0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Behringer B-2 Pro Dual-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Behringer B-2 Pro Dual-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone?

Questions about the Behringer B-2 Pro Dual-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Lexington, VA April 4, 2017Music Background:
    Classical concert pianist crossed over to electronic music

    In Love

    I've worked with AKG c414's and a variety of Neumann mics when recording in pro-studios. Although this mic does not match the detail and warmth of those mics, for something I could actually afford to buy, the B-2 Pro is mindbogglingly close to such high-end mics in sound-quality. I'm deeply in love with it and have been taking it everywhere I go with me. Now I can't wait to buy a second so I can get a stereo field on my recordings!

  • from November 17, 2016

    A mic to have.

    I own a pair of these. Used them several times for drum overheads for outdoor live sound.
    Clean sound you can hear your cymbals, its like your in a studio doing a recording.

    A must have in your collection, very inexpensive.

  • from Denton, TX June 9, 2016

    Great Mic

    I have several of these mics and have been using them for many years for all kinds of sources. Vocals, rooms, drum OHs, guitar cabs, kick drum, horns, etc, etc. Great workhorse mic and a great value. Highly recommended.

  • from Virginia Beach, VA January 20, 2016

    Recording Project

    I recently bought a pair of C3s and a B2 for my home studio and connected them to my TASCAM Digital Recorder. I used them to capture my Roland keyboard amps in a stereo configuration for a music project I am working on and on playback was amazed at the audio quality that was captured. These microphones are flexible and provide a true representation of the sound and frequencies that are being recorded. Did I mention the price which can't be beat. I have used other more expensive microphones but these provide excellent quality with breaking the bank.

  • from April 11, 2017

    Awesome mic

    I have always wanted a microphone with the switchable polar patterns. This mic does the job. I Like the large diaphragm. Great mic for the price.

  • from Florida July 18, 2016Music Background:
    Engineer, producer, musician, singer, and professional button pusher.

    B-2 Pro Hits the 10 Ring

    I got this mic for vocals and acoustic instruments, as well as drum overheads. When I got the first one it blew away mics costing hundreds more. The highs were clean and bright, mids were well separated and very clean, the lows equally so. Even with a low end pre amp this mic sounded great. I A/B this in a local studio with a Nuemann U87 running though a 737. The results were jaw dropping. While the U87 still won the day, this mic is right up next to it in sound quality. This thing beat the pants off a Telefunken U47 and U48!

    HOWEVER!

    THE ATTACK OF THE BEHRINGER KRAKEN!!!

    The second mic I got was garbage, something was wrong with it from the factory. The third was just as good as the first, so like most of Behringer's products this suffers from the not so good quality control at the factory. The replacement Behringer sent me was a good one, so only half a star was deducted, simply for the factory quality control. I have owned these now for over a year, and added 2 more (both modded) and have had no issues with the mics or any of the parts included with the mics.

    Bottom line, if you are starting out in recording get six of these. The make good tom mics, overheads, and really good acoustic and vocal mics. any mid level pre-amp will make them shine, however the Bheringer USB interfaces (no HD models) make these sound muddy. The MIDAS equipped interfaces work good with these mics, but dedicated preamps really make them stand out.

    Yes you may have to send one or two back for replacement (Beheringer, get your QC up to par!) but once you have the good ones, you will be set.

  • from Monterrey Mexico September 5, 2011Music Background:
    Musician-Engineer

    GOOD MIC GOOD PRICE

    great for vocals, clean, and very cheap. I recomended 100%, is not a U87, but itīs only the 5% of the cost.. great for project studios.

  • from Ann Arbor, MI February 5, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, NVH / Sound Quality Specialist, NVH Manager

    Tremendous Value

    So...I was looking for a few switchable pattern LDC microphones that weren't insanely expensive. Given the price, I had my reservations that it would actually be useful and perform well. I also figured that if it was sub-par, I could always return it, or simply use it for non-critical use.

    I'm really, really pleased with both the fidelity and features of this microphone. No, it's not a U87, but then again...the price...

    If you look at the stated specifications, they are actually remarkably good. To be fair, I have heard some people knock this because of its somewhat 'bright' sound, and this is pretty accurate. However, if the brightness is not to your liking (it varies, logically enough based on the polar pattern chosen), judicious EQ can remedy that - especially if you have some of the more capable plug-ins for your DAW. An added benefit of this approach is that can lower the noise level a bit (around 2- 2.5 dB) by applying the correction.

    Would I like perfectly flat response? Of course, however at this price, you simply cannot go wrong.

    Having two of these opens up a lot of possibilities for very little 'cabbage'. You can implement M-S (again, due to switchable patterns) or a Blumlien approach (using the velocity (180 degree)) settings, as well as use them as omni's, or a M-S using an omni pattern for the 'M' mic if that's more to your liking.

    What's the down-side? You may get disapproving looks from people who might see this choice as akin to being a poser; it sure looks similar to a U87 (again...I know, it's not), and it is after all, a Behringer mic, and in some studios / with some clientele, that could very well be an issue (not having better-established or top-shelf gear is seen by some as an indicator that your studio or gear selections and judgment are suspect), so be prepared to deal with that.

    Still, the proverbial proof is in the pudding...and I would argue that used properly (like any mic), and placed judiciously, this mic will deliver surprisingly good results.

    In closing, I have to say that I own and use some Neumann gear, and I deeply respect and admire their quality and lineage in their products. However, I truly believe that if you want a mic that delivers really good sound at a very low price point (and is very flexible), you should consider this mic. I know I'll probably take some heat for this, but I'm cool with that.

Questions about the Behringer B-2 Pro Dual-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway