0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound - 2 days left

Fender '59 Bassman LTD 45-watt 4x10" Tube Combo Amp Reviews

4.5 stars based on 12 customer reviews
Questions about the Fender '59 Bassman LTD 45-watt 4x10" Tube Combo Amp?

Questions about the Fender '59 Bassman LTD 45-watt 4x10" Tube Combo Amp?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Jersey February 21, 2016Music Background:
    I've been playing since 1970. I was always a bass player who also played guitar. The past few years, I've been playing much more guitar.

    Been wanting one for years.

    Over the past few years, I've been doing a lot of reading about amplifiers, mainly vintage, and mainly Fender. I had a Bassman 50 and a Bassman 100 in the '70s, but when Gallien Krueger came out, I jumped on one of those, (which I still have... a 400B amp, with a 4412H cabinet), and sold the Bassmans. In the '80s I moved into the Ashley pre-amp, BGW 750, 2) 2X15 and 1) 4X10 setup... but, I digress. After reading about the history of the Bassman, I was Jonesin' for one, but I don't really have a reason to buy one. Well, who ever needs a reason to buy guitars or amps? I finally broke down and bought one.

    This thing is every bit as incredible as I had hoped. First of all, it's just a thing of beauty to sit and look at, but when you plug in, it's just sweet. It's so clean and crisp. I've run a Strat, a Telly, an original '72Telly Deluxe, a Casino, and my personal favorite... an LP Junior. They all sound like angels. I added the Boss '63 Reverb pedal, which is merely icing on the cake. I could not be happier with this amp. It's all I had hoped, and more.

  • from October 9, 2015

    FENDER BASSMAN LTD

    FIRST OF ALL, THANK YOU TO JOHN GILLESPIE FOR MAKING THE ORDERING PROCESS EASY. I ORDERED THE BASSMAN LTD AND WAS TOLD IT WOULD BE A FEW WEEKS, AS THE AMP WAS BACK-ORDERED. IT ARRIVED A WEEK AHEAD OF TIME; ESSENTIALLY, WITHIN 2 DAYS OF SHIPPING. SWEETWATER IS AN EXAMPLE OF HOW A BUSINESS SHOULD BE RUN. THEY ARE COURTEOUS, PROFESSIONAL, AND ORGANIZED, FROM TOP TO BOTTOM.
    ON TO THE AMP. I HAVE A FEW AMPS AT HOME THAT ARE REALLY NICE PIECES OF GEAR. AFTER PLAYING THE BASSMAN FOR A WEEK OR SO, ON GIGS(I AM A PROFESSIONAL GUITARIST), I CAME TO THE CONCLUSION THAT PRETTY MUCH EVERYTHING I'VE PLAYED PRIOR TO THIS SOUNDS A LITTLE 'HARSH'. THE PINE CABINET, THE TUBE RECTIFIER, THE JENSEN ALNICO SPEAKERS COALESCE INTO A SOUND THAT IS NATURAL, BREATHY AND ORGANIC. SORT OF LIKE THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN A STRAT OR TELE THAT IS FINISHED IN NITRO, AS OPPOSED TO POLYURETHANE.
    THE BASSMAN IS WHERE IT ALL STARTED!! IT'S A PLATFORM, A CANVAS THAT IS WIDE OPEN. IT'S UTTER SIMPLICITY IS THE COMPELLING FACTOR. I PLAY A WIDE VARIETY OF MUSIC, FROM TRADITIONAL BE-BOP, TO FUSION AND SOUL/R AND B. I'VE USED IT ON SOLO GUITAR GIGS, DUO, TRIO AND QUARTET SETTINGS, AND AM LITERALLY ASTOUNDED AT HOW WELL IT SITS IN A MIX. 50 WATTS IS A MORE THAN ADEQUATE AMOUNT OF VOLUME; THIS THING CAN GET BRUTALLY LOUD IF IT NEEDS TO; AT THE SAME TIME, AT A LOWER VOLUME, THE FULL SOUND OF THE AMP IS PRESENT.
    THERE ARE A LOT OF OPINIONS ON PCB VS HAND-WIRED, AND ALTHOUGH A VALID POINT OF DISCUSSION, I DON'T THINK THAT A GUITARIST WOULD FIND A BETTER EXAMPLE OF PURE TWEED FENDER TONE, SHORT OF SPENDING AT LEAST TWICE AS MUCH. THE WORKMANSHIP IS FIRST-RATE, THE WEIGHT IS MANAGEABLE, AND THE VARIETY OF SOUNDS OUT OF AN ALLEGEDLY SIMPLE CIRCUIT IS TRULY IMPRESSIVE. IT'S AN AMP THAT ALLOWS A PLAYER'S PERSONALITY TO COME OUT PURE.
    MANY THANKS TO SWEETWATER; KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK.

  • from Virginia Beach May 29, 2015Music Background:
    Christian rock band vocalist/guitarist.

    Great amp. Great service.

    The Bassman Ltd is one of the best purchases I've made. I started out using the Bassman setting on my Mustang amp as well on on amplitube. It just has a great tone to it. I finally decided to spend the money on the real thing to record and gig with. It sounds amazing and has a ton of power. Sweetwater's 24 month no interest option was perfect for me and made it possible for me to get it. They always have awesome service and always call to follow up on your order. I absolutely recommend the Bassman amp as well as taking advantage of Sweetwaters great financing option.

  • from Grand Rapids MI February 15, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist.... Modern day Tom Sellek.... Guitar junkie

    Nice Nice Amp

    Really wasn't expecting this to be such a rocker! I was just looking for a grittier version of a super reverb.. This beauty with a couple choice overdrives and compressor (Wampler Clarcksdale, Fulltone OCD, Wampler Ego Comp) will scream. Just like your old school rock amps you crave.. The cleans are superb.. I am ABY'n it with a super reverb 65 RI. Overkill I know.. But bad to the bone. I always wanted this amp. The only regret I have is not getting one sooner. The speakers are still breaking in. So I look for it to really open up.. Soon... For I have been playing my strats through this and my LP's non stop...
    Once again Forrest Powell does my GAS addiction justice... Thanks man!!! You know I'll talk to you soon!!!!

  • from Bluffton, IN June 26, 2014Music Background:
    Beginner/amateur musician

    What a great amp!!!!

    Man,...I LOVE this amp! Words just can't describe how wonderful the tone is coming from the '59 Fender Bassman LTD Vintage Reissue amp.
    This is the ULTIMATE Fender guitar amp in my opinion,and it's a big step up from the Hot Rod series amps,...which are still a good line of amps,...but this thing? It's great! I'm not saying the Hot Rod series amps are bad,...I have a Hot Rod Deluxe III and still use it from time to time,...but I like my new '59 Bassman LTD Vintage Reissue amp a LOT better,...and those four 10" Jensen P10R speakers are the reason why! Not only that,but my Bassman has a slightly warmer,bluesier tone than my HRDlx III,which sounds harsh in comparison. When i ordered my Bassman,I was told it would not arrive until July 7th of this year because of a shipping delay,...it came a week after I ordered it. Thank you,Fender,...and THANK YOU Sweetwater for your great customer service! I highly recommend this amp,and i HIGHLY recommend Sweetwater for their outstanding customer service!

  • from Pennsylvania May 31, 2012Music Background:
    Hobyist and sometime gigging musician

    The (Almost) Original Rock and Roll Tone Machine

    I have had my 1959 Bassman LTD since 2004, it's initial year of production. The LTD does not stand for Limited Edition by the way, but rather Lacquered Tweed. First thing to know is that there may or may not actually be US made GT-6L6 GE output tubes in this amp. When I got mine, it came with Svetlanas which I have since replaced with JJ Tesla tubes. You may want to check with your sales engineer on that if it matters to you -- it did not to me but then, I bought my amp locally in point of fact. It does however come with 4 Jensen P-10R 10 speakers as advertised and these speakers will take you some time to break them in. At first, there can be a little bit harsh but after the first several months of regular use, mine mellowed into a tone beast that eats any pedal you care to throw at it, or none at all. I thought at first that I'd go and spring for (pun intended) the '63 tube outboard reverb unit, but I never have in 8 years because this amp produces a very nice natural reverb from its' pine cabinet. I seriously don't miss it, but then, I have a 65 Deluxe Reverb Reissue for surf tones and other reverb heavy styles. This amp only sees a Fulltone OCD pedal and an MXR Carbon Copy Analog Delay set to slap echo as pedals, plus I have a Fulltone Fat Boost 2 for soloing if needs be.

    The bottom line is this; The Bassman amplifier is the crux of rock and roll amplifier tone. Jim Marshall used that amp to create the Marshall sound which would be enough in itself. But add to that the fact that in all the years since it first hit the market from Fender, this amp continues to be a basic yet highly functional design that can be used for just about any style of rock music, excepting perhaps Metal of course which has that "angry bee in a jar" sound to my ears anyway lol.

  • from December 1, 2011

    Best. Amp. Ever.

    The tones here are amazing. I really cannot put them into words. If you want your tone to go even further though, pair this with a fender reverb tank and a telecaster and your tone will be too good to describe.

  • from South Mississippi January 30, 2015Music Background:
    Harmonica and Guitar player,

    Great Harmonica amp

    This is a Great Harmonica amp with a minor tube change and a little rebiasing, which wasn't too necessary. Amazing tone with clean drive and just enough break up. Lots of power. If you can't be heard playing harp thru this, you have a band problem!

  • from Pittsfield, Mass. July 13, 2014Music Background:
    Part time rocker.

    Tone Machine

    I can only reinforce what others have said here. A pure tone machine that sounds almost exactly like the amps I heard people using in the 60's. Mine sits next to my 1964 Bandmaster, which I consider it equal to in tone. I can't give it a 5 because of a couple minor cosmetic issues which should have been caught at final inspection. ( I sure didn't buy it for it's looks.)

  • from Durham February 10, 2017Music Background:
    Yes

    What a bassman

    This amp sure does make sound

  • from Deep East Texas October 23, 2014Music Background:
    guitar, Dobro, pedal steel, harmonica, bass and recording engineering

    A great all around am p

    After years of wanting a Fender '59 Bassman reissue (I mean from when they were first introduced) and several near-misses on scoring one, I finally got the LTD version from Sweetwater. It is everything I expected: a warm present tone with a sweet high end and a responsiveness to pick attack that makes it easy to achieve a great sound on a variety of material. My first amp was a '63 Silvertone Twin Twelve, and I have spent a bit of money over the years trying to find something I liked as much. Currently I am playing bass rather than guitar, which puts me in the great position of hearing a really good guitarist play through this amp. He has been using a pair of Gibsons (ES-225 with aftermarket P90s and a trapeze ES-335) and the Bassman sings. The only flaws are the weight and the lack of reverb...but it mostly stays in my music room (the guitarist has his own amps that he takes to gigs) and I have a Boss FVR-1 reverb pedal so everything is OK.

    I was told years ago by an accomplished guitar player that the secret to good sound is a Gibson guitar through a Fender amp. I have proven him right over the years, with a Les Paul Deluxe gold top, a Bigsby-equipped SG, and my current ES-335 plugged variously into a Fender Jazzmaster Ultralight, a DRRI, a DRRI head (also from Sweetwater) used with a Weber California Ceramic 15, a '65 blackface Bassman and now this '59.

    This one is a keeper.

  • from Fort Worth, Tx April 3, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Bassman Ltd

    I'm an amp freak and have owned many vintage and current amps. I had my Ltd for several years and was not too fond of it. Recently I changed out the power tubes for JJ 6L6s and the pre-amp tubes (1 & 3) with JJ EEC83s tubes. It's now an amp I'd rate a 4.5. I'm also changing out a couple of the P10s for older Jensen 10" to soften the treble sound a bit. In all, this is a very good am that, with a few minor tweaks. can be a great amp.

Questions about the Fender '59 Bassman LTD 45-watt 4x10" Tube Combo Amp?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway