0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

RME Babyface Pro Reviews

5.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the RME Babyface Pro?

Questions about the RME Babyface Pro?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from February 28, 2017

    Yeah. Baby.

    I've owned 2 1st gen Babyfaces, a UC and a UFX. The Babyface Pro is the best parts of all those crammed into a sleek little chassis. If you need a portable interface that will never let you down and give you professional recordings, this is it. It's nothing fancy, but RME Totalmix is a very powerful tool once you get the hang of it.. The onboard DSP FX aren't mix worthy, but they're good enough for tracking and some lower key live performances (solo acoustic guitarist/singer).

  • from December 26, 2016

    It just works

    Got tired if random clicks and pops when I would lower the latency of my old interface. Decided to pony up the money and I'm glad I did. It just work s all the time. I've gotten more recording done in the last month because it works Everytime I use it. No more disconnects. No more reboots. The preamps are really good also. Just buy it.

  • from Costa Rica October 14, 2016

    Excellent unit

    Upgraded to the Babyface Pro after my 4 year old original Babyface died on me in the middle of a mobile recording project. It turns out the problem with the original unit was simply a breakout cable and was easily fixed, however I'm very happy with the upgrade! Metering is improved with simultaneous input and output meters, 2 extra 1/4" input channels, an extra 1/8" headphone out (which can run simultaneously with the 1/4" phones out), headphone output seems higher, and as a bonus all of these connections are mounted directly on the unit rather than via clunky breakout cable. The one exception to this is the MIDI in/out which connects via separate breakout, however all of my MIDI runs via USB nowadays anyway.

    I am able to run two phantom powered condenser mics via USB power alone. The old babyface sometimes had problems when running only on USB power, for instance sample rates over 44kHz wouldn't work. No issues with that on the new unit so far. Sound quality is still excellent and the build quality feels better than the previous version. The main rotary encoder is smooth and solid and the whole thing has enough weight to not slip around on the desk.

    One feature I would have loved to see is separate RCA S/PDIF ins rather than combining it with the ADAT optical. Overall an incredibly well-designed and road-worthy unit for small gigs!

  • from Austin, Texas August 22, 2016Music Background:
    Music Production

    RME Always

    I just received the Babyface Pro and I immediately plugged it in so I could compare it to my Fireface UFX.... I could not tell the difference in sound quality. I bought this interface to be mobile and I couldn't be happier with the result.

    This thing is built like a tank and it sounds just like its bigger brother (Fireface UFX)... Nothing comes close in my opinion at this price range.

  • from Omaha, NE July 20, 2016

    Excellent travel interface

    I'm not a pro, I'm an audiophile and amateur recording engineer who appreciates good quality. This is my first RME product. It won't be my last (I have already purchased the HDSPe AES card based on my experience with this USB product).

    I wasn't sure what to expect with this product. Drivers are awesome, this product has not given me one crash with constant use. TotalMix is a nice piece of kit whether you need it as a standalone monitoring solution on a laptop or part of a complex DAW setup.

    The sound coming out of this interface is very high quality, its the equal of a couple thousand bucks worth of hifi gear I had sitting on the rack next to my computer. The build quality is off the charts good.

    If I had one complaint, and this is really nit picking here, but I use a Heil PR40 for late night recording and since I have small children I often talk fairly quietly. The preamp gain does need to be set rather high for this, but that's the nature of the mic I'm using and the environmental constraints. RME can't defy physics.

  • from NYC April 10, 2016Music Background:
    Professional

    this interface is amazing

    Insanely low latency, solid drivers (its RME..), sounds great, couldn't ask for more. The perfect interface for live performance!

  • from July 1, 2016

    Breakout cable needed

    Sweetwater might wish to check their facts. The unit actually comes with a breakout cable. Odd that they mention several times that NO breakout cable is needed..? All of the i/o are NOT accessible without the breakout cable..

  • from Lodi, WI June 24, 2016

    Bought for Ipad now it's my main interface

    Iím hearing things in existing mixes and even music playback of major label tunes that were not audible on my Presonus 16.4.2. Best of all the BFP worksÖ it actually works! Iíve not had one item that when I did what made sense didnít work first time through. So far it's user friendly and logical to work with. I need to read up on the Total mix for the monitoring but my guess is it will work great using the Total Mix software.

    This pretty much tells me when I upgrade my studio Iíll be taking a real good look at the RME units especially when I consider the bigger units have the full version of Total mix with the dynamics included. Funny, so far it sounds so good Iím not feeling the need to use the EQ in TotalMix.

    I bought the BFP to do remote recording on my Ipad and Iím already talking to clients about coming in to record in my studio and I fully intend to use the BFP with my Mac and my Audient ASP880 and ART DMPA to get a full 12 Inputs. The 16.4.2 has been moved to the rehearsal space for good.

Questions about the RME Babyface Pro?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway