0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

TC Electronic BG250 1x15" 250 Watt Bass Combo Reviews

4.5 stars based on 20 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Adam Chesi

    The TC Electronic BG250 is a great amp. Carrying it to practice and getting it in and out of gigs is easy - and I still have enough power to fill a small club without additional PA. It gives me all the low end I need without the dirty boom that can often appear with lower end.

  • from March 28, 2015

    BG250 15"

    The amp has plenty of power. High EQ does nothing. The toneprint is found wanting in my case. All i wanted was a nice chorus on one channel and straight compression on the other. I can't get anywhere near the tone on the samples.

  • from Newport News, VA USA September 18, 2013Music Background:
    Bass Player for Church Band

    Bells and Whistles on Demand

    To really see what this bass is capable of, watch the Youtube clips. A smart phone will open the door to whatever effect you could imagine. Just upload the app through your app store on your phone, follow the directions, and you got a great effect for your gig. Personally, I love the "Slap and Comp". I've never had compression before, so it was sick what it did to my slap tone. The only issue you may have is that once you lock that effect in through the Toneprint before you start your gig, you have to stick with it. There are multiple chorus, flange, delays...the only thing is-like I said-you can only lock in one effect. If you get a break in the middle of your gig, you're cool-just have a couple favorites locked into your phone, and switch up to the other effect while the band is in between sets.

  • from Atlanta, GA USA September 2, 2013Music Background:
    Bassist

    That's what I was looking for!

    Lightweight, powerful, tuner, effects and pleasant sounding

  • from Missouri, USA August 8, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Sweet little amp!

    Amazing lightweight package with a big sound. It took a little tinkering to dial in the tone, but then it was there! Works pretty well for keyboards, too. I rarely use effects with bass, but the Tone Print app worked great from my iPhone, and the downloaded SpectraComp compressor improved the sustain and overall sound quite a bit. I don't think I'll be carrying any big rigs anymore. This will do the job almost anywhere, and if not, I'll use the XLR out to the house system.

  • from Dallas, Texas July 25, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Old Blue's Man

    I have been around awhile. Been gigging since 1969. Did drums for 15 years, have done bass for twenty, I do lead when we need a backup during emergencies. Ima young old man and am not lugging around a truck full of equipment. I have made my decision to buy this BFBG 250. It is hard for a lowend man to cut through the crash cymbals and Strats. I about went deaf from a beefed up Tele during one of my many group sessions and gigs. This 15 is said to hold its clarity and punch at high volume. If I go to Austin, I will showcase it on television. I never was bashful, I will let you all know it goes.

  • from Kansas July 24, 2013Music Background:
    Musician/Educator

    Love the BG250

    This amp does everything as promised. I gig with several types of bands. The tones that I need for Jazz Combo, Big Band, Classic Rock, Country, Blues, et al. are all there. TonePrint is way cool and the post EQ direct out supplies the sound I want to the PA. The footswitch is a must for live applications.

  • from Monterey, CA May 13, 2013Music Background:
    musician of 40 years experience

    The TC Electronics BG250

    The amp was a bit larger than I expected. That said, I really appreciate that it is only 35 lbs. and packs a solid punch with 250 watts. The lows are pure nd beautiful. Tube drive and effects work as advertised. This amp is perfect for regular c lub work and can be put into larger sound system through the xlr input. I'm very satisfied with all its aspects

  • from Lexington, MA April 26, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Amp

    This is my first "real" amp; I graduated from a 15-watt Fender practice amp, so I am not knowledgeable about all the different brands. With that caveat, I will say that this amp is outstanding. It has tremendous power, but more important, it sounds great at all volumes, even on setting 2 or 3. Great low-end depth, and nicely balanced mid-range. It seems well constructed, and is amazingly light considering its powerful The "tube drive" is not noticeable at low volumes, but adds nice warmth at higher volumes. This amp is more than I will ever need.

  • from Churubusco, IN April 21, 2013

    BG250 is Top Notch

    I don't know how TC did this. This combo just works and works very well. I picked this up on Saturday and worked a gig with it on Sunday afternoon. Plenty of volume but it is not a loud group. The BG250 handled everything well including quite a few low D's and Eb's and just sounded great. I did use some tube emulation but didn't use the Tone Print at all. I'm not a effects guy so I may never use the Tone Print but will use all the great warm, big, round sounds from this 34 lb. amp. I can only say that you will not be disappointed in this amp. It maybe won't fill a huge venue but for the gigs most of us do week after week this will cover what you need.

  • from Atlanta, GA USA March 28, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Fantastic

    Love this versatile amp. I was told that the GK MB112 in the same price range has slightly better tone, but this amp sounds great and has more feature sets. So far, I have only used this in a practice setting with two other guitarists and a drummer. This amp can take over the room if you want it. So volume is not an issue. You can dial in so many different tones with the smart EQ set up, plus the Tubedrive and Gain controls. The TonePrint is fun to use as well. You can only use one effect at a time, so in a live setting, you'll most likely just pick your favorite chorus effect and then run anything else with external pedals or racks. It's unrealistic to think you'll be downloading effects from your iPhone between every song during a set. However, that being said, I'm now a big fan of the TC Electronic Toneprint technology. I just ordered the TC Flashback pedal and hope to add more in the future.

  • from Arlington, TX February 23, 2013Music Background:
    Semi Pro

    great amp for the money

    I was looking for a lighter amp to use for small gigs and jams. Looking around I found the BG250. Based on the positive reviews I decided to give the amp a chance. From the start TC is quality. Just opening the box I was impressed with the packaging.

    Once out it was time to plugin and play. You can dial in a wide array of tones right off without using the toneprint. Around the house a master volume of 3 was doing a good job of shaking things.

    Loading toneprint options is easy via a smartphone or pc. The spectracomp works great. There are many other options but I normally use my pedal board for that.

    First gig out was a musical in a 700+ auditorium. Playing at a master setting around 5 filled the room. I was able to dial in a nice thump, upright tone and was complemented on the bass sound several times.

    The amp is light, Easy to carry with one hand. In a pinch I can grab everything in one trip to load in.

    As with all mu orders Sweetwater did a great job in taking care of me.

  • from Illinois February 21, 2013Music Background:
    Session Musician

    Oustanding!

    I use this for smaller acoustic jobs, and It's more than enough. It's really light, portable, and it sounds great.
    I have also successfully used this in a 3 piece rock setting, with a guitarist and a reasonable drummer.
    I also purchased the Gator GPA-715 Rolling Speaker bag, and it works perfectly to carry the amp to gigs.
    It has a DI built in for doing PA supported jobs, so it really does what I need it to do. I don't use the TonePrint
    functionality, but having a built in effect you can load from your iPhone is pretty cool.

  • from February 11, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound, Student

    Considering the BG250?

    I absolutely love it. It's mighty loud even at a low level. Tubedrive is great, TonePrint is flawless (which, by the way, only works with TonePrints specifically for the BG250). The tone contour takes a little bit of getting used to, but now that I've got it, it's incredibly helpful. Very light, very solid. No compressor, but TonePrints are available for that.

    I highly recommend it if you've got $400 and you need a good loud amp.

  • from February 5, 2013

    Don Czaplicki

    Amazing little amp. Worth every penny.

  • from United States January 31, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    TC Electronic BG250 is great!

    Only 34 pounds, sounds really great, plenty loud at rehearsal and gigs, built in tuner. Only con is no cover available to protect it, so I transport it in the box for now. My huge old bass rig is for sale.

  • from Voorhees, NJ December 7, 2012Music Background:
    Recording/ Performing hobbyist. 50+ years of experience

    Powerful, compact, lightweight

    Extremely lightweight compared to other units for the same power output at this price point. Solid sound from top to bottom. No farts at the low end like some of the other major manufacturers. Take advantage of all the videos on how to use this unit. Once you understand how to use them you will find that the controls are far more than just tone and volume. TonePrint works flawlessly, Tube drive delivers. Recently used this amp at a 150 seat venue, gain at 6, volume at 6, bass guitar set at 4, and had more room to go. This unit delivers on all levels. I no longer have to drag 90 pound amp around to get the sound I want.

  • from Nashville, TN October 16, 2012

    One of the best sounding amps Iíve ever played!

    I wanted something that would sound acceptable, was light and had enough power to play a decent size venue. I had played through a BG250 at gear fest and liked it. After recently buying one and playing a few gigs, I love it. It is one of the best sounding and most versatile amps Iíve ever owned and Iíve owned more than a few.

  • from September 6, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    GREAT BASS AMP

    I love this amp. I read about it in Bass Player magazine and it is everything they said it is. I sounds great and I can't believe how light it is.

  • from Richmond va August 5, 2012Music Background:
    25yrs guitar,new bassist

    TC Electonic BG250

    bought this amp it is super for the price,build quality is excellant,only thing I don"t like is the tuner super sentivate to me

  • from Copenhagen June 1, 2012Music Background:
    Student

    A Very Nice Combo With A Great Tone

    I'm kind a blown away by this amp !
    I played on it with a musicman in my local store.
    It has a very nice warm tone without gettin' dull and i could play any kind of style of music.
    The tone controls is very effektive and it did what i wanted it to do.
    I lifted it and was suprised over how light it.
    This is going in my rehearsel room

Questions about the TC Electronic BG250 1x15" 250 Watt Bass Combo?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway