0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Electro-Harmonix B9 Organ Machine Reviews

4.5 stars based on 45 customer reviews
Questions about the Electro-Harmonix B9 Organ Machine?

Questions about the Electro-Harmonix B9 Organ Machine?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from July 28, 2016Music Background:
    50 years of picking.

    Excelent tool.

    What a neat addition to a 4 piece combo. Some tunes require some organ and this B9 delivers without schlepping a M3 or Lesie. Attached YouTube is most accurate and does all it says it will.
    Took a week of steady self study to deliver the Hammond sound but guitar players will be required to learn to play a bit differently. Absolutely NO power chords.

    I like the variable mix with guitar over or under the organ with "organ" knob but the click just didn't seem to impress.

    I would add another foot switch to turn on Mod so as to speed up or slow the tremolo without bending down to adjust. Has to be used with it's power adapter as any other (Boss) causes a ever slight side tone or 60cy hum. No big whoop.

  • from OH July 27, 2016

    A welcome addition to our gear.

    Our Christian band ( Grace Like Rain ) was able to use our new B9 Organ effects box at a recent Worship Service @ Lourdes College in Sylvania, OH & the sound was amazing....Thank- you for your suggestions & service.

  • from PA July 27, 2016Music Background:
    Music Producer

    B9 is a thumbs up

    Sample video is what the pedal delivers. No complaints

  • from Port Charlotte, FL July 15, 2016Music Background:
    Guitar, Harp, Bass-recorder, producer for Chucky Raven LLC

    Electro-Harmonix B9 Organ Machine

    This is the real deal. Simple to use, no installation for extra pickups and a kick as* sound! I recorded "She's Wicked" by the Fuzztones and was blown away by the reproduction of a Hammond organ. For any guitar player that hates the hassell of setting up a keyboard.for the right sound, this nails it first take. Now when I hear a new song, or one I passed on because of the organ parts, I say bring it on *****!!

  • from Los Angeles, CA January 18, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist musican.

    My new B9 Organ Machine

    I love this new tool! I had a full sized Wurlitzer theater organ with a Leslie that I had no room for. Sadly donated it to a church years ago and always regretted it. This great device gives me back a way to add organ to my recordings without the expense of a new Hammond. I really love it!

  • from Lodi Ca November 5, 2015Music Background:
    Metal, Rock, Blues, Folk. BASS PLAYER!!!

    Unbelievable!!!

    I use this thing with my bass. It's the coolest most authentic sounding effect for it's name that I've ever heard. Ye s my bass sounds like an organ when I use it. quick attack, no latency. Thinking about getting the other two in the line up as well.

  • from Chesapeake, VA October 11, 2015

    Totally Musical and Rich

    Anyone who talks down this pedal is lame, lacking in talent, inspiration, or all of the above.
    I've been playing guitar for 50+ years and bought my first EH Big Muff in 1970. Always solid gear.
    I mix the B9 at around 9:00 into my '59 Les Paul mix at church through a '68 Gibson SkyLark amp . OMGoodness. What a rich layer of sound it adds. No mis~triggers, no rude undertones. Purely and Simply Wonderful.
    Holy Cow! How's they do that? Haha!

  • from Lodi Ca October 8, 2015Music Background:
    Metal, Rock, Blues, Folk. BASS PLAYER!!!

    SICK!!!

    Tried this amazing pedal last night at a friends house. Am purchasing one now!!! Did I mention I played a bass through it? Oh yes I did and I liked it!!!

  • from Central PA May 20, 2015Music Background:
    35 years of gigging weekly..been there done that and back again on most styles.

    No doubt

    my stock went way up when I got this to use in my r&r/r&b trio. I can take an organ solo or run it beside the guitar for a very full sound.

  • from New Jersey April 28, 2015Music Background:
    Composer

    Great pedal for the song writer

    As a guitarist and vocalist this fills the void when you need some keyboard for your writing tools. Great pedal!

  • from West Columbia, SC March 26, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar and Bas approximately 40+ yrs. Playing.

    Electro-Harmonix B9 Organ Pedal

    This is an OUTSTANDING pedal to put on your pedal board. You can't do Bends of the strings with your guitar,
    but you can do fills. It also works well with the C9 Organ pedal to expand your ideas. Bassists will love this
    pedal and the C9. Electro-Harmonix is doing a great job putting out pedals for Musicians and Bassists.
    Though, on the down side if there is one, it must be the first pedal in the chain and the C9 as well. You
    won't be disappointed. I rated it a 5 as I grew up around Electro-Harmonix. A lot of Musicians I listened
    to and admired such as Jimi Hendrix, Eric Clapton, Slash, etc. Use Electro- Harmonix. I understand
    Kurt Cobain had a Big Muff Pi he used in his pedal board. They are well worth the money. But,
    Please don't STOMP on them. Though they are built like a Tank, after few times of abuse you will
    lose the pedal and will have to replace it.

  • from Nashville,TN (USA) January 12, 2015Music Background:
    Pro musician

    B9-Organ Machine

    Bought one for my son and he told me he loves it!!!

  • from Boise, Idaho September 25, 2014Music Background:
    Recording engineer, voice talent and bass player

    The Magnificent Electro-Harmonix B9

    This thing is amazing! I'm in a rockin' blues band...and the B9 allows us to do tunes that we could never do before without a keyboard. It's amazing!

  • from Springfield Gardens, NY, NY September 21, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician.

    Transform Your Sound

    I wanted this pedal from the moment it was announced, and I was finally able to get my hands on it and experiment with the sounds it's capable of producing. Thanks to my SW Sales Engineer Ed Needler and his lightning fast response I received this pedal in no time.

    Great sound comes out of the B9 by itself, but put this thing before a sweet delay + long decay reverb and you've got yourself a magical sound.

    Great build quality, good modulation, and the ability to remove click when it's not needed is fantastic. Well done EHX.

  • from Missouri September 19, 2014

    One of the best pedals ever

    The organ tones really fill in something that has been missing in a lot of songs. My go-to setting is #1 Fat & Full. Born to be Wild now sounds much more authentic. When I play Wooly Bully, you would swear someone had brought in a B3. Working for the Weekend needs a keyboard and this pedal gives it what has been missing. I turn it off for songs like footloose, because it doesn't sound good when you bend strings.

    The Cathedral and Continental settings were fantastic as were most of the others. The Gospel setting was really great also. The Bell Organ and Octaves didn't do much for me, but someone else might like them a lot. I found the Classic Rock setting to have no power whatsoever; even when turned up full it is barely audible.

    I had to redo my crowded pedalboard to accommodate the B9. Not because the pedal is big, but I had no more room. I can't imagine ever not having this pedal. Although I had thought I might use it on about 10% of my songs, I am using it on about 25-30%. It is that good. It puts out a very convincing organ tone. I found myself overusing it at first. Now that the honeymoon period is over, I am still amazed.

    In a live setting, I turn the guitar volume (on the pedal) up to 100% to acheive unity gain. The organ volume is about 11:00. This setting gives me a good mix. I run the other two knobs about 12:00.

  • from Kansas September 19, 2014Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    Update

    I provided a review previously. EHX does recommend that you put a compressor pedal before the B9 in your signal chain to improve tracking accuracy and to even out the loudness or output (some notes will sound louder depending on picking dynamics). I bought a MXR M132 Compressor pedal from Sweetwater and with a few minutes of tweaking I got my EHX B9 pedal sounding better then ever! A definite improvement to an already great pedal!

  • from Austin, TX August 30, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Crazy cool spot on sound!

    I put this in line with a Stymon Lex and a VS overdrive. Wow! Just wow!

  • from Kansas August 27, 2014Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    Impressed!

    Another great pedal from electro-harmonix. I just received this pedal yesterday. I am impressed by the sound quality, ease of use, and tracking abilities of the B9 Organ Machine. My wife heard me in the basement and thought I was actually playing an organ!

  • from Culleoka, TN August 25, 2014Music Background:
    Regular Clubbing and some small arenas 47+ years

    TOP SHELF PEDAL

    I love this pedal. I get comps on it all the time even from my piano player who only plays certain gigs. I use it to fill the sound of the band in certain places of different songs. Heads turn when I kick it on. Tracking is spot on and the sound is totally natural. You wont go wrong with this one.

  • from fairmount in. usa August 22, 2014Music Background:
    avid hobbyist

    Awesome!!!!

    just got mine today, plugged it into my voxVT120,& my Taylor T3. Was really impressed . played on clean channel with compression. when bypassing I lost no volume, .now I wont have to lug around my heavy keyboard. Gonna try it in my marshall next.Hope my ears don't bleed lol'Honestly it was worth the long wait. thank you ...

  • from New York August 22, 2014Music Background:
    over 50 years of playing live music

    Great little box

    Outstanding product. Does everything they say it does. It has provided me to enhance my song list for live shows. Many folks have asked during breaks if we were back tracking the organ sounds into our shows. I recommend this box.

  • from Cartersville, GA August 5, 2014Music Background:
    Use to be, want to be. Guitarist.

    Sounds great!

    I can't play any type of keyboards, but I can play the guitar.. so now I'm playing the hammond organ sounds I've always wanted. Great tool for recording.. up and using in minutes and you don't have to study the instructions, just plug it in line and turn a few knobs.. and that's it.. watch the video. This sounds way better than some very expensive guitar synths that I own.

  • from Santa Rosa, CA July 31, 2014Music Background:
    musical fool

    Great Fun

    So many great sounds from the past! Its got everything from Procol Harum to Question Mark and the Mysterians. And the two buffered outputs one for organ sounds the other for the 'dry' guitar signal, with two amps or even two channels on one amp you can vary the mix like crazy! Tons of fun in a little box.

  • from New Orleans January 10, 2017

    Electro Harmonix B9 pedal

    This pedal is great! I used it at practice the other day and the guys loved it. Very accurate tones. I use it on 5 songs and will look for more tunes to use it with. Now thinking about the piano pedal. Highly recommended!

  • from July 11, 2015

    Worlds O' Fun

    Some of the most fun I've had with my electric in a while. Just plug & play. A few quick adjustments and you'll be playing Whiter Shade of Pale & giving your favorite key board player a run for their money.

  • from Sicklerville, NJ December 31, 2014Music Background:
    gigging musician

    Quirky and Very Cool

    This pedal is cool. Simple as that. For what I play (Soul / Funk / R&B) I don't have much cause to use it onstage, but it's still taking up real-estate on my pedal board, because I'm itching to find somewhere to use it! It also, when used with a distortion, can be used as a type of sustain, keeping the note going for a very long time. The only thing is when you use it, you have to adjust your playing style. I rely on bends heavily, but with the B9, bends are a no-no. You'll lose the tone quickly if you bend while the B9 is active. Otherwise, this thing is well worth the money, even if it is just to play around at home.

  • from United States November 13, 2014Music Background:
    Weekend warrior--player since the '60's, BeenThereDoneThat band 4 plus years.

    electro-harmonix B9 Organ Machine

    I bought this pedal because I play in a band without a keyboard player, and I wanted a B3 sound for some songs. It delivers--mostly. I makes a very convincing sound and is mostly glitch-free. I use it pretty much the way I planned, but...
    -I'd like a way to cut the fifth harmonic at times. It makes certain chords that I play as standard guitar chords sound "off". If you get one, spend some time figuring out a few new chord voicings.
    -I'd like a speed control on the MOD function, or the possibility of connection an expression pedal for that function. I know most player will use a rotary speaker simulator, but the modulation built into the pedal would do a decent job if it could do the speed up/slow down thing.
    -I'd really like a built-in compression function that is geared specifically to this pedal and the way it responds to input signals.
    -this one's picky, but I'd like a foot-switch to change organ types instead of the rotary control. I hate bending over to adjust pedals on stage!!
    Other than these quibbles, I am very happy with this pedal and have been using it on stage since I got it.
    All in all I recommend it for players who would like to bring a B3 and/or Vox sound to certain numbers.

  • from Minneapolis, MN September 4, 2014Music Background:
    Live and Breathe Music

    Awesome Organ Sounds From Your Axe!

    This thing pretty much does exactly what it states it can do, which is turn the sound of your electric guitar into the sound of electric organ! With nine overall types of keyboard settings, a separate volume control for your dry signal & your treated signal, a speed setting, and a click track, you can create a lot of cool electric piano & organ sounds. EH gives you a few pointers that can also make big differences (i.e. a compression pedal might help acheive certain, specific sounds, your bridge pickup usually works best, etc.) and open up even more sound possibilities. If you've seen or heard somebody using one then it's pretty much as realistic sounding and easy to use as you saw/heard. I received mine a week ago and haven't even begun to scratch the surface of sound possibilities. It's not hard to get the electric organ sounds of Booker T or Brother Ray coming out of your guitar amp, but keep in mind that you'll have to be able to play the same notes on your guitar (with the same feel and accuracy) as Booker or Ray play on their keyboards. The good side to all of that, though, is that it'll probably help you learn your instrument a little better too. All-in-all a very cool and easy to use pedal.

  • from Youngstown, OH July 24, 2014Music Background:
    Blues/Rock style guitarist. Stomp-box junkie.

    A Lot of Sound in a Little Box

    I just got this and am still exploring all its nuances but I absolutely love it so far. A couple of things I noticed: 1. It works much better with the single coils on my Strat than with a guitar with humbuckers. 2. Your amp needs to set to the Clean channel 3. It tracks much better if you don't pick too hard--a light touch really works best.

    I'm still searching for my "go to" settings but I found it does a good emulation of Jon Lord's organ sound from Deep Purple's "Machine Head". Set it to "Classic Rock" (#4), dial the "Mod" all the way down and set "Click" to the 3 o'clock position.

  • from January 10, 2017

    Works As Advertised, But ...

    This is a great piece of gear, and the sounds come across about as well as they do in the YouTube videos that show off the pedal's capabilities. The presets are an excellent set of sounds and are highly usable in a variety of situations.

    You do need to work with this pedal a little, though, and there are some things to keep in mind.

    If you're going for a straight-up organ imitation and want nice long pads, then remember that guitars don't sustain the way organs do. For that, you'll need to grab an EHX Freeze pedal or, as I did, the Superego pedal. The Superego's a great investment on its own merits, so I'm happy with the purchase, but it is something to keep in mind. Also, with the Superego, you can play a chord and depress the button to sustain, and then continue to play parts over the top of the sustained chord. What this can amount to, in effect, is what would be on the organ a left-hand chord with right-hand embellishment. Some great effects can be made this way.

    As for working with the pedal, you'll have to remember that, in a sense, you're playing the pedal as much as you're playing the guitar. The pedal completely takes over your tone. There's not a lot of difference between the neck and bridge pickups when I play my American Vintage '65 Strat through this. You do retain a great deal of expressive capability, but for creating effective pads you'll need to play very evenly. Nailing the right approach isn't particularly difficult, but it does take a little adjustment. A compressor helps here a lot, too.

    All this being said, this pedal is a lot of fun on its own merits, and is worth its price. Just be aware that if you're using this pedal to play organ parts for your own projects -- especially for recording -- then you'll need to supplement the pedal with an extra trick or two.

  • from August 24, 2015

    B9 Organ Pedal

    Excellent pedal! It really only works best if it is the first pedal in you series of pedals. I tried many combinations but got distorted sound or could not get the full effects of the pedal until I put it first. Overall it's great don't use it much but itmreally does have a good clear organ sound, it does however require getting used to playing a little different when the pedal,is on.

  • from Houston Texas July 23, 2015Music Background:
    Pro-Part time

    Too cool

    Learning more about this pedal as I go but must say Electro-Harmonix packed a lot of technology into one very small pedal and the sounds are incredible! I have the C9 and got the B9 out of curiosity. Great for filling in with gtr mix as well.

  • from Missouri July 9, 2015Music Background:
    Professional musician for over 50 years

    Works Great

    Use it for pedal steel and it adds a whole new sound to the band would recommend this to anyone looking to add a little more versatility to there sound.

  • from Mayslick KY March 16, 2015

    Great Pedal

    Although I have many organ plugins in my studio DAW, There is nothing like being able to play classic keyboard sounds through a live rig via guitar. That said, being that it is an organ pedal, playing style will have to be changed somewhat as typical organs cannot bend notes like we can on the guitar. Also precise playing is needed or you will experience note drop outs and some weird sounds.

    All in all, I am very happy with this pedal and am having a great deal of fun experimenting with the many sounds it can produce.

  • from Memphis, TN January 13, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Fun Well

    I think this could be very useful for me to give to another guitar player when my keyboard is not available.

  • from United States November 8, 2014Music Background:
    Stage musician, single & with a group

    B~9

    I really like the B9. It lets me play a lead that really fills in a tune, particularly doing a single act. I definitely don't regret my purchase at all, mony well spent.

  • from United States October 16, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician, Smooth Jazz to Rock. 50 years playing.

    Great sound

    Sounds great and tracks almost perfect. The volume is touchy depending on the pickup on your guitar and your picking style. I will try a compressor to keep the notes even. Switch is not the best, would have preferred a Boss type.lever switch. Would have liked a Fender Rhodes sound also. Overall great Idea and sound. I use it more then I thought I would live onstage.

  • from Chicago September 26, 2014Music Background:
    BillyPrewitt.com

    Pretty Cool

    Sounds like an organ. Chords sound great not too much like a roller rink. The percussion sound is not great but over all it sounds great and adds a lot of bass to to my looping

  • from Chicago, IL September 12, 2014Music Background:
    FT musician

    The B9: Big Sound W/ Some Little Snags

    After a slight delay in arrival due to the buzz & demand I got the B9 from Sweetwater. A nice variety of big sounds and solid construction but with a few things to note up front...
    1. A big sound demands using an amp with some power to it and speaker (s) that can handle the fat sound (especially when playing more than one note at a time).I ran it through a 200 watt amp with a 15" (pedal steel player's amp) which did it justice.A guitar amp with less than 50 watts and just one 12" or smaller speaker might buckle/flub. It also sounded full and fat in a decent PA system, studio set-up etc.
    2. Flooring your guitar's volume and using the bridge PU is optimum.
    3. Below C (A string, lll fret) or above Hi-E (fret Xll) expect signal drop-out, flub, etc. It will have you using your head to adjust.
    4. It gets latent if your playing is sloppy or clean: it makes you play & listen to what you're doing.
    The modulation control (it could use the ability to attach an expression pedal) approximates Leslie territory. Each voice has it's own way of interacting with mod & click for the most part: it's part of the discovery path of this unit. But with a deft touch and sense of discovery I found it inspiring.

  • from East Islip ,New York June 29, 2014Music Background:
    Played in bands late sixties to the early eighties,and still jamming with other musicians on a regular basis in my home studio.

    Mike Matthews gets it right

    It nails some of the classic organ sounds I grew up on.I was trying a pedal called an Organizer at the last guitar show I was at and while it emulated some sounds it was not it for me .The B9 is it .It tracks better than a Roland synth and while it does you can bend notes which make it sound less like an organ..The sustain and the octaves are amazing.Even the key click is adjustable as well as different modulations for each preset..I am enjoying the Hell out of it. It does not suck in the least.Mike does it again.

  • from Greensboro, NC September 7, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Usable sounds but latency is problematic

    The tones are convincing and usable in a band setting, but the tracking gives way to an almost unusable amount of latency. This is very problematic and limits the usage of this pedal. It is almost entirely unusable for rhythm and lead work where the timing needs to be tight. Still, the sounds are impressive for a stompbox.

  • from Fort Wayne, IN December 31, 2014Music Background:
    Songwriter, Recording Hobbyist

    Neh

    If you get everything set "just right" it sometimes sounds like an organ. Most of the time it just sounds like a guitar with an annoying effect on it that doesn't sound like something you'd want to hear in a live setting or on a recording. I've had some fun with it on some of the settings, but mostly as a curiosity piece. Not something I can see ever actually replacing an actual organ sound you'd get by...say...using an organ.

  • from pine grove, PA February 6, 2015

    Disappointing

    I purchased this pedal from Sweetwater back in June 2014 and I just cannot seem to bond with it. The volume levels are all over the place with this, despite me trying my best to follow EHX's "tips". The CLICK control seems pointless to me. I even tried running into two amps from the separate output jacks and it just isn't getting happy.
    Btw, this is the second EHX pedal I have, the other is a Memory Boy. That too sits on a shelf. No more EHX for this guitarist and that's sad because I really wanted to like them.
    I had great expectations and plans to gig with it, but I just don't see that happening. Maybe this is just one of those "bedroom" pedals.
    I will probably be trading it in at my go to guitar shop.

  • from Scotts Valley, CA October 2, 2014Music Background:
    Very serious tone junkie guitar player

    Too much hype

    Sorry folks. I don't mean to poo poo sales but someone needs to tell the truth here. I got amazed by the youtube videos. I read the 5 star reviews. I bought one because I was hoping to be able to use it to cover some of my keyboard player's parts when he can't make a gig. For me, the only program that sounded any good was "fat and full". Single notes were ok. But harmonics just completely die part way as a string is ringing. It sounded ear piercing to me and distorted even with single coils. I will not subject my audience to these sounds so I retuned it. It's a great idea but has a long way to go before a professional, who cares about tone, should use it live. If you are just going to play around and want a cool toy and have $220 to blow, then have had it. Not for me.

  • from Wappingers Falls, NY September 3, 2014Music Background:
    pro musician

    I'm amazed by the positive reviews

    The B9 pedal sounds awful - way too much piercing treble, tracking issues, loud fake key click noises, etc. It sounded too good to be true, and it was (not surprised). I returned it right away - Sweetwater was 100% fine with the return and refunding my money - kudos to them! I just wanted to post this because the current reviews are entirely too glossy. I've been playing for 35+ yrs and have tons of pedals, just so you know (I'm not a newbie).

Questions about the Electro-Harmonix B9 Organ Machine?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close