0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 2

Elixir Strings 14077 Nanoweb Light/Medium, Long Scale Electric Bass Strings Reviews

4.0 stars based on 14 customer reviews
Questions about the Elixir Strings 14077 Nanoweb Light/Medium, Long Scale Electric Bass Strings?

Questions about the Elixir Strings 14077 Nanoweb Light/Medium, Long Scale Electric Bass Strings?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • JP
    from Los Angeles April 5, 2017

    Bummer

    So been reading about these for a while and figured I'd give them a try. First thing I noticed was no felt/twine wrap on the ends...Does it make a difference? Couldn't tell you but it is an extra step in the manufacturing process and shows attention to detail and less potential to mar your metal so there's that. Got them on and winding up I barely notice any shimmer. You know, the almost chime like quality you from new strings? So that was another red flag. Got them tightened up and these things are pretty dull, no real brightness to them. If that's your style, great...It's not mine. The E string is pretty dead and the G string was very loud, very inconsistent tonality. I guess all this is to be expected from strings coated in some gunk from the manufacturer...I'd rather enjoy bright strings for a few weeks with a gradual taper off than flat strings out of the package...that'll stay flat longer. I typically play Dean Markley, Blue Steel and these are for sure no where near those in terms of brightness and quality. These sound like 3 month old Blue Steels. Total bummer...Your mileage may vary but I'm getting off at this stop and going back to what sounds good, to me.

  • Chad
    from Edmonton March 14, 2017

    Really Expensive Binder Twine

    I've been using Elixer acoustic and electric guitar strings for 10 years now. So I thought to myself, "Elixers have to sound great on my Fender Elite Jazz bass." Wrong! These are the worst bass strings I've ever tried.

    Right after install, they were so bright and metallic sounding, I couldn't use the bass live or in recordings. So I gave it 2 months of break in time (with about 20 hours of playing). While the brightness came down some, the metallic 1.5 kHz to 2 kHz brashness is still there. Even worse, these strings are very microphonic.

    And then there's the price... it's higher than good sounding strings.

    I will note that the coating takes the sliding finger squeaks down considerably.

    Don't waste your money. D'Addarios, Fender, DRs, Rotos, or even cheap store brand strings sound better.

    Don't buy these.

  • Customer
    from December 7, 2016

    Elixer bass strings

    Good smooth feel and tension. Good tone

  • Lynda Dana
    from Ashtabula, Ohio November 10, 2016Music Background:
    Bass player

    Elixirbass strings

    The best! I've always used these strings. They last for about 4 months and they always sound bright.

  • Anthony Stasi
    from london, KY September 30, 2016

    Way too Bright!

    These strings came on my Ibanez SR500 Bass. Without a doubt the worst sounding strings I ever heard on a bass. Low E has way too much bass and all the rest are WAY too bright. I can not wait to get these off my bass.

  • Shay Hayden
    from Piqua OH March 25, 2016Music Background:
    Blues, progressive metal, thrash, clasic rock, cover band randomness

    Bright, punchey, long lasting!

    These are the best bass strings I have ever used. I put Elixir strings on everything, they last forever, and sound amazing! Even if you have your bass in C-sharp standard, they still manage to be bright!

  • Roy Henson
    from Hulbert, Oklahoma July 29, 2015Music Background:
    Been playing bass for yrs, with Gospel Groups.

    Elixir Bass String

    I really like the Elixir Bass Strings Medium Scale, I put on my Fender P Bass and running through Peavey Amp. They sound Awesome and Thanks Again Sweetwater.

  • Customer
    from March 26, 2015

    Bass

    The strings are some of the best I have ever played

  • PUMPDOG1
    from NEW JERSEY December 4, 2014Music Background:
    INTERMEDIATE

    GREAT STRINGS

    SOOOOOO SWEET BABY!

  • Joseph Brooks
    from Riverside, CA March 10, 2014Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior Gigging bassist

    Long Lasting Strings

    These strings give great long lasting tone that is easy on your frets. Easy to tell when they are near the end of life because coating starts to fray. Tone is not subdued like round wound strings. Pricey but worth it.

  • Terry Spence
    from san angelo tx. December 26, 2013Music Background:
    pro musican

    totally one of the best set to gear up with ibanez

    i own a sr 700 ibanez bass w/ the barotl. p/u, these strings are the best i ever used. better than rotot sound and yes even boomers. if you like to slide and glesondo your *** off, these are the ones. little bit more pricy but you half to grow up sometime.

  • Mike Kirby
    from Proctorville, Ohio 45669 May 1, 2013Music Background:
    Bass guitar player

    Bass strings

    These strings have met every need I have. I have tried many strings but these ...hold there tone way longer than any other brand. A big thank you to Mark and Roc for the advice on these strings

  • Customer
    from California August 7, 2012Music Background:
    Bass guitar player

    Elixir nanoweb medium bass strings

    Great punch,ring,and sustain. Also, these strings can get you that low end blast!

  • Denny
    from Pendleton Or. December 14, 2011Music Background:
    Rock/Country

    Elixir Nanoweb Med Bass strings

    Great tone and easy to play. They feel like they have finger ease on them all of the time.

Questions about the Elixir Strings 14077 Nanoweb Light/Medium, Long Scale Electric Bass Strings?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway