0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Boss BD-2 Blues Driver Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 27 customer reviews
Questions about the Boss BD-2 Blues Driver Pedal?

Questions about the Boss BD-2 Blues Driver Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Lawrence Mass March 16, 2017Music Background:
    Church Musician

    Favorite pedal

    The Boss BD-2 is a great pedal, I can't complain. It is everything I need for what I play.

  • from Provo, UT September 1, 2016Music Background:
    Guitarist

    I love it! but you...?

    I love this pedal, but it's "specialized". It's not for everyone. I play a lot of blues based rock and love classic rock from the late 60's, and throughout the 70's. I also play mostly Fender Stratocasters. As I've played around with this pedal; I have learned that it is excellent for single coil pickups, but not so great on humbuckers. Now, it can be played on a humbucker just fine, but feels like it's really made for single coil pickups. I love it with the level at about 11 o'clock and the Gain at about 2 o'clock on my middle and neck pickup; then I dial down the volume on my guitar to about 7 and get a full body bluesy grit I just love to use on lead. Kind of a Kenny Wayne Shepherd sound that make choirs of blues angles come down from heaven and harmoniously echo praises from the blues gods. Now if your looking for a heavy distortion, I would stick with the DS-1 or other Boss pedals. But if you want to muddy it up a bit and get just the right blues bite, the BD-2 is for you. Of course, your guitar and amp will be different. If you're new to boutique pedals, you need to know that it can take a while and you'll really have to play around to find "that sound" but once again if you want to play the blues... This IS a must have!

  • from North Carolina, USA May 30, 2016Music Background:
    guitar player since 1987

    one of my favorite BOSS pedals

    If you could pick only ONE overdrive pedal for your pedalboard, this would be it! Okay, if you need super-tight metal precision, this is NOT the pedal for you... this is loose, dirty and abit raunchy(if you want it that way ;0p). I have used it thru an already crunchy tube amp to approximate Electric Wizard's fuzzed out doom epic "Dunwich", but one can certainly dial it back and do some Clapton 'Slow Hand' licks as well. Now that's versatility! It responds to volume knob roll-back and picking changes, AND it doesn't squash the inherent tone of your guitar - a Strat still sounds like a Strat, etc. As always, the bullet-proof BOSS durability is there in spades, so you won't have to worry about the rigors of touring affecting this sweet(naughty) box of WIN. Who needs to pay $200+ for overdrive bliss? BOSS has got your back!

  • from Ann Arbor March 28, 2016Music Background:
    Open mic nights around Ann Arbor

    True blues

    If you only have one pedal this would be it it's a true overdrive pedal scaled-back it gets real bluesy sweet sounds. Built like all boss pedals like a tank versatile tweak it to your own sound distortion to thick bluesy sounds people will ask you how do you get that sound all from one little pedal

  • from San Diego March 16, 2016Music Background:
    20 plus years experience, mostly blues and metal.

    Great little box

    This is a great pedal when played with my strat with single coils, not so much with my double hum bucker USA Jackson SL2. When played through a Mesa F2 50 watt it sounds just as it does in the demo so if you like that sound and have a similar set as I have mentioned you will not be disappointed.

  • from Ann Arbor Michigan February 16, 2016Music Background:
    Open mic nights at tap room Ypsilanti

    Thick blues

    I run mine through an old USA bandit, tweak it, small variations make big differences. Boss doesn't disappoint, it will push you out front when you want to be. Great pedal but you have to tweak it, and you'll find bluesy sound you want! Thanks for listening

  • from West Henrietta,NY January 5, 2016Music Background:
    Blues Band.

    Outstanding

    I had a Blues driver before which I bought from another company for years and it finally died, so since I've been happy with Sweetwater, I wanted to buy another one..

    Thank you Sweetwater

  • from Duvall, WA May 6, 2015

    Shaping guitar tone since day one

    I love this pedal so much! I wasn't happy with my guitar tone until I snagged up this pedal, and let me tell you it makes a huge difference in my tone. So much that I leave it on all the time. I just use it as a boost, but my guitar has become alive paired with the soul food, my guitar tone is unstoppable.

  • from Lakeview,Ohio July 4, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Hobbyist - 45 plus years

    My favorite pedal!

    This is my favorite pedal in my pedal board. You really can get just about any tone you want out of this pedal. The bite,the overdrive, just the killer sound you can get from this! Just love it. Also - love the service from Sweetwater!!!

  • from New City, NY January 10, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Favorite dirty pedal of all time.

    The Blues Driver has THE SOUND I want. It's dirty, but doesn't have that overly compressed mid heavy overdrive sound I hear on almost every other overdrive pedal. The BD-2 is unique. It's open, it's airy, it's jangly, and it serves a nice range of function. I currently use it in two ways, and I might need to pick up a second one so I can run them both together. Something I use it with Gain at 0 (or real close to 0) just as a boost. It makes my clean tone pop just a little bit more. It gets chimey-er, just better overall. Another use is my favorite gain sound (used with a valve amps clean channel of your choice). Gain around noon, give or take a bit. Just a wonderfully versatile gain pedal.

  • from Jacksonville NC August 18, 2011Music Background:
    Experienced drummer 10+ years, guitarist 6+ years on top.

    Boss BD-2

    I am quite fond of this little decive as it pairs very well with my Marshall Class 5. I can get a very decent range of tones and I want to say that even though I am not a pedal person by any means, this one will be staying with me until it dies....then I'll get another one if they are still around! Excellent peice of equipment,

  • from Tazewell,TN March 8, 2011Music Background:
    21 Year Musician

    IF I COULD ONLY BUY 1 PEDAL, THIS IS IT !!!!!!

    I love this pedal! The BD-2 when dialed in 50% on the gain will sound clean when picked softly. Pick a little harded sounds like a tube amp starting to break-up. Pick even harder and you got the sweetest Tube sounding Bluesy distortion ever. Thats the best thing about this pedal you can control the Gain with your guitar pick. If you want to beef up your solos without completely changing your knobs, purchase a Boss SO-1 and place in the chain behind this BluesDriver and it will create an awesome one two punch for rhythm and leads.

  • from Ohio April 12, 2017

    Best boss distortion pedal

    This is a great grab and go pedal. It does fine all by itself and drives an already broke up signal with some extra pep. I compared it to my vox ac10c1 and found its almost an amp in a pedal. You can crank the gain all the way on the pedal then roll off the volume knob on your guitar and get a nice clean signal. I didnt give it a full 5 stars because i even tho i like the distortion, it wasnt as good as the bd-2 i owned years ago.

  • from January 12, 2016

    Great

    This is a great pedal, if what you're looking for is anything from a simple boost to semi-heavy distortion. It's gives your sound, from what I hear, just a real nice creamy crunch. Simple to use, and sturdy.

  • from Hayward , WI March 14, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Blues Driver BD - 2

    I really like the way it sounds . It is like having a tune amp , and it makes the blues come alive.

  • from NE IN September 27, 2012

    Break the tube habit

    I have moving away from tubes for a long time and this pedal is one of the key ingredients to break the tube habit. I run this into a Peavey Stereo Chorus 400. This box provides the perfect overdriven sound for my needs. It breaks up naturally, cleans up well when you back your volume down and turns into a monster with an OD and/or another distortion (I use an MXR Distortion + BYOC clone) in front of it.

    Do tube amps sound good - absolutely, are they a necessity - absolutely not. This is one pedal that proves that. By the way there's a lot of people selling mods out there for the BD-2. My suggestion - keep this pedal stock (I've tried some of the mods), it sounds great right out of the box.

  • from Arkansas May 28, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbist

    Great Blues Paddle

    It's a great Blues paddle whether your playing in your garage, on the couch or on the stage.

  • from Rural Colorado, USA January 20, 2012Music Background:
    Performing musician

    Everything It's Advertised To Be

    Sounds like a tube amp, through a tube amp or even straight into a P/A. Balances clean or dirty leads with your rhythm chords, balances single coils with Humbuckers without changing amp settings, and can take the place of a tube amp, with the gain up.

    Can be a bit noisy at high gain, but the Boss NS-2 is a perfect companion. Very responsive to attack and guitar volume/tone, and the one-band EQ (tone knob) is remarkably effective at taming a Tele or brightening up a Les Paul, without having to EQ your amp on the fly.

  • from Grand Rapids, MI February 7, 2010Music Background:
    Worship leader, acoustic/electric player, song writer

    Great pedal, great price

    Great pedal for low to medium gain lead work and chords. I run a EH soul preacher in front to push a bit and sounds great. Will be adding a Proco Rat as a over the top tone that I'm needing. You would regret it!

  • from Texas July 18, 2007Music Background:
    Student

    Blues Driver

    The Boss Blues Driver was exactly the pedal I was looking for. After using the OD-3 for so long, I was ready for a change in tone. The Blues Driver provided what I needed. Smooth changes between clean and overdrive effects in the strum changes is impeccable. Definitely a must-have for anyone who enjoys playing both lead and rhythm guitar.

  • from Independence MO June 14, 2007Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome Pedal!!

    Great sounding pedal! The BD-2 give me that extra punch when I need it. Sounds great running thru my 63 Tremolux. Great value for a great Pedal!

  • from Nampa ID January 8, 2012Music Background:
    Pro

    Boss BD2

    Good quality construction, adds warmth on low gain, good crunch but still smooth on high. Loses a little bass on the low end when engaged. Tone control has little range. Overall good tube type sound.

  • from New Fairfield, CT USA May 2, 2008Music Background:
    More than 40 years as a pro Rock guitarist

    Old Guy, Old Guy Sound

    I keep an electric guitar at friends homes in different states in U.S. No matter what I ply through, the BD-2 gets me a great lead sound. It's not fuzz, it's nice overdrive. I only play Gibson guitars and I'm very happy with the sound at every JAM session that I play.

  • from Buffalo, NY October 29, 2006Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Boss BD-2 Blues Driver

    The BD-2’s is a smooth sounding overdrive (OD) that is capable of producing a wide range of OD effects that go from extremely subtle to quite hard. This pedal preserves the subtle nuances and dynamics of your playing technique and cleans up well in response to ramping down your guitar’s volume knob. Also, though I described the sound as smooth, it is an “edgier” variety of smooth than most other OD’s on the market, including the Ibanez Tubescreamer or the Boss SD-1…think more Albert King as opposed to B.B. King or Clapton’s Bluesbreakers tone as opposed to SRV’s tone. It features a trebly sound that is less focused in the midrange frequencies and has a a wider dynamic range than the classic Tube Screamer circuit. I find that I have to keep the BD-2’s tone knob at or below the 10 o’clock position to equalize treble between the effected vs. the unaffected tone; whereas, with most other OD/Distortion units, I generally set the tone between 11 o’clock and 1 o’clock for an equalized tone.

    All Boss pedals feature an extremely effective buffered bypass noiseless FET switching system that preserves the signal strength of your bypassed signal, even when using long cables and chaining multiple effects together. This bypass does brighten up your tone a bit even when the effect is off; however, I do not find this objectionable. I like this livelier sound and, if need be, can always compensate for this variance by adjusting my amps treble down and/or bass up. However, if you are a real tone connoisseur who insists on completely transparent bypassed tone, then this effect may not be for you and you may wish to opt for something with a true bypass switching system. Of course, with true bypass, you may have to watch your cable length, limit the number of effects in your chain, or employ an active signal boosting device, such as an active volume pedal, MXR microamp, or Pedal EQ with adjustable level, elsewhere in your chain.

  • from Conway, SC USA October 13, 2006Music Background:
    Student / Hobbyist

    Quality Pedal

    I spent a couple hours in my local guitar store looking for the best overdrive i could find. I was willing to spend about $150 and tried several that were that price, but the Boss Blues Driver was by far the easiet and best sounding for my setup.A very good deal for what you get.

  • from Napoleon, OH November 24, 2010Music Background:
    Musician

    My First Boss Pedal

    When I first plugged this thing in It was at first a bit disappointing, but as I played around with the tone and gain levels I created a monster blues sound that I am very pleased with. The price is a little high, but I guess you get what you pay for. Thanks Sweetwater!

  • from November 19, 2015

    boss bd 2

    Not much there sounds a bit tinny and thin this through a silver jubilee ! i wanted something to get close to the srv tone well this aint it i have a route 66 the 1st gen and its way better than this

Questions about the Boss BD-2 Blues Driver Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway