0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

Rocktron Banshee Amplified Talkbox Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Rocktron Banshee Amplified Talkbox?

Questions about the Rocktron Banshee Amplified Talkbox?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Upstate, SC April 10, 2016

    Nothing works as well for 'that' sound.

    This is a one trick pony. You will not use it on every song or even on most songs. However, it's a really great trick, and when you do have a need for it, there's nothing like it. This unit is built to take abuse and has an amp and speaker driver built in. The internal overdrive/distortion sounds nice but there's an effects loop if you have your own favorite that you prefer. All in all, a very usable, not to mention fun, box that will give you 'that sound' when you need to live on a prayer or feel like we do. :)

  • from kansas December 1, 2012Music Background:
    active musician

    Very Unique Effect

    This is somewhat of a limited effect because you obviously won't use it all the time but, when you do be prepared to see heads roll and, eyes look your way. I have used just about every type and, kind of effect out there and, this one is just a type of effect that just cannot be modeled or synthed properly. Basicly any type of mouth movement will create a very unique type of sound, I mean the sky is the limit. I have used this effect in just about any type of rock song,blues, even a country song, it;s a blast! Simple to hook up and, use and, built like a Hum V, this thing is heavy. Kinda like a snowblower, you won't use it a lot but when you do it's enjoyable and, no other effect can simulate it. A wah pedal might come close but, it's just not going to get all the variations that you can control with your mouth.

  • from Las Vegas NV January 28, 2009Music Background:
    Jack of all master of none

    A must have

    I have to say that this thing is as solid as a rock. Literally! The build quality is off the chart. The sound is very usable and will only open up doors that you thought about knocking on.

  • from New York, NY USA October 27, 2008Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Producer

    Not Just For Guitars...Great With Keyboards Too!

    I got my hands on a Banshee after listening to a lot of Blackstreet. I was definitely pleased with the sound I got. Using the Banshee with my keyboard, I'm able to achieve sounds like those used by Teddy Riley (Blackstreet "Deep", "Don't Leave"), Polow Da Don (Ciara's "Promise") and Roger Troutman ("Computer Love"). It's significantly different than the "T-Pain" effect that's achieved using pitch correction software and adds another dimension to my productions. Definitely a great auxilary effect to have in the arsenal!

    Tip: Try using it with a saxophone sound on your keyboard. A plethora of lead synths work well, too.

  • from Nashville, TN July 19, 2012Music Background:
    Touring artist, studio player, lousy engineer

    Just what I wanted

    Well, it'll be a while before I'm P-Thugg or Roger, but it isn't the fault of the Banshee. Great piece. Well built, loud, and has a nice little grind when you overdrive it. Using it with a Moog Voyager. It nails the classic synth/talkbox tone--perfect for my needs.

  • from Rutherfordton, NC June 17, 2015Music Background:
    Musician, studio owner

    Do you feel like we do

    Nicely made, and is easy to use in the ala Frampton Mode!

  • from pine grove, pa December 12, 2012Music Background:
    Gigging guitarist

    Rocktron Banshee Talkbox

    Ordered this as I do classic rock and there's a few songs I can use it on. Also, back in the day...waaaay back, I had a Kustom Bag, pretty much the original talkbox. This is early 70's I'm talking about. Steppenwolf used one.
    Anyway, that thing hooked right up to the speaker output for your amp. I just happened to use a 50W Marshall plexi at the time. Talk about loose fillings! The Bag didn't last long though.
    Now this Banshee, seems like a cool piece of gear. Does the same thing the Bag did except it's a stomp box with bypass. It is it's own little amplifier with tone & gain to spare. I REALLY like it! It even has a speaker out to drive a cab, how cool is that??
    I'm glad I spied it on Sweetwater for an awesome price & free shipping. I jumped on it! This wasn't my first dealing with Sweetwater and sure won't be my last.

  • from Wichita, KS August 3, 2007Music Background:
    Semi-Professional

    Man in the (Talk) Box

    I play in a cover band that plays a lot of rock music from 70's, 80's, and 90's. I purchased the Banshee so I could reproduce the sounds heard in songs like Sweet Emotion (Aerosmith), Show the Way (Frampton), and of course my favorite - Man in the Box by Alice-in-Chains. The first thing I noticed was how heavy the Banshee is, I mean this thing is built like a tank! The Banshee is easy to set up. The only thing to remember is that the sound produced is intended for use with a microphone outputted through your P.A. System (can drive a small extenal speaker). I didn't get to try it out until my next gig. Wow! The Banshee sounds great! The Banshee produces a "Ballsy" tonal characteristic that is easily adjusted (Gain, Tone, and Output). Now get the sound of yesteryear and tomorrow without the fear of blowing your amp up! Rock on!

Questions about the Rocktron Banshee Amplified Talkbox?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway