0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

PreSonus AudioBox iTwo Reviews

4.0 stars based on 21 customer reviews
Questions about the PreSonus AudioBox iTwo?

Questions about the PreSonus AudioBox iTwo?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Chuck Kear
    from Lolo, MT April 29, 2017Music Background:
    Guitar and Bass player

    PreSonus AudioBox iTwo

    I was so pleased Matt Fawcett recommended this unit. It is exactly what I needed. Easy to set up and use, and perfect for home recording. The software is very user friendly and very encompassing.

  • Customer
    from February 28, 2017Music Background:
    Singer/songwriter for over 40 years.

    Presonus with Audiobox iTwo

    While definitely a learning curve, it's not all that hard and once you got it; there's no stopping you!
    The Artist edition is jam packed with enough goodies to keep you experimenting. Our record with the basics that more than rival ProTools or Logic Pro.
    Why pay more? Unless of course you want to.

  • Mike Lucas
    from Ohio December 1, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbiest

    Great sounding unit!

    I decided to finally convert to PC recording after being an iOS/auria guy for years now. But buying a new laptop and this unit were cheaper and even more powerful than upgrading to an iPad Pro. The real decision maker was that this unit comes with some great DAW software as well. Windows 10 isn't my fav but it's worth it for all the power packed into this unit coupled with Studio One software. Speaking of Windows 10 I had some trouble getting the drivers to install and called Sweetwater tech support. I was blown away by the speed and knowledge of service tech Andrew. He logged into my computer remotely and had those drivers up and running in 5 min flat!! Highly recommend this product and Sweetwater!!

  • Customer
    from October 9, 2016

    Awesome Interface

    As always excellent service i love the interface was able to record on my ipad and works great with my laptop been enjoying it since i got it Thanks to Sweetwater...

  • Melvin Hawkins
    from IL July 29, 2016Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Unbeatable Value

    This is the ultimate budget-minded audio interface; it has everything you could possibly need. If you like using an iPad for music as well, this is a no brainer. Not only do you get a usable DAW to record with for free included, this has a MIDI interface built in, which means you can connect the MIDI out of an external synth and use it to control an iPad synth. With this one unit, there is no need to buy a DAW or MIDI interface separately for a small setup; it has it all. And you're paying around $150 for all of that! I have also experienced no latency or noise with this unit.

    I am truly blown away with how much this inexpensive interface has to offer. Just make sure if you use the Capture app from Presonus, you allow the app to access the microphone, even if you don't plan to use the mic to record. I disabled it so it would only pick up synth audio, but ithe app won't read an audio feed without the mic enabled, even if you're recording via the interface inputs.

    Well done, Presonus.

  • J. Bloodworth
    from Fresno June 2, 2016Music Background:
    Bass, Sax, and arranger

    PreSonus AudioBox iTwo

    I am blown away! The pre amps in this unit are amazing. It nice to hear, or should I say not hear the hiss when your preamp is up all the way so you can achieve more gain in your channel, without the awful hiss.
    Everything I sung, played, and programmed sound very clean. I would love to buy the larger unit next time.

  • Evgeny
    from August 10, 2015Music Background:
    NeverSnow Studio

    It's cool for 160$

    It's very cool audio interface for this money.

  • Mike
    from Reno, NV June 3, 2015Music Background:
    guitar player/ producer

    Works Perfect

    I was having infinite problems with the Focusrite 2i2 and Kurt Martin suggested that I try this device instead. It has worked perfect ever since I hooked it up. Sounds good, light weight and most importantly gets the job done proper.

  • Michael Alberson
    from Hot Springs Arkansas May 9, 2015Music Background:
    Keyboardist vocalist music pastor

    PreSonus AudioBox iTwo

    It is just as Mitch Gallahger described it!
    The pre amps are incredible, they are pristine and transparent. I love the mix control. And the headphone out has plenty of level and is not the 3.5mm but the good quality 1/4 inch phone jack which I appreciate. The volume control for the monitor out is a very awesome feature! Also the build quality is terrific. I like things mounted in metal. The only thing I would change would be adding a power switch. However this is not a big deal. And I still am giving it a five ***** star rating! PreSonus Rocks!

  • Paul Ward
    from Takoma Park, MD May 18, 2017Music Background:
    Longtime arranger, composer, producer, keyboard player

    Great unit, sounds terrific, easy to use

    While there is competition in this space, clearly the company is committed and their components are of terrific quality. The heavy duty build makes it practical for taking it with you on the road.

    Highly recommended.

  • Customer
    from December 15, 2016Music Background:
    Guitar player, studio owner

    ITwo

    Great dual channel pre. Using it with an iPhone 6 Plus. Had to buy an 12 volt iPad charger because the iPhone charger wasn't powerful enough. Have to put the iPhone to sleep then plug in iTwo into it and then the iPhone video works great as the iTwo feeds it audio...pristinely from my Studio Live master out...smile. The iTwo has two line/mic inputs. It seems that every other device, excluding the Line 6 Sonicport VX, doesn't have two line inputs. The iTwo has twim controls and overload LEDs, where the SonicPort doesn't. Love this preamp and I can now use my iPhone for video guitar demos or lessons.

  • Ken Karsh
    from September 13, 2016Music Background:
    Professional guitarist and professor of guitar at Mary Pappert School of Music, Duquesne University and California University of PA

    Big Bang for the Buck and iPad friendly

    I chose the PreSonus AudioBox iTwo for mobile recording and traveling. It interfaces with my iPad beautifully and the sound is superb! I hope that in the future, PreSonus figures out a way to allow simultaneous recording and iPad charging. Until then, I will work around that. I totally recommend this device for mobile recording.

  • Bobby Day
    from Ontario, OR March 2, 2015Music Background:
    Artist, Musician, Producer, Recording Engineer.

    So far so good

    I am an independent rap/hip-hop artist/producer/engineer from Oregon with about 10 years experience in music production. I have been using the original Presonus Audio Box for the past couple years. The original Audio Box worked great and still does. My reason for the upgrade is mainly because I wanted to record at a little higher resolution (88.2/96k). In addition to the higher resolution recording capabilities, there are a few design upgrades that helped my decision of sticking with Presonus vs other brands. First off, it is a sleek new design that looks really nice and is built really solid. Presonus also added line level inputs with a hi z button, a big main volume knob, and the headphone out is now on the front. Just like the first Audio Box they kept the mix knob which in my opinion is very useful and a wise choice. The iTwo can also be used with the iPad which was not my reason for the purchase but is a nice little feature to have. At this time I have only owned the unit for a few weeks but I have not really had any issues. I have recorded a few tracks with it and finished a song that was started with the older Audio Box. This unit does sound pretty damn good. Just like the older one, the preamps are nice, clean, and clear. However, it seems that the new Audio Box has a little less gain and then when you have it almost all the way turned up there is a very noticeable jump in volume level. It's not really a big deal but was just something I found odd. It has produced very clean recordings for me and I have been in love with Studio One ever since I started using it a few years back. I used to use Sonar which is a great program as well but once I started getting into Studio One I never really looked back. One last thing is that I have noticed an occasional audible glitching noise (kind of like a crackle or popping noise) but I am thinking that it is probably just my computer or internet because it has only happened while I am online. It is not a loud noise and it has never happened during recording (I do not record while connected to the internet and do not recommend doing so because that puts added strain on your CPU). The only reason I mention this is because I never noticed any glitching with the original Audio Box. But overall I would have to say that I am very happy with it. Presonus is an awesome company and makes really nice and high quality products. I would highly recommend this product and if you haven't tried Studio One, you are missing out on an amazing DAW. This is $$$ well spent.

  • Customer
    from February 14, 2017

    Fantastic, but not Flawless

    I've been using the Audiobox iTwo as part of my permanent PC setup for about eight months, and I used it on and off for around 20 months before that. So, here's my opinion of it.

    PROS:
    -Two audio inputs
    -Supports standard instrument and microphone cables.
    -Supports 48v devices.
    -On board volume control for all inputs/outputs, + input/output mix control.
    -Supports Midi in/out.
    -Stereo speaker output and headphone output.
    -Supports PC/Mac and iOS devices.
    -Zero noise on recordings.

    CONS:
    -No USB Midi support.
    -Noisy audio output to headphones.
    -Mono audio output only to device.

    OVERALL:
    Although it's not flawless, this thing does a very good job for its price. I don't intend to replace mine until it stops working.

  • Customer
    from August 2, 2016Music Background:
    Live/Studio Bass Player for 6 years

    First Interface

    Main reason for purchase was to have for JamKazam. Super easy to use and the sound is clean and clear. Gain structures aren't the best, but keep in mind the price of the unit!

    This is a great pre-production tool thats quite affordable for any musician.

  • Marc C.
    from Montreal, QC April 22, 2016Music Background:
    Professional musician

    A very solid interface made for iOS

    I use the AudioBox iTwo primarily as a MIDI interface for our keyboard player. It's connected to an iPad Mini 2, running BS-16i and several soundfonts. It's instantly recognized by the iPad, and gets the job done perfectly. I've also tried as an interface for JamUp and Bias FX on the iPad Mini, and it's the same story... an easy hookup and a solid, low-latency connection. I also like the really big output volume knob... very convenient.

    The only reason I'm not scoring it 5 stars is because it requires a USB power source, and does not also offer the possibility of a wallwart connection, nor the possibility of running on bus power from the iPad, the way many small interfaces can. But it's a solid and full-featured interface that requires no other device to function with iThings.

  • Customer
    from United States January 31, 2015

    Very good interface

    Using this on a MacBookPro9,2 running OSX Yosemite 10.10.2 with no issues at all. Using KRK RPM5's as monitors.

    I picked this interface because of the 5 pin MIDI i/o and the 24/96 sample rate, because I like to sample and play older external gear.

    Pros: The body of the unit is very sturdy with lots of sexy aluminum and nice rubber feet already attached. So far everything has been plug n play with no issues. Comes with a great DAW if you register on their site. Great free iPad app that transfers your recordings to the DAW over wifi with one click. The audio quality is great and it pushes all the way through to the monitors.

    Cons: The knobs fee cheap and have a satin finishing that makes them almost slippery and harder to turn and harder to see the indicator lines. When used with an iPad the function of the iPad turning off the sound after a few seconds of not being used gets translated through to the monitors. On the smaller KRK monitors it's a little bit of popping. If I'd had it running through the RPM 10 3's I'd probably have duced my pants and possibly damaged the monitors.

    Conclusion: Great interface for the price. The ability to record on the iPad at this sample rate and then dump it over wifi to the DAW is awesome and I can't wait to use it more. Hopefully a firmware update will fix the popping in the near future.

  • Bob
    from SC October 7, 2015Music Background:
    Many years of gigging and recording

    Goood Clean Sound

    The PreSonus AudioBox iTwo is a well made with excellent sound. With two inputs and two outputs, it is more flexible than a single input device. I found the sound to be very clear and clean with virtually no hiss even at high gain levels. Although you can get free recording software with this product, it can be used with other software. I use it with the HarmonicDog MultiTrack and it works just fine. This device does not require drivers to work with an iPad.

    My main disappointment with the product is that it requires more power than the iPad can provide. Each time I ran a cable from the USB output to the lightning input, the iPad responded with a message "Accessory Unavailable - the accessory uses too much power". I have to run a cable from the USB output of the PreSonus to a power supply, then run a cable from the device output of the PreSonus to the iPad. This requires being near a wall outlet to record, or using an external power supply. Also, I had to turn the gain on the inputs up to about 2 o'clock to get an acceptable level, and turn the headphones almost all the way up to hear the signal. All of this is fine for recording at home, but not to take to a practice session. I'll just get a USB mic for that.

  • Saul Biberman
    from United States February 6, 2015Music Background:
    Synthesizers

    good but had issue with iPad

    bought an open-box unit. all features worked well, but be aware, this unit does not charge the iPad, which is unfortunate, but not a deal-breaker for me. what made me send it back was that when you turn the iPad screen off (or it turns itself off) after a few seconds it turns back on and tries to charge, which fails, then the screen goes off, and then it tries to charge again and turns back on, ad infinitum! maybe my unit was bad but i tried to get support and someone had already registered my serial number (again, i bought it open-box) so i returned it. made me realize though that really i do want an iOS interface that charges the iPad, otherwise it's not really a professional product, is it? having the batteries dying in the studio, no thanks.

  • Customer
    from Boston MA June 6, 2017

    Does not trickle charge, as claimed

    There are frequent complaints that the PreSonus hookup specifications result is a slow DISCHARGE of your iPad battery. (Google "PreSonus iTwo charging.") PreSonus claim that the iTwo trickle chargies the iPad is NOT true, at least with regard to my iPad Pro. Even when employing all the suggested conservation methods, the battery is depleted in a little over an hour. You cannot use it for longer recordings. PreSonus has known about this for more than a year and has done nothing.

  • Customer
    from January 29, 2017

    Doesn't do stereo, poor level control

    The input channels on this device have no panning capability. This will not let you do stereo input to your iOS device, but rather a dual mono sum of the inputs. If only using one input, the max you get out of it is about -20dB, and you get the same on both channels.

Questions about the PreSonus AudioBox iTwo?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway