rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

ESP LTD B-4E - Ebony Natural Satin Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the ESP LTD B-4E - Ebony Natural Satin?

Questions about the ESP LTD B-4E - Ebony Natural Satin?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from New Hampshire January 28, 2017

    ESP B4-E

    I've been playing bass for 50 years and thought it was time to buy my first brand new instrument. After a lot of research called Jim Swain. Been dealing with Jim for about 25 years and as always his advice was spot on. Received my bass and it was in perfect tune! Kudos to ESP for building a beautiful, great sounding bass. The active electronics give you every sound imaginable and it plays like butter. Kudos to the Sweetwater staff that checked, packaged and shipped it so that it arrived perfect.
    Thanks to all!

  • from PA January 6, 2017Music Background:
    Amateur player

    Great bass for the price!

    This bass is definitely worth the money. The natural satin is really appealing to the eye and smooth to the touch. Really nice knowing that fingerprints all over the body wont be an eye sore like with other bass guitars I've owned. Overall, this bass is really comfortable to play. Its fairly lightweight with a fast neck and an amazing tone. I started out playing a Schecter Stiletto Elite 5 string about two years ago and have been looking for a decent mid range 4 string to continue building on my technique and my knowledge of the bass. I draw inspiration from a lot of progressive metal bands such as Meshuggah, Between the Buried and Me, Gojira, and Death. While I continue to dream over owning a German made Warwick or a Dingwall someday, this instrument fits all of my current needs as an amateur bass player and didn't break the bank. Thanks Sweetwater!

  • from Wisconsin July 8, 2016

    Solid, neck thru Bass

    Got a great deal on a demo and fell in love. Long Thru neck with Ebony fret board is solid. Ebony top finishes it nicely, does add some weight though. Think my Favorite part is the active electronics. The three outside knobs are your 3 band EQ ( Bass, Mid, High), then can blend the two pickups to make 100's of different tones and feels. I plug it straight into my Mackie mixer, have the eq locked on the mixer and just change tones right on the bass. Less knobs, less tweaking time. The 3 EQ knobs also have a center spot, so you can feel where to go up or down from. Have had cheap Squier Bolt on neck basses in the past, but this one makes me feel and sound like a better player. Didn't get the case at first, but the black collects dust. After getting the sweet ESP case for $140, wish I would have got the sooner.

  • from Indiana October 18, 2015

    Totaly Impressed

    Had been looking at this bass for some time, and made a special trip to Sweetwater to try one out. When I got there, they didn't have one on display, so I asked the salesman if they had one. He said he would go check, and came back with this one. He plugged it into an amp, and said enjoy and walked off. Just the feel of it got my heart pounding, then the sound came out. I've been playing bass for over 40 years, and this was the smoothest, and easiest playing guitar I have ever played and the sound was totally awesome. Played it for about 15 min., set it down and picked up a Fender Jazz, and played it for about the same amount of time. There was no comparison, the ESP totally out played, and sounded better than the Fender. I'm having so much fun finding new sounds with it, and the guy's say it sounds super. This is one of the greatest bass's you can get for the money. Try it, you'll like it.

  • from Memphis Tennessee October 21, 2015Music Background:
    Funk,R & B,JAZZ,POP ROCK

    ESP-LTD B4

    I have had my series since 2009,and I am enjoying it,It was given to me as an endorsement product and I am greatful for such an instrument.It fits my hands perfectly.I keep it in the case when not playing it,so it is still in immaculate condition.It just plays well and stays in pretty good tune,not heavy at all,but has a heavy sound with much versatility,So,Thank You ESP for such a fine instrument.

  • from SW Minnesota July 12, 2015Music Background:
    35 + year hobby

    Bang for your Buck

    As my most helpful and patient sales engineer (Mike Defraties) can attest to im pretty picky when I make a purchase.I already have four passive basses and wanted one with active electronics for some time.

    I wanted something that sounded good that didn't break the bank,ive got to say this bass delivers,besides having a neck thru and string thru design this bass sounds pretty darn good in fact it sounds great,it also has some great build quality for being an import bass which is hard to get away from now days, this thing is built and finished very well,it is solid and plays great and has a fast neck,i like the action to be pretty low so I did a few readjustments and got quite low without any fret buzz.

    I also bought an ESP case to go with it which I wont use much as I keep my basses hanging on the wall when not being used.But it is also of pretty good Quality

    So if you want a great sounding good looking bass(the pics really don't do it justice) you need to see it in person, then I would grab on to one of these.I don't think you will be disappointed.I gave it 4.5 stars only because money can always get you more,but for my money this is about as good as it gets,im very satisfied with this bass.If I had any nit pics it would be that the bass is kind of on the small side,but then again to me they are all kind of small as im a fairly big guy.So get one.

    I

  • from Pittsburgh, PA April 23, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Bass for the Money

    The bass was just delivered yesterday. I'm very impressed with the overall look and sound! The bass is well balanced, the neck is very comfortable and the overall construction is very good.

    I'm running it through an Ampeg BA-115. I set the EQ on the amp at 12 o'clock and adjust the tone from the EQ on the bass.

    Overall, this is a great bass for the money. This is the first bass I've purchased since I mainly play guitars.

  • from Grayson, GA August 25, 2014Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    The Best Bass for the Money

    This is a great bass! I take off a point for a few issues with quality control that came out of the ESP Ltd shop.

    Besides being visually appealing with great contours, this bass sounds and feels great. With the option to string through the body or string through the bridge and the active EQ, you can get almost any sound you want to out of this bass.

    It's nicely balanced, not too heavy, and everyone that sees it wants to play it.

    Great product!

  • from Buda, TX June 2, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Very Nice Bass

    I bought this bass about a month ago. Very nice looking. A few minor finishing flaws, but nothing that stands out. I really like the satin finish. The neck is very comfortable and the overall construction is very solid. I did notice a very bad buzzing at the 2nd fret on the G string. My tech leveled 3 frets and tweaked the truss rod. Problem solved. Plays and sounds great now.

    I run it through an Ampeg PF800 head and PF115HE cab. It has a lot more tone shaping options than my other bass (Aria Pro II RSB Series P-Bass with Alembic pickups and a Badass bridge). I set the EQ on the head at 12 o'clock and tweak the tone from the EQ on the bass. The active EQ provides more output, but no so much that I have to engage the -15 db pad unless I have the gain cranked up past 3 o'clock. With the Ultra Low engaged, the low end is very smooth. And the highs are such that I don't need to engage the Ultra Hi like I do with the Aria.

    Overall, a great bass for the price. This is the second ESP Ltd product I have purchased and have been very impressed with the quality control of their products.

Questions about the ESP LTD B-4E - Ebony Natural Satin?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway