0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
April 2017 Giveaway

Burl Audio B2 Bomber ADC Reviews

5.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Burl Audio B2 Bomber ADC?

Questions about the Burl Audio B2 Bomber ADC?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Thomas Leahy

    I frequently use the Burl B2 Bomber ADC on vocals, bass, guitars, and anything else that needs massive amounts of depth and clarity. I love driving signal through it, and the variable input level lets me hit the sweet spot on my preamp, without overloading the converter. Between the transformer and the converter, it's the closest thing to tape out there.

  • from February 3, 2017

    The Green Tape Machine

    This is quite possibly the most significant piece of gear I own. Tracking through it opens everything up and gives it a remarkable 3D depth and clarity. Mixing through it makes decision making so much easier as it adds a girth and character and subtle color to what would normally be a sterile logic mixdown. You would be AMAZED by how much less you'll feel the need to eq, compress, etc. or at the very least how much easier you'll be able to hear the benefit/lack thereof of all plugins you're using while running your two stereo mix through this thing.
    Next, slaving my Apollo to the Bomber's internal clock makes a significant and discernible difference in the way my recorded tracks and 2 bus summed mixes sound. Jitter is nonexistent and I've never once heard a click or pop while printing a song to a new stereo track.
    Lastly, while I typically enjoy sending a mix with lots of headroom through this thing and then bringing the volume up later with mult-band compression and limiting, I find that this unit clips very musically and that being said, don't be afraid to clip this thing if it yeilds a pleasing end result.
    Oh, and absolutely play around with the input attenuation. Running it cold will keep the transients more open and the effect is open and subtle while pushing it hard (and you can hit this thing very hard) you'll get the added effect of more harmonic saturation and rounded off transients which can sometimes be a very good thing. Don't think twice. Compared to the stock A/D converters/clock in my Apollo Twin, it's like comparing a Toyota Corolla to a Bugatti. lol

  • from Spring Hill, TN August 17, 2016Music Background:
    Professional musician, writer, producer

    Great piece of gear

    I have always desired to achieve analog sounding productions from digital, so the chain is very crucial. I purchased the BURL to replace a lesser 2 channel converter. I use it for making digital 2 track mix files. I currently record through a Trident 80B console and use 2 RME 800 fireface units as my AD/DA converters, and my DAW of choice is Digital Performer. Once recorded to the Mac, I route the outputs of the RME D/A back through 16 channels of the console in stereo pairs. To my ears it sounds better than mixing in the box. Everything comes off the console stereo remix fader through to the BURL ADC B2 and then digitally to a Masterlink, (bypassing its built in budget converters). Sounds fantastic and the BURL offers different fixed input levels to -12 -- it even welcomes being "pushed" without ever getting ugly. Now when I switch back and forth between the console and the 2 track mix, the difference is negligible, which was the goal. The BURL is pricey, but definitely worth the money. Mixes sound open, crisp and smooth. Now I want more channels of BURL!!!

  • from Nashville August 5, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Amazing...

    This piece has completely changed the way i record & mix in my home project studio... outboard analog gear that i had come to believe just wasn't worth having anymore because software seemed to work better, now functions and sounds the way you remember & expect it to - way better than software when running back in using the B2's A/D converter. Tracks recorded thru the A/D are much better quality as well, i love this piece.

  • from United States February 27, 2014Music Background:
    RECORDING ENGINEER FOR 9 YEAR AND APRODUCER

    STUNNING WOW

    I BOUGHT THE ORION AND RETURNED IT FOR A HILO BECAUSE THE HILO BLOW THE ORION OUT THE WATER SO I WAS VERY HAPPY WITH MY SETUP BUT I WAS WONDERING IF THERE WAS A BETTER SOUNDING CONVERTER IN THIS PRICE POINT?? AND ALSO I WAS LOOKING FOR A CONVERTER I CAN MASTER WITH SINCE I WAS TRACKING WITH THE HILO AS MY MAIN AD/DA MOST OF MY ENGINEERING FRIENDS SAID GET THE BURL B2 BOOMER SO I CALLED UP MY REP @ SWEETWATER AND HE SHIP ME OUT ONE WHEN I A/B IT WITH THE HILO O.M.G I WAS FLOORED IT IS THE CLOSEST THING TO ANALOG SO FAR MAN I 'M IN LOVE WITH IT NOW I HAVE A MASTER CONVERTER I CAN DEPEND ON

  • from Dallas, Tx December 1, 2012Music Background:
    Engineer, Musician

    Just Simply Amazing

    So I have had some time with this product and have had chances to A/B against other converters. In my quest of going through every converter I finally landed on the right signal. With most converters I would track but was not simply 100% satisfied. This converter leaves nothing left to be desired when tracking. If you are tracking bass and guitars you will know exactly what I mean. I highly recommend you shelf out the extra cash this is completely worth it.

  • from Burbank, CA June 23, 2012Music Background:
    14 Years Engineering in NoHo

    ADC Perfection

    OM freakin G !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Been waiting 20 years to say this.... digital conversion has TRULY finally arrivied! Forget Apogee, forget Lavry, forget Prisim, Ive used them all... Somebody FINALLY nailed it. Congratulations (and THANK YOU!) Burl Audio for giving SOUND back to us , that was no small feat.

  • from New York City March 24, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician, Hobbyist, Student, etc

    So SICK it made me Burl !!!

    I'm using this after summing and outboard processing to print tracks. The tracks never sound this good printing with the Lynx Aurora. The Lynx Aurora is great. Again the Lynx is great. The Burl B2 Bomber ADC just brings some mojo to the table. I love it !!! Will @ Burl is also a great guy and willing to answer all your questions/concerns. If you have the money go for it!!! Great product by a great company !!!!

  • from NYC January 26, 2012Music Background:
    Splicing tape in '88

    Burl Audio is The BOMB!!!

    Coming from Apogee 16x's we were definitely caught off guard with the Burl's. We expected SOME improvement but we got way more than we bargained for. Speechless was what I was when I first heard the Bomber. Everyone in the studio kept looking around to figure out what we did that changed the sound so much. First we thought someone moved some faders, or switched monitors or mics (we had 2 mics up in the booth on the cab). Then we checked to see if there was some outboard eq that was accidentally engaged somewhere on an insert. For 2 minutes we were scratching our heads trying to figure it out before we realized that it was just the Burls and how incredibly amazing they sound. We all had perma grin on our faces for the rest of the session. I havent heard recorded tracks sound this good since 1996 when we put the 2" to rest. Dont get me wrong, the Bomber isnt "hyped". Quite the opposite actually. It sounds natural, present and forward. We did electric guitars, vocals and some drums. Everything it touched was big, rich and clear. The harmonic content and detail that these converters capture is unbelievable. Its music the way it was meant to sound with such little effort :). Thank you Burl!!!! Next its the B1D's!!!

Questions about the Burl Audio B2 Bomber ADC?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway