0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

PreSonus AudioBox 22VSL Reviews

4.5 stars based on 46 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Bryan Chadwell

    I've experimented with different recording techniques for my guitar and vocals for years, and I'm been please by the clarity and quality I've gotten from my PreSonus AudioBox 22VSL. It offers the clarity I need, while separate controls for headphones and main outputs make monitoring easy. These days, I keep my AudioBox 22VSL in my laptop case so I'm always ready to record. 

  • Cristian Good

    I've been recording in the field with my PreSonus AudioBox 22VSL for years, and it's become a staple in my gear collection. Because it's USB powered, I can easily set up and record anywhere with my laptop, which lets me to capture professional-sounding live recordings where I can't bring bulkier studio gear. And since the AudioBox 22VSL is built into an extremely durable metal chassis, I never have to worry about tossing it in my backpack when I need to record on the go.

  • from Farmingville, NY March 19, 2017

    Love this unit!

    I've been using this unit for 4 years now and it's been nothing but reliable. It's build like a rock, sounds crystal clear and easy to work with. It runs with ASIO no problem, works with any DAW I've encountered and I love the preamp. I can't speak for the larger Presonus units but the 22VSL is bulletproof in my opinion.

  • from Schenectady,Ny March 8, 2017Music Background:
    Producer, Songwriter, DJ

    A Work Of Art

    This is the first interface I've ever owned (and still do). I've had this interface for more than 6 years and have put it through the ultimate durability test. I use it mainly for home studio recording/playback as well as my mobile DJ setup. This interface is built to last forever. I'm convinced that I could continue using it for another 10 years with no problem.

    Sound quality is wonderful. I've used interfaces 2-3X its price and this one can easily stack up.

    I will say with the new Presonus Studio 2I6 coming out they should drop the price. I love the Audiobox 22VSL, but with the newer model offering a higher resolution (192kHz) and more outputs it's a better buy if the price difference stays

    But overall you cannot go wrong with this.

  • from Clarksville, TN March 11, 2016Music Background:
    Open Mike, Campfire, Fingerpicking

    New to recording and so far so good

    This is my first attempt to record and I'll have to say so far I've been really pleased. I had some issues with set up at the beginning because this thing HAS to be plugged into a USB 2.0. Other than that the difficulty is learning the software which becomes very intuitive if you keep using it. I'm sure I'll learn more and more and it will become even better. I highly suggest getting on youtube and searching some of the demos to help with the set up, and how to use it. I ended up choosing this one over some of the others because the software seemed simple to use but at the same time allowed you to really get in and detail some of your tracks. The stock plug ins are very good. I'm considering purchasing EZDrummer since I'm a horrible drummer to add a little more to the software. The device is sturdy and seems very well built.

  • from Fort Worth, Texas December 10, 2015Music Background:
    Too many years!!

    PreSonus 22VSL

    Excellent entry level product for recording 2 channels. The PreSonus 3 Artist included with it was a great surprise. The software offered an intermediate to professional level of sound control modules and finished product mixing. I have become a BIG fan of PreSonus. Their support is even good. I had issues that were not really covered by the license I have but they were very courteous and help me fix my problem!!!

  • from COLORADO October 3, 2015Music Background:
    55 Years

    Perfect

    Very Clean Recordings, still in the learning Curve

  • from Gladstone, MO April 25, 2015Music Background:
    Pro musician, Worship Director

    Great low budget computer interface

    Our church wanted to record sermons which seems like a simple enough idea, but their method was to directly plug into the computer's 1/8" jack. Bad sounds... It was horrible.

    After I started as the Director of Worship, I quickly diagnosed the problem and suggested this as an upgrade. Our worship team and Pastor couldn't be happier. Not only do we get great sounding recordings now, but we can do some modest to advanced editing to recorded audio as well.

    This was a good purchase.

  • from Fredericksburg VA October 10, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Much better than using USB Mic

    This is my first Audio interface but I think this is much better than using the USB mics.

  • from North Carolina November 4, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyst

    PreSonus AudioBox

    This is a great product, specially for us the novice. Easy to work-with, I like the size of the box, you can take it anywhere.

  • from September 18, 2013

    Presonus AudioBox 22VSL

    Easy to hook-up, no hassles. Like the idea that it's USB instead of the Firewire that the old FireBox was; with limited number of FW plugs on the Mac, it's nice to not have to use one where it's not really necessary. Overall, good gear.

  • from Paris, Arkansas USA July 29, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Home Recording

    The best product for the price and everything I need to start recording my first song. I would recommend for other.

  • from Annapolis, MD USA March 26, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    PreSonus a DAW Winner

    There is no better way for an iMac owner to get into DAW Home Recording than with a PreSonus AudioBox !/O interface. The included software (VSL virtual Mixer and PreSonus's Studio One) gives me everything I need, and it came with a hearty recommendation by my Sweetwater sales rep who has a like setup.

  • from New City, NY March 21, 2013Music Background:
    Songwriter, Musician

    Love it

    I love this little interface. I'm coming from an M-Audio ProFire 610. I wanted to switch away from FireWire, and I wanted a smaller unit that was bus powered (I know the ProFire is as well, but the pres sound terrible on bus power). This thing sounds every bit as good as the ProFire. I wasted sure I was going to like the VSL effects, but it's an incredibly useful tool. Knobs feel very solid, and it's overall an excellently built piece of gear. Small enough to throw in my laptop bag. Can't say enough good things about this interface.

  • from March 19, 2013Music Background:
    Part time musician

    Presonus Interface

    Incredible customer service beyond anything I expected. Knowledgable staff who were happy to take the time on the phone to ensure I was purchasing what I needed.

    And for someone who's not all that tech savvy with some of this stuff, it's was much appreciated. This is my new go to place for gear.

    Oh yeah, and the gear I purhased turned out to be fantastic and exactly what I was looking for.

    Thanks Sweetweater!!

  • from Grants Pass, Ore January 25, 2013Music Background:
    Vocalist, Guitar, Keys, Lyrics and recording

    Sweet

    I told Paul at Sweetwater what I was doing, he put me on to this and I am impressed. Nice and clean, well built and solid. I love the Studio one DAW. For what I do...it's perfect.

  • from Eagle River, AK November 1, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Excellent Interface

    I've used USB interfaces before and always been disappointed by the crippling latency. Somehow this is not an issue with this device. Simply a wonderful experience all around!

  • from Florence, S.C, September 14, 2012Music Background:
    Voice over

    Awesome!!!!

    Great interface!!! I use it for phantom power...into my dbx processor...back into my laptop.....no noise....great headphone amps!!!

  • from Florence, S.C, September 14, 2012Music Background:
    Voice over

    Awesome!!!!

    Great interface!!! I use it for phantom power...into my dbx processor...back into my laptop.....no noise....great headphone amps!!!

  • from Sioux Falls, SD July 13, 2012Music Background:
    part time musician - full time student

    Awesome interface!

    Having used "old school" recording equipment in the past I was unsure about the transition to the "computer age". However the AudioBox is a piece of cake and with the Studio One Artist DAW software it taught this old dawg new tricks!
    So if you are from the reel to reel days (you know who you are) do not be afraid to take the leap.... the crew at Sweetwater is your safety net!!

  • from United States February 11, 2012Music Background:
    Blackened Thrash Metal Pro Musician

    First Interface/First Sweetwater Order

    First of all the service I was given that made me look to the Presonus Audiobox was unmatched here at Sweetwater. It can be easily said I am a customer for life!

    Great Interface, Great recording program=Well worth the price!!! Solid construction, built like a tank, what else can be said?

    Buy This unit!

  • from Orlando, FL December 8, 2011Music Background:
    Rapper, Producer, Engineer, Electronic Musician, Software Review Specialist

    A great buy for any Home Studio

    The PreSonus AudioBox 22VSL is a sturdy, powerful, efficient, and Ergonomic piece of Gear that's compact and works and works and works!
    Its small and portable attributes make it ideal for someone on the go, in a Hotel Room, or somewhere else, but it's also sexy enough to be used in your home studio at 2 AM when those strikes of Inspiration hit you when you're never ready and never have pen in hand!
    I would highly recommend anyone to buy this piece of gear and for that matter, any PreSonus Product (including their Award-Winning DAW Studio One).

    If you are still not convinced, my final suggestion is call The Library Man at Sweetwater (Carson McClain) and he'll provide the finalizing concepts for you to truly understand the value.

    You need this in your life...

    Immediately...

    If not SOONER!!!!!!!

  • from Atlanta November 22, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Best small interface

    This is a huge upgrade from the original Audiobox. The effects are really great and there is no audible latency. One thing you have to make sure is that you have the 'mixer' knob turned to VSL when you are using the effects. I had to figure this out. Aside from that the box seems like its built like a tank. The preamps have plenty of gain and are not noisy in the least bit. A++++++

  • from Augusta March 18, 2016Music Background:
    Producer/Composer/Engineer

    AudioBox 22VSL

    The VSL mixer section on this was genius and it solved all the problems I was having before, even with older PreSonus stuff. That's why I was hesitant to buy PreSonus again. But this is a great value, excellent sound, solid performance, simple and reliable. It works even better with the free ASIO4all v2 free driver. PreSonus won me back with this. Glad I bought it at Sweetwater. In 2016 some companies still know how to run a business with the customer in mind.

  • from March 15, 2016Music Background:
    Classical Gospel vocalist

    Good joe Sweetwater

    This is what I wanted. It is taking a bit of time to learn the software. But as I learn it it works as desired.

  • from Nashville October 1, 2015Music Background:
    Played for several signed, national recording artists.

    Great Unit

    This interface has worked beautifully. I've done about 5 recordings with it so far. It works well with the Studio One Artist DAW. I've done several piano/vocals with it using my Nord Stage. One great feature is I can have reverb or whatever effects I want on the piano and no noticeable latency while recording. The effects don't go to tape unless I want them to. This low latency was important to me being a piano player. I did have to uninstall and reinstall the AudoBox software for it to work properly. That is why I'm only giving 4.5 stars. However, tech support with Presonus was spectacular. I haven't had any trouble with it since. It's a sturdy little box and the knobs feel great. Not cheap feeling at all. If you want a great little interface this is the one.

  • from Millis, MA June 11, 2015

    The Anti-Latency Interface

    The selling point of the VSL range is its ability to pretty much eliminate latency and in the VSL mode, it does a great job of this - in fact, as long as I am monitoring at a low sample rate, I don't even have to think about latency anymore.

    The idea is that you monitor through the VSL software while tracking, not through your DAW (although you can blend the signals if you want). The software comes with a suite of basic effects so that you're able to monitor with the benefits of EQ, compression, reverb etc. While I don't think I'd ever 'print' a take using the VSL effects, they are, for me, perfectly adequate for enhancing your monitored signal.

  • from Newton, NH February 9, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar players

    Novice enjoying personas

    Just getting into home recording and Ryan suggested this gear. Really enjoying it.

  • from Nashville, TN October 24, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician, hobbyist recording engineer.

    Very nice

    I got new computer I7 computer thinking I could just use my Delta 44 with it. Much to my shock and dismay the new I7 didn't come with the same kind of PCI slot the 44 needs! I've been avoiding USB ADA devices, but not anymore. I don't record that much myself so I don't need a super high end device like my wife(got her a Focusrite Babyface which is AWESOME). What I assumed was that playback wouldn't be that much different from device to device. I was very wrong! My first try was the Focusrite Scarlett which sounded very bad compared to the Delta 44. Traded the Scarlett in for the Presonus and this is the one. Playback is on par with the Delta 44 which is all I was looking for. The Babyface is better, but not $550 better, and I'm happy.

  • from San Antonio, TX March 24, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great purchase

    After using an Apogee One for a couple years, I was a bit hesitant ordering this. The One was the first interface I used that just plain worked. But after 3 months with the 22VSL I can 100% recommend this device. I am using GarageBand and a Mac and it just works. Being able to record two inputs at the same time is just awesome.

  • from Colorado March 14, 2012Music Background:
    Recording/Sound Engineer

    GREAT AUDIO BOX

    IM STILL LEARNING THIS SOFTWARE (STUDIO ONE) BUT WHAT IVE EXPERIENCED IN MY RECORDINGS IS A REAL CLEAN AND CRISP. VERY USER FRIENDLY CAUSE ONCE I STARTED GETTING THE HANG OF IT I FOUND IT VERY EASY TO USE FROM ONE VOCAL RECORDING TO THE NEXT. NOW ITS TIME TO LEARN THE MIXDOWN PROCESS ON THIS PROGRAM.

  • from OC, CA, USA February 18, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Keyboardist, Home and Studio Recording 10+ years

    Great Product All Around!!!

    I hate it when people rate products when they don't know what they're doing or find out the product is not for them. Do your research and visit product websites. The interface which is what I'm rating today is small, solid and sounds great for what I use it for. I'm PC savvy but so far no problems in that area, solid as well and super easy to use. Apogee One?? Compare apples to apples. I love this thing and I love S1 Pro but it never hurts to have a second DAW specially when Pro Tools is the standard and the M audio C interfaces are nice. S1 Pro doesn't have a sequencer and that's how I program drums. S1 doesn't allow its transport controls to be linked to a controller so I bought a faderport which works great. Bottom line compare this unit to others with the SAME EXACT FEATURES at this price plus the offers you get if you like their DAW and you'll see its a great buy. Win 7 64-bit 3Ghz i5 12 GB RAM Green HDD

  • from December 5, 2011

    Great Buy!

    I was looking to start getting into recording and was looking for a good starting audio interface. I was actually looking to buy the previous version of the Audiobox, but decided to go ahead and get the 22VSL. Overall, I've been really impressed with the interface. As a beginner, I found the Audiobox interface easy to set up and use, as well as the included Studio One DAW software (running on Windows 7 64-bit OS). Recording-wise, everything has been clear, noise-free, and the overall sound is great. With what the VSL has to offer, along with the great support from Presonus, there just wasn't a better deal out there at this price range. I definitely recommend this product, especially to recording rookies like myself!

  • from Reno, NV September 23, 2016Music Background:
    I have my own sound and lighting company and am a musician for 40 years.

    Good quality good price

    It's nice to buy a product that works right out of the box. The Studio One Artist is a bit of a tease. You'll need to upgrade to the Pro edition to really be productive. I think for the money I would go with another DAW, like Logic Pro X. But that's my opinion.

  • from Los Angeles, CA May 20, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Composer

    This Little Guy Sounds Great!

    I bought the AudioBox 22VSL along with Studio One Pro for my brother as a birthday gift. I ended up really liking the sound of it. I own a lynx aurora and Apogee Symphony i/o along with a 18 channels of Avedis MA5's! I'm not saying it sounds better than my set up but it certainly sounds good. The preamp and conversion is nice and clean without being boring. I like the zero latency integration with studio one. Nice little package that I wouldn't hesitate to cut a record with. The USB connectivity is fine but I would like to see usb 3.0 or thunderbolt connectivity to future proof these units.

  • from Youngsville, PA March 19, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, with intent for more

    Device operates as described, excellent sound quality, user friendly

    Device operates as described, excellent sound quality, user friendly and as always superior sales & support from Sweetwater !, Thanks !!

  • from Boston,MA June 18, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Musician,Music Educator

    Works great!

    Easy to set up, easy to use, a great recommendation from Dan!

  • from Danbury, CT February 2, 2013Music Background:
    musician and production manager

    Does what I need it to

    Another piece of Presonus gear that does the job for me. I use the Audiobox to two things - 1.) as an audio interface for my KRK Studio monitors and 2.) a midi interface for our keyboard player. In both instances it does the job with no issues.

  • from Olympia, WA January 25, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    PreSonus AudioBox 22VSL

    This is my first foray into home recording and I couldn't be happier with this interface. It took a few minutes to setup and I was on my way. This piece was recommended to me by a friend of mine who works in the sound industry and his recommendation was right on. I have not began using the Studio One Software yet but I am looking forward to seeing what I can do with it.

  • from Galien, Michigan July 20, 2012Music Background:
    Weekend Solo/Band Musician

    Pretty Cool...

    I am still learning how to use this but initially, I would say it is a heckuva buy for two inputs and software included... Still playing with the software but have recorded several times already and this thing definitely has no latency... I ran it through a small Portable PA with good effect... next I'll be using headphones for more accuracy in adding additional tracks... if you are a guitar & singer, I highly recommend this... if you have a band to record, get one with more inputs... Also, I bought this during Sweetwater's Gearfest and got it On Sale (my favrotie thing)... Thanks Sweetwater...

  • from Santa Fe, NM 87501 January 27, 2012Music Background:
    Physicist, fiddle and guitarr playerr

    Review Prononus AudioBox 22VSL

    I had a hard time differentiating which box was better, the Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 or the Presonus AudioBox22VSL. The Focusrite cost less with 55 dB gain, while the Presonus claimed 65 dB of gain. What I found was that when I recorded there was actually more output from the Focusrite. Both boxes went into a low impedance AKGC100S microphone. Both boxes were stand alone, which is one of my requirements. The gain is important to me since I'm a fiddle player. The way you get a smoother sound out of a bowed instrument is to bring the mic away from the bridge or you will pick up total scratch. The higher gain of the Focusrite allowed me to do this. Both boxes had great sound, and convince of setup. It looks like on the PreSonus might have had other bells and whistles, for you could record with effects (although I've been told not to do this for you can always add or remove them later in post-process). I also had to go through a special procedure to install the Presonus drivers, although support gladly guided me through this.

  • from San Antonio, Texas October 29, 2011Music Background:
    Guitar Player and Recording Hobbyist for over 15 yrs

    The PreSonus AudioBox 22VSL

    Have'nt had it long but have done a couple of songs and I am amazed at the quality of both audio and midi files. Clean, clear recordings. Have a lot to learn, but it can only get better from what I've experience so far.

  • from pittsburgh November 11, 2011

    not as good as you expect

    In my opinion, i am not sure if the VSL sounds good. I just got this unit few days back and my first impression on the VSL is terrible. If i turn VSL on, my voice does not seem to be original and is muddy.

    I turned VSL OFF and the unit sounds good and is clear and crisp. Better i use my DAW plugins for compressor, EQ and reverb. I can recommend this to some one if they just need TWO inputs with very basic recording capabilities rather than using VSL.

  • from August 9, 2016

    No longer supported by Presonus

    Presonus has discontinued the ABVSL software, the interface still works very well, but you don't get the nice EQ, Comp & FX anymore. :( Other than that, the interface is great!

  • from USA April 9, 2016

    Not Line Level Compatable!

    Not recommended if you plan on upgrading your studio. The users manual notes the dual inputs are ONLY mic/instrument level, there is no line level option on the 22, only 44 and up. So if you plan on upgrading your studio or using line level effects you already own such as a mic preamp(in my case to mic a cab) you know, that minor piece of gear essential for quality recordings? Yeah that thing. You're forced to rely on the 22 vsl preamp which sound just OK, but not professional! Why not just upgrade to the 44? Because for the same price you can get, for example the Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 which does have a line level option rather than spend an extra $80 for the 44. PreSonus backs customers in a corner on this one critical design flaw leaving me personally, no option but to bail.

  • from Panama City Beach, FL January 15, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    David

    Novice read. The music sounds great! The problem is that you cannot record to a CD, share files, transfer to a MP3 player, etc. You must buy Studio One Professional Series to do that. So the things you think you can do just out of a box is just not so!

  • from coeur d'alene July 10, 2015

    Good hardware , lousy customer service

    I bought the Audiobox 22VSL it works fine but I had installation problems with Studio one and got absolutely no help from Presonus.I went to the Forums, signed up, logged in, there does not seem to be a way to post questions. I wrote an e-mail to the administrator, got no answer.. The audiobox is nice but if you expect service, look elsewhere.Presonus does not care about their customers (unless you are famous of course)
    I'm very disappointed

  • from November 8, 2011

    Presonus AudioBox 22VSL Review

    While this interface works fine on both PC and Mac, the sound is just flat. There is no imaging to the sound. It gets loud but it's dull and lifeless. Listen to the Apogee ONE for example and everything sounds musical with incredible depth. The VSL software is good but not necessary if you have Studio One Pro (which is the best DAW imho). I can NOT recommend this interface based on its audio quality. Yeah it works but no music gets flattered by it.

Questions about the PreSonus AudioBox 22VSL?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway