0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart

TC Electronic BH250 250-Watt Compact Bass Head Reviews

4.5 stars based on 23 customer reviews
Questions about the TC Electronic BH250 250-Watt Compact Bass Head?

Questions about the TC Electronic BH250 250-Watt Compact Bass Head?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Old Baltimore player April 4, 2017Music Background:
    Upright in big band/Light jazz,R&R,Blues,R&B etc

    TC Electronics BH250

    I love this little but powerful bass amp head. You can't beat the price for this little power house.
    Kurt, my engineer, gave me a couple options and I picked this one and I'm glad I did. You can't beat the Tone Print feature, don't need pedals and the on board Tuner even for 5 & 6 string bass. I can carry this in my gig bag It's not capable of a huge room by itself (big room yes) unless you mike it or go into a board. Sounds great too. I would definitely recommend this little jewel. I've had all kinds of equipment due to playing for 58 years and still rocking. This is not my only head.

  • from Pennsylvania February 12, 2017

    Excellent little bass head

    My original BH250 was destroyed in a house fire and was maybe at the most 3 months old. The output of this little thing is incredible and I'm also a fan of the TonePrint effects. Would highly recommend it.

  • from florida January 9, 2017Music Background:
    worship musician ...

    Great Product , Great Service like always

    small , compact , good value , enough watts to do almost any gig with pa support ... i bought it and im currently using it with either 1 x12 bass cab or sometimes ibused 2 ... either way u will be satisfied , u will get a tight sound with 1 cab , and when 2 are plugged in u get crazy loud !!! like i said either way , with 1 cab for tightness or 2 for loudness u cant go wrong ... the eq section is great and tone print is a plus !!! tunner , aux input and headphone capabilities for practice ... want more ??? price is really good , don't wait get it now !!!

  • from the northern hinterland of Detroit October 1, 2016Music Background:
    gigged since Moses was a teenager

    great amp easy on the back

    I needed a small head for smaller gigs, practice and woodshedding. I seen this little class D head and thought I'd give it a whirl. I own several TC electronics pedals and have loved the functionality and quality. This is no different. I paired it with a 1x15 cab modeled after the Orange 1x15 (homemade). Nice smooth low end and plenty of power for smaller gigs. This gets over the drummer nicely without having to dime it. Because the lows are clean and crisp it cuts through the mix really well.

    This little guy looks good, sounds good and you don't need a truss to carry it in.

  • from Wisconson July 14, 2016

    Best amp ever

    I play bass and keys through this for 3 days now and can't belive how clean and powerful it is. The toneprint is verry handy. Sweetwater is the best hands down.

  • from Jakarta January 3, 2016

    BH 250

    Just played my BBNE 2 with my new TC BH 250 on GK speakers. My sound guy and fellow musicians were very happy with it, it was clean no unwanted noise they said. 250 vs 400 watt and the TC 250 sounded very full and loud and overall better than GK in a room of 300 people. I am so glad I got this very portable head as my 1st purchase.

  • from Colorado May 17, 2015Music Background:
    Bass, Thrash metal

    Great Amp!

    I have had this amp for awhile as a practice amp, and after some studio work, I fell in love with the tone print feature. I gigged with this amp last night at a pretty good sized venue powering a Kustom DE410 and DE 115. I only had the vol. at about 11:00 and had plenty of power to cut through. I had used an Ampeg 400w in the past, and the TCE seems to have a better sound and just as much power. The tone print feature is great if you like to be a little stealth with your effects. I play with a distortion pedal (odb3) and paired with an octaver print, I can really get nasty. Overall, I am very satisfied with the BH250, and especially the great service from Sweetwater. Having a rep that knows his stuff that I can access anytime is great

  • from United States May 2, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar player/singer/bass player. Many music styles.

    Extremely good product

    I got this amp head because I have had good luck with TC Electronic. It sounds awesome for such a small package. I can now carry my bass head in a laptop case. I am literally thrilled to have this. Buy one if your bass head sounds lifeless. The toneprint feature can be an asset as well.

  • from new Orleans, La March 9, 2015Music Background:
    professional bass player

    Good Things come in Small packages

    I've purchased TC Electronic RH750 and the 1600 watt Blacksmith!! These two have amazing power and tone control!! I still wanted a smaller amp for quick and easy setups. So I purchased the little 250 watt! Man this little amp can really sound like a 400 watt amp, when used with the right speakers! It really had my 2-10 Ibanez Promethean sound like a 4-10 cab!!! It also ran my 2 TC RS 2-12 cabs really strong!! I play a lot of funk and smooth jazz music This little 250 watt really is the loudest 250 I've ever heard. The tones you can get are a big plus! The Tone Print I use the Spectracomp effect it adds more volume by evening you strings so the all play at the same volume! Buy this amp and you will use it a lot!!

  • from Richmond, Va December 22, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    MUCH better than I was expecting

    I watched Uriah Duffy's video tutorial before I purchased this. Needed extreme portability.
    Tones are superb and the power is pretty impressive.
    I just throw it in my gig bag and go. Excellent product and reasonable price.

  • from Tecumseh Mi July 19, 2014Music Background:
    Prais band musician

    Got to have it

    Sound and power in your pocket ...."Check it Out" for your self it is for the Bass Player. Oh and you cant beat the price.

  • from El Paso, TX May 25, 2014Music Background:
    50 Year old with a lot of experience and a ton of equipment that I have tried.

    Powerful and versatile

    I had heard of TC Electronics and this amp for a while but could not find it anywhere to try it out. Luckily I finally found the BG250 combo and liked what I heard out of a 115 speaker and knew that the BH250 would probably sound massive with either a 410 or 215 cab. Boy was I right! This amp is seriously massive sounding with a very clean tone and serious chest thump. The highs are very crystal clear and the lows are also highly articulate, no mud anywhere. I am playing this head out of a 4 ohm Gallien Krueger Neo 410 and a Crate BT215E cab loaded with Eminence Delta 15's. Iíve also tried it with a Hartke 210XL and 115XL, a Markbass Blackline 410, as well as an Eden EX410 and this little monster cuts through a band mix with ease. IMO it sounds great on all of them but sounds the best with the GK NEO 410. My guitarists play out of 2 Line 6 Bogners and one of them was ready to ditch his for a TC Electronic guitar amp, which to his disappointment does not exist. I have tried running my volume at about 12:00 but have been told to turn down because it is too loud, imagine that. This amps sound made me sell off my Acoustic B800H and buy a TC Electronic RH450 which is even more impressive and sounds just as loud as the Acoustic B800H, which is just as surprising. The RH450 is easily the best amp I have ever played out of, but if you cannot afford it like most people, the BH250 is definitely no slouch and I have no problem gigging that amp either. I am also a Markbass and Genz Benz fan as well, but have now become a full fledged TC Electronics fan. If you can try one out somewhere, do yourself a favor. Also try some Spectracomp on the toneprint. At about 9:00 it adds a more full round tone as well as more volume. I have never been a compression fan but the Spectracomp is really awesome. Classic Chorus and Tubetone are just as nice. Iíve used the Classic Chorus on an original and Tubetone for some Motorhead, Volbeat, Black Sabbath and RATM covers. Another great thing is that once you dial in your tone and or Toneprint, it does not change when increasing or decreasing the master volume. You can play a large outdoor event or small bar without having to change anything but the master volume. And for those who think they need more wattage, seriously who goes around slamming 800 watts on stage, that is what PA support is for and the DI on this thing is fabulous. I could go on and on but the best bet is for you to try it out on your own and come up with your own conclusion. Iím pretty sure you will come away with some serious amp craving.

  • from Baltimore, MD February 26, 2014

    sweet!!!!

    Love it.Small, light and powerful. Tone print is amazing. So many sounds in this little engineering marvel .Buy this amp!!

  • from Brazil September 20, 2013Music Background:
    bass player

    Lightweight, small and simple!

    For me it was a great surprise something so small and with such power. I connected the two bh250 Handmade cabinet (1x10) and (1X12) 8 ohms each. He speaks well, with drums and guitar and the power it has not been used even by 60%, we play songs like classic rock and reggae. I really enjoyed the practicality, lightweight, small and simple. I need to test more in another configurations to relate better. About TonePrints, I think they can be effectively used with the footswitch and I do not have this accessory.

  • from Traverse City Mi April 13, 2013Music Background:
    Bottom End Baron, forever evolving student of music

    BH250!!!! What are you waiting for?

    With so many companies coming out with these compact heads now, I thought best to be patient and research,research,research!! After playing through a few, reading countless reviews,and process of elimination I finally.decided on the TC Electronics BH250.What a great sound this little mofo has. And the tonePrint is absolutely awesome. Once you download the app to your iphone there are tons of different pedal effects to choose from by the hottest bassists out there who custom designed each one.these are not fake sounding cheese effects, It comes out the same as having that exact pedal dialed in the way you like it. I added the effects that were most practical to me onto my favorites list and when I pull one up it takes mere seconds to send to the head. Easily done between songs!! So many things this little devil does and does well.. Go Get One!!!!! I paired with the tce 2x12 cab . All I need for volume and killer tone!!! TC Electronics are definitely winning over my loyalty

  • from Metamora, MI January 28, 2013Music Background:
    Semi pro musician

    TC Electronics 250 amp

    This is a great amp. It has plenty of power and great tone. I am a bass player and I need some light weight gear. This is great! I looked at the GK heads also, but this amp has a built in tuner that is very handy to have and the price is about the same.
    I also play keyboards and I use it for my Roland keyboard and it sound really good.
    This amp has the Toneprint downloads. You can download tones from your smart phone right into your bass pickups and then into the amp. It is very smart. It is built very strong.
    Allot of thinking went into this amp.....

  • from December 22, 2016

    Great amp!!!!

    I needed a small, simiple, versatile grab-and-go amp with great sound for practicing and small gigs. If you have a gig bag with a big pocket, this will fit right in your gig bag. This amp fits the bill perfectly for me. The mp3 input is great for practicing, and we also pump our iPOD through it for music in our house. I throw this in my gig bag with my cables, carry my light 2x10 cab, and I'm good to go. In and out of every gig in 1 easy trip!

    The EQ section is simple and pretty idiot-proof. It's easy to dial in a great sound. The gain boost/pad switch is nice for active vs. passive pickups, and the mute switch is a good touch. I don't use the on board tuner too often (SNARK tuner or my ears usually do the trick, but it's nice to have the option. My soundman has commented on how good the amp sounds. The amp has a sturdy feel to it....more than most other amps in the micro bass amp category.

    The toneprint is a nice feature, and I have enjoyed it a LOT. For gigs, I like a little compression with some tube warmth/grit. Some of the combined toneprints do a decent job on that front. It has been fun playing around with choruses, flangers, vibrato, compressors, octavers, etc. They all seem to work pretty well.

    My only complaint, and the reason for 4.5 stars would be the lack of a separate gain control and a tube preamp. There's just a little something that a tube adds to the sound that would be nice on this amp. For value, you can't beat this little beast. It's certainly loud enough for anything I would need unless I'm playing in a stadium (which will never happen).

  • from Chicago May 17, 2016Music Background:
    Multi-instrumentalist

    Awesome little powerhouse!

    I first wanted to get one of the TC electronic combo amps when I first started doing gigs on bass guitar. I went with a Peavy instead. Now that I'm playing better venues, I needed to upgrade but I still wanted a small fingerprint. No heavy gear for me! So I chose this Bass head and it has more than lived up to my expectations. Mind you, I'm not playing stadiums, haha, but this has more than enough power to drive your rig. I've had nothing but compliments from everyone that has heard it and I haven't even used the tone print stuff yet! I'd highly recommend it!

  • from September 21, 2015

    BH-250 and 2x12 K-Cab

    I picked up the BH-250 paired w/the 2x12 KCab. Jim Watson,my sales guy, really helped w/ suggestions and of course,the Sweetwater service was on point.The BH-250 is very easy to jump into and I was beaming tone prints from the app from TC right away. In terms of sound and power,I played a gig with two guitars,drums,keyboards and two vocalists, and punched through just fine w/room for more. I suggest getting the foot pedal as it is really needed to get the most out of the tone print function. Simply put,I am very satisfied. Thanks Jim and Sweetwater!

  • from Springfield, IL USA February 20, 2014Music Background:
    49 Years of bass playing

    Compact Muscle Amp

    This amp has a powerhouse of features in a gig bag size. The ability to download effects on-line and a built-in tuner makes this amp like a Swiss Army knife of portable bass amps.

  • from Indianapolis, IN September 1, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Bassist for over 40 Years

    Good Small Amp

    For small gigs with my 2x10 Eden tilt back, it does the job.
    Compact and clean sounding.
    If you are looking for an amp for small venues, and less weight,
    Go with it.

  • from United States June 13, 2014Music Background:
    Working musician 40+ years.

    A great compact bass head.

    I've played a couple of small room gigs with this head and am very pleased with it. Plenty of power with just one 2 X 10 cab. I've also used it with two 2 X 10 cabs. I downloaded one of the "compressor" TonePrints and am very pleased with the punch this gives my Jazz Bass. I've got a lot of tweaking to do but right out of the box, this is a great compact amp.

  • from Florida September 14, 2016

    Decent Cheapo Amp

    This amp is OK for a lightweight, class D amp. The marketing materials say that this amp plays well with combinations of cabinets....but with a minimum impedance of 4 ohms, you're pretty much stuck with a single 4 ohm cabinet, or a pair of 8 ohm cabinets....sorry, you can't combine your "daily" 4 ohm 4x10 with your "something extra" 8 ohm 1x15 or 2x10. So while this bass amp is OK, you can't believe the marketing. It's a one trick pony, nothing more. Don't pretend this is a flexible amp. It's not. You plug in to a bargain basement cab and it makes you loud.

Questions about the TC Electronic BH250 250-Watt Compact Bass Head?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway