0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

sonuus B2M Reviews

2.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Carson McClain

    The B2M is an awesome tool for bass players that need minimal MIDI capabilities without installing a pick up.

  • dave millu
    from Fort Lee, NJ December 3, 2010Music Background:
    Bass/guitar/keyboards, 26 years

    Neat toy, Don't expect too much

    I don't exactly disagree with the reviewer who says it only works for synth pad sounds, though my score is the opposite of his. If you have realistic expectations and take into account the price vs a full Roland setup, this can be a handy little device. Yes, tracking is horrible vs a "real" bass-to-MIDI system. That "real" system costs a boatload of money and takes a long time to set up. This is cheap and just plugs in. Since it processes the bass' audio output, it can be used with a wireless. Like everything, you can't believe all the marketing hype. I find it to be a useful toy, it and a 1/2 rack roland sound module fit in my gig bag pocket and let me take my beloved synth pads on the road easily. Best when mixed with bass guitar sound, and a volume/loop switch so you can turn off the keyboard sounds with a tap of a foot. Wouldn't want it on all night.

  • Cullen
    from Santa barbara May 7, 2014Music Background:
    Recording artist

    Fun and funner

    Triggers very well on bass if ur in tune! Would like to have mode channel select and a damper that would also cut the incoming bass notes so u could hold a note triggering a chord.

  • guy
    from pasadena CA February 21, 2013Music Background:
    recording engineer, lifelong musician, creative genius, human

    cool little unit

    I was a little uncertain buying this device at first, having read a few bad reviews, but i had viewed a couple videos of folks using it fairly effectively so i figured i could probably get some use from it. However, i wasnt expecting too much from a one hundred dollar bass to midi converter. I was quite pleasently surprised! Sure, it took a while to get the hang of the idiosyncracies(starting out on a fretless didnt particularly help...)but after a day or two it began to be pretty dang cool. On fretted bass it tracks much better especially on the chromatic setting with piano/organ/clav sounds. Playing sax off a bass is awesome. I found on my fretless with the switch on nonchromatic some cool patterns may be had off drum patches and string sections. Admittedly, it has a bit of trouble tracking fast passages but this may be in part due to technique but far from entirely so. In the course of slow and moderate passages it works surprisingly well. So if you're looking for a reasonably priced midi converter for bass this one is well worth considering. One last thing, i discovered it works with a microphone too!

  • Chris Edwards
    from Springfield, MO January 7, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    neat little tool

    I use this to control my Roland FX8 with a Gibson EB 5 String... It takes some getting used to.. I'm learning the finesse it takes to make it work. Very responsive even on the low B string... it helped to adjust my attack / delay on the FX8.. that way I can control the latency and swell more precisely. Mainly use it to add organ or strings for some background fill.. used in conjunction with an A/B switch it allows me to select just the keyboard, just the bass, or both. It doesn't always respond with a consistent octave placement.. and the auto shut off is a pain when on stage.. if it set's idle for too long it shuts down and you have to manually unplug the input and reset it. Overall a great addition to my sound.

  • Paul Silva
    from February 10, 2015Music Background:
    Bass player

    Sonnus B2M

    Not what i expected after reading the item description
    Way too many gost notes, wrong octaves, and wrong notes
    I have to spend about an hour or more per song using a midi editer
    Just to correct Sonnus mistakes.

  • Elton
    from NC December 26, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Poor tracking & response time

    I do not like this thing. The lag is bad and the tracking is unpredictable. It's actually slightly better with guitar. I thought about returning it but I'm keeping it as a reminder of what can happen when you buy cheap stuff over the internet. I know that Sweetwater would replace it (they've been extremely nice about replacing other things) but I'm hoping that I can get it to work better after processing the bass' signal. If this helps I'll submit a better review.

  • Steve
    from Kalamazoo, MI October 30, 2012Music Background:
    Weekend Musician / Cover Band / Recording

    Useless Product

    If your in the mood to drop 100 bucks on a total disappointment, then this is the product for you! Seriously, I tried it on both my active Schecter 4-string, and my passive Fender 4-string. Here were my results:
    1) The low strings are SUPER LOUD, and the high strings barely make a signal.
    2) Found it impossible to get the tuner to show a truely tuned string.
    3) Every note, started 2-3 steps down, and "slid" into the correct note, if not a complete octave lower than the correct note.
    4) I tried using the rear-only, and front-only pick-ups as others suggested, with no positive results (even with coil-splitting).
    I've owned a GK-2A on a guitar set-up a couple years back, and it was MUCH more accurate and tune-able, unlike this "wonder box" of a product. Though it does have very low latency, hitting the wrong note almost every time doesn't give this any credit. I MIGHT try the GK-3B by Roland, but if your familiar with the system necessary to use with it, you know I'll be out at least 700-800. I think it's just easier to bring my keyboard to shows...... I'm just glad Sweetwater has a good return policy! ROCK ON!!!

  • Tinthony Glenn
    from Lacey, Washington July 2, 2012Music Background:
    Pro basses and keyboards, and I a recording engineer......

    I was wishing

    Its a greet concept but it doesn't work for me.. Im a 35 year Bass player just about tried it all... I play all wireless and I was wishing that this would work for me..
    I tried a couple of keyboards and modules ( wireless and wired) and I can't get it to track well, I guess I have to go back to either keytar or mounting a device to one
    of my basses..

  • Mojito
    from Washington DC September 4, 2011Music Background:
    Recording musician

    Not what it seems...

    I decided to ignore the negative reviews and try this little box out myself. All I can say is this was a terrible disappointment. It fails on every front from tracking to note recognition. I have no idea why Sonuus even released this. I am hoping that eventually someone gets this right, but this isn't it.

  • Rich Lysaght
    from Hicksville, OH July 5, 2011Music Background:
    Guitarist, Bassist, Engineer....20+ years of experience

    Sonuus B2M....don't waste your time

    I looked at several demo videos on line of this item. I was really impressed by the videos so I picked one up. What I found was that the conversion time was too slow to be musical. The unit could not convert fast enough to keep up with very basic scales. You might be able to use this unit to control some pad synth swells. But, in my experience, it just couldn't track fast enough to do the job.

  • yuro
    from costa rica May 25, 2010Music Background:
    drummer, keyboardist, bassist, 25 years exp.

    just for Pad sounds

    everybody is talking about how precise you have to play to have a good track from this but let me tell you, it doesn`t matter, there are always wrong notes appearing. I tried with 3 different basses, 2 keyboards and a sound module, Midi adjustments, etc. nothing works for me. Only some slow excuting pad sounds, this deviece is useless. is in my useless gear box now. Ja, I`m not wondering now why Roland costs 10 times more...

Questions about the sonuus B2M?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway