0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

MXR M83 Bass Chorus Deluxe Pedal Reviews

5.0 stars based on 14 customer reviews
Questions about the MXR M83 Bass Chorus Deluxe Pedal?

Questions about the MXR M83 Bass Chorus Deluxe Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Hamilton, NY April 26, 2017

    Beautiful!

    Gives an amazing thick and warm chorus sound; the flanger is very slight but workable as well. The amount of EQing you can achieve with the chorus effect is really something, as you can have a slight chorus/reverb effect up to close to the classic 80's chorus sounds (dial everything right up!) Plus, it's all analogue and doesn't suck tone! Love it.

  • from OH December 18, 2015

    10 stars!!

    This pedal works better than I ever imagined.The tones through my tube bass amp are so strong with this pedal.Think Justin Chancellor (Tool).The flanger is a nice touch...turn it off if you don't like it.I love it,though.I can get all I want out of this without having to do too much with it.
    X-over switch gives you the option to decrease modulation on the low end.Separate Bass/Treble knobs as well.

  • from Cleveland October 17, 2015Music Background:
    Semi professional bassist

    Very nice!

    I have been using a Boss Super Chorus for over 15 years in my pedal board. It has its purpose in a few of the songs we do, but it kind of loses the low end when engaged. This MXR, with it's crossover, fills that gap! It gives subtle or heavy chorus effect very cleanly and musically. Yes, I am using 2 chorus pedals in my board. One for the more shimmery chorus ( Boss ) in the appropriate areas, and this MXR for the majority of my chorus in needs. At first, I was concerned with the actual footswitch, as it makes the physical "click" sound. I thought it may be heard in some way, but it's fine. You can't hear it in a live stage setting. This pedal is very versatile. If I need the flange it's there also. With 2 chorus pedals, I could use one for chorus and one for flanging, or I could reach down and with the push of a button, switch to chorus. Changing the battery requires one to remove the back plate using a screwdriver. A quick access door would be convenient, for those players who use battery power. Overall, this is a great addition to my pedal board, and I highly recommend this pedal.

  • from New York, NY September 21, 2015Music Background:
    Audio Engineer, Musician

    Rich Analog Chorus/Flanger Tone

    I've been using my Boss CEB-3 for quite some time now.
    But I was ready for a change. I was on the search for more of a fat analog chorus tone. My search was over when I discovered the MXR M83. I fell in love with the rich tone. And the crossover switch is a big help. OH...and when I found out it also had a flanger. Come on...2 pedals in one, for the price of 1? Ya can't beat that. So I basically replaced my Boss CEB-3 and BF-2 with the M83, on my pedal board.
    I highly recommend it. You won't be disappointed ;)

  • from Austin, TX April 1, 2015

    MXR M83 Bass Chorus Deluxe Pedal

    Cleanest, most effective pedal I own. No coloration, no gain spikes, just shimmering chorus. Xover function is a +1, and flanger switch allows me to dial in some classic early 70's bass vibes. If this one got destroyed in the zombie apocalypse, I'd buy one when it cleared up, or go get one out out of the nearest abandoned music store.

    If you're on the fence, get off it now and go get one.

  • from United States April 11, 2014

    :-)

    Incredible!! No loss of Bass tone and the analog tone is incredible BUY BUY :-)

  • from United States December 3, 2013Music Background:
    Effects Pedal Builder, Amateur Musician

    Great Modulation

    Usually chorus and flanger are not my taste. They sound too dated and intense or lack the versatility to make it sound unique.
    The MXR BCD is extremely flexible and just sounds incredible. The rate has a wide range of speed. The width and intensity help get the right amount of warble/modulation. Both chorus and flanger are quality effects, not cheap imitations.

    My biggest confusion before purchasing was what the knobs did on the flanger mode. Intensity controls the feedback, making it sound more metallic and dramatic at high settings. The width controls the frequency range of the sweep (at minimum it is parked at one frequency).

    The X-Over makes the overall effect more subtle. Adding a lot of treble makes it a bit hissy. Adding bass gets very rumbly, but not muddy. Must be a Baxandall EQ.

    Honestly I think I could justify having two for both chorus and flange. The pedal really nails both effects for me. Definitely a keeper.

  • from Oswego, IL November 11, 2013Music Background:
    Church Musician & Hobbyist

    Does "Subtle" EXTREMELY Well

    This was my 2nd MXR purchase, and I'm 2/2... blown away both times. The pedal sounds great, and I love the 2-in-1 nature of it (chorus & flanger.) Both sounds are very usable & tweakable. The BIG PLUS on this pedal is the crossover feature, which basically leaves everything from low E up to high G uneffected, and adds the effect to the upper register... it just encourages me to explore the full range of the instrument because of the subtle timbre shifts. WORTH. EVERY. PENNY.

  • from Des Moines, IA USA March 19, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    ROCKIN' LITTLE PEDAL!

    I knew I was going to like this pedal from the reviews I saw from NAMM, but I didn't realize it was going to be as good and versatile as it is. It's the first chorus pedal I've owned that I can actually turn up the effect because of the xover feature, it only effects the higher frequencies of my bass allowing my low end to remain intact and now swirl as well. I'll be keeping the pedal for the rest of my career. Built MXR tough and more then I could have ever expected. Oh and flanger in it is pretty nice too, even though I prefer the chorus. Hope this helps.

  • from Fort Worth, TX February 28, 2013

    Awesome chorus w/ a bonus!

    I've been playing around with this one for a few days now since it arrived and I am soooo happy with this pedal! Absolutely no popping or cracking when engaged/disengaged. The chorus modulation from light to heavy is perfect for whatever setting is needed. The x-over button is a nice feature as well but, what really makes me love this pedal even more is the optional flanger mode. In one word - Amazing. Highly recommended!

  • from Florida May 10, 2016Music Background:
    Gigging Bass Player

    Sounds great and very versatile

    Sounds great! Nice chorus sound and the crossover button is perfect to help keep your low end solid. The flanger sounds super too, though getting to the small button in the middle of a set to switch from Chorus to Flange is a bit tough. I'm thinking about getting a second one. One for chorus, one for flange.

  • from Dallas tx July 10, 2014Music Background:
    Player

    Great pedal

    Exactly what I was expecting and it plays well with other pedals. Recommend.

  • from York pa,17402 July 16, 2013Music Background:
    Playing bass for 45 years, also mandolin and fiddle, I'm a fender man for life. Played professionally for a short while, also session work at some major studios for songwriters etc. Played mostly local 99% of my career..

    mxr bass chours deluxe

    sounds very good, easy to operate and I am very satisfied.
    I would recommend the product.

  • from Kalamazoo, MI February 6, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Excellent Chorus Pedal

    I have been looking for a chorus pedal for my bass that would not bury my
    attack or tone. This pedal is has a wide variety of tonal options, yet never sucks the life out of the instrument. The tone controls are a nice feature that keeps the attack and bottom end from being washed out. I also love the fact that pedal is mono. Almost any chorus pedal sounds good in stereo, but it takes something extra for one to sound this good in mono.

Questions about the MXR M83 Bass Chorus Deluxe Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway