0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Peavey Bandit 112 80-watt 1x12" Combo Amp Reviews

4.0 stars based on 17 customer reviews
Questions about the Peavey Bandit 112 80-watt 1x12" Combo Amp?

Questions about the Peavey Bandit 112 80-watt 1x12" Combo Amp?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Dave Senk
    from Clearfield, Utah July 1, 2015Music Background:
    Over 50 years playing guitar

    REALLY GREAT AMP !!!

    Outstanding amp for the money. I love every feature, not overdone. Very easy to use and dial in tone, Very good clean channel with reverb - add your own chorus. Lead channel is also very good from deep grunge to searing leads. Remember that in the words of "Eddie" tone is all about "adjustment" This amp is VERY LOUD on the lead channel when plugged into the high gain input - plenty of gain and sustain. It's 80 watts RMS, not just 80 watts if you know what I mean. The 25, 50, 100% power switch is also very handy for small room use. You can definitely gig with this; cuts through the mix with ease. Great send/receive effects loop for whatever pedals you may want to use. Get the channel footswitch for only about $ 30 more, it's worth it. I tried other brands and was very disappointed until I tried this no-nonsense amp. Get it, you won't be sorry. I own a Peavey XXX 212 tube amp built in 2002. This amp is almost as good , but not quite as the XXX 212 has 20 more watts RMS and has 2 12" speaker instead of just one.

  • h jaime
    from Albuquerque, New Mexico May 15, 2015Music Background:
    week end music warrior

    surprise!

    the bandit came today and took it out of the box and cranked up with a fender,ibanez,les paul and a martin acoustic electric. it did not sound like the old models, it didn"t sound like the older models . it didn't need to. was very pleased with what i was hearing. it is a keeper!!!!

  • J
    from Texas September 19, 2014Music Background:
    gig on the weekends, locally

    Bandit 112

    Been gigging just about every weekend since 2008 with one of these. No complaints. Picked up another one at a pawnshop for a spare but I've had no problems with the original one I purchased.

    Gets a great useable guitar sound at pretty much any volume. I like tube amps as much as the next person but they always have a "sweet spot" that's either too loud or lost in the onstage mix. No such issue with this amp.

    For what its worth my settings are: Lead channel (I don't use the clean channel), classic voicing, gain at 7, mids ALL THE WAY UP, treble at 4, bass somewhere between 7 and all the way up (if I have the amp off the ground, I dime the bass), Reverb at noon AND the Boost is always on and set around noon (with the boost on, you get more of a tube like punch/response) Rear panel: damping set to "tight" and power at 50%.

    I use a strat with HSS pickup configuration. I can use the guitar volume to clean up with the single coils and let it rip on the humbucker.

    These are just my settings, may not work for everyone but I'm happy with the consistency. I get to the gig, adjust volume and bass knobs and I'm ready to go. Great classic rock sound!

  • Wayne Asher
    from Trinity, TX October 17, 2012Music Background:
    Gigging Musician for over 30 years.

    A New Breed of Bandit

    When I first received this amp, I wanted to return it. I was expecting it to sound like the old, 80's Peavey amp sound and this is quite different (I had the old Teal Stripe version years ago). However, after getting past the learning curve, I discovered the beauty of this amp. It has plenty of power and the transtube sound is far advanced from a 90's Studio 112 I have. Bottom line, this thing sounds great. I have a 335 style Epi Dot, a Tele with rail style mini humbuckers, and an Ibanez SZR 520 and they all sound great on this amp. One caveat; it is a very bright amp, but I can adjust for that with pedals if I need to (depending on the room and stage acoustics). I even put in a scorpion speaker and there's no noticeable difference, which means the stock Blue Marvel speaker is surprisingly full-sounding and comparable to the Scorpions I have used for many years.

    To sum it up, this amp sounds great, sounds like a tube amp to all but perhaps the most discriminating expert, but is a lightweight package that doesn't require the maintenance of a tube amp. It has a ton of sonic options and sounds great with a variety of guitars. If the footswitch had indicator LED's, it would be perfect.

  • Kenny Nelson
    from Cottage Grove, Mn. September 3, 2012Music Background:
    Lead Guitar picker for classic country/variety band, Recording Engineer

    Peavey Bandit 112

    I recently purchased the Peavey Bandit 112 from Sweetwater.

    First of all I want to compliment the wonderful service that my Wife and received from Sweetwater on a few other purchases as well. The Staff is pro all the way!

    Now about the Bandit:

    I have been a fan of Peavey gear for close to 30 years. I'm a lead guitar picker in a classic country/variety band that performs all around Minnesota, Wisconsin and beyond. I am really enjoying the great tone from the Bandit! From the first time that I unpacked the amp and plugged in my Tele (without any additional effects/pedals) the tone was absolutely awesome! I have now used this amp on stage at about a dozen shows and I'm lovin' it more each time! Even my Wife who is the lead singer in our band has commented about the great tone that this amp delivers!

    I have experienced nothing but great things from every single Peavey product that I have purchased over the years. I would highly recommend the Peavey Bandit to any player of any playing level, plus you simply cannot go wrong with the price!

    One final note...our steel/lead guitar player commented while we were getting ready for a show at the Minnesota State Fair saying "You've got the amp that I want, what great tone"!

  • Frank
    from Aztec, N.M. August 19, 2012Music Background:
    semi pro

    Grounded

    Ive had mine for 12 years, it has the best tones for live applications. ive tried other heads n cabs, marshall fender crate line 6 etc.... but nothing has come close

  • Wayne
    from Havre De Grace Md June 12, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great solid state amp.

    My first amp was A peavey back in the 70's. through the years I have played Marshall, Fender, Carvin etc First the price, you can't go wrong. I tried this amp at A local music store, it sounded good. I came home and ordered one from sweetwater. When I finally got it. WOW, I was so blow away.After A little time tweeking, I got A great sound. In some cases I would even go as far as saying better than some tube amps. If you want A great sounding amp and don't want to spend a lot. Get this, You won't regret it.

  • Wiley
    from West Yellowstone, MT USA July 30, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbiest, sometimes teacher

    Peavey Bandit 112

    I don't have much experience with amps. I still have a lot to learn about setting them up. For what I need, this is the perfect amp. I just use it to jam and practice.

    I think it was misnamed. True, this amp could steal the show with it's superb, tube like quality output; but, it gives more than it takes!

    80 watts is probably a bit too much for the living room jam session. The power level switch is a big plus for this application. Now, I can use the amp in different settings!

    I love it!

  • Brewster
    from Southern Illinois September 8, 2016

    Blue Collar Workhorse

    I have a Bandit and it is what I use most of the time to play out. It's a loud amp, and I'd describe it as having a tweakable bright sound. I doctor the sound up by using a pedalboard with two overdrives, a distortion, chorus, and an Mxr smartgate as well as delay. I don't use the lineout, as I prefer miking the amp for gigs. The delay helps alot, and the boost with the two button footswitch is a nice feature. It also has an effects loop, but I've been plugging into the front and it takes pedals well. I have several tube amps that are high end and I like to save them for occasional use and use the Bandit most of the time. I don't have to worry about it too much. I purchased the Envoy first because the Bandit was out of stock, but I still wanted it and got it later when it was available. In short, the Bandit is a very dependable amplifier, and sounds good too!

  • Customer
    from May 11, 2016

    Very happy

    Was just what I was looking for in a non-tube amp. Thanks to Sweetwater for the prompt service!

  • ERS
    from South Eastern Michigan March 9, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Amp, Great Features, Built for Basement, Studio, Gigging

    This amp is IMO best suited for Bluegrass, Blues, Country, Funk, Jazz, R&B, Classic Rock, and various Fusions thereof all previously mentioned. It can do some high gain stuff but I'm not as knowedgeable in those genres so I can't say more on it

    Leave the Blue Marvel Speaker alone and give it time to break in as it is very well voiced for clean to edge-of-breakup amp settings. Great for Blues, Country, & Jazz'n

    If you want to push the envelope with some alternative QOTSA'esque grooves, slap down your favorite nasty dirt pedal, plug in a 112 ext cab with a Texas Heat and you'll soon be having neighbors over to visit.
    And if that's not enough, tune down to drop C, swap out the Blue Marvel with the Texas Heat and put a Swamp Thang in the 112 ext cab...now you're soon to be on a first name basis with local law enforcement. Get a good set of filtering ear plugs!!!

    I run the optional two button foot switch so I can tap between channels & boost settings and even though I have a good variety of boost and dirt pedals at my disposal I find I often prefer to set the amp to where I can control the breakup with the volume knob on my Strat and jam for hours sans pedals.

    When using High Gain pedals (or lots of stacked gain) I prefer using the Low Gain Input as it gives me better control over how hard I hit the preamp.

    This is the pedal chain i use most often and it works very well for generating psychedlic desert rock grooves when tuning the strat down a full step...
    Strat > tuner* > MXR UniVibe* > Moog MF Drive* > Moog MF Ring* > CB Belle Epoch* > BANDIT 112 Low Gain Input
    *all pedals powered by a single OneSpot

    I like my tone thick and heavy at times, but also want to easily control pedal gain & modulation characteristics to where i get decent chord definition when needed.

    Get a decent Furman Power Strip for both your amp & pedals
    AC-215 is a good option

    When all is said and done...A savvy shopper can buy a guitar, amp, & pedals...all as mentioned above...and often for less cost than a mid level point-to-point handwired "boutique" combo tube amp

  • J.C. Norris
    from Cullowhee, N.C. June 4, 2014Music Background:
    Do lots of recording, play some gigs around western N.C.

    Great Amp at any price

    Don't know if anyone else has tried The Banditt 112 with pedal steel, but I'm now using the Banditt 112 for most of the picking I do. I play an Emmons D10 and it sounds great through the Banditt. Although I still have a Nashville 400 & Nashville 1000, this the amp I'll use more for the rest of the time I'll be able to play. I have health issues that prevent me from carrying the heavey-weights, but thanks to Peavey and the Banditt, I'll be able to keep playing.

  • Leo Fender
    from Terra Haute May 29, 2014Music Background:
    I've been playing guitar for long time so I know this stuff

    If I only had a vintage germanium transistor and 6 9's copper wire

    This amp is the best i ever play for the money and sond like tubes amp if you dont not know who is playing it or with what gitar. Not best for metal and do not have glowing tubes so it doesnt sound warm like tube amp.
    I no circuts and this is no tubeamp!
    I even tried it with my unobtainium gitar cables, oralex, and magic smoke...maybe they forgat to use vintage transisters like a clon and thats why is dont sound good like a dumbell.
    This amp is bright so make sure you guitar is made of mohagony so it will sound warm.

  • Customer
    from March 19, 2012

    Awesome Amp!!

    couldn't b happier for the cost and the quality.

  • Ted Angelone
    from Connecticut May 22, 2015Music Background:
    streigh-tahead player.

    112x12

    It's fine for my sound, a little bass, a thick middle, no highs, clean reverb, and then I set my guitar.
    so I don't need much.

    Lets see how it holds up.

    I think the plastic toggle type switches in back are to long, thin, and cheap. Bet they brake off.

    Regards, t

  • Trev Morson www.wolfcrosing.net
    from Aurora, IL April 7, 2015Music Background:
    Rock musician for over 40 years

    It's a strange amp?

    First.. Sweetwater are awesome!!!

    Hmm.. ok.. what a strange amp?.. and many good reviews so far I see.. but...

    I own many amps, played for over 40 years.. I have a Peavey 6505+ head that I use with a Marshall 1960A 4x12 cab with GT75's (this is my main gigging amp). I have the Fender Mustang V2 programmable amp (use for practice) and another Peavey Audtion 20W combo amp (use at home).

    It took me a while to dial this thing in with the various tones, damping and gain switching it has. Primarily I play in a single guitar band and so I need another amp at the other side of the stage for a stereo-like effect. I hook it up from the pre-amp output of my Peavey 6505+ head to the guitar input of the Peavey Bandit which would require a very good clean channel selection. For this kind of set up, the Peavey Bandit is PERFECT!

    I play a lot of Van Halen 'Brown Sound' stuff with my band, as well as other Classci Rock covers.

    The Reverb isn't as strong as I would like it, I actually have that full on. The Trans-Tube to me.. seems to put a lot more bottom end on your E, A, D strings and so its difficult to get a very bright high end tone.

    If I was to use this as my main gigging amp wanting high end gain with a bright tone, I am afraid I would have to get a good equalizer pedal to take out some of the bottom end punch it has, because using the low, mid and high eq knobs, I couldn't get enough brightness and I am using maple body bright guitars too. I would likely get a delay and reverb pedal too. This really needs a 'Presence' knob.

    I think Peavey should have included the much needed footswitch and provided a much longer power cord too. I was disappointed in that.

    So.. for me.. yes its PERFECT for the way I want to use it on stage as a second amp, but I prefer the Fender Mustang as a practice amp over this one and I wouldn't particularly use this amp as my main amp for the high end guitar driven classic rock songs we cover, outside of purchasing additional pedals for it to overcome the low end punch.

    So.. I am only going to rate this as 2.5 stars out of 5. Again, it does the job for me and my set up as explained above. I just would not use it as my main gigging amp.

  • victor gonzales
    from denver coloardo December 25, 2011Music Background:
    pro and recording

    not as good as you think

    the amp dosnot have a tube sound at all on the clean side the vintage is the best sound close to a tube sound the classic and th warm sound to thin on lead side classic sound the best high gain sound so bad it made me put guitar down and live the room but the moden on this amp sound is good batter than 6505 112 so on this amp the classic and moden sound the best. I will sale this amp just like i sold 6505 112 amp i love peavey amps i have a mace and classic and this is the best sound amp i have play on i have a older amp that are tran tube and the sound on this amp are so close to tube that whan i play on tham in a live show i get the same sound as tube i was hoping that this amp wood be the same but not that to bad case i be playing peavey for 30 years

Questions about the Peavey Bandit 112 80-watt 1x12" Combo Amp?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway