0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Roland Blues Cube Stage 60-watt 1x12" Combo Amp - Blonde Reviews

4.5 stars based on 15 customer reviews
Questions about the Roland Blues Cube Stage 60-watt 1x12" Combo Amp - Blonde?

Questions about the Roland Blues Cube Stage 60-watt 1x12" Combo Amp - Blonde?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Lancaster, Ca. May 7, 2017Music Background:
    California

    Best amp at any price!

    I've been playing guitar for over 30 years, I'm also a sound engineer with studio and live performance experience. This Roland Blues Cube Stage 60 totally nails the tone. I've used mine for formal jazz gigs and the power control really works well, it had all the sag you expect from a tube amp and very warm sounding with a tight bottom end. I own a Rivera-era Fender Twin, a '64 Fender Deluxe Reverb and other noteworthy amps. This is the most realistic tube type tone I've ever experienced, a very versatile amp indeed! We'll worth the price, sounds great with all my electric guitars ( Strats, Les Paul,SG's, Hamer archtop etc.) I highly recommend it!

  • from Traverse City, Mi. April 20, 2017Music Background:
    52 years of making money from playing...

    Blues Cube 60

    I have used tube amps for years because of the lack of clean tone on most solid state amps...though I have owned a few Lab series amps, a few Peavey Bandits and a Jazz Chorus 120 (lbs?) a Peavey stereo Chorus 2 x 12 over the last 30 + years... They all had a certain character to them....none of them ever sounded like my Twin Reverbs or the Bassman I had in the 60's.....Until now...The Cube will be the last amp I will ever buy new...I got mine $528.00 from a different store on a blow out sale...The covering has been abused as a demo amp....But for the price I'll use it just the way it is....The only negative I see is the lack of a dedicated foot switch for it though ads say footswitch optional....what is it???...The over all tone is great ...the amp tones do not change hardly at all as you flip the power settings...the distortion side is not your heavy metal or even heavy anything ...which I like....my pedals do the rest and I need not worry all that much about the footswitch....though my gigs are not so high profile anymore so I am allowed to press buttons on my amp...I have an 87 Strat w/ maple board that has the sparkle with warmth the amp provides. Punchy. I have a 2000 SG that sounds huge warm clean or powerful grunged with the distortion on. The weight is less than my Fender Deluxe Reverb weighed by about I guess 10 lbs...I'd have to google that to be sure.....As I said before all the pedals I use ...not many...all sound good...all in all I never have to change tubes again. This amp is worth the full amount and another good feature ...this is the smallest Cube to still have the port for the tone capsules....I have tried the Eric Johnson capsule through this amp about 7 or more months ago....It was Eric Johnson...y ....but I am ordering a cheaper pedal that I know will give me a similar or better sound for a lot less money....at least better for me...

  • from SD June 21, 2016

    Great Solid State Amp!!

    My main amp has been a Mesa Lonestar Special 2X12 which I normally run with the clean channel at 15 watts and the dirty channel at 5 watts. I wanted something that could come quite close to the Mesa's tone, that would be much more portable. I've been gigging with this amp for about 3 months now and am very satisfied. It comes WAY closer to tube tone and feel than I ever expected. I've used it unmiked in small clubs, miked in large clubs and miked for a few outdoor shows. It has performed well in all cases. I especially like the extremely versatile power settings......makes it easy to match up with the venue size!! I'd buy it again!!

  • from Arkansas May 14, 2016Music Background:
    Arkansas

    Blues Cube

    my 3rd Roland..................best yet

  • from Atlanta, GA April 16, 2016Music Background:
    Stage and studio player for 35 years

    Game-Changing Tone

    I've been playing professionally for 35 years, and for most of that time, I've been an analog/tube snob. But tube amps are heavy (I'm getting old), temperamental, and expensive to maintain.

    I'd owned a JC-120, along with over two dozen Boss pedals and all kinds of Roland gear. While not always know for pleasing tone purists, I've trusted Boss/Roland stuff to be the most consistently reliable gear there is.

    So fter viewing stellar review videos, I tried the amp out. It sounds like a 1x12 Bassman! It reacts to dynamics like a tube amp, but it keeps its tone with power and volume changes better than a tube amp.

    The Tone and Boost functions on each channel are helpful when using different pickups, I just wish the boost was footswitchable.

    The clean channel is not at all like a Roland JC. It's very Fender-y, and it breaks up at higher volumes. On the lowest power setting, breakup happens at low volume, with a Champ-like sound.

    The gain channel has a a good amount of overdrive, going into Angus territory, but not metal. I disagree with reviewer who said the amp doesn't have enough gain--maybe if the signal going into the amp is too weak, or some other factor. And the dual tone function is a huge bonus; it allows more picking dynamics to come through, and lets modulation pedals shimmer with overdrive.

    Both channels share EQ, which is a minor bummer.

    At the 60 watt setting, this thing is LOUD, with a good deal of headroom. At all volumes, it plays well with all kinds of pedals--very well. Nothing farts out like on even the best tube amps.

    Overall, this is an awesome, gig-worthy amp for any style (just get a metal pedal for metal). At 35 lbs, it's a spine-saver.

  • from MA October 4, 2015Music Background:
    Playing for 40 years

    Love this amp

    I agree with all of the prior reviews. Been playing a Carr Rambler for years, which was my gold standard tube amp. I tries the Roland Blues Cube Stage and love it. Rambler is my backuP and stereo 2nd amp now. I amp also using the Eric Johnson Tube Capsule on a regular basis. Not so much on the overdrive channel but for crystal clean tones on the clean side.

    Amp sounded a bit bright to me at first but with my PRS McCarty it is perfect.

  • from United States April 25, 2015Music Background:
    Bedroom player

    This is what I was looking for and maybe you are too!

    I don't normally write reviews ( I know everyone says that but it's true) but I had to write one for this amp. I have spent a lot of money trying to get the blues tone that was in my mind. This is the amp that finally did it for me.

    I am a bedroom guitarist playing a gibson es 335 and over the last few years I have played a roland micro cube, blackstar ht1-r, fender blues jr and blackstar id core 20. I was thinking about a yamaha thr until a few reviews made me want to try this one.

    This is a plug and play amp. I keep the wattage at 15 with the bass , mid and treble at noon and it stays on the clean channel. The tones are amazing. It behaves like a true tube amp as you adjust your guitar volume. You can get great blues tone at any volume. I keep the volume around 3 and the master around 4.

    If you want to crank there is a headphone jack but I personally didn't want to have to wear one to hear good tones and this fits the bill

    If you are like me and have been frustrated trying to find a blues amp that gives you the tone you have been dreaming of, do yourself a favor and give this one a try.

    My guess is you will love it.

  • from April 24, 2015

    Great, Great Amp

    This thing is terrific. Easy to move around, gig-able, a good deal louder than a Blues Jr. if you need it, USB out if you need that, reverb and overdrive on board. You can blend the crunch and the clean channel. No effects loop, but it has high- and low-impedance inputs, so accepts pedals easily. It sounds terrific, whether or not it sounds like a tube amp.

  • from NY April 10, 2015Music Background:
    Blues, Rock, Soul, Funk

    Best non tube amp on the market

    I have been playing guitar for over 50 years and this is the best amp I have owned. It covers Blues-Rock and sounds and just like a tube amp.Light pick attack nice and clean play harder and it has an nice attack.t First night at practice the boys were fooled when I told them,. Lots of variables with the power selection, channel selection inc choices of tone & boost and the crunch channel rocks. The Dual Tone is also another cool feature combining both channels. The 60W is loud enough for me and it only weighs 31 lbs High Recommendation from me!!

  • from Portland Oregon March 15, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Back bedroom bliss!

    Got it out of the box, few minutes later, serious blues tones are now easy to find. Two channel amp that can combine the clean and crunch channel's to obtain great Sound. Boost buttons for both! Reverb sounds good, all in all this amp delivers everything in the ad copy! Variable power switch from .5 amps to 60 amps. Nice full sound at very low volumes! Perfect for my back bedroom den! Very pleased with this gear and at 30 lbs. Its easy to transport. NO more waiting for tubes to warm or cool!

  • from Lancaster, Pa. August 16, 2014Music Background:
    guitar player and midi programmer

    great service

    I bought 2 bose model 2 with the b-2 base cabinets a while back and the advice i got from Brent about how to use the bose was the best. The local Guitar center in my home town will never see me again. Sweetwater has my business from now on.

  • from Clayton, NC July 18, 2015

    Great Sounding Amp

    I had been looking for a great sounding SS amp that could be used at home as well as playing with a full band. I just could never find a SS amp that satisfied me (I always went back to my Fender '68 Custom Princeton Reverb tube amp). Until now. This is a great SS amp. It sounds fantastic, it's very dynamic, looks good, makes it easy to get a good sound, and I would not hesitate to play out with it.

    Sweetwater and my sales rep Charlie Davis are always top notch.

    If you need a footswitch for this amp, a Marshall type two-button will work in the same way as the BOSS unit. I picked up a clone of the Marshall two-button footswitch off eBay and it works perfectly.

    Again... very happy with the amp and with Sweetwater!

  • from September 2, 2016

    Bad looking tolex cover, glued on with terrible seams

    I just bought the Stage. The tolex cover is so bad, it is unbearable. Shame on Roland. Amp actually sounds really good. I immediately changed the speaker with a Celestion Green Back. Now it sounds great to my ear. It is a great amp to use at home. Output selection makes it very versatile. You won't wake up the kids while playing at night. Tone is the best when cranked up. To me it is way overpriced for the quality of the cablnet. I'd give it a three and a half stars out of five. My Vox ac30-vr beats this amp in good looks and quality of the cabinet but not on the tone. It is very close to tube tone.

  • from October 6, 2016

    Disappointed

    I was really hoping to like this amp. I've been playing tube and solid state amps all my life. This amp sounds solid state. The feel is better than most cheap solid state amps but a lot modeling amps are improving in this area. Where it lacks is in the "air" that surrounds the notes in a tube amp. Not ambience, but a sense of space or dimension around the sound. This amp sounds flat, end of story. For the money, I recommend a Blues Jr or similar style tube amp. This Roland is not worth $700 in my opinion. A good amp inspires you to play, this amp didn't do it for me. Great thing about the return policy, don't like it, send it back.

  • from January 1, 2016

    Not Even Close to Being Worth the Asking Price

    In my opinion, there is no way in the world this amp is worth the price. If - like the original Blues Cubes - this amp was less than 50% of the current price, my review would be much more favorable. That said, price is a very relevant to a review, and more specifically, whether the features warrant a high price tag. In this case, my answer is absolutely not. Being familiar with the previous generation of Blues Cube amps, and liking a few of the additional features on the newer version, I decided to take a chance and buy one of these. As expected from most any Roland amp, the clean sound is great, and there's good bottom end. That's the good news. Far as the features: the boost and tone switches available for each channel were nice additions - particularly the boost. To me, the Dual Tone feature which allows you to combine both channels was pointless; it felt like a waste of resources. The tiny bit of tonal variance available using dual tone did not add much to the amp. As for the power attenuator and drive channel, this is where the Blues Cube was most disappointing. The crunch channel wasn't very crunchy at all. And I had no unrealistic expectations for metal tones or anything. All I wanted was a good bluesy overdrive. Compared to my inexpensive and old Peavey Bandit 112, the overdrive on the Blues Cube was non-existent. While the amp has a fine clean tone, the tube tone claims are mostly hype. I like and respect Roland as a company, but this is nowhere close to being worth the asking price.

Questions about the Roland Blues Cube Stage 60-watt 1x12" Combo Amp - Blonde?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway