0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance

Electro-Harmonix Bass Big Muff Pi Bass Fuzz Pedal Reviews

5.0 stars based on 16 customer reviews
Questions about the Electro-Harmonix Bass Big Muff Pi Bass Fuzz Pedal?

Questions about the Electro-Harmonix Bass Big Muff Pi Bass Fuzz Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Longview, TX January 3, 2017

    Perfect

    When I need to add distortion this is the perfect pedal! The knobs all you to control the tone, sustain, and volume giving you complete control. My lead guitarist hates it when I can emulate what he is doing on my Fender Jazz!

  • from SAINT CLAIR SHORES, MI August 20, 2016Music Background:
    Retired from the road

    "Modern Old-School"

    Playing new Metal? Or do you want the super-over-driven, tube sound, you hear in the classic live recordings by the old "power trios" (Cream, Mountain, etc.)? Look no further.

  • from November 22, 2015

    Big muff!

    Simply an amazing pedal. Diverse and easy to use. Im able to play those filthy, disgusting riffs you would expect out of a fuzz and i can also dial it back to just add some extra oomph to the bass. My fav pedal at the moment.

  • from Brooklyn, NY May 8, 2015Music Background:
    Long time pro

    Great fuzz/distortion

    Gets the grit into the bass just perfectly. The possible variations are terrific! Mind melting madness, so fun for a add player!

  • from Easton, PA USA January 4, 2015Music Background:
    Student and Performing Musician

    The Only Bass Distortion You Will Ever Need!

    I was really surprised with the amount of tones you can pull out of this thing. You can get anything from Anesthesia tones to N.I.B with this pedal. This is absolutely my favorite pedal on my board.

  • from memphisish October 17, 2014Music Background:
    told ya

    you don't have one?

    How can you own that sweet bass and rig and not already own this? I like my chain short, but this thing is riding shotgun. Solid, simple and fuzzy. I like mine... With a twist

  • from Chicago February 1, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Big Muff Pi - a classic for a reason

    Great classic distortion pedal and a great value - under $100 new! Great service from Sweetwater as usual!

  • from Maryland January 19, 2013Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    Big Muff = big sound

    Really great pedal, does exactly what I expected and more! I was using an older guitar version of the Bg Muff and it just wasn't cutting the mustard. This pedal has far more functionality and sounds awesome! For that Muse sound this is a must!

  • from backwoods, virginia November 27, 2012Music Background:
    bass player of 17 years and counting

    supafuzz!

    after having been let down by numerous fuzz pedals (by such big names as foss and midget tech) i gave this a shot. i was blown away upon plugging in and turing on! from slightly dirty to filthy fuzz, this little green monster has you covered! less is more in the knobs department, so it's super easy to dial in your sound. and if you want more testicular fortitude in your lows, switch on the bass boost and go to town! definitely a must have if you're into playing stuff like kyuss or unida.

  • from Findlay, OH July 17, 2012Music Background:
    Active, gigging Bassist, sound engineer, home recording

    A BASS ESSENTIAL!

    I use this pedal with a SansAmp Bass Driver DI and get amazing results. I love the many different types of distortion I can generate from the Big Muff. It makes my bass really stand out during solos AND helps me really cut through a mix without killing my deep bass tone. This is my favourite bass distortion pedal to date. It is solid and the control pots are of good quality all roll with a nice smooth, solid feel. I think this pedal is priced very well, also. I have always been impressed with E-H products and this pedal is another example of their quality and great tone!

  • from Jackson, MS February 1, 2011Music Background:
    Gigging bassist

    Entirely too much fun

    Simply a great pedal. I always keep the mini switch in dry mode. It's great in low blend and sustain settings, for adding overtones, or just fraying your tone a little. And of course it can completely fuzz out if that's what you want. It reacts beautifully with my all-tube amp, and if i switch to the drive channel on my head, it makes a throaty crunch that tapers off into the finer distortion of the muff. The sustain knob is also pretty foot-friendly for rolling your gain in a solo. I never use the normal or bass boost modes for bass, but I have run a guitar through it in normal mode and it sounded really good for anything that calls for an ultra-distorted tone. I have read comments by guitarist that say the normal mode does not sound exactly like the classic big muff, but I wouldn't know. Very good buy, sturdy build, good tone, and pedals don't get much cheaper than this.

  • from Saskatchewan, Canada January 19, 2011Music Background:
    Loving it, Learning it, Living it.

    Best

    I honestly can't believe how much I enjoy this pedal.
    The sound is incredible, and my favorite part is that my bottom end stays, I can make it push really hard and keep my low end? LOVE IT!
    I personally like the switch in the dry position, so my regular tone comes through but I get that fuzz layer on top of it too.
    I have found that if I fuzz out my tone too hard and I don't have that regular bass tone in there too, I get lost in the guitars and their tones.
    But with this pedal sound layered in, it just adds the drive I want without compromising my clarity.
    I've tried a couple other bass dist. boxes and they all sounded 'meh, whatever' but the moment I started messing with this one, I knew that was what I wanted. I guess this isn't really letting you know what the tone sounds like, but it's so easy to get what you want with it that you need to get one and find out for yourself.

  • from Moraga, CA, USA December 30, 2011Music Background:
    I play mostly for fun

    Great Pedal

    I use this for my guitar and it sounds great. This has a more fuzzy, warm, low-end sound. Even though the Big Muff Pi USA for guitar is a fuzz pedal, this is a lot more fuzzy. This has less distortion and sustain, though. If you are a guitarist, don't use this as your main distortion. I would highly recommend this.

  • from Indiana July 13, 2011Music Background:
    Starting out

    Bass Big Muff

    Im not the best bass player and i dont know everything that i should to make a living in a band. I do know that i was suprised how much you can really do with just one pedal.

  • from Fort Wayne, In June 28, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Fuzz forever!!!

    As a guitar player, the big muff was the only pedal I used. When I started playing bass, I was looking for a pedal that would add fuzz without taking away from the bottom end. So, naturally I tried the big muff for the bass and that was it. It has a great sound!!!

  • from sacramento March 17, 2012Music Background:
    pro musician

    Super value

    I saw the price and wanted to try it out so I snagged one and so far I'm pretty happy with it. Very simple tone control (yet pretty darn powerful) allows me to get that tone I'm looking for pretty quickly. My favorite feature so far is the dry switch, for some of our music it is great to have the low end really stand out with just a pinch of muff on the the signal. I have a mesa boogie big block 750 that kicks out some nasty distortion and combining the amps distortion, this pedal and my octave pedal equals hours of fun. Fantastic value, super strong construction and easy tone control (true bypass is great to) makes this a great buy. If your looking for some good old fashion muff or an over the top distortion then look no further.

Questions about the Electro-Harmonix Bass Big Muff Pi Bass Fuzz Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway