rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

DigiTech Bad Monkey Analog Tube Overdrive Pedal Reviews

5.0 stars based on 16 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Robert Williams

    An interesting alternative to the well-known green overdrive pedal. One of the coolest, affordable overdrive boxes out there with a fairly neutral color that doesn't overwhelm your dynamics and signature tone.

  • from Huntington Beach, CA October 19, 2014Music Background:
    musician

    What a bad monkey!

    Excellent pedal. If you don't have it yet, go for it now!

  • from Makaha, Hawaii USA October 12, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Bad Medicine!!!! [##]~~~~~~OQ===:::

    First off, Thanks to AJ Becerra and Sweetwater for their swift and professional service. Always wanted this pedal. Through the years, the Bad Monkey was always mentioned on gear forums, not an expensive overdrive at all. Better than most boutique pedals in my opinion. I use the suggested "Texas Tone" setting. Not much gain in that setting, though i'm a more volume than gain type of Bluesman...i run this stacked with the Way Huge Green Rhino thru to my Fender Blues Junior iii. This is a killer overdrive, send it thru the clean channel on your amp, or dime the gain and add it to the dirty channel for massive saturation. Either way, this pedal is a must. Call AJ and get this pedal, Aloha!!!!!!!

  • from Jasper, AL June 24, 2014Music Background:
    Worship Team Drummer

    One BAD MONKEY!

    I am really pleased with this purchase. The Bad Monkey can dirty up a clean channel, add some punch to an acoustic, add a stage to the overdrive channel, and produces very clear tone. Toss in the interest free financing, and this is a no brainer.

    Get one, you won't regret it. But keep in mind, it's overdrive, not metal gain.

  • from New City, NY January 30, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist, recording, blah blah blah.

    Magic Booster Pedal

    This pedal really delivers. I'm not sure how it fairs as a standalone OD pedal because I'm not using it this way. But I read and read about how good it was at boosting a distortion or other OD pedal into a nice lead tone, and it's all absolutely true. I have this in front of both a Boss BD-2 and a TC Dark Matter Distortion. It does a fantastic job of taking either into a second stage of gain for a smooth lead tone. It compresses the tone a little, pushes the mids a little, and adds some real nice sustain, even if your OD or Dist pedal is set to pretty low gain. Any guitarist who needs a second stage to add to their favorite dirt box for leads or single note melody lines should definitely give this pedal a try. I've never committed a pedal to my pedalboard as quickly as I did this one. The fact that this is priced the way it is is just icing on the cake.

  • from January 24, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Really good pedal

    I really like this oedal , and I must say its one of my favorite you can do a lot with this pedal such as a twangy country sound, to AC/DC, and much more! I recommend to anyone!!!

  • from Bergen county, N.J. December 21, 2013Music Background:
    Lead guitarist, classic rock

    Bad Monkey

    This pedal blows away others that are 4 times its price! You can dial in exactly the sound you want by either cutting the Hi s or the lows. I was truly surprised at how well it paired with my 70's Fender Pro reverb and Bandmaster. Best tool for the job out there!

  • from Longview Texas December 4, 2013Music Background:
    Experienced guitar player

    Bad Monkey

    When your foot hits the switch you unleash the "bad monkey" ! A great pedal that truly delivers .

  • from United States October 30, 2013Music Background:
    Non Professional Recording Engineer/Hobbyist/Student/Awesome Dude

    This Bad Monkey ain't bad at all. Unless by bad you mean good!

    Where do I begin? Well this lovely pedal is green which is a great color, It has 4 potentiometers for adjusting settings and it comes with a battery. And if you don't think that's enough, its pretty rugged and probably really difficult to break. In terms of sound it sounds like an overdrive pedal should. I like how it's not too gain-ey but it really gives the boost you need. It has a cool name too!

  • from Marietta, Ga. June 14, 2013Music Background:
    EX-Pro musician turned songwriter

    Bad, Bad Monkey

    This my 2nd one over 10 yrs. I've had a slew of OD's like most everyone. This pedal is as good or better than the Fulldrive 2 I owned, TS808, I own, TS-9 I own. I also tested this pedal with a plethora of other OD's. The BM sits right next to my Boss BD-2, which complements it well.

  • from Twin Cities, MN November 26, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    A Surprising Alternative to the Classic TS-9!

    If you do some homework online, many people who own and love the Bad Monkey will also tell you that they generally dislike DigiTech products. The Bad Monkey is the ultimate exception to the rule. A fully analog budget version of a Tubescreamer with two-band EQ, and for under $50.

    In output and character, it's very similar to the Ibanez TS-9 in many ways. But while both have that characteristic "mids-heavy" tube overdrive sound, the Bad Monkey has an added perk of separate "low" and "high" EQ knobs. While these won't drastically change the character of the sound, they will make a big impact on how well the pedal matches with your amp. The ability take a Tubescreamer and add bass (or treble) at an affordable price is a great option. It's a secret weapon that's becoming less and less of a secret.

  • from Oshawa/Peterborough, Ontario, Canada November 29, 2007Music Background:
    Playing for 5 1/2 years

    Absolutely KICK

    I've tried a lot of OD/DS pedals in my quest for sweet tone, and this one is the ACE up my sleeve! It's great as a clean boost (the level and tone controls on this thing are POWERFUL), and it also can add a nice smooth overdrive to a clean amp. I'd say the best use for this thing is in an effects loop - I tried it in my friend's and it nearly blew me away! Buy this pedal, people: it rocks!

  • from ohio October 16, 2006Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Great pedal

    This $40 pedal can easily compete with most others. Now, I can't say that this pedal will top expensive boutique pedals, but it brings you quite a bit of tone for its low price. As a clean boost, it worked very well in thickening and tightening up my amp, as well as in adding EQ potential. The Low and High knobs did make it easier to dial in more meat or highs quickly. I'm primarily a metal guy, so I really can't say much about the overdrive aspect of the pedal. However, I can say that the overdrive doesn't sound that bad at all. I can easily imagine blues and perhaps even classic rock played with this pedal. Overall, I think the pedal is phenominal, and the fact that it only costs $40 makes it even better!

  • from Bronx,NY July 27, 2006Music Background:
    Guitrist for 2 bands, Christian Rock,Jazz, Gospel

    Love it

    This was a very good effect im so glad I bought it. The distortion sounds great-nice and crunchy- but you can still hear the tone of the guitar..This aint no zoom pedal people this is digitech

  • from USA May 17, 2013Music Background:
    Part time pro

    Tone is subjective

    First let me start by saying that my buying experiences with Sweetwater have been a pleasure. They seem to know their products, have a nice selection of gear and services and are interested in their customers' satisfaction . Great business model.

    I truly wish I had better things to say about the Bad Monkey. It's not bad, but for the tone I like it isn't all that good either. With my equipment, a Squier CVC telecaster and a 30 watt Mega Amp hybrid tube amp, the Bad Monkey's effect is very granular and a bit crispy, not exactly harsh but not nearly as thick and creamy or sweet sounding as the breakup I can get by simply overdriving my amp's 12Ax7 Mullard tube.

    Having the two tone pots on the BM helps a lot to contour the sound and for that reason it could be a very useful pedal for someone who likes a good bit of sand in their overdrive tone and likes to do some tweaking. For my tastes though it took a lot of tweaking to approach the tone I want, and in the end it never could get me there.

    The pedal itself seems solidly built, has significant gain and responsive control knobs. Certainly a lot of palpable quality for less than $50. The sound simply is just not my cup of tea. Having said that, It could be a completely different sounding pedal with a guitar loaded with humbuckers rather than the single coils of my telecaster or a different amp (although I tried it through my Fender Mustang and it wasn't any better).

    All in all I think the Bad Monkey is worth a shot if you're looking for an OD pedal. Could be just the thing for someone else's taste in tone.

  • from AKRON, OHIO May 7, 2006

    NICE PEDAL

    I,M A BASSIST THAT PLAYS GUITAR AS A SECOND INSTRUMENT. I DO MOSTLY HOME RECORDING ANY MORE, BUT GIG ONCE IN A WHILE. I'M ALSO A GEAR JUNKIE, WITH BOXES OF EFFECTS PACKED AWAY. I NEVER THOUGHT TWICE ABOUT BUYING A PEDAL THAT APPEALED TO ME AT THE MOMENT. ANY MORE, I,M MORE CAREFUL ABOUT EFFECT PURCHACES.
    ANYWAY, THIS IS A USEFUL PEDAL THAT I USE FOR RECORDING AND LIVE GIGS. I USE IT WITH MY BASS FOR LIVE USE AND IT SOUNDS COOL. I LIKE THE EQ ON THIS, AND I CAN GET A NICE OVERDRIVEN AMPEG SOUND OR WHATEVER. IF YOU PLAY METAL, LOOK ELSEWHERE. THIS PEDAL IS JUST A NICE, USEFUL OVERDRIVE WITH GOOD TUBE EMULATION. WITH GUITAR, THIS THING SOUNDS SWEET AND WORKS WELL WITH OTHER EFFECTS. FOR 40 BUCKS, YOU WON'T BE SORRY.

  • from Taunton, MA USA March 6, 2006

    GREAT pedal

    oh yeah - even the "tone snobs" are liking this pedal! The "Tube Screamer" sound at 1/4 the price - put this between your Strat and a Fender-ish amp and you've got the SRV tone... Like the other 3 Digitech stompboxes I've owned, this thing's built solid & heavy and comes with a 6-year warranty if you register on the Digitech website. It's also ANALOG, not digital, so the battery life should NOT be an issue - just don't forget to unplug your cables! LOL Digitech has hit a homerun with the Bad Monkey!

Questions about the DigiTech Bad Monkey Analog Tube Overdrive Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway