0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Show Report

LR Baggs Anthem Acoustic Soundhole Microphone/Undersaddle Guitar Pickup Reviews

5.0 stars based on 29 customer reviews
Questions about the LR Baggs Anthem Acoustic Soundhole Microphone/Undersaddle Guitar Pickup?

Questions about the LR Baggs Anthem Acoustic Soundhole Microphone/Undersaddle Guitar Pickup?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Detroit September 25, 2016Music Background:
    Professional

    Amazing!

    This is quite simply, the best acoustic guitar pick-up I have ever used! It is as close as you can get to putting a studio microphone in front of the sound hole. Very responsive and true!

  • from September 10, 2016Music Background:
    Professional guitarist and professor of guitar at Mary Pappert School of Music, Duquesne University and California University of PA

    Oh, my God!! And No Natural Sound Interference!

    I really had to think about this before committing because I did not want to screw up my Martin 00028EC guitar. Thankfully, that did not happen. The blending of the mic and pickup sound great! I am totally sold on this! Ironically, I still have my outboard Fishman Graphic EQ that really compliments this pickup!! Who knew? I highly recommend this pickup!

  • from Chseterton, Indiana August 25, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    LR Baggs Anthem

    I own a Gibson J200. It came with the Fishman Aura pickup in it. I was never happy with the plugged in sound. I usually played unplugged so it didn't concern me a lot. That is, until it started humming badly. So I looked into replacement pickups and ran across the Anthem. Installed it. plugged it in and WOW. It actually sounds like a acoustic guitar!!!! If your thinking about the Anthem, you will not be sorry if you buy it, you'll only be sorry if you don't.

  • from May 24, 2016

    Fantastic Pickup

    Tried numerous pickups and this by far is my favorite (play in church band). Great sound, no feedback issues so far, and I really like the control features at my easy disposal. I have 2 of these pickups installed, one in a Martin dread and another in a Taylor dread and both sound really good. Definitely would recommend. And alway top-notch service from Mike at Sweetwater!!

  • from St. Louis January 1, 2016

    Great pickup

    I got my first Anthem 2 years ago, installed it in my Alvarez Yairi. As soon as I plugged it in I fell in love. I liked it enough to put one in all of my acoustics. If you're looking for the perfect acoustic pickup, this is it.

  • from Kingsport, TN June 18, 2015Music Background:
    20+ years on stage and in studio.

    Fits a GS Mini like a glove!

    I'm glad I consulted with my sales rep on this one (Andy Miller). I intended to go with the Lyric system initially but Andy said it was well worth the additional expense for how much better the duel source would sound in this little guitar. Wow! And the fitment is uncanny. The only issue I ran into is cosmetic, as the GS Mini does not have the traditional end pin (strap button). Once you remove the factory installed pin/plate you are left with a countersunk, bare wood ring around the jack. This can be remedied with a bit of ingenuity. Again, the sound was surprising for such a small bodied guitar. I would highly recommend this pickup!

  • from Philadelphia, pa June 4, 2015Music Background:
    Professional musician 10+ years.

    Your days of searching are over.

    if you own an acoustic guitar and you play live, you should absolutely, 100%, without a doubt be using the anthem system. It is hands down the best pickup system I've ever used. And I have tried a lot. I've spent a long time and a lot of money looking for that "perfect reproduced tone" out of my live acoustic. My days of searching are over.

  • from May 28, 2015Music Background:
    Worship Leader

    Best Acoustic Pickup I Have Ever Heard

    I've used several types of acoustic guitar pickups. I've used a Taylor 814ce with the Expression System, a Guild OM with an LR Baggs M1A, a 714 Taylor with the older Fishman system, and now the Anthem in my Gibson J45. This pickup system really makes your guitar sound full, rich, and crisp. There are a lot of blending options (between the Tru Mic and the Element Undersaddle), and the battery level indicator is a very nice touch. I can't tell you how many good batteries I have gotten rid of worried that a battery would die on stage. If you are looking for a great sounding pickup, and don't mind paying someone to install it, the Anthem is a great option!

  • from May 5, 2015

    L.R Baggs pickup

    Sounds great sustain is amazing

  • from Boston,MA February 19, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Truth to the Tone

    After having used several different types and brands of acoustic guitar pickups, I installed the Anthem system in my Martin D 35.
    This system is designed in such a manner that makes it relatively easy to install. After making all of the necessary adjustments I became quite pleased with the sound Coming out from the PA.
    I have heard this guitar through some very high end ribbon mics, and the Anthem system is the closest to that sound so far. Finally, there is "Truth to the Tone" in an acoustic guitar pickup system. Home run LR Baggs!

  • from Brandon, MS October 1, 2014Music Background:
    Pro studio / touring musician / engineer semi-retired

    Best money spent in a while!

    I have a 1974 Guild D 55 which I bought new in Houston TX that year. It has always had an amazing deep tone with crystal highs......I had a Barcus Berry in it all these years and only used it rarely as most of my playing was electric at this point. A return to an acoustic format brought out the need for an update to the electronics. Most newer units just didn't have the sound of this old beauty but I didn't want to mutilate her with woodworking. After much research I chanced the Anthem. WOW! I can turn the unit off, strum and then do it again with the unit on and bang; duplicate. You can of course vary the sound greatly with simple adjustments of the wheel. Strong lows , clear highs and great feedback control. What else is there? Maybe; even levels across the neck? Enough! If this doesn't do it for you, nothing will. Be your own judge. Some of the best money you'll ever spend. A product that does what it's billed to do! JP

  • from July 7, 2014

    Holy shnikes

    ONLY BUY THIS if you want your guitar to sound exactly like it does live through any type of sound system.

  • from Ohio March 28, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Natural

    This thing is awesome! Lots of tone options. The sound you love from your acoustic, louder!

  • from Huntsville, Al March 3, 2014Music Background:
    Amateur that gets paid enough to keep me playing but not enough to feed me.

    Excellent

    Very good pickup. Installed in a 1993 Taylor 810. Excellent response to finger picking and aggressive strumming. No feedback. Not too difficult to install if you are accustomed to doing your own work. Do need to take a little off the bridge but that is easy. Highly recommend. Not a under saddle piezo sound. The microphone really gives a good ability to blend the true voice of the guitar.

  • from Fort Collins, CO February 14, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Musician and Music Educator

    Powerful sound!

    I already have one of these in my Huss & Dalton DS and have loved the way it helps my acoustic guitar sounds like...an acoustic guitar with all the richness of its tone and timbre.

    So I was confident when I added this to my Guild 12-string a couple of weeks ago...but the proof was in the pudding at the soundcheck at a festival last weekend when I plugged in and strummed my first chord...the jaws of the other musicians literally dropped and their eyes bugged out with the rich warmth of the tone, and I just felt wrapped in it! Very satisfied

  • from April 11, 2013Music Background:
    Touring Musician

    The best piece of gear you'll purchase.

    If you need to plug in your acoustic for live purposes, buy this. It turned my buddy's 1942 Gibson L-00 from a great studio guitar with an awful live sound with it's K&K mini, to the best acoustic I've ever heard live. With the blend control he can get the exact tone he needs, and you never have to worry about batteries dying in the middle of a set with the LED indicators.
    Again, if you need to plug in your acoustic, BUY THIS PICKUP.

  • from Michigan February 24, 2013Music Background:
    Pro musician, Singer/Songwriter

    Great acoustic sound

    I just had Sweetwater install an Anthem into my Martin D-18 . The ease of use with volume and mix control right at the perfect access spot. The Phase Inversion is a handy option, depending on where you use your guitar. The Mic control is excellent with virtually no feed-back problems and great control over handling noise. Overall this is a great pick-up.

  • from Rogers, AR USA February 20, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Musician, Worship Leader, Acoustic Nut

    Great Product from LR Baggs

    I have an Alvarez Yairi DY-84. I installed a Martin Thinline right after I got it in 2005. I started playing music semi-professionally this past year. I read reviews and this pickup always popped up and reviews were great, I had it professionally installed and wow the sound that my acoustic had plugged in was just amazing. My next guitar, an Alvarez DY-38 will get the same pickup soon.

  • from Fairview (Portland OR) December 7, 2012Music Background:
    Local Professional Performing Songwriter

    New #1

    I recently had a Breedlove Custom guitar built for me. I was asked if I wanted the Anthem Tru-Voice system. I did not know what it was so I said no and went with the M1 passive soundhole pickup. I have used 4 such pickups in prior purchases, so I thought it was the best. For some reason, that match was not a good one for me. Never like the tone and touch sounds were loud as string sounds. What I wanted was the Taylor ES system in my Breedlove... but NO WAY JOSE! Then I caught wind of the collaboration between Breedlove and LR Baggs in the design of a NEW PICKUP SYSTEM. I the new Breedloves, this is a factory set blend version of this system. The new Breedlove Voice system is built on the work of Baggs & Breedlove to master acoustic sound for live performance.
    THEY DID IT!!! You can now get studio quality miked sound at any volume without feedback. Gotta tell you this is a really bright, lively, full spectrum sound. You can turn the volume up and play extremely soft and get the tone you get acoustically but louder. I saw a review where someone said they thought this was the new leader... No 1. Then the said, second place is no longer in the rear view mirror. Let me tell you, my Taylor 814ce acoustic sound is almost the same as the Breedlove. Plugged in... Breedlove with Anthem sounds natural, 814 sounds a bit metalic. Never noticed that until now. If you like the ES, you'll be blown away by this pickup.
    IT IS THAT GOOD!

  • from Waco, TX November 12, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, worship leader

    Acoustic Guitar pick-up

    Awesome product and...service. Thanks again guys.

  • from Orange County, NY March 18, 2012Music Background:
    Worship Pastor

    We have a winner!!!

    This thing measures up to the hype. I really took a risk getting this based on some reviews online, especially at this price point. I'm really glad I did. I had this put in my 97 Taylor 420 to replace the fishman matrix pickup I had in it. This thing actually makes my guitar sound like a guitar! I'm playing in a full band at church where we normally run at about 90-94 db and I have had no problems with noise or feedback. My friend heard this and then played his Taylor with the expression system and ordered the Anthem the next day!

    I was skeptical, but I'm glad I took the plunge. That is all...

  • from October 12, 2011Music Background:
    Sound Guy / Average Guitarist

    Blown Away!

    Working at a decent sized church we've had dozens of guitars come through, from professional musicians with their own bus, to the mid-week-fill-in-guy who knows four chords. So long story short I've heard a ton of guitars through our system. Our worship leader has owned five or six guitars since I've been here, Taylor, Martin, Takamine, Ibanez, but she's settled on a Baden A-Style Mahogany with a cedar top that had just the right amount of warmth and projection, it's really a great sounding guitar. At $1800 it came with the "newset and greatest" Fishman Aura-Ellipse on board a couple years ago, and at the time i thought it sounded great. I will say it took quite a while, and lots of adjustments to get the sound we wanted but in the end it sounded really good. So Baden goes out of business, and last year I find a used one identical to the one our worship leader plays for $600, I bought it knowing how good it sounds and how much of a steal that was for what they used to sell for. I finally got around to putting a pickup in it because it didn't come with one, and I went with the Anthem.

    IT"S NOT EVEN CLOSE...

    This is the best sounding pickup I've ever heard and second place isn't even visible in the distance. I set it up (mic gain) at home and then took it to Church this morning, set the EQ flat, plugged into a basic Radial DI with no adjustment, and was absolutely blown away. It really is unbelievable, especially when comparing the Fishman Aura-Ellipse and The Baggs Anthem side by side in the same exact guitar. The Anthem sounds so much better straight out of the Box, and I cranked the montiors to check for feedback... nothing (if the phase is set right) . If funds weren't an issue I'd rip that Fishman out and replace it with an Anthem TODAY, on an $1800 guitar!!! Every professional musician I know who's heard it says the same thing, including the custom guitar builder I had put it in, it's really unbelivable, it sounds just like your guitar.

    If your in the market, buy it, it will blow you away.

  • from Redmond, WA USA August 29, 2011Music Background:
    Serious amateur

    Great sound, no feedback issues

    Had this professionally installed into a D-28CW. It captures so much detail I have to be careful how I move my arm. I love the spacious and airy quality I get from this bass-heavy box. I keep the adjustment nearly pegged to the microphone setting, and haven't run into feedback issues with a PA or my small amp.

    This sounds much better than an under-saddle element on its own, including a good pickup of percussion taps on the body. If you want less of that, you can dial up more of the under-saddle element.

    I am running this through a Venue DI. Initially I was running the mids down a bit but now I'm liking the sound more flat. I do find that this pickup produces less signal than my others (like the Fishman in my Cargo); I use the DI to boost the signal before it goes to the desk.

    If you find your sound is odd, definitely switch the phase (easy to do between songs). It makes a big difference in some circumstances.

  • from Ohio September 25, 2010Music Background:
    Hobby musician

    GREAT PICKUP!

    Great natural sounding pickup and mic combination! Easy to install.

  • from September 7, 2016

    LR Baggs Anthem

    This is clearly the best acoustic amplification solution I have played and it is because it is a mic. I hate piezo tone. Installed myself in a respectable sounding jumbo I use for live gigs. First, feedback rejection is excellent. I was shocked at how good as this is my biggest complaint about using acoustic instruments in a band situation. Overall tone is more realistic as the mic obviously picks up the characteristics missed by a piezo. I finally like using the guitar live as it comes across more naturally and can maintain adequate and consistent volume. A regular mic on a stand is an unreasonable solution for band situations and has all kinds of other issues as well. Since the mic is fixed to the guitar there is a more constant signal as well as less delay, and no physical obstacles as well. In ear monitors make this solution bulletproof.

  • from Ft Collins Co. April 29, 2015Music Background:
    semi pro

    The best!

    I would give it 5 stars but it's not quite unplugged. However, it is definitely not a plugged in sound. I am extremely picky about acoustic tone. It was the best purchase as a musician I ever made! It works best accompanied by an eq. Other than that, it's a wow factor....

  • from Roseville, CA August 7, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Natural Sounding to Versatile Mix

    Very clear and true sounding as advertised. The installation was easily completed into my first guitar build. There are no issues what-so-ever that I have discovered. I would not hesitate to recommend this pick-up.

  • from Philadelphia, Peay January 27, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Very Nice Sound

    I upgraded my Guild F50R jumbo guitar from the factory-installed Fishman Matrix pickup to the LR Baggs Anthem, and I'm 99% satisfied with my decision. The sound is so much more natural than the previous pickup - I'm really happy with that aspect. The reason that I dinged it a half-star is because of the following considerations:
    - First, unless you are *very* comfortable with working on guitars, you are going to need to have a professional install this. For me, this added a significant additional cost to the decision to upgrade.
    - Second, though the sound is much more pure coming out of the Anthem pickup than my old Matrix, the signal is waaaaay weaker. I use an acoustic guitar preamp when playing live, and with my old pickup, I had to have the preamp gain way down at 1 or 2 or else I could overpower with my signal. With the Anthem, regardless of whether it's on the mic setting or transducer setting, I have to set the preamp gain to about 75% of max just to get a comparable output level. In the end, if you have a good preamp this isn't an issue, but if you're used to having a strong signal without a good preamp, you may need to consider getting a preamp along with this pickup.

    All in all though, I'm very pleased with the sound and I don't regret my decision.

  • from NJ June 17, 2015Music Background:
    Rockabilly/Classic Country

    LR Baggs Anthem AWSOME!!!

    I use the LR Baggs on my Martin HD35 and it reproduces the natural sounds of the guitar exactly the way it should! Great product. It's worth the price! Don't skimp on a lesser product that you will not be happy with.

Questions about the LR Baggs Anthem Acoustic Soundhole Microphone/Undersaddle Guitar Pickup?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close