0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale! Ends Tomorrow

Boss BR-1600CD Reviews

4.5 stars based on 14 customer reviews
  • from Franklin, NC USA May 1, 2012Music Background:
    Songwriter, Recording Artist, Music Publisher

    Recording By Myself

    I first thought I couldn't use this with my KORG Trition Studio Workstation because the BR-1600 CD had been updated since I had last purchased one from you, but I found that I indeed could, with the use of two guitar cables instead of two MIDI cables, so now, again, without much time lapse since my first BR-1600 CD, I am recording again. This saves me from paying for studio time, and I can call all the shots! Thank you for being the way you are! I'm spreading the word around!

  • from Taylorville, Il. April 23, 2012Music Background:
    Blues and Rock Musician

    Best of the portable studios

    This is the second BR-1600 CD I have owned. Both are spectacular as
    far as features and quality go but the most recent version with expanded looper function, vocal resources and double the recording capacity make this unit a must have for musicians writing their own material and backing tracks. I love it!!!

  • from Franklin, NC April 16, 2012Music Background:
    Singer, Songwriter, Recording Artist, Publisher

    Recording By Myself

    I got one of these about 7 years ago, and it served me well until I wore it out. I just ordered another one shortly before my birthday, and it greatly matches the other one. At first I thought since there had been a little change with the product that it wouldn't work with my keyboard because it doesn't have MTC, but my doubt was put to rest, and I could continue recording at home. Many thanks to everyone at Sweetwater!!!

  • from SF East Bay Area, California September 3, 2011Music Background:
    Guitar player for about 40 years now...

    Boss BR1600

    I upgraded from a Boss BR-8 to a BR1600 about a year ago. In the past I have used my computer and several different software packages to record but seemed to always be trying to figure out how to make something work, too much time on the computer and too little time to play my guitar. With the BR1600 (and the BR-8 ) it is so easy and fast, the first time I turned it on, I stayed with it l all day and when I turned it off, I already had one of my songs recorded, mixed, and burned to CD. One more thing, I had concerns about the CD burner as I was using a tascam professional burner. The CD burn Quality on the BR1600 sounds every bit as good when compared with a CD burn from my professional unit. All that said, I give this unit the highest rating!

  • from Jasper, GA USA September 18, 2008Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Musician, Songwriter, Hobbyist.

    Awesome Mucho Bang For The Buck

    I've had various other digital recorders(Roland,Zoom and Fostex) and this unit just totally blows them all away so far!! Really simple to operate!! You should also check out the Boss BR-1600 DVD Owners Manual to help you get the most out of this awesome machine!!

  • from waterbury Ct January 23, 2008Music Background:
    recording Engineer

    On the go recorder

    I have a Roland V.S 2400, I record with and master my projects on protools on my Mac.I picked up a br1600just for something on the go{mobile}.Wow !!You dont need to carry an amp,no need for any out board gear.All in one self contained boss perfection! Recordings sound great!!Dont forget your guitar and a mic!

  • from Louisville KY June 12, 2007Music Background:
    performing musician

    Monster workstation!!!

    When I finally had an opportunity to purchase a workstation for my modest home studio Mike Rancourt was extremely helpful, knowledgable and honest in validating my research with all the many models and brands with workstations in the same price point.

    With the features, and the design, I settled with the Boss 1600CD. My intuition and research proved out with great results and satisfaction with my demo's, my re-mastering of old projects and now a industry quality CD that I've recently released. In fact when my CD was being mastered the studio owner asked what Pro Tools system I was using to record with!

    I would also like to mention the one and only issue I 've had with the BR100CD (I've used it heavily for the last 6 months) was with the intial setup. When I noticed a 60 cycle hum coming from my sub woofer I couldn't resolve it so I called Mike.

    Mike had me try a couple of things with no results, then turned me over to the tech dept. They had me try a couple of things also with no results. Before I knew it, I was having a 3 way conversation with the Roland tech and the Sweetwater tech working hard to solve a seemingly simple issue.

    The fix as it turns out was very elementary. It became obvious there was a ground loop issue which was easily resolved with a $2.00 purchase from Home Depot and a 3 minutes to connect a ground wire from the electrical socket to the grounding terminal of the BR1600.

    This is testimony to the fact if you are having issues of any nature with your gear- "after the sale"- you are NOT going to be left holding the bag with a negative sales experience from these guys. That's why I'm a return customer!

    I can't say enough about the quality of the BR1600CD. It's everything Boss claims it to be. Once you flatten the learning curve on this baby, it's very easy and fast to use! And of course it is only limited by your imagination.

    But don't believe me... believe your ears! I've posted my tunes on myspace webpage you can sample yourself.

  • from Orlando, FL July 12, 2012Music Background:
    Touring pro for 16 years, but that was a while back. I have been playing guitar for 40 years and singing for 54. New to recording myself, but having a blast! Very satisfying to hear my own songs recorded on CDs.

    BR-1600CD IS A STUDIO WORKHORSE

    I have a small Home Recoding Studio. Not much equipment, but all highest quality. It is centered around this Boss mixer. It is very versatile and is perfect for the solo artist looking to record demos or make CD Masters. The learning curve was pretty steep and I highly recommend buying the Instructional DVD option to make things go quicker and smoother. The instructor is very knowledgeable and explains everything step by step and in a logical format. Even with that there still capabilities I'm discovering all the time after 6 months of use. It records very true, meaning it will record exactly what you put into it pretty much un-colored. My songs are heavy in drums and percussion accents, but I don't have a "live" drummer available, so I use the built in drum features. They sound pretty good for a digital drum machine and I work hard to make them sound as good as possible. My one serious criticism are the little RCA studio monitor outputs . Please BOSS designers put in real speaker "outs" either XLR or Speaker lines. I have the a pair of Mackie MRmk5 speakers which have RCA inputs, but honestly it would be really nice to have balanced line out for speakers on the 1600. But I us a good set of cans for recording and mixing anyway, I'm just saying . . . Have had no problems with functionality since I started using it 6 months ago. With all the onboard effects, being able to bounce tracks and playback virtual tracks, makes the Boss BR1600cd the absolute best solution in this price range.

  • from Ruckersville, VA March 19, 2012Music Background:
    20 year hobby guitarist

    BR-1600CD Review

    I've had the BR 1600CD for 3+ weeks now, and I have found it to be very easy to operate. The instruction manuals are well written and divided into a basic operation (getting started) book and an advanced operations book. The sound quality is great, and it produces high quality CD's. In short, the product does exactly what it is advertised to do.

  • from Cleveland, OH March 13, 2012Music Background:
    Semi-pro/pro musician

    Nice, but...

    This unit has a lot of nice features, such as the ability to record several tracks to stereo at once, bounce tracks, etc. It also has some great mastering presets for several different types of music, and decent effects. It also auto-assigns effects based on the type of recording you select, i.e., vocal, multi-track, etc. Unlike some other manufacturers, Roland has included printed versions of their instruction manuals for this unit.
    The main problem I have with the unit is the difficulty of setting different effects for different channels. It isn't as easy as calling up a channel and selecting an effect. It is designed more for those who like to apply the effect when recording the track. Maybe a future software update will correct this.
    The other glaring omission is a standard USB port. It has a USB-B port for connection to a PC, but a standard USB port with the capability of saving to a flash drive would have been nice. If you want to save an individual song, you must use the CD writer, which supports CD-R and CR-RW disks. You can also download all your folders to your PC via the USB-B port, but it's either all or nothing at all.
    I'm still learning the unit, and will hopefully learn the tips and tricks needed to get the most out of it.

  • from santa ana ca May 19, 2010Music Background:
    hip hop artist

    great machine but beware!!!

    this is my 1st and only machine and although i love its effects and functions. there is one slight problem that im guessing all machines have and that the memory.....i guess after so many song the br 1600 becomes very vulnerable and basic functions are no longer basic. i now have whats called a fragmented machine. and the more i download the wrost it gets.....so now i must back up every song and re-boot it so to speak.......so at this moment even though i can still record i choose not to cause it will cause more problesm..... if anyone is experiencing this pleas email me cause i would love your feed back....my email is casualtee_88@yahoo.com

  • from bright indiana October 5, 2009Music Background:
    drums/keys/sound engineer

    Br1600 okay to start out

    This is great for those learning how to record.But if your serious about stepping up then you need to go right into computer recording .So much FASTER/more HARD DRIVE space/THOUSANDS of VIRTUAL INSTRUMENTS via cds to choose from,and the sound quality of computer(24/96) verses BR1600(16/44)-BIG!! difference.Save yourself $800 but a Presonus -$199 so much better.

  • from Devon April 28, 2012Music Background:
    Music lover

    I have had a HDD Read Error on my BOSS BR-1600

    I bought a BOSS BR-1600 Digital Recording Studio in December 2009. I had intermittent problems with the Hard Disk. Then earlier this year I got the message “HDD Full”. So I tried Optimising and deleting unwanted songs. The result was the dreaded “HDD Read Error!”. I lost more than 2 years of work. The unit was still under guarantee and Roland replaced the Hard Drive. I had backed up most of my recording on to CD but I was unable to recover all of that. Roland has since offered to try to help recover the lost recordings from the CDs. My own opinion is that if I had known I was going to have this problem, I wouldnt have bought the unit.

  • from Raleigh, NC USA December 1, 2004

    Great values and features - USB a little limited

    QUALITY:

    Built like a tank - okay just don't drop it and you should be fine.


    FEATURES:

    Features are great - best platform there is for mobile recording of live audio events. Can't beat 1/4 inch jack/8 XLRs with phantom power all inputs with compresion EQ on every input! USB function is limited (one mono/stereo track at a time), but can be overcome by using WAV-MAKER-1600 software utility which is now available. Bass and drum machines are a definite plus. COSM amp models means you can build a whole gig around this thing and play live without a backing band or extra effects.


    EASE OF USE:

    Very easy to use. Recording 1, 2, or 8 tracks couldn't be easier to setup is very easy and intuitive.


    VALUE:

    The price is about right - not as expensive as the VS2000 but with a majority of the important features for recording live bands. You can mix and master and produce a CD all on the unit, although I personally use Cakewalk SONAR for that functionality after getting the WAV files off the BR-1600CD


    SOUND:

    Sound is great - I love the effects, they are very high quality. Pre-amps are pretty good, just keep single coiled pickups away from the unit and watch your gain settings.

Questions about the Boss BR-1600CD?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway