, Guitarist

    WOW!

    Couldn't believe how much bottom end I got with this mic when using it on kick this weekend. It had so much bottom end. I had so much thickness at 47hHz when used with a Pearl Masters 22x18 kick. Paired with a Royer R101 on the outside, I had a killer kick sound!

    I'm definitely adding one of these to my arsenal. Might have just found my new go-to kick mic!

  • from Markham IL, USA August 24, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician & Producer

    Shure Beta 52A Is Nice

    Giving me everthing i could ask for!!!

  • from Lizard Lick NC December 15, 2010Music Background:
    Kabin Fiva bass player

    Best bass mic I ever heard

    We played at a huge indoor venue in North Carolina and my direct out on my SVT IV went down. The engineer hooked up Shure 52 and I was blown away!!! True to live speaker response reproduction! My bandmates all commented on how clear it sounded!

  • from November 29, 2009Music Background:
    Engineer

    Great on Kick or Bass Cab

    The Beta 52A is one a true bargain. It is solid and it sounds great.
    It handles high SPL without distortion and when placed properly it
    can reproduce the source with punch and detail without undue color.
    This mic is the counterpoint of the AKG D112, which to me is more
    about a tight attack than a full spectrum reproduction of the source.
    It is one of my favorites on bass cabinets.

Questions about the Shure Beta 52A Dynamic Kick Drum Microphone?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway