0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

RME Babyface - Silver Reviews

5.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Carson McClain

    I am truly an RME evangelist. The stability of RME's driver and software, the quality of the preamps, as well as their clocking and jitter supression make RME products an absolute STANDARD in my studio. If you're sick of issues of interfaces not being cross-platform, then go with the RME Babyface as a portable interface. For its size, it has more I/O and equal or better quality than the other portable boxes out there.

  • from Minneapolis, MN USA May 31, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist, live performance, virtual pipe organ enthusiast

    My first high end purchase, the RME Babyface is great!

    I am new to the world of high (or higher) end components. I needed an upgrade for my digital pipe organ project.

    The babyface has performed marvelously. Simple, intuitive design. Great results!

    I had a question and instead of contacting SweetWater, I reached out to RME support. Their representative for the US was great... very engaging, he helped me maximize the configuration to best suit my particular needs. It's not common to find support like that these days!

  • from Atlanta, GA December 28, 2013Music Background:
    Music Producer, Musician

    Babyface takes the crown!

    I have owned the Apogee Duet FireWire
    version, and the Duet 2 usb version as well.
    This interface smokes both of them!
    The converters in my opinion offer much
    more detail than the 1st Duet and present
    a better picture of what's there. The Duet 2
    sounded very commercial to my ears, sort
    of like a big smile mastering curve on
    everything. I ended up returning it and
    getting the babyface and all my complaints
    went away with this box. The instrument
    input captures my bass guitar much better
    than the previous boxes, and the Mic pres
    sound great as well. If you are looking for
    the best interface under $1000 this is it!

  • from United States October 31, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Quality Sound

    Your sound is only as good as your preamps and converters. I was using good mics and good IEMS, but never quit happy with the sound. Finally upgraded to the Babyface...WOW, what a difference!

    Babyface has plenty of ins/outs for my small home studio. ADAT support if I need more in the future. Compact enough that I can take it with me..

  • from United States July 11, 2013Music Background:
    Recording/Mix Engineer, Songwriter, Producer

    To call this interface a

    This thing is a monster! Tons of I/O packed into a small, sleek desktop interface. Killer pres/converters. Sounds miles better than my old Digi 002, and it's about 5% of the size! My only gripe is that TotalMix FX (even for a seasoned DAW user) was a bit difficult to learn, but now that I understand it, it's great. Can't wait to make some records with this bad boy!

  • from Seminole, FL January 16, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    High Quality!

    I was looking upgrade to my ECHO Gina PCI card (which I always loved before it died) that would be a next level improvement . I am very pleased with the Babyface and it is noticeably superior sounding. My wife who doesn't care noticed the sound difference right away. It is just clearer, cleaner and more detailed. . I checked the latency and round trip I am at 4.8 ms with 128 buffer and 88K sampling which is phenomenal for a USB2 interface. Very easy setup and not difficult in use. I am so happy I just went for a Babyface .

  • from Rocklin, CA December 10, 2012Music Background:
    Voice over guy

    It's More Machine than I need!

    I purchased the RME Babyface as the pre amp between my mic and my Lenovo laptop when doing voice work recording sessions on the road. This thing is waay more machine that I need, but seems to be just perfect for my situation. Not being a gear head, I was at first overwhelmed by the set up process. But I had a trusted audio engineer set everything up and it now produces as good a sound as my home studio gear. I really like the zippered pouch that comes with the Babyface. Makes stashing it when travelling easy.

  • from Winter Haven, FL February 16, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Podcaster, Veteran Bass Player, Dedicated Audiophile

    Sweet, very sweet!

    As I professional podcaster, I needed a microphone preamp and A/D converter that keeps my voice clear and intelligible. I also really value portability, as I may need to record from anywhere in the world. RME's Babyface meets my needs perfectly. It is clean, articulate, and very portable. Thanks, RME!

  • from Peru January 5, 2012Music Background:
    Sound Engineer

    Great

    Sounds Great... i now fell my bass more compact, and now i don't have any dirty highs .. works really great!!
    Im now getting familiar with the " Better Sound"

Questions about the RME Babyface - Silver?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway