0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Universal Audio Apollo Twin SOLO Reviews

4.5 stars based on 27 customer reviews
Questions about the Universal Audio Apollo Twin SOLO?

Questions about the Universal Audio Apollo Twin SOLO?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Denver February 2, 2017

    10/10

    Love this thing. Love the desk space it takes up (or doesn't for that matter). Great for someone recording into a macbook or similar machine. Amazing sound!

  • from January 10, 2017

    Apollo twin solo

    So glad i got it a must have to any home studio

  • from Jersey January 9, 2017

    Everything I'd hoped for

    I'm a voice over actor who has been doing audiobooks lately and wanted to upgrade for a bit of better sound as well as smooth my work flow. The Apollo Twin seemed like an excellent candidate for these ends and so I gave Sweetwater a call, since I'd had good experience with them in the past.

    Luke was fantastic in helping me to decide which of the Twins to purchase. Because I'm only doing narration and not really using a ton of inserts, he suggested I save some money and get the solo, which has one chip for processing as opposed to two. If you are going to use this for mixing music, everything I've read and what Luke agreed also, is that you should purchase the Duo so you can have more inserts working simultaneously.

    I've been more than happy with this purchase. It was incredible easy to set up on my Macbook Pro, no drivers to install and was recognized almost immediately. The thing to keep in mind is that hearing sound back through this will absolutely show you which components might need an upgrade, since the sound processing is stellar. Much more power for me (I was using the Scarlett solo, which was perfectly fine, but I wanted more from it), and the work flow just served my purpose better in my booth.

    The great thing is the follow up with Sweetwater. Luke actually gave me a call about a month later to check up and make sure everything was working well and did I need any help with anything. He let me know I could call anytime for help...and I know this to be true.

    Excellent purchase from an excellent company. When it comes time for me to upgrade my microphone or any other component, I will be back to Sweetwater.

  • from NEW YORK January 3, 2017

    Couldn't be Happier

    Had been eyeing this unit for some time after working with another similarly priced interface competitor. Finally took the plunge and couldn't be happier. The Apollo blows the competing interface away. I usually struggle downloading the software for these types of units, but the Apollo was a breeze. Actually didn't need any assistance of any kind to get this baby up and running within minutes. Everything works as advertised. Unison Preamps are pristine, at least to my ears. Solid build, great look, realtime analog plugs so far sound great. What's not to love? For the price, a hands down Winner!

  • from August 29, 2016

    Everything sounds better!

    Easy to set up, unbelievable selection of plug-ins. I'm not sure there's a better interface out there.

  • from Hastings, Michigan January 7, 2016Music Background:
    performer/composer

    Best Volume Knob EVER!

    It's really great to have something to do with a Thunderbolt port. You know that little headphone jack on your Mac? It can't output the quality of sound you need to mix no matter how good your speakers or headphones are. That's where a quality external sound interface and Thunderbolt comes in. You want the best sound you can get? Here's your answer in all its uncompromising glory.

    The Twin Solo has two mic inputs, a 1/4" instrument input, and two pairs of 1/4" outputs. There are no XLR (mic-style) outputs so keep that in mind if you want to use this thing on stage to feed a mixing board.

    This thing is pricey compared to some other things, but Thunderbolt matters a lot for audio fidelity. I do mostly use that big know for volume, even when I'm not creating music. It is such an awesome volume knob! It is also pretty to look at and very solidly built. You won't regret having it.

    There is audio processing software and a bunch of features that I personally don't use but I'm sure most others will. I just use it for capturing vocals and as the interface between my computer and my monitors. I couldn't be happier with this thing.

  • from December 21, 2015Music Background:
    R&B, Hip Hop

    Thanks Aaron Ceislikowski!

    This unit is unbelievable. Cannot believe the difference in clarity going from my previous focusrite interface. The UAD plugins are awesome and i even use this unit live for vox and there is near zero latency.

  • from August 12, 2015

    Stunning quality...

    I can't believe how much clearer this unit is than my previous audio interface (name withheld, ahem). Amazing! And topped off with the world's best customer service. Well done, Universal Audio, and well done, Sweetwater!

  • from Escondido, CA October 17, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Mixer, Beatmaker

    Excellent costumer service

    Build to last. Great quality.
    Easy to use and powerful.
    Best value for the money.
    Thanks Andy for your help.

  • from midwest September 27, 2014Music Background:
    semi-pro

    UA customer service etc.

    The sounds are in this box. That has been discussed in the other reviews. I called UA a few times and always received quick and informed information. With a dose of patience. UA customer service, with Sweetwater 2 year warranty. Nice combo. Buy.

  • from July 21, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician, recording engineer, everything

    It's UA

    If you grew up listening and admiring the sound coming from UA pre's tubes and plug-ins, you'll love this machine. If you're going to be on the road a lot or use it live, go for the DUO. If your going to be plugging it to a powerful desktop the SOLO is is all you need. Since purchased it's worked as advertised(you cannot connect more then 1 Apollo device per OS). The way this machine has affected my work flow is considerable. Its' plugged to a desktop and laptop in my home studio and plugged to my laptop on different studios. I've only been using Avalon or ADL 700 upon request. You can use every UA plug-in and works identical to it's bigger brothers. The level of sound and quality it brings in such a portable machine is commendable by anybody's standards. I use Studio One 2 Professional and Pro Tools 11 as DAWs and they all work perfect together. This machine plugs in and out of my desktop and monitor system in seconds, and off I go to any other studio. I only wish they could also connect to PC's. To UA: my Lenovo says hi.

  • from United States July 11, 2014Music Background:
    musician & producer

    great interface!

    amazing interface.
    my only qualms with it are that I'm a giggin musician, and though its pretty small, its a little heavy, though thats a small price to pay for such a quality interface!

  • from Fairway, KS July 4, 2014Music Background:
    Aspiring Producer

    What is Latency?

    No more latency. I had a Focusrite Scarlett 2i2. Which is a great starter module. However I found recording in overdub mode in Ableton always had some sort of latency with it. It was very frustrating. So I was eager to go with this beauty when it came out! I had a little issue with the install/configuration. Not sure if it was me or the process, but it worked itself out. It shows as a PCI device just as an FYI, which does some getting used to if you are used to using the Audio controls inside OS X. The Console app is pretty sweet! Its like having a soft mixer inside your computer that shows you everything going on inside the module and can apply plugins direction inside the software during recording. Which takes the loud away from your CPU/DAW. I can now use overdub mode inside my DAW and have no latency at all. Its all in real time and no glitches. I highly recommend!

  • from Indianapolis, IN May 5, 2014Music Background:
    Producer/Composer/

    Studio Make Over in a box

    I knew the apollo would be could having previous UAD experience. I hadn't mixed on the platform for about a year since up grading my studio to a mac mini. When I did a comparison mix it was like night and day and the first mix was done with Waves plug-ins;. I have a ton of plug-ins from all the heavy hitters and nothing else comes close. However if you track or in my case re-amp through the twin, all your other plus sound better on the back in,

  • from Baton Rouge March 31, 2014Music Background:
    Musician and hobbyist recorder

    Insane quality for price and size

    The unison tech alone is worth the price of this thing but you get 2 amazing preamps, great sounding outputs with allot of power and a sexy interface. Everything is MUCH better than what I am use to; the latency, converters and preamps all sound superb. I am very happy I have UA quality in my studio now.

  • from March 1, 2014Music Background:
    Recording engineer

    Awesome

    Nice and portable .... Less latency, open sounding, not harsh . Smooth volume control, great DI. This preamp makes my condenser mics sound bigger an more open, the preamp emulation is indispensable for many uses like electric guitar and vocals. 610 emulation is great, if you don't have any external mic pres. I believe that a nice pre like a 610 or a GR or neve style pre would sound great with the apollo. The software console is great too , really easy to set up and recall , this thing is a dream come true , years of waiting for this awesome design. Thank you UA and sweetwater.

  • from OC February 28, 2014Music Background:
    producer , audio engineer , programmer, artist

    AWESOME !! Best desktop interface for mac

    the bit depth and convertors are great and clean , the pci card and the use of Uad plugins are a just bonus to an awesome interface ,Just like any other apollo just with less i/o ,perfect for edm and urban music producers who don't need alot of inputs and outputs ,but even if you do you can add 8 more via adat. easy to use and install ,the console application lets you recall your settings for your different needs ,i could get a great vocal track and take in less then 5 mins with this recall of my fav settings .This thing really does do zero latency ,i tested it with tons of plugins and auxs and headphones mixes and this thing just did it with no problem. the unison preamps are beautiful ,I'm probably gonna start buying more UAD plugins and less hardware ,its top notch stuff ,
    truth is they could have sold this at double the price and i still would have bought it happily ,great value ,no other deals like this anywhere. top notch interface with great DSP powered zero latency plugins and all for less than 1000 bucks . BUY it ,just buy it ,whatever your needs are ,whether recording or mixing or producing this is what you need ! i bought mine after Namm 2014 and loved it ever since

  • from Ft. Benning, GA USA February 22, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Worth every penny and then some

    I got the Apollo twin (duo) when my M-Box pro crapped out on me. This thing has absolutely blown me away. Easy to use right out of the box, integrated with PT 11 without any issue. The UAD plugins are also top shelf stuff. I am using the Engl amp plugin with no noticeable latency and recording a dry track for re-amping later. And it's all done on the Apollo, not taxing my CPU what so ever! I can honestly hear more of "ME" in my recordings with this interface. I usually don't write reviews. But I would be glad to recommend this to anyone needing an interface with the provided in/outs via thunderbolt. Hands down the best I have used in 20 years of recording. And thanks as always Ryan for providing amazing customer service and support.

  • from Riverside, CA February 19, 2015Music Background:
    Producer

    Pure awesomeness

    The main reason why you want to buy this thing is to use it in conjunction with the respective UA-plugins. Throw a 610-B and/or 1176 on and you have thousands dollar pre-amp gear instantly available. I only give it 4-stars because the SOLO version allows for a small amount of plug-ins to be used, I would definitely recommend the DUO at the minimum even if you're just tracking solo vocals.

  • from Kansas January 4, 2015Music Background:
    DJing and Music Production

    Great Hardware, but bloated software

    The hardware is amazing! It took me just a bit to get up and going, thunderbolt is slightly different setup than USB. But the lack of latency is amazing for overdub recording. It does what it says with authority. Also I love the fact the power cord locks so it can't be yanked out by accident. Also the unit has separate power switch, which means when you reboot your computer or you loose power you don't need to race and turn your speakers off to protect from pops.

    The only downside is their software installer is bloated. It comes with useful software like a virtual mixer console, drivers, and free plugins. However you cant deselect the other plugins the installer will install even if you don't own them, never plan to own them, or don't want them. To illustrate, when you select inserts in Pro Tools, you'll see a list of about 10-15 plugins that are available for trail. It clutters your DAWs quite a lot, which means of you want to try one of their free/included plugins, its a plugin minefield! Very frustrating! UA doesn't seem to think the lack of a deselection option in ther installer is a problem. They will show you how to move files to minimize the impacts and Sweetwater has an article in their knowledge base to help you as well. But for a product this costly, it seems very lackluster to have to spend an hour administrating file moves to clean up your setup. I recently did a completely new and fresh install on my iMac and I didn't even bother with the extra time to selectively note the plugins I have authorized vs are trial only. I just moved all their plugin files to an external to keep their crap out of the way. Their plugins may be awesome. But this isnt how I want to find out, via bloatware trials that get in the way of plugins I could really get into using knowing I own them. When your under deadlines, you need predictible and reliable tools. Not a bunch of trial ware.

    All in all, it's a great product. UA needs to get on board with not locking the installer down to preventing you from deselecting plugins that are trial.

  • from Tulsa. Ok April 28, 2014Music Background:
    Mixing mastering .

    Wow wow..

    Let me say this this is great interface the best i ever had and i den had some great interfaces i had a mobox 3 and a duet 2.. And i just sold my avalon 737 mic pre amp .... This thing blows the duet 2 and the m box out the water and the preamps sound just as good as the 737 yea the 737 is fat and warm but this thing is warm and fat wit the la 2a plug in great deal the comverters is the best i herd way better than the duet 2 and the fuet 2 converters are nice .. All im sayin is im not mad of the perchase and im not missing the avolon. 737 im getting just as good results wit the solo .. Thr best bang for the buck especialy if u on the go it really sounds goos wit my nuueman tlm102..

  • from Hawaii Oahu February 18, 2017Music Background:
    Keyboardist

    Good

    It's pretty good for the price.

  • from Pennsylvania, US March 19, 2014Music Background:
    instrumental home recording and gigging musician

    Apollo Twin SOLO

    great interface with the amazing speed of Thunderbolt! the plug ins are a great bonus as well!

  • from Thompson, Ohio February 26, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Keyboards, Piano, Trumpet, guitar.

    Nice unit

    Excellent unit, good sound quality, noisy noise floor, no problems with incorporation into studio, built solid, excellent quality Plug-ins.

  • from Toms River, NJ March 19, 2015Music Background:
    Producer/Electronic Musician/Sound Designer/Guitarist

    I really like it, but I'm not totally impressed.

    Don't take the title the wrong way. It has phenomenal sound quality, awesome conversion, it's built like a tank, and suits my needs. But that's about it. I needed an upgrade from an older focusrite interface, and I'm a huge fan of RME and Apogee. Unfortunately what I wanted and what they had just weren't offered in this price range. I HATE breakout cables, and I wanted thunderbolt connection, preferably, and at that price point, this seemed to be my only option. And like I said, there's nothing wrong with it, it really gets the job done, but there's just that something about it that I don't love, and I don't know what it is. I will say that the UAD plugins are all wonderful though, so that's a bonus. All in all, it's really a great piece, very functional, and seems to be a cult classic already.

  • from July 7, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Composer, AV Tech

    easy to use

    not a bad thunderbolt interface. easy to use control surface.
    you get some (about 10) basic UA plugins w/purchase of this unit -- anything more will cost $150+ for each extra plugin.
    monitoring setup/routing is a little funky to get used to at 1st.

  • from Lowell, MA December 10, 2014Music Background:
    30+ years producing records

    Get past the Hype

    I wanted to like this unit, after all the hype and spending so much money on a simple 2-channel interface. But as soon as I opened the box I began to see the issues.

    Cons:
    1) Made in China (not expected of UA at this price)
    2) Cheap flimsy Power Supply (not expected at this price)
    3) Difficult software set up (requires download with manipulative sales gimmicks)
    4) Cumbersome software user interface (too many places to lose signal)
    5) Erroneous User Manual (makes no mention of important connection issues - like not being able to share this unit on Thunderbolt port with another unit on Firewire port)
    6) No software disc.
    7) No connection cord.
    8) No printed manual.
    9) Plugins have poor presets and poor documentation.
    10) Customer Support appears to be non-existent and does not respond.

    Pros:
    1) Good sound quality (although not noticeably better than much cheaper units)
    2) Some DSP Plugins work well. (But not many.)
    3) Very low latency.

Questions about the Universal Audio Apollo Twin SOLO?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway