0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Universal Audio Apollo DUO - Thunderbolt Reviews

5.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews
  • from West Virginia April 9, 2015Music Background:
    Hip-Hop artist just working on making a name

    Apollo

    I went from a digi 002 to this and WOW!!!!! i love it i got a manley reference mic going into the manley core then threw the apollo and just the apollo alone sounds amazing deff worth the price im getting a second one soon!!!

  • from pa March 14, 2015Music Background:
    engineer

    everything and more

    speechless im past the review im just enjoying it so ill have to get back to you ..

    And kudos to the Staff sale crew and Tech support.
    Outstanding

  • from Houston texas December 9, 2014Music Background:
    Regular guy making a real home STUDIO being guided by true professionals

    Universal audio apollo interface

    My rep at sweetwater talked me into this piece of equipment not just to make a sale but to actually help me achieve a home STUDIO .This piece of equipment is every musicians dream the crystal clear sound of a real recording studio. People are wasting there time on trying just to get to this level of equipment buy buying a lot of other junk that will never be able to compete also the level of support and knowledge from both sweetwater and universal audio is AWSOME

  • from USA September 4, 2014Music Background:
    Electronic Musician

    Amazing Interface

    I upgraded from an Apogee Quartet. This absolutely blows the Quartet away. The spatial imaging is incredible. I'm going to add a Focusrite Octopre MKII soon to expand my inputs from 8 to 16. Even without the ability to use the UA plug-ins I would say it is well worth the money. I had previously been using the plug ins with a Satellite Duo card so I already knew the plug ins sounded fantastic. I have actually A/B'd the RE-201 with an original RE-201 and the Moog Filter with my Voyager filter and the sound is so close it's almost impossible to tell the difference (although the plug-in filter is different than the Voyager filter it still has that unmistakable Moog sound). I highly recommend this interface to anyone considering it.

  • from Tampa,Fl June 19, 2014Music Background:
    recording artist, mix engneer

    it is the main peice that ur studio needs ..trust me

    all i am going to say is thank you very much to my sales engineer Anthony longano for having me purchasing this piece of gear you have changed my life and the way i produce music...my C6 dont crash no more very fast clean sound the console is very useful i mean everything that came with this product is mind blowing class A mic pre`s plugins like u never seen before ..i am using the due now very satisfied ..i need a whole another section for just the plugins ..WOW

  • from Illinois March 24, 2014Music Background:
    Engineer, Touring Musician

    Apollo Duo

    Nothing short of amazing... Big open sound (stellar a//d conversion) and the UA Plug Ins are ridiculous...API Channel Strip and the SSL G Compressor are priceless...

  • from United States February 16, 2014Music Background:
    Mix Engineer, Producer

    The beginning of a new era of interfaces

    First of all I will say that the day had to come that this device would come into existence. I predict that many more products will exist in the near future that incorporate heavy DSP functionality with a high-quality interface. I wouldn't be surprised if interfaces begin to come with VST integration (Waves for example?) but for now, there is the one and only UAD.

    I could go on for hours about the quality of the UAD plugins, but I won't. Reason being that the Apollo in itself is a wonderfully versatile and high quality interface. Not just because of the high quality converters, but because of the extremely CLEAN, colorless preamps (they're SO colorless that UA trusted them to drive the gain of Line Inputs as well -- something I've never seen in an interface), the signal routing is nice, the separate AUX channels are a great touch (at times you think you're using a DAW, but it's actually just the Apollo Console), and I'd trust the converters for multiple passes through outboard any time.

    Great interface. And coupled with the D-Box, it's everything I could have asked for. A+

  • from Flagstaff, AZ March 30, 2015Music Background:
    Engineer, Musician (banjo, bass)

    Best All In One Product Out There.

    I normally shy away from "all in one" type products. But, I am trying to start a project studio on a home studio budget. Apollo actually does everything, pretty darn well. Good converters, UAD processing (the unison pre is a cool feature), and the software monitor console is nice, zero latency.

    If you have the extra coin, go for the quad...the duo's dsp maxes out on bigger tracking and mix sessions...You can only run three out of the four unison pre's with the Neve 1073 plugin...if you already have UAD satellite you can daisy chain.

    Couple this with a Dangerous D box and you have an 8 channel, fully functional, studio that fits in two rack spaces. Complete with 3 channel (plus a hp out for your self) cue system, monitor control, talk back, summing, dsp, adc/dac, clock, and a few decent pre's.

    You'll want to save a few bucks for plugins. They're top notch. Thanx Mark for turning me on to the D Box/Apollo combo.

Questions about the Universal Audio Apollo DUO - Thunderbolt?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway