0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

PreSonus AudioBox 44VSL Reviews

4.0 stars based on 32 customer reviews
Questions about the PreSonus AudioBox 44VSL?

Questions about the PreSonus AudioBox 44VSL?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Customer
    from February 14, 2017

    Excellent Interface

    Talk about plug and play... wow!

  • William Beasley
    from Winston Salem, NC December 23, 2016Music Background:
    Songwriter

    Easy to use, works great

    I'm new to recording so I don't have a huge knowledge base to compare this to, but I'm really happy with this interface. It was pretty much plug and play. After I learned my way around the included Studio One Artist Daw I was recording. Lots of great features but I didn't need to call in an engineer to set it up. Very happy with this.

  • Adrian
    from indianapolis December 2, 2016Music Background:
    indiana

    cool audio card!

    bought this audio box about 4 years ago now, needed something to replace my old delta 44, and this fit the bill. I like how I can keep my computer off if I want when I'm playing my motif and when I'm working in my d.a.w, I can just twist the knob to hear my daw. mike pre-amps are clean too. lol! highly recommend. Thanks to my sales rep Bob Mondok! Good looking out! peace!

  • Ken
    from Louisiana October 19, 2016Music Background:
    Home Studio and Hobby Musician

    Does The Job For Me

    I'm new to computer based digital recording so I don't have much experience to be able to rate gear yet. I was a Roland VS880 user for many years. So far, the 44VSL has been easy to use. The learning curve was a little steep for me and I'm still not sure I understand all the capabilities it has. Getting the Cue Mix routing correct was the hardest part for me. The VSL side of the box has some interesting features although I have since learned that PreSonus will no longer support VSL feature development. All in all, I'm satisfied with the product.

  • rg
    from Berlin May 26, 2016

    No way

    I never write reviews. I'm only writing a review for this product to warn other people from purchasing it. It syncs at it's own discretion. Sometimes I have to wait an hour for it decide to connect. Worse still, it sometimes causes my computer to lock up and freeze. This is on a brand new late 2015 Macbook Air, although the syncing issues were prevalent with my macbook pro 2012 before that. And worst of all is the service you will receive if you try to report any of this issues to Presonus. Some support lines are amazing- Presonus's support line won't tell you anything that you can't find in your first google search, and they will just ask you to try reinstalling drivers after you've reinstalled said drivers multiple times. I had a Presonus Firepod and it was amazing. And the pre-amps were amazing. The audiobox is just presonus trying to move into the USB 3 market as fast as possible and the product is super lousy. Try something else :!)

  • Alan Robinson
    from Vidalia,Georgia April 16, 2016Music Background:
    Retired from touring but still doing home recording

    PreSonus AudioBox 44VSL

    Excellent product and works with flawless perfection.For home studio use I would highly recommend this as it gives you an edge over the smaller USB interface products as you can run up to 4 instruments through it and it works flawlessly with the PreSonus Studio One v3 software.Anyone who is interested in putting together a small home studio or recording with a few friends I suggest that you give this product a try as you get lots of value for your money and you won't be sorry.

  • Brian
    from Portland March 28, 2016Music Background:
    Songwriter/Player

    Works very well

    After reading reviews on this product from Sweetwater, Amazon, and even the Presonus forum, I almost did not buy this. I spoke with Brett (a great salesman btw and recording engineer), and he said he sells these all the time and has never heard of the issues reported. So I figured I would give it a shot.

    I have recorded maybe 50+ tracks and I have not seen any of the cracking or popping issues that were talked about. It worked exactly as expected. The Studio One software is pretty easy to navigate from the fly and the unit is about as plug and play as anything in music. I am not saying that popping does effect some people, but it does not with my setup.

    My setup: 44VSL recording with electric drums, Taylor 814CE, Alvarez pd90, Fender strat, Keyboards, a mic'd cello, and four vocals with Blue 300s. Computer is a laptop Dell Inspiron 5720 (I7 and 12 gig) with Windows 10. Of note: I did see that most of the issues above were from Mac users. It is my understanding that Mac changed some operational aspects of their USB which Presonus had trouble working around.

    So, for those that are experiencing problems or might experience problems, a few things I learned from research online. If you have any popping or static issues, try changing the USB chord to a different input on the computer. Also, make sure NOTHING else is running in the background except Studio One and the AudioBox software. Lastly, minimize if not eliminate all other USB connections. If that does not work, try replacing the USB cord. Also, try a different instrument and eliminate that possibility..

    Product Review and basic operation:

    It really is very close to plug-n-play. You will follow the instructions to download all the latest software from the Presonus site (both Audiobox and Studio One 3). Plug it in and boot up the software and you will select 44VSL from the list (very easy). After that, it is time to start recording. Do note that the instructions that came with the unit mention a disc, but there is none. All is downloaded from the Presonus site. Another last aspect: The Studio One is not the full Pro version. There will be aspects which you will not be able to do without upgrading. You can upgrade at any time.

    There are several online tutorials from Presonus which are 'ok'. The best one is on youtube and is about 30 minutes long which discussed using the USB Audiobox into the S1 software... which is the same software you will use.

    There is a LOT of headroom which gives you a lot more flexibility. I suggest when hooking up your instrument the first time, do a sound check and adjust the gain from the 44vsl to make sure you do not get distortion. The return to headphones (or going through a PA) is pretty much instantaneous. I do not notice any delay. It also has a very nice metronome function that can be overlaid as a track with a single button or do pre-count (which is also editable).

    There is also the 1818VSL, but for those that have not done a lot of recording, that might be an overkill. The only real benefit I see in going with a larger input(s) is to mic individual drums (which we obviously do not have an issue with as ours are electric) or if you have a really large home studio and don't want to fuss with pulling/sharing new lines (which I understand). I have been most successful recording independent tracks and overlaying or splicing into a full recording. It keeps everyone from screwing up when the bass decides it's time to take off on his own rhythm half way through the recording. Maybe that's never been a problem with anyone else (snicker)?

    All in all, I would really recommend this product. For those interested in a very nice DAW and interface with a lot of capabilities, I don't think you can go wrong. Considering the very high costs to go with a full recording setup, this is a great alternative and will probably have more functionality than many of the users are knowledgeable of. For those with MACs, maybe keep your receipt? Again, I am not stating that there were not some issues with others, but it obviously is not universal.

  • Customer
    from March 17, 2016

    Presonus Audio Box 44Vsl

    I bought this product in 2014. It's a pretty good product in terms of actual performance. However, the installation and setup are not easy, and the customer support is non existent. I am a pretty savvy IT person, but when something goes wrong or you have to upgrade your computer, you are in trouble. I would shy away from this product unless you have advanced IT skills.

  • Matt Blais
    from February 12, 2016

    Use ASIO4ALL for better latency

    Setup on Windows 8.1 x64 went smoothly, but the PreSonus ASIO driver required a buffer size of 512 for glitch-free audio playback, which is pretty terrible (and my machine is no slouch: Core i7 with 16GB RAM and fast SSD).

    However, using the free ASIO4ALL driver allowed me to trim the ASIO buffer all the way down to 64 or even less. So do that, and shame on PreSonus for releasing such poor driver.

    I'll update this review when I have more experience with the unit.

  • Allan Wolfe
    from Houston TX December 15, 2015

    Buyer beware

    I'm downgrading my rating due to the fact that Presonus has withdrawn support for the companion AudioBox VSL software. I'd go for a cheaper solution for just a class compliant device.

  • Customer
    from December 15, 2015

    Look elsewhere

    Spotty performance and the VSL software has now been discontinued as Presonus bit off more than they could chew. Constant distortions and jitters from this box.

    I regret my purchase completely and have moved back to my old Mbox.

  • Jack Bigham
    from Northport, Alabama USA April 6, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer, Live Sound

    PreSonus AudioBox 44VSL

    I am very pleased with the purchase of the 44VSL, the sound quality is amazing ! The addition of the virtual mixer is really nice, I actually have latency free recording now... with effects ! It's very solidly built, and a nice looking piece of equipment. I enjoyed the Studio One 2 Artist DAW so much, I quickly upgraded to the "PRO" version at a very good discounted price. Sweetwater, and Presonus make a great team !

  • Rudi Lebowitz
    from Sandpoint, ID March 10, 2015Music Background:
    Musician

    Quiet, clean, reliable

    After trying Presonus' free DAW,Studio One, in my iMac and being very pleased, I gave their hardware a try with the 44VSL. This unit is solid, reliable, quiet and quality built. It comes with Studio One Artist, the best DAW I have used. After using this for a couple of weeks, I ordered a PreSonus tube channel strip (Studio Channel) for the front end of my DAW. Excellent, reliable equipment.

  • Mountain Lady
    from CO November 19, 2014Music Background:
    Harpist

    Straight-forward audio interface!

    I am new to the recording field, so have a great deal to learn with regard to using the software with this unit. However, as a unit in itself, it suits my purposes. I play the harp and am alone with my efforts, so I needed to be able to record myself as not only a learning tool, but to eventually record a demo for hopeful gigs next summer in my area. The hookup is simple. I had my own mic that Sweetwater was unfamiliar with, which turned out to NOT be compatible with this unit (after working with Sweetwater's tech support who worked with me right in my computer online). So I purchased a matched pair of Rode NT5's which were (and I will review at a later date upon Sweetwater's request...) The AudioBox 44VSL with 4 inputs is great, since the harp requires at least 2 mics (and a possible 3rd for additional ambient sound if desired) and a 4th available for an additional musician. I am looking forward to really getting into using this audio interface and software as winter forces me more and more indoors!!! Thank you, Sweetwater, for your recommendation of this piece of equipment.

  • Deb ERNEY
    from Texas city, tx November 1, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist, singer, entertainer, recording buff, student

    Can't beat this for the price

    Presonus makes solid, road safe equipment. This thing is solid metal, very well made. I have been using a zoom r16 prior to that Tascam stand atones. My guitar instructor persuaded me to give the computer recording a try. The first day of recording was great. Sounds amazing, nice full, clean sound with plenty of head room. The next day I went to use it and couldn't get past the latency problems while recording.
    I will let you know what I found out after 5 days of batting my head against the wall.
    YOU MUST USE THE SAME USB PORT AS USED DURING INSTALLATION, AND THIS DOESNT LIKE USB 3. DONT MONITOR YOUR RECORDING SIGNAL.
    This in mind and this works beautifully.
    It is much easier to use on my MacBook pro then Windows 8. Everything always works with MAC products. Windows 8 is another story. Anyone want a new Dell with windows 8 for cheap???

  • Cameron Braverman
    from Iowa City, IA USA September 3, 2014Music Background:
    Drummer, Student, Producer

    Ended up Using FL Studio

    Great product, really nice sound and quality construction. My only negative reaction is to Studio One 2, the software that comes with this piece of equipment. I correctly setup my audio configuration, but could not figure out some of the monitoring situation... Probably my inexperience with DAWs, but I went to just using my old DAW, FL Studio.

  • Lucius Todd
    from USA September 1, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer,Student, Artist

    Real Clean Preamps

    Let me tell you this thing sound way better than my Mbox 3 usb. The preamps its what really get me, real clean. All you need is a good microphone. I use to do a lots eq and ect, also bring up my Daw faders just to here my mix not with these preamps all you have do is get a good signal and mix throw a master plugin on end. Everything up front and clean, This might be the only audio interface I ever need real talk. Now one thing to take in mind is this, I am not a rookie in audio engineering you have to know what you doing to get a great recording and performance. In saying that for the price you pay for this Interface and a skilled engineer you will be blown away by this interface. Let this be the center piece of your studio then later on get a good mic preamp to add on to it. Thank you Mike Hammond and Sweetwater for always having great service to your customers.

  • Dee King
    from Irvine, CA USA July 22, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Musical director and arranger.

    I LOVE IT!!!

    For the price and for the customer service, its just WOW! If you're thinking of getting a 4ins and 4 outs. This is "IT"! Really! :)

  • Pierre Taminiaux
    from Washington DC October 1, 2013Music Background:
    Music critic and composer

    Excellent sound

    I have been recording my piano music (I am a composer) using the AudioBox 44 VSL and it works great. The sound quality is very good and it is a pleasure to hear the music on my Mac Book Pro afterwards.

  • Garret Thomas
    from Belton, MO June 9, 2013Music Background:
    Studio sound

    Love it

    Love it the inputs on it it has enough inputs for what I need for my studio. Still learning it.

  • David German
    from Newburgh, NY May 2, 2013Music Background:
    Drummer

    Very Clean sound

    I found the Unit very solid, quality materials and the sound is very, very clean, I recommended it!

  • C DuMontier
    from St. Louis February 15, 2013Music Background:
    composer

    new mac probook

    easy usb interface with newest mac probook. no glitches.

  • Customer
    from December 6, 2012Music Background:
    Student/Hobbyist

    Awesome!!!!

    I got this interface having little experience in actually using interfaves for recording. Previous to this purchase I recorded with a mixer and used the headphone jack on the mixer to go straight into my laptop. Needless to say, it was time for a change, and PreSonus had the solution I needed. It is very easy to learn the included studio one software and I had a fully operational studio in less than a day. Great product!

  • Joe Clymer
    from United States December 6, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, instrctor,

    Works Great!

    I'm probably not the best one to review this product since all I have used since going from a stand alone Yamaha AW16 is Presonus. Starting with an Audiobox, which worked great, then moving to the 44VSL for the effects and a couple more channels; but, it works very well for me. It seems to be well constructed and does exactly what they say it will. I'm impressed. If I were to criticize anything about this it would be the pre-amps doesn't seem to be very "warm" but I can live with that. II do appreciate the helpfulness of my Sweetwater rep Bob Mondok. He has been very helpful and knowledgable in every purchase I've made from Sweetwater.

  • Norm Batchelder
    from Avondale, AZ September 30, 2012Music Background:
    Musician and Hobbyist

    Excellent Buy!

    I was able to hook-up the VSL and install the programs without difficulty. DAW can seem a bit daunting at first if you're used to Reel Tape, Cassette or ADAT, In few hours time I was up and running with my first "New Song." There is plenty of support material available to walk you through the steps of your first recordings. Still a lot to learn on my end, but I'm confident I made the right choice in this home studio unit.

  • David
    from DeQuincy, LA June 12, 2012Music Background:
    Creative Arts/Music Pastor

    Awesome

    Just replace my MBox2 with this Presonus and I am very pleased with it. The studio one software has also become a favorite and I have not used protools since getting StudioOne up and running. Very easy to install and the Audiobox works with Protools and Ableton Live.

  • Walt Rodriguez
    from Hillsboro.OR April 19, 2012Music Background:
    40+ years as a Pro Guitar/Keyboard/Arranger/Vocalist/Solo Act, in the Jazz/Rock Genres

    Outside the Box!

    Although the AudioBox 44VSL is generally viewed as a recording/montoring interface, for the most part, I came to buy it to use as the main audio output source for my laptop after the built-in 1/8 in. audio output jack failed to function any longer.
    After some thought, and the fact that I believe in multi-purpose apps, I decided to"Kill 2 Birds with One Stone" and upgrade from my first choice [ the basic AudioBox] to the 44 VSL.
    The decision turned out to be the right one.
    Thinking "outside of the box", I use the USB out for my laptop output, an Insert Cable to feed my TC Helicon near field monitors from the Headphone Output, the Midi In/Out for one of my keyboards, and the Main Outs for a keyboard amp.
    Using the VSL software then allows me to have the "4" front panel inputs for a mic, guitar and any other two inputs of my choice.
    The use of the output /mix combo allows for a nice balance for a my
    "mini-rig" setup.
    It's also nice to know that if the software glitches for some reason, that I can still use all of the front panel inputs to get me through the night if needed.
    I do hope, however, that some "software upgrades" will be forthcoming from Presonus, to address the few "down-sides" of unit. These would include:
    1- A resizeable screen view.
    2- A channel indicator like the StudioLive, to let you know where you are at all times [When editing in the Fat Channel etc.]
    This might include the labeling of preset/FX choices from the browser.
    [ Ie; When you select an FX, the name of it doesn't show under the Reverb/Delay "down arrow" select.] ("What Reverb is this?")
    3- Fix the issue of the "highlighted" brower selection disappearing after a "Save" etc.
    4- Perhaps some numbers along side of the faders.[ Whether they are actual db levels or not...anything would be useful.]

    In closing, I must say that these issues do not reflect upon the performance of the unit, but they are "small annoyances" and "WishList" ideas.
    As with my StudioLive 16.4.2, the AudioBox 44VSL has become one of my best buying decisions that I have made to add to my on-going collection of high quality equipment. [ Purchased mostly from Sweetwater!]
    Thanks Sweetwater and Presonus.
    "Uncle" Walt [Guitar/Keyboards/Vocals ]

    PS: Kudos also for Mike A. at Sweetwater for his help in making my decision on this purchase. Mike is always there for me.

  • Thom
    from Toms River,N.J. April 11, 2012Music Background:
    Keyboardist and recording hobbyist

    Best $300 interface on the market!

    After having dealt with s series of lackluster audio interfaces such as the M-Audio Fast Track,NI Audio Kontrol 1 and the utterly disappointing Yamaha MOX interface,I was in dire need of an upgrade in quality and I needed more than 2 inputs anyhow.
    This is my first significant upgrade & my first piece of Presonus hardware and I must say,I am shocked at the sheer build quality,sonic fidelity and the versatility of this magnificent interface!
    The preamps certainly live up to Preonus's reputation,as recording vocals clean, is a rare pleasure,since a smattering of reverb is all that's needed..to make your vocals stand out in a mix.
    There are no restrictions with this unit in terms of monitoring,as regardless of the situation in my DAW,my external audio source is never cut off.
    This unit works seamlessly with your PC,yet it also works independently as a stand alone mixer...as I can listen to my Kurzweil PC3LE6 without my computer powered up,which is a new concept to me.
    For some reason,the bright blue face & the light gray appearance as it's portrayed online,makes this box seem like cheap plastic...but it's nothing of the sort.
    It's actually metal throughout and has a beautiful brushed navy blue face on it!
    The front controls are very smooth & precise and are hermetically sealed,which is quite impressive for the coin!
    Based on everything I've researched and have previously owned,the 44VSL offers the most pristine features & value...which is unbeatable and unbelievable!

  • Allan Wolfe
    from Houston, TX February 25, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, keyboardist

    Couldn't ask for anything better

    I'm truly blown away with this integrated system.

    Pro:
    * Very quiet.
    * Preamps are warm without being balmy.
    * Software integration (VSL) works as advertised. Having the ability to record dry but send effects back to the monitor/headphones is really good.
    * Studio One V2 integration works well. Still learning the software, but really like the quality of the software, plugability (VST, AU and Rewire). The Melodyne is a real sweetner that sets this apart from others.
    * Well worth the price for the the excellent quality of both hardware and software.

    Cons:
    * Software packaging and licensing was really confusing. I got an Studio One V1 media with a V2 license key. Nothing described the license as being V2. Had to download all the GB of software. The downloading took forever. Seemingly with V2, no help reference guide in the installation. I resorted to buying groove3.com video for learning S1v2.
    * No carrying/protective bag or case. Really needs it since it is a portable solution.

    Knowing now what I know, would I have bought something else? No. Other than the irritant with software installation and documentation, I'd buy this solution all over again. This is truly a well integrated solution that is flexible in of itself or to integrate into other DAW software soltuions.

  • Allan Wolfe
    from Houston, TX February 25, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, keyboardist

    Couldn't ask for anything better

    I'm truly blown away with this integrated system.

    Pro:
    * Very quiet.
    * Preamps are warm without being balmy.
    * Software integration (VSL) works as advertised. Having the ability to record dry but send effects back to the monitor/headphones is really good.
    * Studio One V2 integration works well. Still learning the software, but really like the quality of the software, plugability (VST, AU and Rewire). The Melodyne is a real sweetner that sets this apart from others.
    * Well worth the price for the the excellent quality of both hardware and software.

    Cons:
    * Software packaging and licensing was really confusing. I got an Studio One V1 media with a V2 license key. Nothing described the license as being V2. Had to download all the GB of software. The downloading took forever. Seemingly with V2, no help reference guide in the installation. I resorted to buying groove3.com video for learning S1v2.
    * No carrying/protective bag or case. Really needs it since it is a portable solution.

    Knowing now what I know, would I have bought something else? No. Other than the irritant with software installation and documentation, I'd buy this solution all over again. This is truly a well integrated solution that is flexible in of itself or to integrate into other DAW software soltuions.

  • Andrew
    from San Francisco, CA January 31, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist in another career field

    Great interface, a little bait and switch on Studio One

    Using the AudioBox 44VSL to record track ideas and overlays in songwriting. The unit itself is great. Solid construction, pretty self-evident, works great on Windows XP system. The unit itself should get five stars. For the price of other brands, you even get the Studio One DAW, which as I am learning, is pretty amazing. Given the value, I wasn't too disappointed to learn that the Studio One Artist version isn't what one might call "fully functional," in that you have to upgrade to Producer ($200) to be able to import or export files as MP3s. This makes it easier to share files with other band members. But you do get rights to put the software on up to five computers (i.e., band mates), so it wouldn't be the worst thing just to keep things in the Studio One format. But with Producer, you get a boatload of other effects and fills that is more than I'll probably ever need. Even with the upgrade to Producer, the value is still pretty great, compared to buying another interface unit and then having to pay full freight for the software. For my home recording and garage band use, this thing is pretty great. The format of Studio One took a little learning for a complete DAW novice, but now that I'm in, I find it's very intuitive to work with. For another $200 I could upgrade to Professional, but I think that's beyond my current ability to utilize. If I were an easy grader I would have given Studio One five stars, but four stars from me really is a high compliment - on balance 4.5 for the package (even with the upgrade to Producer).

  • Customer
    from Deltona, Florida December 13, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    great

    it's a great box for somebody who wants to record something simple and fast.

Questions about the PreSonus AudioBox 44VSL?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway