0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

MXR M80 Bass D.I.+ Bass Distortion Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the MXR M80 Bass D.I.+ Bass Distortion Pedal?

Questions about the MXR M80 Bass D.I.+ Bass Distortion Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Philadelphia August 15, 2016

    I Love This Thing

    Whether you're looking for some overdrive, full distortion, or a clean boost this pedal is equipped for all of it. I have used it live and in the studio and get endless compliments about how amazing my bass sounds. I keep it constantly engaged at the beginning of my effects chain. This lacks the harsh ear-piercing metallic tone of the Sansamp. A lot of people recommended the Sansamp to me and I tried it multiple times...it was unbearable. I've had great luck with every MXR pedal I've ever used.

  • from Mechanicsburg, PA June 28, 2016Music Background:
    Bassist

    Master of Bass Pedals

    A pedal that does the job needed to be done! It's a bass effect and XLR direct out box merged into one epic gadget! The clean channel dials in a nice tone with the ability to drop in low end sounds to the highs. The distortion mode can give you that metal rash blast to blow away the crowd! MXR has that sound for any musician. Had the opportunity to use this thing at a gig with forty people. All positive feedback, and the sound technician was completely blown away! Go with this pedal!

  • from September 11, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist and playing in a small bar.

    Excellent pedal.

    This is an excellent Direct box! The Distortion switch opción is also very useful in live sessions, I have also use this pedal in my Gibson Les Paul Studio and it's pretty good to use it with some other effects. I recomend this product so much if you need a preamp for your live sessions in small places so you don't have to carry out big amps.

  • from Rockford, IL September 7, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro musician

    Crucial pedal

    I have had this for years and I recommend to anyone. I've used it at gigs for years. It does make a lot of basses sound similar due to it's qualities...but I find that to be desirable. The distortion is nice, especially if you just want an agressive tone, not a full distortion. I run a recording studio and I consider this the very first step out of the guitar itself. I run through other preamps to get final product, but this is always in the chain.

  • from Knoxville, TN March 2, 2013Music Background:
    Simi-pro musician

    Awesome D.I.

    I've been completely satisfied with the MXR M-80. Live or in the studio it has never let me down. The virsitility of this pedal blows me away from how it is powered (AC, 9 volt battery or phantom powered) to the tone controls. I wasn't sure about how much I would use the distortion, but I have worked into my sound here and there. I know there are better distortion effects out there, but it's still descent. I didn't buy it for the distortion anyway. The quality and cleanliness of the signal coming out of the M-80 is flawless, completely noise free. Highly recommended!

  • from November 25, 2016Music Background:
    Gigging, session player

    Never leaves my board

    I dig this pedal because it doesn't do too much. I've played through similar pedals and they're either too muddy or too bright, but this one sits nicely. I run direct a lot, but my amp setup is an Aguilar Tone Hammer 350 with a Carvin 2x10 cab and it takes it from a vintage tone to a very fat modern tone. However, if I want that grit, the distortion unit is exactly that, and not a fuzz. I usually blend about 15% into the dry signal to achieve that vintage tone if I so desire. I prefer this over the more expensive models that are out there.

  • from February 25, 2016

    MXR M-80 Bass DI+

    Great, thick, classic tone..

  • from California November 15, 2015Music Background:
    Live and Studio musician

    Look no further

    Stop chasing that distorted bass tone in your head, because here it is. No secrets lie within this pedal, it's all right there. No tricks, no features you're never going to use, just a straightforward bass distortion.

    The distortion is cutting and present without being harsh or shrill. It's got good body without becoming boomy or muddy. The gate function is perfect. Just turn the trigger all the way up, it'll work just fine. The color switch (while it only affects the clean side) is like a pre-mixed tone switch. Clear and thumping bass every time. The blend control is what makes the whole pedal work. Setting above noon will yield a distorted tone that cuts through a mix without throwing your low end away when you need it most.

    The graphics glow in the dark too.

    The only thing I'd change would be the amount of output volume for the distorted channel. If it had about 4-10db more it could really drive anything. It's not lacking without it, but with it this would be a bassists go-to pedal every time.

  • from October 4, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Perfect versatility

    I've had this pedal for years & it still blows me away. I've played through Sans & tech 21's, but there are so few good distortion/overdrive bass pedals. My dad had this for a long time and eventually sold it, but i got mine since 1-i wanted distortion and loved his tone when he had it, 2-it's a D.I. where i can set my own EQ and tone to my liking. 3-it's compact and ease of use. Studio & live use has never been the same. Always in my signal, I'd recommend this product since it does give you more than the Sansamp pedals, although they are classics too, they're just really tame compared to the M80.

  • from Alamogordo, NM October 10, 2012Music Background:
    Music Pastor

    Very nice.

    Great quality, but doesn't quite meet the tone of the SANSAMP to my liking. However, I suppose that's subjective :) Still, I'm giving this a 4.5 star rating because I really did like the TECH 21 SANS more. The MXR has a dedicated drive channel with some knobs to fine tune your distortion sound (as well as a useful noise gate), but if you're not as interested in having a drive channel, you'll probably get more tonal options out of the SANS.

  • from February 26, 2013

    its okay

    its okay the pedal is built strong seams like it would survive a bomb blast
    how ever the distortion sound's like white noise and the color button is always engaged when in useing distortion cant be switched off
    you can get a great slap tone with it

Questions about the MXR M80 Bass D.I.+ Bass Distortion Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway