0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Taylor BT1 - Spruce Top Reviews

5.0 stars based on 22 customer reviews
Questions about the Taylor BT1 - Spruce Top?

Questions about the Taylor BT1 - Spruce Top?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Vinemont AL March 1, 2016

    Baby Taylor delivers...

    I bought the Baby Taylor because of Taylor's commitment to excellence, and I bought it from Sweetwater for the same reason. The baby Taylor has a solid spruce top, sapele neck and actual ebony bridge and finger board...This is not a sawdust and glue guitar...It has a big sound for such a small instrument...It doesn't sound like a toy at all...great for sitting around the fire or anywhere you wanna play without dragging out the full size guitar...

  • from Kennewick, Washington 99336 February 21, 2016Music Background:
    Life

    My first flat top

    I have played electric for many years. When I told my salesman I really wanted a practice guitar to use when I didn't want to drag out my big guitar. I was told to buy a Baby Taylor for my wife and when it got here, I wanted to take it away from her. We now have two and my electric sits in the closet do I need to say more

  • from Dallas, TX July 1, 2015

    Baby Taylor-Spruce

    Had mine about a week now and love the size and sound! I had several full size Martins and after reading all the reviews, I decided to go with Taylor. Sounds great for it's size and good to have around to take outside and travel with. My only problem was I changed the strings and my low E bridge pin broke off. No worries, I replaced them all with real wood pins. Overall, Great Guitar for the money!! Can't go wrong!

  • from March 11, 2015

    Love it!!!!

    I absolutely love this guitar! I have smaller hands so this is perfect for me and it sounds just as good as other guitara

  • from northern Nevada November 16, 2014Music Background:
    Everything almost. Working to track a song spoken to me by God.

    Great little guitar to have on hand

    This guitar is everything they say it is-I bought the low end version. I was impressed with the ebony Fret Board and Bridge used in the build. When I got it, I found the guitar nice cozy and comfy. I believe anyone who plays should have a a cowboy size guitar on hand or at the ready. It's that convenient. It sounds super and very well balanced. The factory choice strings are quality. The guitar is very responsive and strong from the low end to the high end. I was really impressed with the quick responsiveness of this guitar, the quality sound, (and it's so inexpensive) and to have the ebony Fret Board.
    I wanted a small guitar to have on hand. My tech Ryan Clapper highly recommended this series. He's given me the time I truly need, it's like walking into a music store. This alone makes Sweetwater better than Amazon. Because of this quality, I've spent thousands in the past few months there. I don't shop anywhere else online. I've bought everything from my American Deluxe Stratocaster, Music Man Bass, Amp and Cab equipment, acoustic drums and many other items. I wouldn't have done this if it hadn't been for the techs especially. Ryan. He has always been kind enough to put me first and explain things to me that I don't know. Everything through Sweetwater has pretty much been seamless. The only exception was another brand bass that slipped by. I'm glad-for the this-because theMusic Man has been a much better instrument. (Also recommended by my tech Ryan.) I'm thankful not only for the good service I constantly receive, but the care and time I receive from my tech Ryan. Despite having so many irons in the fire, he always has time for a customer with questions like me. Many of the music stores in my area take some driving time. Most of them have apathetic, inconsistent and say anything to the point of contradicting themselves. This is just for the sale. They don't really care. So, it makes a big difference to me to received honest service and the time from Sweetwater and Ryan. He's saved me money by helping me make better choices in spending my money wisely. It's not about the sale whether the choice costs less or more-but the honest consideration and assistance. This is the best music company I've done business with ever. I'm over 50 and have been dealing with music stores for most of those years. I don't know how they do it. Except the founder, I've personally found to be a genuine good man. There aren't many stores and none I can think of that provide this much service and such a seamless operation. I live in Nevada, not Indiana. I'm just appreciative to find an honest genuine care in sales music store.

  • from DC October 6, 2014Music Background:
    singer songwriter

    Can't beat it for the price

    I wanted a small guitar that I could easily travel with and this is perfect. I played the little Martin and liked the Taylor way better--brighter, better definition, lighter.
    Everyone kept telling me to get the GS Mini instead because it sounds more like a full size guitar. While that's true, it's also much closer in size to a full size guitar, thus defeating the purpose of getting a small, travel-ready instrument. Does this sound like a full size guitar? No. Of course not. But it sounds great for what it is.
    Once I received it I had a K&K mini installed and have now played this guitar at a few shows. Every time someone has talked to me afterwards--lots of complements about the sound and wanting to know where I got it, what pickup is in it, etc.

    Highly recommended.

  • from Memphis, TN August 15, 2014Music Background:
    Retired from playing in bands / home recordings.

    A Baby on a Payment Plan!

    I wasn't real impressed when I first played this guitar, but I had to go out of town the next day and took her along with me. The more I played it the easier it played and the better the sound became. For recording, this doesn't take the place of a full sized dread, although it could depending on the tone your looking for, but it's always handy and so fun to play. If you play guitar and you like sitting in bed to watch TV, buy it!

  • from Forney,Texas September 7, 2013Music Background:
    Fun

    Perfect choice !

    I've been playing a tenor ukulele for several years and was wanting something with a more full sound that a baritone uke can't do. The Baby T is just a little bigger than a baritone uke and as you know has all six strings. It came with strings that sound great but I changed mine out to the Martin Folk Guitar Silk & Steel Strings. These are a little softer to the touch and have a soft, smooth sound. (Like the difference between hard water and soft water) I LOVE IT!!!

  • from Columbus, OH February 7, 2013

    Really Great

    I enjoy the great service from sweetwater.
    Really Awesome.

  • from Albuquerque, NM December 17, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Baby Taylor

    This Baby is AWESOME! Exactly as advertised and a great sound. I wish I had ordered this a long time ago. The Baby has a rich sound just like my full size Ovation. The one thing I would recommend is to buy the hardcase when you order the guitar. It comes with a wonderful softcase but realized I would at times require a hardcase. The shipping is also a plus with Sweetwater since the merchandise comes as promised or sooner!

  • from Troutville, VA USA November 6, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    great guitar

    i bought this guitar about 2 months ago and it is great. beautiful wood and very well built the tone is very bold for its size. i use elixer medium strings and they sound the best in my opinion. if your thinkin about buyin it you wont be let down with this one

  • from October 2, 2012Music Background:
    parent

    Great guitar for small hands

    My 6-year-old son loves his new guitar. His instructor was impressed, and said he plans to buy one for his boy. We thought we'd have to get a hard case for it, but the soft one it came with is well-enough made that we don't see the need now. I was happy with how well packed it was too, padded and double boxed!

  • from Bismack, ND USA March 22, 2012Music Background:
    Music educator

    Great little guitar

    It is a great little guitar. It has a much larger than expected sound. The arched type back may be a contributing factor in the quality of sound.

  • from Upton, NY USA March 2, 2012Music Background:
    Student

    Love it!

    I bought this Taylor Baby for my boyfriend and he loves it! Elegant shape, comfortable surface and really good sound!

  • from Fairport, NY USA November 7, 2008Music Background:
    singer/songwriter

    The full sound is amazing!

    So I stopped into a local retailer recently and saw this on the wall and decided to try it out, as I was looking for a travel guitar. I expected quality, but nothing too great due to the smaller body size. I was wrong. This has as full a sound as a full size dreadnought! In fact, other people in the store couldn't believe it when they came over to see what I was playing. Unfortunately, they only had one in stock and someone in the "audience" bought as soon as I was done playing a 20 minute set of U2, Pink Floyd, and Bob Dylan stuff. Yeah, this guitar rocks!

  • from Lancaster, oh March 21, 2016Music Background:
    Teacher, guitarist

    Baby Taylor

    I bought this guitar for my 8 year old daughter's birthday, her first. When I researched travel/student guitars this one came out on top.

    Buy a hard case. If your buying it for your student or to travel with it will get banged around. Plus a hard case will help control humidity levels

    I am a little concerned about the fragile build. Especially no back bracing. Time will tell. I'm told the slightly rounded back counteracts this.

    The balance of the guitar takes some getting used to.

    This guitar has a lot going for it. Ebony fretboard, solid spruce top, very good build quality other than the back issue, and it may just be my issue. Excellent low setup ideal for beginners, good resonance for a small body. My daughter was playing chords within an hour having never played before! I attribute that to the excellent setup.

    I wrestled with the baby or the gs mini as far as what would be a great first guitar. The baby is a great size with great sound. There will be a need to upgrade eventually but not for quite some time. I have no reservations about recommending the baby Taylor, provided it has a hard case and is well taken care of. The gig bag is sharp looking and may have its purpose. But for an everyday learning guitar a hard case is the best choice. As always, sweetwater is the best in the biz with their two year warranty,instrument inspection, and safe packaging of everything I buy from them.

  • from Happy Valley, PA July 28, 2014Music Background:
    Weekday / Weekend Warrior

    Fantastic Travel Choice - and solid tone

    This is a fantastic guitar if you travel and do not have the desire to tote a full sized guitar with you. At 3/4 size, this guitar fits in an overhead compartment of even regional jets. I do not think the GS Mini or Big Baby Taylors could boast this. While I am debating buying the hard case, the included gig bag is of a high quality.

    The tone of this little thing is remarkable, given the diminutive size. I am not very schooled in guitar construction, but I think the bolt-on neck does a great job of transferring vibration to the solid top. This thing resonates and projects well; sounds very good given the size. The smaller scale length makes some of the pinky-oriented Rock & Roll stuff kind of fun to practice. This would be a great guitar for my kids to start on, as well.

    Construction is of very good quality. I had a small problem with the top separating from the body (quite possibly "my fault" due to travel dings), but the great folks at Taylor covered it under warranty. I'm more of a Martin guy, but I find myself wanting to do business with Taylor based on how cool they are.

    Did I mention I'm a Martin guy? I played the BT1 against the Mini-Martin and wanted to want to buy the Martin... but my ear (and those of my non-musical bride) said the Taylor was significantly better - brighter, clearer. I wanted to want the Mahogany body (beautiful), but chose the spruce for the snap and clarity.

    I bought mine on vacation after my old Yamaha FG JR. was busted in transit. The Baby Taylor (at 2-3 x the price) is a significantly better player with far better tone than the baby Yamaha. I bought mine in a store but have purchased a guitar from Sweetwater in the past and was very impressed with it's set up upon arrival and packing as well as the service.

    If you like having a guitar around when you are on the go and are cool with something smaller than a standard guitar, there is not a better 3/4 size guitar on the market than the Baby Taylors.

  • from Waltham, MA May 17, 2013Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter

    My Taylor

    I absolutely love this guitar. I purchased it so I could have a guitar at all times and be able to play whenever and wherever. This guitar is perfect for that and although it is small, it is loudly heard. It has a deep taylor sound and plays...crispily.

  • from Sacramento, CA March 7, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Tayloy Baby Review

    This little number is a must if you are looking for that travel companion that doesn't sound like a toy, rather a musical instrument. Very bright sounds, extremely travel friendly and the playability of this 3/4 size beast is much better than I was anticipating. Maybe I shouldn't sound so suprised....it's a Taylor!!!

  • from Cleveland,Tn December 10, 2016

    Taylor made

    Bought this as a birthday present for my piano playing wife. As a guitar player I find myself playing it quite often. The sound is a little thin when playing chords but is effortless to fret. Individual notes are rich and full. Holds tune very well. The tuners seem high quality. Would definitely recommend for a small handed person or child that wants to learn.

  • from Canal Fulton, Ohio September 4, 2015Music Background:
    Played in bands for years

    Baby Taylor Spruce

    Bought this for my young daughter to learn on. It came set up very well and plays and sounds great! This is a quality instrument and both she and I love it.

  • from October 9, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist and Collector

    My Second

    Second of three, I love these guitars, great full sound out of a small , well crafted body. Amazing!

Questions about the Taylor BT1 - Spruce Top?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway