0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

M-Audio BX5 D2 (pair) Reviews

4.5 stars based on 23 customer reviews
  • from Indianapolis, Indiana February 25, 2014Music Background:
    Songwriter

    perfect for a home studio

    excellent monitor for the price. crisp, clear sound makes editing much easier.

  • from Albany February 5, 2014Music Background:
    A Guy who loves bass music

    The Perfect Never Fail Monitor

    These things will last you years I personally use them for all my music needs. They have never failed me before and there still looking good.

  • from United States January 1, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Musician

    Excellent for the Price

    I needed a pair of active monitors to replace a passive Alesis set. I spent many hours reading reviews and was able to demo many different brands in the local Guitar Center. I kept coming back to the BX5D2. I purchased the next gen version and for the price, they more than meet my expectations. Clean mids, crisp highs, good lows. These are dual-amplifier monitors with a separate amp for each speaker, giving a total power of 70 watts which is enough to fill a fairly large space. My studio is probably average for a home studio (12 x 14 feet)and there is more than adequate power.

    The original BX5s have been the market leader for a while and I can see why. One thing you might consider depending on your genre is how the monitors handle sub bass. There is no adjustment on the rear panel to tweak the frequency db levels. For me this is not an issue.

    One hint: the small blue power LED on the front of the cabinet has a dual function. It also delineates the sweet spot. If the blue LED is place at ear level, you should be at the best height for listening.

    I expect they will even sound better after they are broken in. I'm quite happy with them.

  • from Pelham, Al August 6, 2012Music Background:
    Church pianist, amateur at recording CD's.

    My M-Audio speakers produce marvelous sound

    I play a Yamaha Electric Piano, plugged into my Apple computer, using Logic Express. These speakers eliminated the need for a receiver plugged into speakers, they plugged right into my computer. And the sound is marvelous.

  • from Silver Spring, MD May 9, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Hobbyist Keyboard Player

    Sound Great!!!

    I needed a pair of studio monitors that would not break the bank. After much review and research I decided on a pair of M-Audio BX5 D2's. It was a good choice. They sound amazing with just enough bass without it being overwhelming, and the high end is very crisp but not over the top.

    In the end I could not be happier and of course the service I got from Mark Maxwell my service engineer and the rest of the Sweetwater team was awesome as usual.

  • from Allegan, MI March 9, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Budding Producer

    Great Sound, Price, Quality

    I have been mixing with headphones and the built-in speakers on my MacBook for too long. I had very little clue as to what to get for home studio monitors. A five-minute conversation with my Sweetwater rep, Ben, and I was convinced the BX5 D2's were the way to go. He was right on the money. For my budget, these sound so good. The bass is boomin', the highs are crisp, and the mid are right where they need to be.

    I'm running Logic and ProTools on a MacBook Pro through an MBox2. If this is the type of set-up you have, make sure to get the proper cord to connect with (TRS to XLR). Very simple to use; just plug and play (literally).

    In short, I'm very happy with these great monitors.

  • from Puerto Rico February 28, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great sound ...

    A looking sometime to improve the sound. ... Here a found a great sound in a small size .. I recommend this product

  • from Columbia, MO January 5, 2012Music Background:
    Home enthusiast

    great definition

    These sound great and are more than adequate for my needs. Actually for me these may work better than BX5s since I can get better mixes when I'm not mixing at obscene volume levels. the best thing about these is the crisp high definition and the big but tight bass.

  • from Denver, Pennsylvania December 15, 2011Music Background:
    Lecturing, teaching ...not really musical

    Great sound quality..even plenty of bass in a gym with echoes.

    Using these for speech (lectures, etc.) trying to bring clarity to the echoes and mushiness we have always had. In a multi-purpose gymnasium (church praise & worship services) there seemed to be no solution to this gigantic echo chamber. Well, these BX5D2's really filled a niche. Mounted them both with a ball and socket support on trhe bottom on top of an Ultimate speaker stand. They can be aimed up to 60 degrees apart and still completely fill the field with clean, accurate sound. We put this "speaker tree" right near the person speaking (using a head mic), but slightly above his head, with speakers aimed downward toward the audience. Wow...no echoes, and very clean crisp speech!! Had to even reduce the bass with EQ and boost the high band. The further the person speaking gets from the "speaker tree", the more the sound starts to get mushy. (This is just the opposite of your usual instinct.) There are numerous such situations...where a gym is used for worship services, and apparently nobody has really solved the echo problem. This does it and rather inexpensively. You just need a self-contained small mixer and these active monitors on a stand for every sound source in the gym.

  • from Iowa City, IA May 5, 2014Music Background:
    Part time sound engineer, hobbyist bedroom producer.

    Great Value. Easy to use. Nice compact package

    As far as features, these are pretty self explanatory.

    As far as sound, these definitely meet my expectations and requirements.

    I was looking for an entry level powered studio monitor at a decent price point.

    The first thing I did was listen to songs/tracks that I felt I knew inside and out. I generally dj and play on club systems or monitor with dj headphones. With that said, I generally listen to music with a lot of volume, and color on the low end. These speakers seem incredibly transparent. There is wonderful clarity through all frequency ranges with plenty of power for low end heavy mixes.

    I'm using these in a home studio, so I rarely have to push them, which I think is a compliment because I can hear everything in the mix even at low volumes.

  • from United States August 5, 2013

    Great Sound

    These sound better than the old bxa's I had. I didn't expect them to sound that much different but there was a considerable difference. They look awesome too. Those blue lights are cool for getting your head in the right position. These are amazing for the price. boom.

  • from Grantsburg, WI June 14, 2013Music Background:
    Student, Amateur Recorder

    Great Monitors for any application.

    I bought these monitors for my home studio and I was positively blown away. The sound quality is great. They're incredibly loud. They're VERY accurate. Flat as a pancake. My only complaint would be the "isolation pads" that came with the monitors. I was expecting something like the Auralex Mopads, but what I got were two paper-thin pieces of cheap foam. Good isolation pads are well worth the extra cost, it's a pity they weren't bundled with these monitors, though.

  • from Dallas, Texas May 13, 2013Music Background:
    Singer-Songwriter, mix engineer.

    Amazing!

    Honestly way better speakers than I thought. They have pretty good low end for monitors these size. Don't be fooled by the price!

  • from Los Angeles, CA March 26, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Great Speakers

    These are a great pair of speakers at a very good price! Good clarity and packs a lot of power within a small package!

  • from Farmington, MN 55024 December 13, 2012Music Background:
    Studio Owner/muscian.

    Keyboard monitors in livingroom

    These have an incredibly big sound for such a small monitor. Perfect for the livingroom studio where the keyboard is used. Highly recommend especially if you are on a tight budget...doubt you will find a better pair any cheaper. Can really hear the full spectrum of the keyboard sounds on these. Would say they are comparable to my Rokit 8's if not even more accurate.

    Thanks Sweetwater!!!

    Russell Young
    The Ark Studio
    Farmington MN

  • from October 5, 2012Music Background:
    Music Producer, DJ, Student

    Great performance

    This M-Audio monitors are just awesome. They're perfect for their size plus the sound quality is really good. Great acquisition for a home studio. Really recommend them.

  • from Lancaster, PA September 28, 2012Music Background:
    Teaching, public speaking

    Very high quality for the bucks

    These are just the right size and very high quality for mounting as a speaker cluster on a tripod, aiming downward. Using 2 of them for smaller groups or 4 of them, in the center of a gymnasium to cover the whole area very nicely, without the echoes one usually gets in a gym. Originally had doubts that there would be enough bass from the 5" woofers. But on most occasions, we end up turning the base down on the mixer's EQ. 4 of these weigh about 50 lbs, with the TS-100 hydraulic assist tripod, they are perfect. We use them for very high quality music reproduction as well. With Beta 87A microphones, Mackie VLZ3 mixer, and dbx 166sx compressor, These babies "lock on" to anything within 2 feet of the microphone...excellent sound. (even in the gym.)

  • from Indianapolis, IN USA August 7, 2012

    Recommended!

    Great sounding and they reveal a lot detail for their size!

  • from Jamaica, New York USA June 4, 2013Music Background:
    Remixer/Dj

    Great sound for the buck!

    Purchased the pair because i was getting tired of over sized Speakers taking over my mix area. So far the quality and sound is crisp and clear, no need to run an Eq with them at all as a Subwoofer would be a better route. One issue i came across with these monitors so far is how hot the back panel can get from playing them. it can burn you! so just keep them in a well ventilated area and not too close to a wall or obstacle that will restrict the airflow from the rear port.

  • from United States January 27, 2012Music Background:
    Voiceover Talent/Producer and Guitarist

    Great Value

    I'm a voice over talent and was looking for an inexpensive set of home studio speakers and for the price point, these are some of the nicest speakers I've heard. Very clean clear sound with a nice range. I'm also a guitar player and do some recording, and again, these are nice speakers.

    If you're looking to get a good sound but can't spend a ton of money, I'd recommend these.

    Paul Hernandez

  • from Seatle, WA USA October 9, 2013Music Background:
    Student

    10-month use

    These set of monitors are quite good entry-level speakers for the aspiring music producer who hates painted speakers as much as I do. Also a good alternative if you need temporary replacement, but I would recommend more expensive monitors if you have the buck. I have been using them for 10 months now and they still perform sweet and as good as they were when I unboxed them and connected them for the first time. Durable and steady, it's worth the purchase if you can afford them.

  • from PA December 15, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist - Prosumer

    Good Bang For The Buck

    Obviously, there are better monitors out there. That is a given. I picked these up for lighter recording and reference duties on the bedroom tower rig. They will double as everyday computer speakers.

    The Good: Price. Hard to argue that! Build quality is more than adequate. Just enough connections. Plenty of power. Sound quality is well above its price point to my ears. To me, that is what counts the most. They are a vast improvement over the older BX models and slightly better (in some ways) than the CX models. Most notably, the overly hyped and underpowered lows of the older BXs have been addressed. I do not need subs with these but may experiment down the road.

    The Bad: Nothing really, except maybe a very slight touch of "in your faceness" in the highs. To be fair, I attribute that more to the room than to the monitors. There are a ton of features I WISH it had. But for the price and overall sound quality, these perform above and beyond reasonable expectations.

    A huge thanks to Ryan Murray. His product knowledge is fantastic.

  • from Illinois December 11, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Recording/Live Sound Engineer

    Decent Entry Level

    For the price range, there's not much you can look at really - you get what you pay for. I've owned these for a couple of years. So, I'll quickly give the pro/con shortlist:

    Pro: Decent dynamics and spatial 'clarity'.
    Cons: Harsh high end and sterile mid range.

    I find myself getting fatigued listening to them, even at lower volumes. I'd recommend people save to get something more warm and neutral sounding.

Questions about the M-Audio BX5 D2 (pair)?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway