0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

MXR M87 Bass Compressor Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 17 customer reviews
Questions about the MXR M87 Bass Compressor Pedal?

Questions about the MXR M87 Bass Compressor Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Jared Kalish

    I use a few elaborate rackmount compressors in my studio to record my bass and searched for a way to bring that same great sound to the stage. When I found the MXR M87 Bass Compressor, my search ended. You get all the control and quality of a rackmount unit in compact pedal form!

  • from Nashville, TN April 11, 2017

    Love the meter!

    I've used a few bass compressors. Most fall into two categories. Either I can't tell they are engaged (transparent) or they color the tone more than I'd like. Much of these two things are cause by one thing...my poor skill in using a compressor. It's a wonderful tool when used properly, but a total tone suck when used improperly. The MXR Bass Compressor has done something no other compressor has done. It's taught me how compression works through the use of the meter on top. Now, to all you pro players who are laughing at me now...go ahead....but we all have to learn somewhere.

    With only a few minutes of twisting the knobs, watching the meter, and listening...I was able to dial in exactly what I wanted. I was able to fatten the tone, take the spikes out, and provide the FOH guy a good, level, signal.

  • from Wexford, PA April 2, 2017

    One of the best bass pedals to own

    What's there to say - this thing has the reputation it does for a reason. You won't be disappointed. Arrived in great packaging in a very timely fashion. Nothing but thumbs up across the board.

  • from New York, NY March 11, 2015Music Background:
    Recording/Mix Engineer, Musician, Educator

    Squeeze It!

    I have a Diamond Bass Compressor. Best damn compressor pedal I've ever heard. BUT I needed a smaller good compressor for a smaller dumbed down version of my board, for practice (didn't want to lug around my big predal board). I did my research. Almost went for the Aguilar TLC, but the MXR caught my attention. It basically just sounds better.
    So with that said...If u r looking for a good Bass Compressor, and want to save space on your pedal board...Look no further. You have it right here ;)

  • from Manahawkin, Nj January 17, 2015Music Background:
    Musician

    Worth Every Penny

    When you're doing it right - you're doing it right!

  • from California January 2, 2015

    Great compressor

    This thing works great. Not much of any color to my tone. Barley any color. I got a p bass with Aguilar hot pickups. Keeps my gk 1001 from clipping all the time. Great for hot pickups and normal pickups

  • from November 11, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Sound Engineer

    Just Great!

    Works perfect! i have two now .. in a two separate rigs .. how much i can tell??

  • from Erie, PA September 4, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist Guitar and Bass, Live Sound Tech

    Awesomely Good

    By far the best compression pedal I've owned. Like night and day between this and the Ashdown model I was using. Plenty of control for any type of playing style or passive/active basses. Brings out the high notes when slapping it and adds plenty of sustain when you want it. Clear meter in compact rugged case. Also love the Blue 'on' LED. Well worth the money. Can't go wrong with pedal!!!! Can't recommend it enough. Stop debating and purchase it !!!!!!

  • from Clearwater, Fl July 8, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Bassist, recording engineer

    Amazing!!!

    Clean, transparent. Really brought out the tone of my bass. Am now able to play with a lighter touch.

  • from douglasville ga May 8, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    best money spentbest money spent was amazed

    .made a world of difference in my sound

  • from January 5, 2012

    Great Piece!!

    Now im compressed!!! ... and its awesome!!
    Its amazing having all the control of the attack and release times!! im really amazed with the results.
    I have 3 different bass guitars with different gains and i found useful to me, getting the signal matched with the rest of my gear

  • from Alabama February 9, 2016Music Background:
    Semiprofessional bassist and vocalist.

    Sweet Compressor!

    Very versatile, but easy to use product. LEDs are very helpful in finding good settings. This unit is very transparent with no noticeable noise. You can go from smooth compression to hard limiting. The manual is very useful and easy to understand. The unit's construction is very solid and should last for many years. A lot of bang for your buck. It's a keeper. The folks at Sweetwater are very customer service oriented and friendly.

  • from January 8, 2016

    Worth every Penny

    It does what it claims to do, at a surprisingly high quality.
    Just plug a decent bass in and start tracking or jamming.
    Worth every penny.

  • from Ash Fork AZ May 29, 2015Music Background:
    30 years plus

    MXR M87 Bass Compressor Pedal

    Nice hands on pedal, wide range on what you can do with it, very smooth no buzz at all! ,the meter can be seen far away in the dark but not to bright, for the money its the way to go.

  • from March 24, 2015

    Amazing

    This pedal has become integral to my live setup. Highly functional parameters gives great flexibility. My only beef is the control knobs, they fall off at any given time.

  • from Kalamazoo, MI June 14, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Amazingly Good

    Even though many reviewers have said this is not exactly like a classic
    rack mount compressor (1176? dbx?) in a pedal, I'd say it is amazingly
    close. With a moderate threshold (input) slow attack and fast release
    and a 4:1 ratio it provides incredibly musical compression. I personally
    don't use much compression and while I have played around with the
    higher ratios (limiter) settings to put the device through it's paces, and
    it seems like it handles it well. The meter is very good, very visible and
    the unit is built like a tank. Well worth the price.

  • from November 6, 2016

    Evens out volume

    I play a lot of reggae and rock And this is essential to my rig trifecta (active pickups, 15" ampeg other 2 ingredients). Blows me away with evening out volumes and makes for super tight pro sound.

  • from October 10, 2016

    Good stuff in a small package.

    The biggest thing is learning to use it correctly. Still exploring the possibilities.
    Purchased based on general reviews. So far, so good. It seems to be a good tool.

Questions about the MXR M87 Bass Compressor Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway